paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / BT Paintball Design BT-4 Assault / BT Paintball Design BT-4 Assault / BT Paintball Design BT-4 Assault / BT Paintball Design BT-4 Assault

BT Paintball Design BT-4 Assault Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount BT Paintball Design

Buy BT Paintball Design BT-4 Assault

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


BT Paintball Design BT-4 Assault
[ View Photos (36) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 72
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $300

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
OVERVIEW - Keep opponents in Awe.
With Scenario players in mind the BT-4 Assault is the choice of demanding players who look for military spec features and feel coupled battle tested BT reliability and battle tested durability. If you are looking to put some fear into your tournament opponents turn up with this mean rig.
Product Availability 
The BT Paintball Design BT-4 Assault is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
jordysham06 Sunday, June 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Xtra 05,Tippmann 98c,Tippmann A-5
Marker Setup: BT-4 Assault, PMI 68c3000psi Fibre Wrapped, Tippmann A-5 Response Trigger Kit (RT), VL Revolution With X-Board - Tactical Camo
Recommended
Upgrades:
Shoots great out of the box really.
I'd definitely recommend upgrading to air/nitro(HPA) though.
The A-5 Response Trigger would be awesome as well (only if you want better bps)
Strengths: Pretty darn accurate with (HPA)
Very durable
Very high intimidation factor
Accepts lots of upgrades
Weaknesses: Kinda Heavy
Kinda hard to strip and clean
It also kind of a gas hog
Review: Since i love going bush-balling and rec-ball, I decided to buy the BT-4 Assault instead of the Tippmann A-5(although i like that gun too!). These 2 markers would perform pretty similar to each other. Just that the A-5 already comes with a cyclone feed so u don't need an agitated hopper. The BT takes alot of Tippmann upgrades. After i got the A-5 Response Trigger Kit and Revy hopper on my BT-4 Assault, it did wonders for me in the woods. On top of that, since i run Compressed Air now it's pretty consistent. My groupings are pretty good and i can hit targets from pretty far away. If you install an RT on this gun, man does it rip!!!. Just make sure you buy a hopper that can keep up with it and you'll be fine.

Edit

If you are going to install a Response Trigger Kit on this BT-4 Assault. You are going need the Tippmann A-5 RT kit and a Tippmann 98c power tube. My local paintball store told me just exactly what i needed and need to do. Now my gun runs great with the RT.
It's a Juggernaut now lol. It will turn whatever's in front of it a different color LOL!
Conclusion: If you want a decent bush-ball/mil sim/scenario gun, this is the gun for you.
I personally really trust Tippmann and Ben TIppmann for Bush and Rec ball just because they are very durable and reliable.
I'm very happy with this gun.
I find that this gun fires very good at about 275-280fps
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, June 28th, 2006 at 3:55 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BattleHawk Saturday, October 13th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann Pro Carbine, A-5 and 98 Custom
Marker Setup: BT Paintball BT-4 Assault with BT-1913 20" Barrel, Magazine Expansion chamber, NCStar laser sight, Rip Clip, E Grip, Sling.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Remote Coil, 2 20oz CO2 Tanks or Compressed AIr Conversion, Sling, Magazine or Foward Grip Expansion Chamber.
Strengths: Accurate
Tournament Legal external FPS adjustment
durable
proven
Upgradeability
Weaknesses: Heavy
Price
Akward W/O Remote Coil
Gas-Hog
Review: I went and bought this marker after reading many reviews for other markers on this site. This is a great marker for noobs and veterens alike. Right out of the box, this marker is intimidateing, getting many questions and instant 'friends' whenever I pull it out. To begin with, it is a little but pricey, but has upgrades on the Combat that would cost much more to buy after the fact. This is the best bang for your buck if you are going into the MilSim market. With such upgrades as the Rip Clip and the E Grip the Assault can outshoot any Tippmann. I highly recommend taking the marker out for 100 shots or so before doing any modifying so if your modifactions change anything you know right away. After that, feel free to modify in any way. After my first 100 shots, I noticed a few loose screws and other parts. Be shure to check the marker over for loose screws every time you take it out, because repeated use loosens the screws. BECOME ITIMATE WITH YOUR MARKER! cannot stress enough that you must take it apart and put it back together until you can do it in less then mins. It is quite heavy and bulky with the CO2 on it, and it is also a gashog. I suggest two 20oz CO2 tanks and a remote coil ASAP after purchase. Another alternative would be the expansion chamber. This will reduce CO2 usage and FPS spikes. Without the E-Grip trigger, the Assault is a semi-auto, so off the bat, only a gravity feed is needed. Later along you will need the Rip Clip. It is a reloader made for the BT-4 by BT. It is very similar to the cyclone on the A5, but in the rare instance that you chop a ball all it takes is 2 thumbscrews and you can clean your marker. I will update this as I use my marker more and upgrade it.
Conclusion: Easily one of the best base MILSIM markers to upgrade. Will not do well as a speedball marker. Trust me, I saw a guy try and he got owned.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, December 30th, 2007 at 9:49 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SupraDoughBoy Tuesday, January 2nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder mr3, tippmann a5, rebel 2 btb
Marker Setup: a stock bt assault right outa the box. it comes with a stock, m16 styled barrel, and a foregrip. i use compressed air, and co2 when i dont have any compressed air left. a grav loader and thats it.
Recommended
Upgrades:
well i would suggest getting the reg and expansion chamber that looks like a magazine clip so you can save air. atleast a 9v loader, i will be buying a double trigger because it is a lil heavy on the triiger, a sling would be helpfull and maybe bipods if you play hard. and definately compressed air for the maximum performance it really makes a difference
Strengths: I really think it is very accurate even from long range.
Weaknesses: I honestly don't think there's anything wrong.
Review: A all around excellent gun right out of the box. no need to upgrade unless you really want to. i play scenario and the only thing im going to end up buying is a double trigger and a bi-pod, and the reg to save some more air because it does it a little more air than your average gun. iv used many different scenario guns and this by far is my favorite it surpasses the a5 in performance and price i think. its got everything you want already on it. this gun is perfect for the beginner or seasoned pro.
Conclusion: My conclusion is that this gun so awesome. i am so glad i bought this gun
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

