paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Ion Pro / Smart Parts Ion Pro / Smart Parts Ion Pro / Smart Parts Ion Pro

Smart Parts Ion Pro Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Ion Pro

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Ion Pro
[ View Photos (32) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 70
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $200

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Pro Additions:

Twister Locking Feed Neck (installed)
Smart Parts Grips (installed)
Shocker Style Mini Drop with Twist On/Off Valve (installed)
Freak Barrel with Jr. Tip and .693 Insert Freak Back (installed)

17 balls per second semi-auto rate of fire with 3 shot burst, full auto and our Rebound firing mode.
Break-beam Vision Anti-Chop System Reliable and durable, the eyes are mounted on a separate board for perfect alignment and not affected by paint or body color. Just clean and replace (in minutes).
A Featherweight Prizefighter At 2.2 pounds, the Ion is among the lightest high-end markers made, and it�s tube design imparts an ultra low profile.
Reliability The Ion was engineered to stand up to the demands of professional players. It will outlast what used to be considered high-end and won't break down the minute you get it home.
Improved Ball Detents Approximately 10 times the service life of current detents.
Great Efficiency Expect a reliable 1000-1400 shots from a 68ci, 4500psi bottle without any modifications
Body Kits A first for paintball. High-quality aluminum internals are protected by composite shells, allowing you to instantly change the color or look of your body. Tired of blue? Switch to red. Or black. Or yellow. And there are more body styles in the works...
Feed Tube with O-Ring Seals Fits a wider range of hoppers than most guns in this price range.
Tools 1/8" Allen wrench is all you need for primary disassembly--and it�s included, along with trigger and velocity adjustment wrenches and a handy parts kit.
Impulse Threads Take advantage of the barrels and feed tubes you may already have.
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Ion Pro is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (7):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7
                            
X_treme Friday, April 21st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Regular Ion
Spyders
Marker Setup: Silver ION Pro
Empire Fuel Tank 45/4500
-CP Reg
-NDZ Roller Blade Trigger (Red)
-NDZ On/Off
Vlocity Hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
Regulator
Trigger
Feedneck is a little loose

Strengths: FAST
Price
Weight
Weaknesses: Trigger
Regulator
Review: I have not been in the game very long but i will still give you my oppion on the gun. I love this gun. The thing that got me to buy this gun is the price. For the price of this gun you are really getting waht you payed for. When you try to adjust the velocity on the regulator with the wrecnh they give you it is very weried when you adjust it becuase you turn the whole regulator. I think the first upgrade you should get is for sure the regulator, then a new trigger. I would give this gun a 10 out of 10 but, nothing is perfect so i will give a 9.
Conclusion: This is a great gun. i would recomend buying this gun if you have the money for it. You are really getting what you payed for.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, July 4th, 2006 at 9:36 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Binx Friday, March 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder's...tons and tons of spyders. Automag
Marker Setup: Ion Pro
Smart Parts Q-Lock Feed Neck
Ambush HP regged tank
Egg
Recommended
Upgrades:
Feedneck
Trigger
Regulator
Strengths: Light
Fast
Inexpensive
Snazzy looking
Tons of upgrades available.
Weaknesses: Feedneck
.693 barrel insert
Review: I bought this Ion Pro used from a local shop. As soon as I picked it up, I liked it. Compared to the spyders I am use to carrying around, it's feather light. I'm by no means a fast shooter, but even with the stock trigger, I can get it going pretty well. The instruction book that comes with this marker is very thorough and makes it easy for anybody to understand. The anti-chop eyes make it even better. For the money, I would recommend this (or any other Ion) to beginners or experienced players. And recently, prices have dropped to 295 new. That's pretty sweet considering you get the on/off asa and Freak Jr. to go along with it.

The only weaknesses I have found so far are these.

The feed neck sucks on wheels... Regardless of how you tighten it, the plastic collar in the feed neck will swivel like crazy. Ungood in the heat of a match.

Next, the reg isn't the best in the world. It works decently on a High Pressure Nitrogen tank, but if you are using anti-siphoned CO2 (ONLY USE ANTI-SIPHON!!!) there is tremendous shoot down.

Lastly, the .693 insert...that's the largest insert they have. I would imagine they put this in with it soley for the fact that they are overstocked on them as nobody wants a bore that big...but I could be wrong. It works, but you'll want to get some variety to your barrel. Not a big deal.

A lot of people complain about the trigger, but for what you pay for and for what it is, it's not bad.


