paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / BT Paintball Design BT-4 Assault / BT Paintball Design BT-4 Assault / BT Paintball Design BT-4 Assault / BT Paintball Design BT-4 Assault

BT Paintball Design BT-4 Assault Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount BT Paintball Design

Buy BT Paintball Design BT-4 Assault

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


BT Paintball Design BT-4 Assault
[ View Photos (36) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 72
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $300

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
OVERVIEW - Keep opponents in Awe.
With Scenario players in mind the BT-4 Assault is the choice of demanding players who look for military spec features and feel coupled battle tested BT reliability and battle tested durability. If you are looking to put some fear into your tournament opponents turn up with this mean rig.
Product Availability 
The BT Paintball Design BT-4 Assault is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (8):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8
        Next Page
claytopolis Monday, March 19th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98 Custom
Stingray
Marker Setup: BT-4 Assault with remote line and generic CO2 Tank and butt back. Tactical sling
Recommended
Upgrades:
Definately recommend the remote, as this improves mobility and reduces the overall weight of the marker. Considering buying the BT-4 Magazine expansion chamber for looks.
Strengths: Great Looks, Great Performance, Best Price for the setup
Weaknesses: Fully adjustable sites which are useless, not built for speed ball
Review: I purchased this marker after reading the reviews on this site, and I will have to go with the general consensus that this is a well built, accurate and effective paint ball marker. It shoots as good as it looks, huge intimidation factor and overall feel is great!
I am a woods ball shooter first and for most, and enjoy the whole milsim type game, so this was perfect for me. I am an occasional paintballer who was looking for a quality marker with some attitude. I have found this to be a great mix of performance and style, and suites my needs. I was not overly expensive, and when compared to other low end mechanical markers such as the 98 custom, it was a more economical choice to purchase a marker with these accessories already present (stock, and fore grip).
As for the attachments that come with this marker, the collapsible stock and fore grip are great. However, as mentioned in other reviews, the sight rail on top is more of a decorative feature than anything else. Please note, it is NOT that the hopper or feeding tube interfere with the rear and fore sights on the gun. The problem lies in that you cant put your check to the stock to aim down the sites because of the paintball mask, which keeps your head about 1-1.5" from the stock. It has some great features though: full adjustable windage knobs, and a small and large ghost ring sight. Their just not that useful on the field, and would prefer if it came with the Magazine expansion chamber which comes with the BT SWAT and BANSHEE models.
Some people have reported that this is heavy, but for anyone who has ever held a rifle, assault or other wise, will find this quite light. That is not to say it is not heavier compared to other pb guns. Furthermore, I would highly recommend a remote setup, because of the obvious weight imbalance that arises from having a tank on the back of the marker.
Because of the stock and the larger barrel (diameter wise due to the complete foregrip and forward sights) it does have a larger overall profile, ie you a bigger target!
But, like I said, this is accepted by me for my preference for this style marker, so I cannot ding it for that.
This marker looks great, every time I go out with it I get ooohs and aahhhs, and the occasional, "hey, why doesn't by A-5 look like that? I thought I paid for the extra stock and foregrip?"
This gun is about as accurate as any other marker in this category, and I have found that it groups reliably at 100yrd, and I am confident to hit targets beyond that no problem.
Cleaning is a breeze, and the external velocity regulator is pretty handy, although it is some times a little tough because the Allan wrenches that come with the kit seem a little too big. It also comes with a barrel plug and some spare O rings
One down side is the placement of the sling attachments on the stock and foregrip: they are positioned on the bottom of the gun, so when the marker hangs off your side, it turns upside down..... first time I tried I spent the next 15minutes picking up loose paintballs after the hoper spilled.

As a side note, please be careful taking paintball (and airsoft) markers that model Assault Rifles in public; a group of kids in my town got a BT Banshee and started flashing it around, and the neighbors called the police and well, they were confiscated.
Conclusion: I have recommended this marker to several friends and will continue to buy BT products. It is a great starter gun, and for those looking at custom 98s at similar prices, this I believe is the superior product, and the most kick a$$!
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Monday, March 19th, 2007 at 4:48 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

socal pb_05 Wednesday, December 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann 98 custom
Marker Setup: tippmann 98 custom with response trigger, 14 inch barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
get a bigger Co2 tank because it uses a lot of air(more than average)
Strengths: Very very accurate

Looks kick ass in reality (not a picture)

