paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / OPSGEAR Raider G36 Folding Stock / OPSGEAR Raider G36 Folding Stock / OPSGEAR Raider G36 Folding Stock / OPSGEAR Raider G36 Folding Stock / OPSGEAR Raider G36 Folding Stock

OPSGEAR Raider G36 Folding Stock Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount OPSGEAR

Buy OPSGEAR Raider G36 Folding Stock

Paintball A-5 Stocks

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


OPSGEAR Raider G36 Folding Stock
[ View Photos (7) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 20
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $70

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
RAIDER G36 Folding Stock - A5

Introducing the first G36 folding stock designed from the ground up to fit and enhance the function of the Tippmann A5.

FEATURES:

* The fold is a full 180°
* Stock lays flat against the body of the marker
* Easy fold and store for transport
* Fold for CQB engagements
* The stock will not interfere with the shooter’s hand while folded
* Made of RAIDER™ quality materials
Product Availability 
The OPSGEAR Raider G36 Folding Stock is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (2):  1  |  2
                            
rhernandez7 Monday, June 18th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Ive used my friends Specialops air through stock
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
X7 Hopper
WAS E-Grip
Trinity Springs
JCS Jet-Click
HPA with Remote Line
Strengths: No Wobble
Folds quickly
Folds folds near flush with marker
Stock itself seems very durable
Weaknesses: Read review to see the issues I had
Review: So first this stock looks good and serves its function well. I got my A-5 and this after being just a month old from a local who had taken it out once. It looked good as new and still does after my use so It has held up well externally.

Now for the bad. As soon as I got it home I had two quick strip push pin halves fall out of the A-5. I've read a few forums and other people have reported this issue. I spoke to Opsgear today and the rep I spoke with said he had to get stronger screws from the hardware store for his. I had two perfectly good pins break through one day of use (a total of 4 pins broken so far). There are some solutions to this if you look around.

While trying to determine why I was having such issues with this stock I looked at where the drive spring meets the stock and there is a small metal cup embedded in there that was cracked and about 1/5th of it was missing. It was still functional but I'm concerned about the rest breaking off under pressure since its not whole anymore. The Opsgear rep stated the stock "should be very durable and should not break any more under use." It did hold up through a day of play.

I will say though that it had a great feel to it and I had no worries that it would break down on me while using it (By this i mean breaking off or the hinge breaking).
Conclusion: Since I did not have an order number directly from Opsgear I was told they could not do anything about replacing or fixing the stock. So if you decide to purchase this stock I recommend buying it from Opsgear directly if you want any warranty coverage on it.

I like the stock and wish I had better luck with it but I did have to take off points for the pushpin problems and of course the broken part.
Rating:
6 out of 10Last edited on Monday, June 18th, 2007 at 10:30 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

G36C Tuesday, May 29th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: tippmann A5
ops gear g36c foregrip/sight rail
opsgear g36c mag
opsgear g36c folding stock
ops gear m4 barrel (16 inch)
bt bipod, bt bipod barrel adapter
tiberius laser site
tiberius tactical flashlight
techt vortex mod
techt cyclone feed lightning rod
jt tactical sling
tiberius vertical fore grip
beoranged howitzer bolt
rap4 hopper offset
polished internals
a5 flatline
Strengths: Sturdy
Folds out of the way
Weaknesses: None
Review: This is a great stock it adds the milslim look and feel without adding alot of weight. it folds out of the way for close quarters fights, its nice and sturdy ive fell on mine twice now and it still works great not a crack or bend in it. like all other well built stocks it's good and sturdy and fits well against the shoulder for increased accuracy and steadiness.
Conclusion: Buy it its great looking and works how its suppose to
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

