paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / BT Paintball Design BT-4 Assault / BT Paintball Design BT-4 Assault / BT Paintball Design BT-4 Assault / BT Paintball Design BT-4 Assault

BT Paintball Design BT-4 Assault Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount BT Paintball Design

Buy BT Paintball Design BT-4 Assault

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


BT Paintball Design BT-4 Assault
[ View Photos (36) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 72
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $300

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
OVERVIEW - Keep opponents in Awe.
With Scenario players in mind the BT-4 Assault is the choice of demanding players who look for military spec features and feel coupled battle tested BT reliability and battle tested durability. If you are looking to put some fear into your tournament opponents turn up with this mean rig.
Product Availability 
The BT Paintball Design BT-4 Assault is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
Editor321 Wednesday, June 20th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
98 Custom
A-5
Marker Setup: BT Bipod
Ricochet Apache
Warrior Remote Line
PMI Air
Recommended
Upgrades:
Remote Line w/ Quick Disconnect and On/Off
Strengths: Nice look
Great Trigger Pull
Feels Solid
Weaknesses: Can be heavy or long. Not for Speedball
Review: I bought this because my 98 Custom was an older one and could not adapt the E Grip without a hell of a lot of work. So I decided to move on.

I got the BT-4 for the easy E-Grip upgrade initially. Knowing it was two screws away from being changed out. When I got it out of the box. It was solid and felt heavy in my hands. I'm not a speedball player, so I enjoyed the weight. I also bought the bipod at the same time at a Trade Show for $310 CAD all together.

The BT has a lighter trigger pull than the 98C. It's a lot faster firing out of the box as it requires less finger movement off the trigger for the sear to reset. This was very welcomed as I could get a decent rate of fire without an upgrade.

I had never used a stock on a paintball gun before, but the Car stock was welcomed quite quickly and was very comfortable even with a mask. (Vforce Profiler). The vertical grip also gave it a tight feeling as well. I was able to keep a smaller shape holding the marker than my previously owned marker.

The only thing I didn't like were the handguards. They are made out of a thinner plastic than the real ones and bend a bit when grasped firmly. They are also not as tapered as the real ones. So I swapped these out for the real deal and was very happy with the end result.
Conclusion: Excellent Product! A great step up from a starter marker into something a bit more serious. I'd want this or the new X7.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Great_nothing Tuesday, June 5th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
VM-68: Used it back in the 90's when I was a young skull full of mush teenager. I used it as a rental, and it was a good solid, reliable chunk of metal.

Tippmann custom 98: Tough, dependable marker. I used it at several fields as a rental. I was going to buy it instead before I stumbled upon the BT line

I have also used several Kingman markers, mainly the Spyder line some years ago. I never had a very favourable impression. They tended to jam a lot as I recall. I don't know much about their newer designs.
Marker Setup: My current marker is based on the BT-4 Assault model. Current upgrades: BT-4 Magazine expansion chamber (works well, and makes it look more like an M-4 carbine), remote coil (a 20oz CO2 tank is not light. This helps), Ops Gear carry handle picatinny scope mount (Let's me mount optics high enough to use with a mask.), NcSTAR red-dot sight, Ops Gear M16 / AR15 hand guard picatinny rails (allows me to mount the forward grip under the barrel, where it belongs), JT-Tactical 3 point sling, an aluminum valve/power-tube combo, and an Empire motorized hopper.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Remote coil: It's heavy. Removing the CO2 tank helps big-time.

Sling: See above.

Magazine kit/Magazine expansion chamber: Makes it look more like an M-4 Carbine. Look the part.

Aluminum Valve/powertube combo: Under sustained fire, the CO2 can get cold enough to crack the plastic of the power-tube. Aluminum is made of sterner stuff.

Strengths: Tough, cheap, easy to upgrade.
Weaknesses: It ain't light, and the feed-neck is non-standard, and difficult to offset.
Review: About a year ago I decided to seriously get into paintball. I had been going on and off since the late 90's as a renter, and decided to become an owner. I was looking for something that looked the part, as the neon coloured speedball type markers looked too much like a toy to me. I also did not want to spend too much, and I had the C98 as my initial target.

It was around that time that I stumbled on to the BT line. I was automatically drawn to the assault model, due to it's looks, and favourable price. It was a good match.

The marker is a solid hunk of metal and plastic, with the bulk of it being made of machined aluminum. The few plastic parts are also pretty tough, especially the collapsible stock. Also, the picatinny rails, and AR-15 carrying handle allow you add real-life rifle accessories to it.