*I originally had .893 as the bore...i'm a moron...*
Conclusion: I would recommend this marker to anybody. Just breaking in or experienced and wanting an upgrade. Simple, inexpensive, fast, and light. If the feedneck wasn't so poor, it would have gotten a 10 out of 10.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, March 18th, 2006 at 6:41 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Ace2087 Monday, February 20th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Wrath,Vexor Eye, Nothing really like spyders (much better in m/o)
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion
CP Rollar Trigger
CP In-line Reg
Universal Drop (Large)
Freak Jr. Kit
47/3000 Crossfire
Halo B w/rip
Recommended
Upgrades:
Feedneck
Trigger
Qev
Barrel Kit
~with those few upgrades this thing will rip like you wouldent belive.
you could also add a new board for speed and body kits and all.....
Strengths: Break-beam eyes
17bps in semi & rebound
quite
pretty accuarte with stock barrel
little maintence
Weaknesses: Honestly I havent found anything I would call a weakness.
Review: I bout my ion from a buddy of mine for 150 bucks. As soon as I got it I was likin it already. The trigger isint the best but I still could walk about 15-16 with it. With an upgraded trigger you can walk 17bps like its nothing. I recommend the CP roller trigger (love mine). It has semi,3 round burst,fully,and rebound. 17bps is semi and rebound and I belive 10bps in 3round and fully. This gun is sweet all around. I was nailin people at atleast 30 yards away with almost every paintball hittin its mark. This marker is sweet - its cheap,fast,accurate,light,compact and all around awsome. I have put a freak jr. kit on mine along with trigger,QEV,feedneck,and a drop and I couldent ask for to much more. Ya I can get a board to pump more paint but I have MAYBE a 3inch radius on my shots. If I can see them, I can shoot them no prob. I love my ion and I will say after playin with tippy,spyder,clones and even a few higher dollar guns the ion is my choice. So man upgrades,body kits,triggers and the performance is AWSOME. I give this thing a 10/10 cuz hasent been one thing go wrong with it and it has always been easy as pie to clean,oil and keep runnin good. I say get you one if you lookin for a cheap yet AWSOME marker.
Conclusion: I got mine and havent stopped likin it yet. I havent run into any problems yet and the problems ive seen on my buddys ions took him maybe 10mins to fix if that. I love my ion and it was the best money ive spent. I will upgrade one day, but for now I couldent be happier. Get the ion
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

ionman5 Tuesday, June 5th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: ion pro, max flo regulator on a 45/45 mini tank, stainless freak back kit with stifi stif tip,
q-lock, halo b with rip drive and white suicide shell with two diagonal black stripes, custom sanded all white body kit with two black diagonal lines.white hose, black adapters. ul fire bolt, white dark ul frame, cp roller saw trigger, home made board
28bps semi 24 ramping 20-21 full auto no bursts, angel g7 eyes.

backed by
98 custom, cyclone feed, vortex mod, g7 frame,spyder rocking trigger, stifi bolt, polished internals, 10 in apex barrel ion stock board with custom mods, low pressure nitro kit 7in drop and 2in drop on that, green macroline, extreme rage grips, 32 degrees bullet 6 stage expansion chamber.
Recommended
Upgrades:
bolt, frame, trigger, good low pressure regulator
Strengths: Easy to upgrade
Good look
Good price
Weaknesses: Sucks out of box
Bad feed neck
Bad gauges
Review: My gun kills afrer $200 and 2 weeks of tweaking my home made board, not to mension instalation time and sanding the body kit. i can out shoot an intimadator or a dm7 and now weighs 2lbs with a empty tank and hopper. super sesy to walk. great new look. easy to sand body.
Conclusion: Buy it for 100 used but get at least $150 in ups
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

poliuy Tuesday, February 27th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98c, Spyder Compact and Xtra, Trilogy cocker
Marker Setup: Ion Pro (the one with the Qlock)
NDZ QEV
Recommended
Upgrades:
QEV

Another insert (.689)

new bolt
Strengths: Accurate
Fast
Light
Weaknesses: Hard to take apart
Can mess up eyes fairly easy if not careful
Review: Ok, so i just bought this gun and when i first got it i bought a QEV for it right away. So while installing it the eye harness was giving me trouble so i pulled a little hard on it and POOF! it ripped out so i mangled the eye harness and had to buy another one (only 5 bucks) So thats my only weakness with the gun just be careful with it.

Now for the review

Ok the ion pro is just that an upgraded ion. It comes with new barrel (needs a smaller insert grrrr SP) new feedneck on/off asa (which is fine to many noobs think you need a new one it does its job) and the mini drop (which who really cares =/)

Its fast. If its your first ep gun then you will be happy. Out of the box without any upgrades its not to accurate, but with a new insert to fit the paint its a WHOLE lot better. Your accuracy comes from the paint to barrel match. The stock reg is great once you break it in.

Price is great

You can buy a lot of upgrades for the gun but I will say no to this. You see you can put in a lot of good ups in this gun, but its still an ION. I would save money while you are using this and if you like paintball a lot more and want to get a better gun buy a PMR or buy a used DM5 or 6 on ebay (I think right now 06 are selling for about 600-700).

