paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Indian Creek Designs Alley Cat / Indian Creek Designs Alley Cat / Indian Creek Designs Alley Cat / Indian Creek Designs Alley Cat

Indian Creek Designs Alley Cat Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Indian Creek Designs

Buy Indian Creek Designs Alley Cat

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Indian Creek Designs Alley Cat
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 29
Average Rating: 8.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Features: No cast or stamped parts, Externally Adjustable, Venturi Chamber Bolt, Posi-Drop Power Feed System, Vertical and back bottle tank adapters, C n C Precision machined 6061-T6 Aluminum and Hard Coat Anodized to Military Specifications
Product Availability 
The Indian Creek Designs Alley Cat is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
                            
SandStorm Wednesday, June 6th, 2001
Strengths: -cheap
-nice trigger, ROF, and feed rate...even with a VL200(in my opinion)
-good quality
-efficient
-reliable
-simple design
-GREAT customer service
-dual bottle option
Weaknesses: -not as many upgrades available as other guns in its class
-safety has to be broken in before it works correctly(I never use my safety anyway)
-stock barrel can come loose after long strings of fire
-lots of blowback(not necessarily a bad thing)
Conclusion: One of the best guns in its price range, by far. Mine has gotten to see so much playing time its simply amazing, and it always gets attention on the field. With a 16 inch SP all-american the accuracy and range are so good its simply amazing. I have gotten eliminations at such extreme ranges the people literally didn't know what hit them. Also very, very quiet with most aftermarket barrels. I also found that spyder grips fit on these things; I have a classic spyder m-16 grip with spyder bottomline on mine right now. Barrels are also easy to find because of the popularity of ICD's bushmaster. An expansion chamber also helps a lot, but is not necessary. I can literally dish out 6-8 balls a second on this thing with extreme accuracy and without so much as a hiccup...even with a VL200, someone once thought it was an automag :) And the great things is, its always ready for action. Because this thing is SOOOO reliable.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, June 6th, 2001
Strengths: gun is solid, feels small and light when shooting.
very easy to snap shoot.
ABSOLUTELY DURABLE...have put OVER 80,000 balls through gun!
stock barrel is ok, -seems better than others in price range.
Indian Creek customer service is awsome, -had slight milling prob w/gun and they gave me an entire new body (receiver) when i sent it in.(no charge)
gun is THE simplest gun out there, some stock guns have more going on in them.
gun usually needed 2-3 drops of oil and was 99%% time good to go.
cheap too.
Weaknesses: limited upgrades.
gun had serious issues w/cold weather, under about 45*F -non functional.
gun did not like liquid.
Conclusion: upgrades would be to get a new barrel.
gun is definately made very well in comparison to guns in it's price range.
best recommendation: after ?5? guns -i still kept my alley cat!
but maybe i'm just sentimental.
-no, -it's not my shocker, but it was a damn good gun for the money.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, May 21st, 2001
Strengths: Velocity is perfect right out of the box. It doesnt shoot low, high or to the sides very much compared to other guns(spyder). The stock barrel is decent. The dual bottle setup is really nifty. It comes from a good reliable company(makers of the bushmaster) and I really like it. It shoots very fast. Seemed to brake a lot of the brass eagle I bought but hey, its brass eagle.
Weaknesses: Adjusting the velocity can be a bother and the trigger pull is heavy.
Conclusion: Great gun. If I had to choose again I would still keep with the Alley Cat. Thumbs up to the Alley Cat!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Splat Attack Sunday, March 25th, 2001
Strengths: This is, in my opinion, the best gun you can get for the price. It isnt very popular, I dont know why, because it is a very high quality marker. It is very light, compact, easily handeled, and gas eficiant. It has a nice grip and out of the box it plays like a dream. I have a remote, shoulder stock and 4+1 w/20oz tank, and the gun is almost too easy to menover with. The position of the stock is perfect and gives one of the best feels I've played with. I bought a new Rebel Limited Edition, and have to upgrade it to be as good as the Cat. I wish I wouldnt have bought the rebel and spent my money on a new barel and sight rail. Even though it plays fine without one, I wouldnt mind a more silent gun. This also has the best stock barrel Ive seen in a long time. It is easy to take apart, and if you get lost, the manufacture has a walkthrough(www.Icdpaintball.com). The 2 velocity adjusters and recock option are cool, a little confusing though. The Power feed is an awesome one, works real nice.
Weaknesses: The bad things arent too bad at all. The safety is a pain to use, but you dont really need it anyway. The trigger pull is hard, but I like it that way. The upgrades are few and fairly expensive. And It dosent look as good as it performs, so I bought a new marker. Shows how smart I am.