My field experience with it has been exceptional. The psychological impact alone of such a fierce looking marker is worth it. Just try showing up dressed in BDU's, toting this marker, and you've already terrified most casual players. The reliability of this marker is high. I've logged 9+ hour games, with many marker hits, and jumps to cover leaving it covered in paint and grime, both inside, and outside, and it functioned without a hitch. The only problem I had was the plastic power-tube cracking after firing a good 200+ paintballs without pause using CO2. But, that rarely happens in most games, and it was after a good year of use, week to week.

On another note, I can count the number of ball breaks I've had on one hand. I've put this thing side-by side with A-5's and X-7's, and I can assure you my paint was breaking on my target, not in my marker.
Conclusion: This marker is about as solid as they come. It comes out of the box accurate, and deadly looking. Ball breaks have been almost non-existent. The marker does weigh a good deal, but the weight is well balanced, and reassuring. It can accept a blinding number of upgrades (Ops Gear is your scenario friend). Last, but certainly not least, it won't break the bank.

The bottom line: Tough, cheap, upgradable. A good buy for any budding scenario/woodsball player.

Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ConsumingSoCo Thursday, May 31st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
BT Banshee (basically the same)
Marker Setup: BT 4 assualt with Empire reloader 2, BT sealed bolt system, BT bi-pod, Acog scope, remote line, Pure energy 72ci 3000psi nitro, 3 point sling,
Recommended
Upgrades:
get the nickel power tube, a red dot scope, sealed bolt system
Strengths: Durability , Simple mechanics, Accurate
Weaknesses: Can be a little bit of a bulky gun...
Review: I purchased this gun over a year ago now. it has broke down on me twice, but both break downs were both due to 1 problem, I had a direct connection with a 20oz. CO2 bottle. The cold air managed to crack my power tube and with that leak it caused my front sight to fall off. All very simple repairs.....I then bought the Nickel power tube and rescrewed the sight back on, so I suggest getting an expansion chamber clip from BT or using a remote line if u use CO2.
Conclusion: I believe this is a good marker and well worth the money. You can put this gun through hell and it would still survive
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

happynoob Friday, April 13th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None, first Woodsball marker.
Marker Setup: BT-4 Assault
Standard Extreme Rage Hopper
20oz Co2
Remote
Spyder Ball Carrier
Mask
Recommended
Upgrades:
REMOTE
Sling
Strengths: Durable
Dependable
Looks Amazing
Range
Accuracy
Weaknesses: Heavy without remote
Can be a bit big when behind cover
Review: Well what can I say, it blew me away the first time I used it! I decided to stick with Woodsball, and so my Spyder Pilot wouldnt cut it. I bought this marker due to the reviews and the ability to customize it. Let me first of say that the first time i used it was for 3 hours out in the pooring rain. It fell in the mud once and was banged against a tree and it still worked like a charm!

After that rainy day I was sold! Lets get this over with. The looks of this thing are mean, Most players dont want to get within 30 feet of this thing because at that range, I can easily pick them off due to the great range and accuracy it has! This is totaly a woodsball gun, not some flimsy speedball gun that if you frop breaks. As mentioned above i put it through its test and the best part about it, when I cleaned it off it looked brand new, not even a scratch!

The gun itself is very comfertable to shoot, and the weight is balanced perfectly....thats if you have a remote. Without the remote it can get a bit heavy and more bulky, but with the remote in feels light and accurate. Iv put 3000 rounds through this gun and I havent chopped one, and remember I use a standard hopper, no electric one for me.

EDIT---- Well, went to play a game with it and it started to leak. It is an internal leak.

Second EDIT----Turns out I was low on CO2 and there wasnt enough pressure to close the valve, havent had any other problems so far!
Conclusion: If you want a great gun for woodsball and scenario play get this gun, it is durable and will last in the most harsh conditions! With the proper upgrade(remote) this gun is perfect and very intiminating!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, May 28th, 2007 at 7:39 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mikeynice Wednesday, February 21st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder SE, tippman 98,
Marker Setup: BT-4 assualt,BT-4 1913 20'' barrel,magazine expansion chamber,tasco pro point sight red/green dot and digital camo wrap.I uploaded a pic of my marker its the one on the couch with the long barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
I think its great right out of the box,maybe a remote line or a magazine expansion chamber just for looks
Strengths: Accuracy,looks and feel, price is not that bad
Weaknesses: See review
Review: as far as the weeknessses i see a lot of people saying its a gas hog but i have never run out of gas i also dont shoot like a maniac unless iam laying down suppressive fire also it is a little heavy with a tank on it but i use a 12oz tank to cut back on the weight but its suppose to be an assault rifle not a pistol so i would expect a Little weight behind it

