paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / BT Paintball Design BT-4 Assault / BT Paintball Design BT-4 Assault / BT Paintball Design BT-4 Assault / BT Paintball Design BT-4 Assault

BT Paintball Design BT-4 Assault Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount BT Paintball Design

Buy BT Paintball Design BT-4 Assault

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


BT Paintball Design BT-4 Assault
[ View Photos (36) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 72
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $300

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
OVERVIEW - Keep opponents in Awe.
With Scenario players in mind the BT-4 Assault is the choice of demanding players who look for military spec features and feel coupled battle tested BT reliability and battle tested durability. If you are looking to put some fear into your tournament opponents turn up with this mean rig.
Product Availability 
The BT Paintball Design BT-4 Assault is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Tactic Seal Friday, June 15th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have the Tippmann A-5 and it is alright.
Marker Setup: I have the BT-4 assualt and i kept it mostly the same exept i got a response trigger and in september cyclone feeder for it.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Recommended upgrades i say the main thing to get is a response trigger and cyclone feeder.
Strengths: Great abillit to be on the ground or in woods ball.
Weaknesses: It's heavy.
Review: Well i have always loved guns so this looked like a real gun so i got it. If you buy the BT-4 assault you will not regret it. the only thing is the gun is heavy so you'll want to bye a remote line. The stock that comes on the BT-4 assault is also really great. If you like playing woods-ball then get this gun. I say the body has great mobility.
Even though the gun is heavy it is great for tactical people.
Conclusion: I say it is great and anybody can use it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

slip Saturday, March 10th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
tippman custom 98 with assault kit
Marker Setup: bt assault
bi pod
APEX barrel
evolution 3
E-Trigger
Off set rail
remote line
pure energy 45
Recommended
Upgrades:
APEX Barrel (if you didnt buy an iron horse)
E-trigger
Strengths: Disgustingly easy to aim
Reliable
Accurate
Weaknesses: No customizing
Gas hog
Unconventional for speed ball
Review: This is the first gun i bought and for a starter gun its almost perfect, its low maintence and reliable. the first problems arose when i took it for some speed ball i found that when trying to work around bunkers or worse the snake its alittle to big to easily manuver. however when i took it for forest ball i upgraded all that could be, off set the front grip, applied the E-Trigger (six ball ramping, only option available) and got the apex and bipod. for protecting a town or working through trenches this baby gets the job done. The apex allows you to curve balls right into bunkers catching people from the top. the problem is once an assault rifle always an assault rifle. you cant apply scopes, lasers or anything because the rail is too wide for most products the barrel selection is kind of limited as well as it only accepts A-5 threads.
Conclusion: Overall a good starter gun, i would recommend the custom 98 over this however.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

Powerhaus Thursday, February 8th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: BT4 Assault: Halo TSA LED Hopper, 3 stage expansion chamber (magazine style),
Freak jr. barrel, BT- ETrigger, and a BSA Red dot scope.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Highly recommend an expansion chamber if you use CO2.
Strengths: "Cool" factor
very reliable
fairly accurate (with the right paint)
Weaknesses: Serious Air Hog.
A little on the heavy side.
Review: So far, I have really enjoyed this marker.

Cool Factor: Like others have said, the first thing you HEAR when you pull it out is, WHOA! And the first thing you SEE is everyone walking toward you to check it out.

Reliability: This is by far one of the most reliable markers I have used. I have only replaced 1 O-Ring the entire time I've used it. Before I purchased the expansion chamber, I had ice coming out the side of the gun (at the cocking lever). This is when I replaced the O-ring (although it didn't appear to be blown) and installed the expansion chamber. Since then I have not had any issues at all with this marker.

I have only had a few ball breaks in the barrel, but one of the nice things about it is that you can slide the feed neck forward and run a squeegee through the barrel without removing it from the gun. All of the breaks I've had have been due to not having a hopper that could keep up with the E-Trigger. The Halo hopper took care of this issue.

Accuracy: The stock barrel is fairly accurate, although I was not getting the accurate range that others were getting, I was getting about 90-100ft consistently, but no where near 150ft. The accuracy may be better on Nitro, but I'm not sure what effect it would really have other than consistency. I've tried 10 different brands and/or types of paintball (Empire, PMI, Marbalizers, etc) and found that the factory barrel performed pretty well with the Empire Ramps. I'm currently using PMS Combat 68's, due to the fact I like the camo design shell and they are a little cheaper than the Empires with similar accuracy. However, I did purchase a Freak Jr. barrel due to not being completely satisfied with the stock barrel. Now the marker is far more accurate (getting 150ft consistently) and I'm actually able to zero in my red dot scope, and may be even better with higher end paint. And the cool part is, the M-16 hand guards will fit on the Freak Jr. Barrel, although you will put a SLIGHT scratch on the barrel where you tighten the set screws, but they will be covered as long as you have the hand-guards on.