GoodwineSI Monday, May 15th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nearly every Tippmann semi-automatic.
Marker Setup: Fake mag kit, relocated front grip.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Whatever suits your style of play.
Strengths: Accuracy, durability, intimidating looks. read review.
Weaknesses: Not the most cO2 efficient gun.
Review: This gun is extremely accuarate! I was hitting demolishing targets from well over 150+ft away in the back yard. I organized a company paintball day. so I could get more of my co-workers interested in paintball. The field we played at had Parahnas. I literally had twice the amount of range than they did. They never even got close to me. The gun is about average as far as loudness. I've shot over 2000+ RPS Big Ball (plus 1000 evil balls) through this gun, and NOT ONE has busted or chopped. The gun is easy to maintain and clean. Accepts Tippmann a5 barrels (including flatline), and has the same trigger mechanism. All of the other internals are right out of a 98c. (bolt and all)
Conclusion: Buy this gun. 2 of my co-workers ended up buying BT guns after seeing mine in action at the company paintball outing.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Da Mon Sunday, November 26th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98
Tipman Custom
Tippman A5
BT-16
M-16/16A1 (yes for real)
Marker Setup: BT 4 Assault
Extreme Rage Hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
Side mounted daylight scope, zeroized to 200 feet at 300 BPS (vary according to your field's rules).
Electronic Hopper.
possibly the new BTeTrigger (I've heard mixed feedback on this particular item) but I like three shot burst capability.
Strengths: INTIMIDATION, rugged, solid marker. Looks leathal.
Good aim point off shoulder, ACCURATE
Weaknesses: HEAVY!!!!!!!!!! Make sure you use a sling.
Review: I am a former active Marine, and did time in the grunts. Frankly, I could shoot this sucker in my sleep. While more accurately modeled after the M4 rather than the M16, the BT4 is still familiar to any vet. I play with several and we have all gone for BT-16s or BT-4s for our woodsball play.

This sucker is heavy compare to speedball markers and has a lower BPS rate of fire, but EXTREMELY accurate over long distance with the right paint. I have made head shots on opponents where only the top of their head is exposed at over 200 feet. Speedball guys usually can't get close unless a few bum rush me at once.

It is heavy though, and I use a RAP4 quick release sling. It works, but pulls the vest slightly down on one side, I may try the RAP4 ambi-sling to even things out.

Some remarks indicate the BT-4 is a gas hog, I've only run out of air once using a 42CI 3000PSI tank, but I do not throw paint. I am a one shot, one hit player. Any marker will use air if you use the spray and pray method of trying to hit another player.

The BT-4 Assault IS NOT the same at as BT-16, for starters the ball feed on the BT-16 blocks the center line aim point, on the BT-4 the feed is slightly off center. There are some internals that are different too from what I'm told.

Regardless, with a mask on (somewhat like fam firing with a gas mask) I find it is more difficult to get good sight picture. The rear aperture flips to simulate the short and long range iron sites on a real gun. Useless in paintball IMHO.