the gun feels great whether our not you use the front grip, the hopper is off set on the BT4 so you can still use the sights the BT16 is centered so no sights also it looks great with out any mods done to it. its durable ive drooped it, fell on it ,some one steped on it, its still working great and ive never broken a ball inside it ,never.i use midnight paintballs i know there not the best but like i said i never chopped a ball so i keep using them plus the place that sells them is 5 min away from me.maintenance is easy i just drop some oil in it right before i use it and that's it,velocity is easy to adjust when we play close quarters i turn down my velocity in a sec with no problems, it fires just a fast as you can pull the trigger i believe its rated at 13 bps
Conclusion: its a great gun if you bought a other gun and made it look something like the BT4 you would end up spending 300-450$ easily so for the price(i picked mine up new for 260$) the guns great.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, March 28th, 2007 at 10:52 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ethrealwolf Thursday, April 13th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98c
Tippmann A5
Marker Setup: BT-4
BT bipod
Custom Magizene mod (asthetics only, no function)
PE coiled remote line
pure energy 88/3000 HPA tank
VL revvy (9v)

Recommended
Upgrades:
no idea yet- perhaps a new barrel, remote to get the weight of the marker down some.
An agitated hopper- Revvy works great.
Strengths: Looks
Durability
Upgradeablity
Weaknesses: Gas hog
Review: Basicall, I got the marker about three weeks ago, as payment for working on the local feild. free stuff, so is well.

I break it out of the box and it gorgeous- has all the looks of an upgraded 98c out of box, and the added bonus of being newer, so not everyone and their dog has it yet. so I slap an old revvy i had on it, and grab my tank and run some paint trough it out back.

Starting at about 3000 PSI in my tank, i loaded my hopper with stinger paint, the clear shell, yellow fill, oil-based stuff. normally it's used for military training, but hey, whatever.

The accuracy of the marker past 50 feet or so was abysmal- 1 in 5 actually hit what I was aiming at ( a head and upper torso cut out, about life sized). that could have been the paint, though- and in closer than 51+ feet, it was a pleasure to see in action- 4 in 5 hits. I'll test it with higher quality paint when i get the chance.
EDIT- as it would turn out, it was the paint- Using wal-mart big ball i got decent accuracy out of the marker- hitting a small coca-cola bottle at about 60 feet 3 out of five times. The only marker upgrade was a bipod at this point, which I was goofing off with. apparently the marker likes bigball.
FURTHER EDIT- Apparently it was just that batch of paint, I got my hands on some other stinger (feild paint) and it shot fine.

after testing, (i ran about one hopper load through it) i checked my tank- it was sitting at 2k PSI- but i reckon i can fix that problem my grabbing a new drive spring out of a 98c and swapping them. or failing that, cutting down the drive spring of the BT.
EDIT- Apparently, after a little while it gets better on air- starting at 1900 PSI tonight I shot a hopperload and went down to 1k PSI. only a 100PSI use differance, but it's something.

Another problem i had was weight- although, again, that's more my set up than it is the gun. with a full 195+ rnd revvy and a 88/3 tank on that thing it must weight about as much (if not more!) than a loaded M16A2 (and therefore, more than the M4 the BT-4 is designed after) I'll be picking up a remote line for that problem though- I still have plenty of space on my MOLLE gear for a tank.
EDIT- Getting the tank off gun helped the weight alot, although it messed up the balance a little- the marker's pretty nose-heavy now.
FURTHER EDIT- After the initial edit, with teh Remote line to the tank, I've since adressed the balance issue- I've moved the foregrip to right behind the bipod with the use of a dremel and a sight rail that was too long.

other than that, the marker is a dream for it's price. with internals that are pretty much identical to the 98c's, it can accept almost all the 98c/A5 upgrades on the market- excluding the opsgear shrouds and the cyclone feed for the 98's. i'm tempted to put an ACT bolt in the BT, but it's really not necessary- i've never had a chop, at least, not yet.
Conclusion: all told, i love the BT-4, and although i'm not going to pour too much money into it, it'll see it's fair share of upgrades and use. I'd advise it to mil-sim and woodsballers all over, especially for it's price.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, April 27th, 2006 at 5:40 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

southern-spades Monday, October 2nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippman 98 custom
tippman a-5
Marker Setup: ricochet ak hopper
flashlight on rail mount
apek barrell
Recommended
Upgrades:
none, great outta the box but an apex barrell cant hurt
Strengths: Accurate, Reliable, and Threatning and great to look at
Weaknesses: Havent found one yet!
Review: this gun is a great addition to any team who plays mainly woods ball or milsim, unlike most say its not that bad in speedball.. my amatuer team the southern spades plays predominatly speedball and i rarely get eliminated, but is even more kick ass in woods ball. This gun can destroy guns twice its cost out of the box, i dont think ill ever need another gun.
Conclusion: If you want a reliable, sexy, powerfull, accurate gun out of the box, you cant go wrong with the bt paintball designs bt-4 assault.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