Efficiency: This marker uses a lot of Air. Period. I recommend a large air tank, whether you use CO2 or Nitrogen. But the cool factor is worth it to me!
Conclusion: I recommend this marker if you are a woods-ball player. It is fairly heavy, so I definitely recommend a remote coil to take some of the weight off. The best thing about this marker, in my opinion, is it's reliability. Next would be the fact that there are plenty of upgrades available. It has A-5 barrel threads so if you want to upgrade your barrel, you have plenty of options. I believe the internals are more like a Tippy 98, not sure though.
And if your into scenario games, this is the marker for you. I give this marker a 9 only because I was expecting the 150ft accuracy range that everyone was talking about. I will admit, that if I had tried some All-Stars or other $100 a case paint, it may have performed better. At the end of the day though, this is one great marker.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, February 8th, 2007 at 7:56 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

JonnyB Friday, August 25th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: bt-4 assualt
8 pod holder w/co2 holder
32 % remote
Strengths: Dependable gun / looks the part
Weaknesses: Big and maybe a Little heavy
Review: Great gun. Looks great for woodsball and scenario paintball. Very dependable and have not broken a ball yet. Very intimidating and over all a great gun. I recommend this gun for any woodsballer and scenario player. I love this gun and it is a fun gun to play with. hope anyone who read this gets to try it out. only problem is its a little heavy if your playing for 8 hours straight
Conclusion: Great gun. Love it
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, August 25th, 2006 at 5:39 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tomcatoo1 Sunday, August 13th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98C
Ariakon Overlord
Marker Setup: BT-4 Assault with Anco Red Dot or Daisy 3X-9X scope with a 32 Degrees remote line on a 20oz CO2 bottle. My hopper is a standard 180 - 200 round gravity fed model. I use a 3pt Tactical sling.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel - Apex tip ONLY - Nothing else!
M4 Magazine/Expansion Chamber
Remote with 20 oz CO2
Rail mount to rear site/handle for future scopes/sites
Butt Stock is good, may want to go to a 6 position Stock or dogleg
Ricochet or Tippmann Triumph hopper
Sling
Strengths: Cost, accuracy, upgradeability, reliability
Weaknesses: The offset feed tube is not offset enough. Plastic forearm.
Review: Detailed Strengths:
1. Cost - You save over $150.00 when you buy the Assault over the Combat (if you are figuring to upgrade to a M4/16 barrel, Tactical Stock, Rear Iron sight/handle.
2. Removeable tactical foregrip. This can be located anywhere on the lower rail or it can be removed totally.
3. Stock sights work great.
4. Picatinny rail system on top and bottom of marker body for tactical equip mounting
5. Butt Stock is solid.
6. Body/Barrel is of metal construction. Sliding feed makes cleaning in the field or at the bench easy. Uses 98C internals and has a replaceable barrel receiver. Stock one is an A5 thread however, BT has also a Spyder thread receiver available
7. Can use any A5 threaded barrel.
8. Good accuracy up to 200', great accuracy from 150' or less.

The BT-4 Assault, like its brothers, the BT-4 series markers, is a well built as it gets. It is the hybrid of the 98C and A5. It combines all their strengths and removes their weakness. What do you expect from the designer of both the those markers. The internals are not very upgradeable, but with Tippmann quality and reliablity, not much is needed for woodsball/scenario play. Externally you can have a MIL-SIM feast. With rails on the top and bottom of the marker and subsequent rails that can be added to the forearm you can mod it with anything you can imagine. My marker has been dragged, banged into trees, used in rain, and subject to over 10,000 rounds. I still have yet to break a ball in the breach. CO2 usage is normal for me, however a regulator or expansion chamber is recommended.

Accuracy is a plenty. You can hit anything you aim at from 150' or less, but it strength lies in the fact that you can keep your opponents on their heels well over that. I constantly get comments like "You were shooting at me from distances that I could not even attempt to hit you from." (Usually this comes when I return from the field and they were shot out by me) Trigger speed is very acceptable for woodsball, and with a scope it can make a good sniper rifle.