I think a scope side mounted off the Picattinny rail (with carrying handle removed) will increase first shot accuracy. The carrying handle is useless for me I have big hands.

For a few dollars more you can get a BT4 Apex barrel and essentially have an Ironhorse (sans the picattinny rails on the fore grips and the bi-pod). But the BT-4 is heavy enough, why attach a bunch of c*** like flashlights, lasers, or grenade launchersfor show that you end up carry around?

I got mine on eBay for about $200 (new), so shop around before blowing $250+ on this marker
Conclusion: Definetely an intimidator when you line up with the other walk ons carrying their Spyders, Autocockers, and Angels. Does not shoot fast, but who cares how much paint you are not throwing against trees and bunkers when the one shot that hits the other player is the only one that counts.

Go for the Apex upgrade. Wave bye bye to the speed freaks as they walk off.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

adam bowers 2 Thursday, May 10th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
2 years5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann a5
Marker Setup: bt-4 assault with rip clip and a e-trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
halo rip clip, e-trigger
Strengths: Accuracy , distance,and does not break any balls ,and don't for get the looks!
Weaknesses: None at all!
Review: This gun is a great gun you can hit almost every thing that you shoot at .i was worried about buying this gun because most of the reviews on here says that this gun is a gas hog,on the review it said he can get only 350 shoots out of a 12oz. so if you do the math that's like 500-600 balls out of 20 oz. ,that's not good! but i took the chance on it and i have kept track a few times and i can get about 1200 shoots out of my gun (marker) with a 20 oz.,maybe they have made this marker better over the years because mine is great u cant ask for a gun to perform better than this ,looks great, works great ,and best of all makes great shots!
Conclusion: The best gun i have ever owned,and used does not let me down i recommend this gun to any woods ball player if they are looking for a good gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, February 29th, 2008 at 10:57 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

manning03 Wednesday, January 4th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann 98
Marker Setup: tippmann 98 custom w/ j&j 12'' ceramic barrel
bt-4 assault w/ tippmann a-5 flatline barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
new drive spring
coiled remote
Strengths: Looks good.
Internals same as 98 custom.
Pretty accurate.
Accepts a-5 flatline.
Weaknesses: Not a cold weather gun.
Gas hog?
Review: the bt-4 assault looks and feels good in the woods. its well made. the insides are identical to my 98 custom in-line hammer, valve, and bolt. the assault barrel was impressive with its accuracy. it has the barrel adapter like the a-5. you can buy different adapters that will accept other gun's barrel threads, including the flat line. I have the flatline barrel on my assault right now and i love it. one advantage of this gun compared to an a-5 ia if you break a ball, you slide the hopper back and run a squeegie through it. but there has been a couple of times i had to shake the gun to get balls to feed so whatever you like i guess. i took the stock off the assault and the sight rail and put them on my 98 custom.

On the down side this gun uses a lot of co2. When I got it i could only shoot about 300 balls on a 12 oz tank. when its cold outside tis gun was using so much gas it was making the tank freeze faster than i had ever seen a gun do. i think it was 44 degrees that day. i was shooting one ball every 4 or 5 seconds at a target. I think i have fixed that problem though. i took both my guns apart side by side( the 98 and the assault). I noticed that the drive spring on the assault was a 1/4'' longer than the spring on the 98. So i cut off a 1/4'' of the spring. the next time i played it did perfect.
Conclusion: This is a good gun if you fix the gas hog problem but, I would recommend you go ahead and buy a tippmann 98 or a-5 and just mod it yourself. If i could do it again that's what I would have done. That's why i have the 98. I bought it after I bought the assault and not for a backup.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

Patrickb Sunday, September 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Orion viewloader.. ew but still works so meh
Slingshot
Gravity
Hands
Blow gun
Home made paintball gun made with my grandpas old plumbing tools
and that's it
Marker Setup: Vforce profiler mask
Bt-4 Assault
20oz tank
I sometimes switch my iron sight with a laser scope off my airsoft gun
Mag light from my airsoft gun..
and a plain 200rd hopper nothing special
Cheap sling from my airsoft gun
Recommended
Upgrades:
Bipod so you can lay down with it (hard to hold up when laying down)
offset sight rail or low profile mask so you can use the sights
remote line would be nice
Tape the holes halfway along the barrel for better co2 usage and to make it louder :)
Sling so you dont have to put it down to take off your mask at the end of rounds
Strengths: Accurate
Sexy
Intimidating
New people run from it
Hurts taking it in the balls
Weaknesses: No weaknesses
Some people say gas usage but i say 20oz tank

Review: Ok So i bought this gun because i just needed something new to replace my older gun id rather not use anymore