Conclusion: I got this gun for 60 dolars with a nine oz tank, hopper and elbow used. That proves that it dosent look like much, cause I got it from a pawn shop. It was a real nice buy, and outperforms my Rebel LE by far. The dealer you got the gun from should have the upgrades, and barrel adapter. If not they should be able to order them for you. I am very pleased with this gun, I highly recomend it to anyone that wants a good deal.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, March 10th, 2001
Strengths: It's got to be one of my favorite markers out their. It's small, perfect for all you tape runners. It's got no stamped parts and it's machined to Military Specifications. If adjusted properly you can get upto 600 shots out of a 9oz. The power feed comes of so you can clean it better. Already comes with a Venturi bolt. It even has a vertical AND horizontal tank adapters. Trigger pull is decent.
Weaknesses: Parts are hell expensive and to boot their ain't that many aftermarket parts. I shot out my ball retention spring by squeeging my gun with a straight squeegi. I replaced it with a pen spring. Worked fine. The stock barrel isn't all good but hey it's stock you end up buying a better barrel amyways. It eats gas up like a starinvg hobo at Hometown Buffet eating for the first time in a week, if not adjusted properly. You move one and you throw off the whole gun off balance. It has 3 ways to adjust the velocity this thing shoots. The Gas the recock and the main spring guide. Mess one up and it's over till you figure it out. The venturi bolt is made out of plastic and has sharp edges so you'll need to fix that.
Conclusion: It's a decent gun even though stuff is hard to find for it. ICD's customer service is awesome! Once you figure out how to adjust the 3 systems then your gun will rock. I love the fact that it's small and it is farely accurate at mid and long. and very acurate at close. I love it and I would defenately use this gun alot. I own a M98 custom and it may not compare but it is still a good one once you get some of it's little problems worked out like the venturi bolt and the 3 system thing. Over all it's a great gun and I would recommend it to anyone.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, December 1st, 2000
Strengths: This marker is built to last for years!!! Being solidly built and up to military specs this gun will last forever. I have had mine for 2 years and have played in all conditions (rain, snow, 100 degree weather) I have only had it break down once, and that was only because I made the mistake of using my brother's ACI oil(that stuff shouldn't be called oil!). With the stock barrel it is pretty loud, but I bought a Smart Parts BOSS progressive barrel and now it shoots harder, straighter, and quieter that any stock spyder I have seen.
Weaknesses: The only problem I see with the gun is the lack of upgrades. Although I don't agree that there are hardly any I do agree they aren't as accessible as Spyder parts.
Conclusion: This marker is perfect for any beginner who wants a gun that will beat up any stock spyder or tippmann, or to the intermediate player who want a reliable backup for an autococker. I have noticed that the asking price has gone up the longer it has been around, this could be because there aren't that many around or because players have realized that it is a good, reliable marker.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 8:03 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, October 4th, 2000
Strengths: I bought one of these for a Groomsmans' gift at my wedding, and was quite impressed with it for an "entry-level" gun. It's made by the same company that made my Defiant (Indian Creek Desgn) and I've found their customer service to be excellent. The gun has a velocity adjustment at the rear (takes an Allen key) and it also has a gas velocity adjustment on the right side if you cannot get the velocity to the desired level using the rear one. It has a gas recock pressure adjustment next to the velocity adjustment on the right side as well, which allows you to fine tune the gas recock pressure, helping to conserve gas and get the most shots out of an average tank. The stock barrel has a very nice finish and seems very well made, accuracy is good to very good with med to small bore paint. The AlleyCat is a well built quite durable gun. The bolt is made of a synthetic plastic that reduced friction and lightens the overall weight of the assembly, plus making it quite heavy duty. The front vertical adapter is nice if you want to add a regulator or expansion chamber later, or if you like your guns short you can just use it for the bottle.
Weaknesses: The grips are plastic, but very good grade, which may be a detracting point for some. The stock unported barrel is rather loud, but accurate. The trigger has a metal sleeve with a plastic shoe, which has proven to be durable on my friends gun, but it looks kinda cheap. It does jump a little when shot, but not as bad as a Tippmann 98.
Conclusion: It performs very well out of the box. I would say it is well worth the asking price (around $130.00 I've seen). I used to have a Spyder SE, and the trigger on the AlleyCat is more comfortable, it has an easy pull like on a Tippmann 98. I would say it is an excellent gun for the money, and I would reccommend it to anyone that wants something different that's made with better quality than some of the other guns in it's price range. You can upgrade it with a bottomline, 45 style grip frame, expansion chamber or regulator, double trigger, and a rather nice looking sight rail, if you so desire.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