Its weight is not a problem, especially with a sling and a remote. It's still a "long" rifle so it may not be great in close quarters. I used it to play speedball a couple times, while using woodsball tactics on the speedball field confused my opponents, my BT-4 Assault had the edge with the distance/accuracy. From the reaf corner bunker, I took out two players and when all but one was left, he was sticking his foot out of the inflatable he was behind. I stood up around my bunker and took a shot across the field and whap! right in the foot. Still don't like playing speedball though.

Let's face it, it can take a lickin' and keep on tickin'. Accuracy, quality, reliability, upgradeability, and of course lower costs than its counterparts makes this THE best buy for the buck and performance side.
Conclusion: Since the Base marker is the Combat, all versions of the BT-4 familiy perform similarly as well.
This could be the best Tippmann product yet. Ben Tippmann that is.
If you're looking at a solid performing MIL-SIM, that doesn't need to be pampered and is customizable as any marker of its type, look no further.
Buy it you will have no regrets, except why didn't I get this sooner.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

elite pballer Sunday, July 30th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98
Marker Setup: -Main-2005 Ben Tippmann BT-4 Assault
Accesories
Black Halo B
Flaslight mounted on barrel
Remote 20 oz Co2
(it comes pretty tricked out already, barrel, stock, etc.)
-Backup- 2003 Tippmann 98
Accesories
14 in. 32 Degrees Terminator Barrel
Ricochet G2K Black
Tapco Folding Stock
12 oz Co2
homemade tommy gun drum magazine :)
Recommended
Upgrades:
power / agitated hopper
sling
remote line
Strengths: Accurate
comes loaded
cheaper then Ariakons ,98's/A-5's same upgrades
intimidating
Weaknesses: minor Gas hog
Heavy
Feed Neck sometimes stops feeding from gravity hopper
Review: I got this gun a little under a year ago. It is pretty accurate with the "stock" barrel. One main problem was the fact that i was using a gravity fed VL 200 hopper, and the balls wern't going all the way through the feed neck into the chamber. i think its because of the angled part of the neck. i got a halo b and it solved that problem quickly. it is minorly heavy, but not too bad. i will soon be getting a M98 Cyclone Feeder (similar to the thing thats on the A-5) and putting that on, i heard it worked. get this gun if you play scenario or woodsball, but if you play speedball or such this isnt the gun for you. speedball players looking for a fast, durable gun that will never let them down in the same style as this, consider the Tippmann A-5.

EDIT
I read up, and found that to mount the 98 Cyclone feed, you must drill a hole in the gun. as i do not have the tools to do this, i am sticking with the Halo. to help with rate of fire, i will be getting the BT4 electro grip frame once i save up enough
Conclusion: woodsball, scenario 'ballers, this is a strong, affordable alterantive to the expensive Ariakons and such

speedballers- keep looking

casual players- consider it if you want realism and durability in a large yet affordable and durable package

i am giving it a 9 becuase its.... awesome
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, August 24th, 2006 at 9:15 am PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

soldiergone2war Sunday, January 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom
Tippmann A-5
Marker Setup: Bt-4 w/ metal power tube and red dot scope.
I have plenty of other guns to.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Remote Coil
Metal 98 Dead ON Power Tube
Strengths: Accuracy, Powerful gun, good range, Realistic, Uses 98 custom parts and a-5 barrel threads.
Weaknesses: Not a good speedball gun but i use it in speedball.
Gas hog.
Review: I was going to get the BT-16 and I am very happy i didnt. The Bt-4 is a very reliable gun and uses Tippmann 98 Custom internal organs. I love the gun, you can do alot to it, it is stirdy and have very strong parts. Sean Segal likes pizza. I us it for the team and it works fine exept for one time, the power tube cracked like on a 98 and i hade to buy a metal one. It is a lovable gun. It is the same thing as a 98 custom with a few extra's but if you bought the 98 and then bought the extra parts, you could have saved 150 dollars by buying this gun.
Conclusion: I recommend this gun to people who love woodsball and rec. You will love it. All you really need is a remote coil but it doesnt really matter. The gun is Awsome.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, January 8th, 2006 at 11:26 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

dominion1 Monday, August 4th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Bt Delta Tippmann a5
Marker Setup: Bt4 Assault laser attatchment
Recommended
Upgrades:
double trigger or e grip/ response trigger
Strengths: Accuracy
Looks
Durability
Maintinence
Weaknesses: Heavy
Bulky
Immobility
Review: Im going to get straight to the point, if someone is sitting there waiting to go on the field and you see them with this gun in their hand, it makes you go "i wanna be on his team" the accuracy of it is great, especially when its running air. There are problems however: its so bulky that there has been countless times where i have been pinned from my left side because I cant get it around cover, if they are on my right its fine, but left theres no chance at me getting around that. not to mention how heavy it is luggin that thing around. sight rail on it is all for show because theres not a chance any1 can actually use it with a mask on, even if you can paintballs dont fly 100% straight.
Conclusion: This product is fine if you dont really plan to get serious about paintball, it looks stunning, but I got tired of mine.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