So i bought this at a store for 309$ + plus tax = 349-360 i forget

and well i started shooting a cardboard box with the flaps folded in and it punched through the whole box so i assume it is good.. also it is very accurate and if you want to use it for speedball take off shroud and stock and you should be ok.. but i wouldn't bother because i am more of a woods ball scenario man anyway it is very sturdy and durable and in case you feel like sleeping with it and it falls off the couch or bed it wont break! (don't ask) ok so i went to play rec ball on a 70 acre field and we had a ton of fun but the point is this gun can shoots 100ft no problem the whole time i was there i was in the forts tower shooting oncoming people no problem and i haven't chopped a ball yet
this gun is good if you a new to paintball and don't like having to upgrade your gun because this gun is good out of the box with eye candy too!!!

Update: i just mounted a chrome orion viewloader barrel onto my bt-4.... i was bored but it works :)
Conclusion: So basically this gun owns i cant wait for the response trigger comes out because i know it will
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, September 3rd, 2006 at 5:50 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

marcopolo Sunday, April 9th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Victor II, Spyder Extra, Tippman 98 custom
Marker Setup: Spyder Victor II, Upgraded 14" PMI Razor barrel. Bolt spring changed to Heavy Spring. The rest is stock
Spydr Extra, 14"PMI Razor, Upgraded bolt sping, 20 oz CO2 with remote.
BT4 Assault, 20 0z CO2 with remote.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Upgrade bolt spring, Remote.
Strengths: Fast , accurate and shoots far.
Weaknesses: internal power tube is plastic. Uses more air than other standard markers.
Review: After reading the many reviews about the marker and comparing it to the A-5, I decided to buy the BT 4 Assault. The A-5 is nice, but would require more upgrades , than the BT4. I like play mil/scenarios and play strictly woods ball,so the design of the marker was also a deciding factor. I was truly impressed with the distance and and accuracy of this marker. We played for 5 hours yesterday and did not break on ball. I was using Scorch paintballs. I was taking out guys that were hiding behind brush. The sights are an added bonus , but to be truly honest, unless you're sniping, they don't really matter. The again, the marker is designed to assault, right. The marker itself is a bit bulky, but one has to understand that when you add the design as a deciding factor. Being ex- military I like it and did not really have a problem with the weight. I will admit, that a 20 oz CO2 tank, will add weight and may be heavy for some. That's where a good remote comes in handy. I added a tactical sling , which I bought at Academy for 5.00 bucks, this also gives your arms a rest during breaks in play. Overall this marker is very impressive, accurate, fast and has great distance. I would recommend this marker for all you mil/ scenario or woods playing folks.

Now for the bad news. After tearing down the marker for cleaning, which is fairly uncomplicated, I notice that the powertube had a crack in it. It did not appear to affect the marker any. I have taken it back to the proshop where I bought it and they are replacing for free, ( one year warranty). I personally dislike plastic internal parts.
Conclusion: Despite the crack on the powertube, which could have been a defect; this marker is very impressive. If I had to decide all over again between the A5- and the BT4 , I would still choose the BT4.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

matm1234 Sunday, December 31st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman A5
Marker Setup: BT-4 Assault
Trinity Laser
Foregrip expansion chamber
Standard gravity hopper
Polar ice paintballs
Apex barrel/standard 14in. m16
Recommended
Upgrades:
Apex barrel
Expansion chamber
Laser
Strengths: Accuracy
Distance
Feel
Weaknesses: Gas Hog
Fairly heavy( if your weak)
Bulky
Review: I bought this gun in October of 2006, expecting lots of it because ive used many dif guns but this one takes the cake. With everything stock it performed excellent. Then i started to see all of the dif things you can get for it and i had to have it all. First i got a Trinity Laser Pointer which is cool cause i dont need to use my sites once u dial in the laser. but unfortunatly dialing in the laser is a pain in the butt. It took me a good 45 min to make it right inline with the sites. Then i got the foregrip expansion chamber. It didnt take long to put it all together but when i screwed on the tank it leaked like crazy. It had a major leak inside the gun but w/e. Anyway i bought the apex barrel. At first i was confused about how you make the turns and stuff.( the instructions were crap) All you have to do to make the dif shots is turn the whole apex attachment. Because i have the laser, u can really see how much the barrel can change a shot. When i was shooting at a wall with the up shot, i pointed the barrel towards the ground at an angle and the shot went way high! its all the same with the rest of the shots too.

Conclusion: I think that anyone that buys this gun is in for a treat because it is really a great woods ball gun and is definetly among the greats.

Rating: 9.5 cause notins perfect
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media