xman Tuesday, March 2nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
brass eagle raptor green
Marker Setup: cnc xmag dust black to red fade with left warp feed a halo b and 72ci 4500psi flatline
Recommended
Upgrades:
better barrel
Strengths: cheap
Weaknesses: insufficient on air, not very accurate
Review: i bought this marker used it a couple of times and then sold it. it vibrates a lot when you shoot it. it is a good marker for a rental or for first time players. the foam is a cool feature, and you can have a tank go vertical or on gun which is cool to. it's not accurate but it does the job.
Conclusion: get it if your a newbie. it's really simple to clean and to take apart.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

icdgunner Wednesday, October 27th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 years0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
stingray 2- alley cat was definitely superior.
spyder compact-similar, but spyder chopped more paint
scorpion-scorpion was lighter but had a lesser rate of fire unless you wanted to shoot paint soup
Marker Setup: alley cat 2- black with bottomline and generic expansion chamber

alley cat DX(or LT, depending on where you bought it) black/green splash with double trigger, expanson chamber, 45 grip, bottomline

16 inch armson barrel is shared between them
Recommended
Upgrades:
there are only 2 that you need, expansion chamber/bottomline, and barrel. the expansion chamber makes an already efficient gun more efficient. the stock barrel is tightbore, many fields have a field paint only policy and use HUGE bore paintballs.

you will never need a new venturi bolt. it comes stock.
you will never need shiny chrome fancy-pants crap. there is none to buy.
Strengths: Efficient
accurate
rugged
gentle on paint
Weaknesses: Hard to find parts for it. nearly impossible to find upgrades(barrel, sight rail)
Review: out of the box, the alley cat is a rather small, rough looking gun. put it next to a chromed up spyder super duper whatsitcalled and most people go for the spyder. the alley cat has the edge where it counts: putting balls on target. few upgrades are available for the alley cat, because the owners of them only have to look for 2 upgrades(see above). the venturi bolt is included, and who needs a chrome sight rail anyway? from ma mechanical point of view, the alley cat is a work of art. all precision machined and bolted together with machine screws instead of forged or welded together. that unsightly welding bead on the feed tube that most guns have is not included. while most blowbacks use the "double tube" model like the spyder and several use tippman's in line design, the alley cat is the only one to use that small simple mechanism that keeps the gun compact and efficient. i have NEVER had to open up the gun and replace a crappy cheap o ring or flimsy broken part. all it needs for maintenance is cleaning if you break a ball in it, and 3 drops of oil every month or two. 1 in the valve, 1 on the hammer/bolt and 1 on the trigger group. as far as tuning with the so called "complicated tuning procedure" just get out your manual and follow the directions. simple stuff.
Conclusion: Once you own an alley cat, youll never envy any other player who uses a blowback semi auto. buy one if you are able. they arent made any more and most people who own one won't sell it to you.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media