Weaknesses: the plastic on the barrel is weak


uses a lot of Co2
Review: i got the marker for my graduation and shot it the same day. it blew me away with its looks and performance. from a long ways away(for those of you who play woodball) it was so accurate. the best thing was it wasnt even broken in yet. I noticed that every time i go out and shoot it i like it better
Conclusion: It is a great marker for ayone who wants to take a step up from their first gun and have great looks for a good price.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TheMan In Black Tuesday, November 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
just the tippman field rentals
Marker Setup: BT 4 Assault 20 oz C02 tank with remote full head mask with thermal lense.
Recommended
Upgrades:
M16 Apex barrel, mine is on order :-) The red dot scope that fits on top of rail sight may be nice too.
Strengths: Intimidating, tough reliable.
Weaknesses: It freezes up easily in 0 to plus 3c but it is a gas hog
Review: This gun does impress/ intimidate people, people keep asking to be on MY team :-)
I bought this marker after reading the reviews on here and have not regretted it, this is a solid marker. I am buying the M16 Apex barrel because I want the extra range. The stock barrel does have better accurace over the base model BT 4 combat but no real range increase.
One guy was shooting at me I was standing NEXT to a shack and he couldn't zero in on me with his rental, where as I was keeping his head down and wouldn't let him out much. So like I said good accurace but it is no better than the 150+ foot range that the BT 4 combat has. The Apex is suposed to have 250 to 300 so I can't wait to get it and further dominate the rental and speed ballers (at distance).
Like I said it is a tough gun I was playing on snow and fell on it barrel first and didn't hurt it at all. (not something I want to do again)
My buddy who is a officer in the military and a platoon commander said it looks and feels very much like the real thing.
Conclusion: Buy this gun if you like bush ball or sim, it's not to bad as a speed ball gun either with the stock collapsed ( at distance and if you are sneaky) just don't run and be a rambo with it :-)
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, November 7th, 2006 at 3:05 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Mawds Monday, September 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
Only used basic paintball site Gear.
Marker Setup: BT-4 assault
Remote line
Halo LCD frontman hopper
20oz Co2 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Remote line
20oz co2 tank
Sound activated hopper
Strengths: Accurate
Looks Amazing
Intimidation factor
Weaknesses: Expected a little better distance.
Review: Firstly I'm going to start with one of the weaknesses so we can get it out of the way.
So far I have only used this marker on rental days at my local paintball field... which means I have to regulate the velocity of the marker. Therefore I'm hoping that when I attend a walk on I can change the velocity and get more power a further distance from this gun which I'm sure I will.

As for all the strengths... firstly the marker looks great and scares the sh*t out of most people when you pull the beast from your carry case.

The marker has been accurate upto and around 100ft so far although as I said I hope to get more when I change the velocity.
I have read people saying the weight is an issue although I believe this is only true if your where to attach your co2 or air tank directly onto your marker... If you use a remote line and have your tank on your back it's not a problem in the slightest.
I have also read that this marker is a gas hog but once again I had no such problems with a 20oz co2 bottle... lasting me around 500 shots.
Conclusion: Overall this marker is great... It's accuracy does wonders in the field and packs a punch on impact.
I couldn't compare it to many other markers as I haven't used any but so far I've had the advantage over the rest of the payers I've played with... top piece of gear.
So far I can only rate this marker for a 9 as I have yet to witness it's full distance capabilities.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

F-3 Tuesday, July 11th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann Model 98 / 98 Custom / Custom Pro
Tippmann Pro-Carbine
Tippmann A-5
Viewloader Orion / Triad
Spyder TL-X / Xtra / Rodeo
Marker Setup: BT-4 Assault
Gravity Feed Hopper
BT Apex Barrel
20oz. CO2
Recommended
Upgrades:
Apex Barrel
Electronic Loader
Remote
Strengths: -Durability
-Reliability
-Upgrades
Weaknesses: -Weight
Review: The BT-4 is very similar to the Tippmann 98 and A-5, but makes several improvements and leaves more opportunities for upgrades. The body is solid milled aluminum with weaver rails integrated on the top and bottom. The foregrip, rail sight, and feedneck are all attached by these weaver rails, which means they can be removed and replaced with different accessories at will. This alone makes the BT-4 a better buy than the 98 Custom, which requires the use of a hacksaw to remove its foregrip. Presumably a different feedneck may eventually come into use, since the existing one can easily be removed - BT's forthcoming answer to the Cyclone, perhaps?

The end cap and stock are the same dimensions as the 98, which means you can use 98 stocks on the BT-4 and vice versa. On the other end, the gun uses A-5 barrel threads, which means you'll never be short on barrel options.

As far as performance goes, the BT-4 is excellent for recreational and scenario play. It's as durable as any paintball marker you can buy today, even moreso than Tippmann models. It's also very reliable. To date I've been absolutely unable to disable it, while Tippmanns of similar usage have started failing (I'm only talking about 3-4 months time here).