*EDIT*

Ok I have had the gun for about 2 months now and WOW. Better now then before, the stock reg is fricken great. Don't get a cp one or anything else you just need to break the max-flo in. Only problem i've had so far is cleaning it it take about 15 minutes or so.

Conclusion: Gun is great if you are starting out or are upgrading for your tippman. I will advise to not "trick it out" because honestly its not worth all the money. Even 800 dollars into the gun its still an ION. So save your money and buy something else either a new gun if you want or if you don't like paintball a new computer hehe.

*EDIT*

I still say get a new gun if you want, the ION is great for the price, still though limit yourself on upgrades, just buy a new gun when you get the chance. But while you save its a great product
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, March 22nd, 2007 at 3:10 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

really cool guy Monday, January 15th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann 98 custom
Marker Setup: Ion Pro, spyder fasta 18v LED/
Tippmann 98 custom with tear drop
Recommended
Upgrades:
back-up barrel
qev valve
Strengths: Awesomeness
sweet looks
more awesomeness
accuraccy
rate of fire
looks
and a crapload of awesomeness

Weaknesses: Too much awesomeness to be described any other way than too awesome
Review: this is pretty much the most awesome thing since balogna was invented during the cold war. it shoots faster than a crocadile on an asteroid with an ak frikken 47. but seriously there isn't much better you can do than an ion pro, low price high performance. it'll compete with just about anything even alligators on asteroids it can smoke a PMR which my brother has. maybe it was the crappy paint we were shooting, but i was shooting it too, plus it shoots auto and is pretty awesome
Conclusion: Buy it cuz i told you too
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ShootTOthrill77 Monday, September 4th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
regular ion
Marker Setup: Ion pro with halo b and a 3000 psi air american tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
maybe a new trigger if you dont like the stock one
Strengths: Barrel performance toughness and upgrades with it
Weaknesses: Nothing
Review: this is a great gun with good upgrades on it. the freak barrel is accurate and matches the gun perfectly. the stock ion is fast and has pretty good modes. The s rail and on/off are tight and seem to make the gun shorter than a stock ion. the feed neck worked pretty good but i had a bad inside clamp plastic witch could probally be replaced but i just bought a shocktech feed neck witch matches good to. The gun is easy to use and can be upgraded to the max. great gun great price buy it.

Edit: Had some air efficency problems but should be fixed with some fixing or a better tank.
Conclusion: The stock ion is great but the pro is even better. The naughty dogs use the ion so it must be good.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, March 13th, 2007 at 3:32 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

walkthetrigger4 Saturday, June 10th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
cant compare to no other marker
Marker Setup: Ion Pro blue Halo B with rip drive and z-board freak barrel kit cp rolling trigger nitro duck 68 4500 smart parts drop foward
Recommended
Upgrades:
none really needed maybe the drop foward its a little to close to the handle
Strengths: Accurate
Not loud
Fast
Weaknesses: None
Review: Best marker best marker best marker best marker best marker best marker best marker best marker best marker best markbest marker best marker best marker best marker best marker best marker best marker best marker best marker best marker best marker best marker best marker best marker best marker best marker best marker
Conclusion: This product is nice get one and youll be happy
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

letsplaypb Monday, March 26th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
vl and spyder pilot acs 05
Marker Setup: i use a spyder pilot acs 05 with a view loader electronic hopper jt barrel a macroline
Recommended
Upgrades:
hopper
Strengths: Not verey many
Weaknesses: Accuracy
Review: My bro has this gun and we heard alot about it and we thought it would be reall good but when we got it out of the box and ran air through it and put a hopper full of paint in it and shoot it but the trigger was hard and paint didnt go verey far it went like 100 ft then fell .i honestly think that my gun is better
Conclusion:
I am goin to give this a 2 because it did shoot
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

jpaintball Sunday, March 11th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder pilot acs 05
Marker Setup: i use a spyder pilot acs 05 with vl electric hopper a jt barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
i recommend a new gun
Strengths: Accurcy
Weaknesses: Every thing eles
Review: Ok i used this gun it is my cuzins and i heard alot about this gun on how good it is so when my cuz got it i was like bro u got to let me shoot this gun so he handed it to me i put paint in it i turned the gun on and pulled the trigger it is so quiet and was like shooting a pump gun that is broken ok i may have a spyder pilot acs 05 its a walmart gun i no but as much as i heard about this gun i was expecting a way better gun but i was rong .maybe he just got a bad gun but im not sure i would not bye this gun sorry
Conclusion: I would recommend this gun not even to my 3 year old sister but maybe this is just a bad gun that he got so i give it a 2 just in case
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (7):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media