samurai2828 Friday, January 5th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Co2 Butstock (lol)
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
16" OPSGEAR Tactical Barrel
6' OPSGEAR SR6 Shroud
OPSGEAR G36 Folding Stock
SIG MAG Kit
OPSGEAR Remote Coil with Slide Check Valve
Tippmann A5 Double Trigger
Universal Bipod with Quick Release
Palmers Female Stabalizer Kit
OPSGEAR Red-Dot Scope
E-grip WAS Board
Lapco Offset Sight Rail
Palmer High Flow QEV
OPSGEAR MP Supressor Kit
~~~~~~~~~~
Tiberius 8 Tactical Pistol
Extra clip
Strengths: Strength
Look
Durability
Feel
Operation
Installation
Weaknesses: None
Review: Basically prefference is everything! You like the look, or you dont, but you need not worry about anything else. An amazing stock. Strong, and I mean strong. Oh, did I mention the look of it on the marker? Oh yes, prefference. Lol, when considering all aspects of paintball, this stock performs perfectly, intimidates people, and simply looks amazing on the A5.
Conclusion: Compared to most stocks, this one is cheap in price, so if you like the look, get it!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Kevin M. Tuesday, December 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Flatline
All American Barrel Back with 10'' Red Freak Front
Vortex Mod
A-5 QEV
Howitzer Bolt
E-Grip
APE Rampage Board
Opsgear Folding Stock
Ricochet Hopper
Oxygen & Co2 Tanks

Strengths: See review
Weaknesses: See review
Review: Works great, makes the stock good and solid, allows the marker to be brought up to a firing position very quickly, makes it easier to aim, and it makes the marker look overall cooler. also it is folding so for close quarters combat you can shorten your marker significantly. Overall this is an awsome stock BUY IT!
Conclusion: The best stock you can get for your money
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bobaboy007 Tuesday, May 30th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
3-point car stock, co2 in my armpit
Marker Setup: Tippmann a-5, opsgear G36c folding stock.
Strengths: STRONG!!! Smooth unfolding action, good locking mechanism, solid, good looking
Weaknesses: Tough install, very tough field strip, can't get mask under
Review: When I pulled it out of the packaging, the first thing I noticed was that it was TOUGH. I honestly would be more worried about my a-5 breaking than this thing. after installation (which was tough, see below), there was also NO wiggle room. the unfolding action is very smooth, once you get used to it. the folding action is alittle bit tougher, cuz of the lock, but thats how it should be (less chance of it folding on accident).

Weaknesses: Installation. If you follow what opsgear says on the website, you should be fine, but its still a tough install. you have to loosen the screws alittle to get it in (hence no wiggle room), then tighten them again. at one point, I had to use a hammer to get the bottem field strip pin in (I prolly could have done it w/o tools but I'm lazy like that). I have no idea how I'm gonna field strip it, but If I use the hammer to get the pins out I should be fine. also, you cannot get your mask behind the gun when its unfolded w/o completly cocking your head in an almost 90 degree angle. however, since it folds, this isn't a big deal because... with it unfolded, you get some sweet shotgun-aiming action- by that I mean instead of aiming w/ the sights (rifle-style), you aim with your front hand, and that is really cool. It gives a very stable shooting platform, and I think my spot-shooting is going to be sweeter than ever!
Conclusion: 9.5, on account of the field strip and mask issues. Putting it down as a ten on account of sweet shotgun style aiming w/ the shooting platform.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, July 27th, 2006 at 6:43 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Swordsman_87 Wednesday, April 5th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
I haven't used anything like this before.
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Opsgear G36C Rail Kit
Opsgear G36C Mag Kit
Opsgear G36C Folding Stock
Opsgear 14" Interceptor Barrel
Opsgear Tac Cap
Strengths: STURDY!!
Unbreakable (unless you ABSOLUTELY try to)
Folds for CQB
Very Light
Weaknesses: Tough to fold at first
Review: This is an incredible piece of equipment to own if you are going for the Heckler and Koch G36 look, or if you just want to jazz up your standard TIppy A-5.

STRENGTHS

Sturdy - This stock is very sturdy in both the normal and the CQB configuration. Some of the other reviews of this product claims that the stock very barely wobbles, but I have yet to notice this. It's not going anywhere in either position!

Unbreakable - This stock is made from somer kind of hard polyurethane polymer (I think). When the website says, "You can drive a truck over it and not break it!" they were right! Unless you used a jackhammer or a superheated blowtorch, you WILL NOT break this stock!

Folds for CQB - Ever been bunkered by heavy fire at your local park? Of course you have! Who hasn't? Well instead of having to put your entire long gun around the corner to get a good shot, you can fold this stock up! You can work corners and peak around edges by turning your full sized assualt rifle into a small SMG configuration! It takes off around 10" and allows you to keep the gun in nice and snug to carefully probe your surroundings. It also has a notch taken out of the stock so that it will fold up against the manual cycling device on the side of the gun. This only folds on the right side, sorry lefties!

Wieght - Because of this polyurethane material it's made from, it has almost no wieght to it! You won't even know it's there!

WEAKNESSES

Tough to fold at first - My only real complaint with this is the fact that when you first get it, it's a little harder to fold than the video on the website leads you to believe. You REALLY have to muscle it into folding position for the first few times you use it. I would suggest just watching TV one night and just folding and re-folding the stock to break it in. Once you do break it in, it should be quite smooth!