marin3snip3r Thursday, March 4th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder... (Cant remember the type)
Tippmann 98 custom
Tippmann 98 custom pro
Bt-4 combat (rented)
Tippmann alpha black
Soon to be added a BT Omega
Marker Setup: BT-4 assault, J&J elite barrel kit in 12in, 14in, 16in length, BSA red dot, TAPCO m16 sight rail mount, RAP4 remote line, Rip-Clip, X7 hopper, BT E-Grip, BT-4 APE Rampage upgrade board.
Recommended
Upgrades:
rip-clip, BT E-Grip, BT-4 APE Rampage upgrade board
Strengths: Looks sick
Lots of upgrades
Accurate



Weaknesses: None
Review: First off this gun is amazing. Great for woods ball (where I spend most of my time) and if configured right itís also good for speed ball. With the stock removed, sight rail removed and a shorter barrel itís ready for speedball and can keep up with most speedball guns. Now Iíve had it for three months but I have only played one whole day with it so far. When I first got it right out of the box I tested it and it performed flawlessly for the first 400 shots. but on my first game right in the heat of battle (about 200 shots in) it started to shoot twice with one pull of the trigger than on the next few pulls it went full auto (this was before I bought the e-grip) than it just refused to cock again after every pull and just went full auto till the bolt stopped chopping every ball. So I consulted the book and the only thing I could be was a bad valve. So I called BT and the guy told me to check for dirt in the seals in the valve. Upon taking it apart I discovered that there wasnít any oil in the valve at all and a few specs of dirt. So I cleaned it and oiled it than put it back together. Problem solved right? Wrong. 2 weeks later on the first game same thing happened only it look longer (about 400 balls in). So I called again and was told that I used the wrong oil (I used Tippmann oil from my brotherís alpha black) so I had to clean all the oil off and use 100% synthetic oil. Finally the last time I went out it worked flawlessly without a single chop. After all that my gun works and I have had zero problems. O and from what I could find on the internet I seem to be the only one to have this problem to or at least the only one to say anything about it. but aside from all that I love this gun, so much in fact that I bought the newest gun by BT the BT Omega and canít wait to run it through its paces to :-D
Conclusion: Great gun for woods ball and speedball (I no that someone will argue with me on speedball but I think it works well). Also when you get your BT take the valve apart and oil it yourself with ONLY 100% synthetic oil. Long story short great gun, great price, and the BT-4 Assault will not disappoint!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Last Don Thursday, May 1st, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A-5 (stock)
Marker Setup: Shocktech DM5 Black w/ clear accents W/ Predator WMD 5.0 Board and Laser Eyes
14in Dye Ultralite Barrel
Empire Fuel 71/4500 tank with Crossfire Regulaor
Halo B

BT-Assault (stock)
Bt-Delta (stock)
Recommended
Upgrades:
A smaller barrel bore would be nice, but I havent figured out how to take the barrel shroud off. A remote line since this is a heavy marker.
E-grip
Rip clip or Halo B (if using standard gravity fed loaders)
Strengths: Qualtiy build
Picatanny rails for many accessories.
Weaknesses: Heavy, Gas hog, No magazine for the realistic look.
Review: I only had this for one game but during that time, I was able to review what I liked and didnt like.
First off, when I went to chrono the marker, it was unstable. I was +/-10fps. I wasnt able to get a consistent grouping BUT, the marker was new so Im not taking points off for that. It just needs time to break in.
What I liked about it is how quickly I was able to adjust to it. I shoot a M16a2 for the PD and when I opened the stock and placed it into my shoulder, I knew it was meant for business. Speaking of stocks, its comes with a 4 position stock. Its made of high quaility plastic (polymer) something that is used in pistols (ie. Glock, H&K, Smith and Wesson). So the stock will take a beating as well as the shroud. I just dont recommend trying to break it. Could take an eye out or something
With a 68/4500 tank and a Halo B on this beast, it was a heavy marker. I would recommened a remote line if you have not already purchased one. The extra weight off this would make this marker a lot more fun.


Conclusion: Although this is a short review, I would recommened this for any serious mil-sim/scenario baller or just someone who is into military looks. Its a great all around gun and it was able to take a beating in the mud without malfunctioning or ball breakage.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, May 1st, 2008 at 3:48 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media