IronCorps Monday, March 20th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Almost every tippmann gun.
Marker Setup: BT-4 Assault, Eggy II, MEGA RT, remote, 72/3000
Recommended
Upgrades:
Double Trigger.
Strengths: Very well balanced. Inginuity of design.
Weaknesses: Shooting left handed.
Review: This is by far my favorite tippmann yet. The stock barrel is a nice wide-bore, making it a all around great stock barrel. It gets good efficiency for a tippy due to its lack of porting. Simply size up a good ball and it'll be dead-on accurate. A double trigger will effectively add 2-3 bps to your fire rate since you have more muscles, leverage, and touque on the trigger mechinism.

Ben was thinking when he designed this one. The grip is removable and almost identical to the A5 (which he also designed if you didnt know that). It is RT ready after a tiny bit of mod work. My double trigger couldnt have been easier to install.

It gets decent back pressure for you RT users out there.

The foregrip is slidable, as is the feedneck.The rear charging sights are removable, it takes only seconds.

The marker uses Picitinny rails, which i think are a major bonus.
Conclusion: Best stock tippy yet. You'll get alot of 'wows' with this one.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, December 26th, 2006 at 3:44 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

chin0x0 Tuesday, February 28th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
nothin really, jus vl geneisis surge
Marker Setup: -BT4- assalut
-Remote hose
-68cin nitro
-universal bi-pod
-ADCO sure shot scope
-4+1 slam pack
Recommended
Upgrades:
remote hose, pack, sling but i still havent gotten one, n i wana upgrade a trigger to electronic but not a neccesity
Strengths: -powerful
-look
-accuracy
-ablity to use A-5 flatline
-price (got mine for 250 flat)
Weaknesses: - Weight
- Bulky
- Eats co2
Review: I've always wanted a scenario marker, and well i finally found one with not a whole lot of money, its shoots great looks awesome, has a little kick back but hey that's what you ask in a scenario gun right, my problem is that i don't know where to get upgrade parts for it, i hear its just like a tippmann c98 but i also hear other wise, i just want to know if it is upgradable and what can i use, and where to find a electronic trigger, and also what the best hopper for it
Conclusion: buy it if it is under 270, and so far it beats the price of buying a tippmann and customizing it, but i heard BT might go out of buisness from a law-suit from tippmann, not sure bout it just heard of it
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
11 Comments - Add Comment

DARK_KIDO Saturday, July 28th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98 Coustom
Marker Setup: -Remote
-HPA Tank
-Redz 2+1 Pod Pack
Recommended
Upgrades:
-none that I can think of.
Strengths: Barrel is accurate.
Comes pretty much fully loaded if you want an M4/M16 look.
Weaknesses: Body halves not best quality
Review: To start this was my first marker. It realiable, accurate, quiet and easy to field strip.
The BT-4 Assault comes with a...
-14" M16 Barrel
-6 Postion Tactical CAR Stock
-Adjustable M16 Carry Handle.

This marker is tough and will take a major beating and still keep on shooting, however like I said above the quality of the milled body halves are low and the cheap plastic on of the handguards leave something to be desired. The Gun is also quite long at 33" it wieghs a good 10-12 pounds with a 20oz CO2 tank and Fully loaded hopper. The gun is pretty quiet though which is a plus.

The BT-4 Also fixes some of the issues that the 98 Coustom had, like the Trigger Frame is screwed onto the body, the feed neck is easily slide of the weaver rails [which are on the top and bottom of the gun.] There are also no built in sights, so you don't have to worry about some rear sight preventing you from moveing an iron sight all the way back to the end of the gun.

The are a lot less upgrades for the BT-4 than there are the 98 Coustom, some things will fit but others won't. There is no Ricochet Rocket Cock 2 system availble so the guns externals are exposed and paint will get into them. Field Stripping the marker is really easy, just remove the barrel, feed neck, and the iron sight, then unscrew the trigger frame, and 4 more screws and bam your looking at the internals.

This gun is a good woodsball gun, but if your looking for better quality get an A-5 or X7.
Overall 8 out of 10
Conclusion: Its a nice gun but leaves some things to be desired.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media