**Update**
I had to find something out the hard way. When you fold this stock from full to CQB, YOU HAVE TO LIFT UP ON IT in order to clear the locking mechanism!!! Because no instructions were given on the website or the package itself, I assumed you just forced it into position and that it was natural for it to be excessively hard to do at first. Well the hard plastic broke locking tab broke because I thought I knew what I was doing. Apparently not. This is NOT an Opsgear flaw in design, this is my own stupid being! So do not let this discourage you from buying this stock. And for the record, Opsgear was very helpful and understanding when I explained my problem, so they are having it fixed for me right now.

Conclusion: This is seriously an incredible piece of equipment and gets my full respect! I've only tested it a few times, but from what I can tell and from the quality of other Opsgear products, this is a piece worth buying! You get alot of stares, oohs, whoas, God D*&@s and a few other sayings when you tote this onto the field, especially if you have the rest of the G36 setup! Highly Recommended!
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, April 6th, 2006 at 11:09 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

NOXQCS Sunday, April 2nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
JCS Folding Stock
BT 6 Position Car Stock
Rage Butt Plate (No comparison really)
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion
Trinity QEV
Trinity Roller Bearing Trigger
J&J Edge Elite Barrel Kit (12" 14" &16")
PMI 48ci. 3000 PSI
PMI 72ci. 3000 PSI
Empire Reloader B
Kila Magnetic Detents
Tippmann A5
Tippman A5 R/T
Tippmann A5 Flatline
Opsgear G36 Folding Stock
Special Ops Stovepipe Hopper Offset
JCS 3" Weaver Rail
NCStar 30mm Red Dot Scope
Catalina 20 oz. CO2 x 2
Strengths: Sturdy
No wobble in open
Quality
Ease of use
Weaknesses: R/T Valve gets hit
Review: This is by far the best stock I have ever used...
It is a whole lot sturdier than say the JCS folding stock or even the BT Car Stock...
The lack of a well in the side for the R/T valve on the A5 is something I would think that a company like OpsGear wouldn't overlook but alas they have...
It's relatively easy to modify if you have a Dremel or anything of the sort...
All in all I consider this one of my best purchases of all my gear....
Conclusion: If you're in the market for a folding stock, I recommend this to be the best one I have ever tried... Clears your hand in the folded position and is stiff as a board in the out position.... In short it kicks some serious ass... Giving it a 9 because of the need to modify for R/T Valve...
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Monkeypckl Thursday, December 8th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Crappy M4 stock from I & I Sports
SpecOps Mp5 Solid stock
Marker Setup: Tippman A-5
G36c Handguard
G36c Raised Rail
G36c Folding Stock
Strengths: Durablity
No wobble
Cosmetic bliss
Folds completely against the body...kinda
Weaknesses: Always out of stock on their website
Installation
No real mask relief
Review: First off....I LOVE THIS STOCK!

Ok down with the facts.

Installation was kinda hard. You have to force that sucker down...but once its in there its not going anywhere. Nice and solid. Feels good against your shoulder but with a mask on your gonna been a raised rail or offset because there is no space for your mask. Oh well...no biggie. When folded you loose alot of length. Really nice against the body. A little wiggle but nothing bad. Damn...forgot what else i was gonna say....ummm...your not going to break this sucker if you tried. so dont try. yeah....

THE END!
Conclusion: Great stock if your going for the g36c look.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Born2BeAnIdiot Tuesday, March 4th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Marker Setup: A-5
Flatline Barrel
G-36 Foldable Stock
Strengths: Looks cool
Weaknesses: Can't use it on the field
Review: This is an AWESOME looking stock but the huge down side is that the stock is really unhelpful when you are on the field because the mask interferes with the sight. And also if you are a lefty, it is really invconvienient when the stock is folded. So the whole time i was on the field, i left the stock folded because everytime i take the stock out and try to look through the sight, my mask prevented me from doing so.
Conclusion: If you want your gun to look cool then buy it.
If you actually want something to help you aim don't buy it
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mmadlang Wednesday, July 16th, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Marker Setup: Tippmann Custom Pro
Q-Loader
Polished Internals
J&J Ceramic 12" (one piece)
BT Apex Tip
APE E-Grip
OPSGEAR Raider G36 Folding Stock
Strengths: You can fold the stock for tight shooting. It looks sturdy.
Weaknesses: Poor quality and too long.
Review: Poor quality: The entire stock looks like a plastic toy, and without grinding the parts don't fit properly. I have to shave off extra plastic so I can mount it properly.

The length of the stock will make the gun really long. This might be perfect for other people, but for shooting on a tight space, this might not be good.
Conclusion: This product will work, but you need to shave extra plastic to make it work; it's not a plug and play stock like the ones made by Tippmann and BT. Without shaving off the extra plastic, it looks like a plastic toy, but it is functional. If you are patient, and don't mind the hard work, buy it. If don't want to do the sanding/shaving, buy another stock.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (2):  1  |  2
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media