The stock on the Assault is a typical adjustable CAR stock. The sight rail looks nice, but doesn't see much use in play thanks to the stock and the player's mask. The 12" Assault barrel is actually very nice for a stock barrel, and the handguard and forward sight can be removed and installed on any 7/8" barrel.

The only serious drawback to the BT-4 is weight. With a solid aluminum receiver, this is the heaviest marker I've ever played with. While this hasn't been a problem for me, I imagine there are players out there who prefer their markers light and nimble.
Conclusion: Highly recommended over existing Tippmann models. If you're looking at any of the 98s, consider the BT-4 instead. Unless you're deadset on getting a Cyclone feeder, the BT-4 is also a better buy than the A-5, especially after a loader upgrade.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

KevinGrell Sunday, April 23rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98's
Marker Setup: BT4 Assault with Tactical sling and laser and I run a remote to CO2.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Magazine expansion chamber which will be out soon.
Strengths: Accuracy ,very solid built gun ,intimidation factor.
Weaknesses: A bit of a gas hog.
Review: Got this awesome beast more than 6 months ago and I have had no problems since. The accuracy of this gun tops other kinds of similar woodsball type guns, both high end and low end that my team-mates use. The players on the opposing teams very seldom get close to me. I have had many instances when I hold off the entire opposing team or take them all out. The intimidation factor of this gun is just too much for some players and they just surrender when they see me coming. This gun is built to take a beating and will not malfunction. You will not have to do much maintaince on it as well. I know that I made the best decision of buying this gun.
Conclusion: I recommend this gun to anybody who is thinking of buying it or thinking of buying anything similar. All I have to tell you is that you won't have any problems with it.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, April 23rd, 2006 at 9:24 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

JCarp21 Saturday, February 11th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98c
VL Maxis (reg)
Marker Setup: BT4 assault (stock)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Remote, electric hopper, and flatline
Strengths: Accuracy
Power
looks good
durable
Weaknesses: A serious gas hog, and the weight, minor parts problem.
Review: This gun was the third gun i bought and was well worth it. for the price and quality it could not be beat. although it weighs a ton the gun makes up for it. it definitely has a intimidation factor, scared the crap out of some first timers . also the gun is very accurate and fires hard.
Conclusion: if you are going to by a mil. sim/scenario gun this is the gun to buy. it comes fully loaded and cost about $100 dollars less than an A5 with the same setup. if you are going to upgrade anything get a remote and flatline.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

JsymonFGMS Friday, February 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
spyder compact, spyder imagine
Marker Setup: BT-4 assault stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
remote coil
Strengths: Shoots far, shoots fast
Weaknesses: I chop sometimes
Review: I have playd 4 games with it i have choped at least once every time but i have won every time it is a good gun to use it is very accurate i play small game with 7 or 8 people usally it has been cool every time i playd though
Conclusion: The best gun ever
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

davidisneat Monday, June 16th, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
i threw a paintball once
Marker Setup: tippmann a5, flatline barrel, cyclone feed with x7 hopper, magazine expansion chamber, cat sttock, response trigger, remote coil, 20 oz tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
expansion chamber, shotting is very inconsistant. or just buy a new gun
Strengths: It looks good, if you want a milsim type gun this is cheep.
Weaknesses: See body
Review: weeknesses- inconsistent, terrible accurace, sights are terrible. when you screw the barrel in the front sight is always offset from the rear shight, rear sight gives very little movement, basicallly useless, chops so many balls, crap internals.


when i bought this gun i was stoked, i shot it a couple times and though it was not to bad, then i took it to the field for the first time and it had no range at all, its only accurate to about 50 feet, the barrel manages to spin the ball down causing to drop rapidly, i chopped about ten balls that day, but i also forgot to tell you, the main valve inside blew after 2 games and i had to use a 10 year old 98c, (surprisingly better than the bt-4), the other guys said that happens with every BT gun. i was so pissed off i took it back and bought an a5 for a hundred dollars less. way better gun, just doesnt look as sweet, but there are hundreds of looks for the a5, dont buy this gun, gaurantee it will break, terrible reliability and empties your c02 so fast. if you do buy it, make shure you keep the reciept, i was highly dissapointed.
Conclusion: piece of junk, never touching a BT product ever again.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

thebman8426 Wednesday, October 13th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
tippman 98
Marker Setup: bt4 assault digi camo ncstar red dot
Strengths: Acurate
Weaknesses: Heavy but not to bad
Review: How do you put the foregrip on the barrel is my only question can someone write how in a review other than that this gun is so sick it shoots so far and the barrel it comes with is really accurate i would get the m16 mag for it for sure
Conclusion: Awsome defintaly buy it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (8):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media