paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto Matrix M6 / Proto Matrix M6 / Proto Matrix M6 / Proto Matrix M6

Proto Matrix M6 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto Matrix M6

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto Matrix M6
[ View Photos (87) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 139
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $950

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The new Matrix VI features jaw dropping body style, a new balanced on/off bottom line, adjustable clamp neck, a new lower pressure bolt kit, new and improved LPR, metal logo inserts and a two piece barrel. With all of that we still managed to shave .5 inches off the height and 4oz. off the weight of the marker. We built the Matrix VI with one idea in mind: to help put you at the top of the podium.
Product Availability 
The Proto Matrix M6 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (14):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
fishhead Friday, October 28th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year114 of 118 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
PM5, DM5, DM4, Shocker, (also Timmies, Egos )
Marker Setup: Dust Blue 06 Proto Matrix, Orange CF bolt, 14" Ultralite barrel (blue back and black front), Hybrid grind push-button on/off, UL frame (also, Reloader B, 70/4500 HP Crossfire stubby w/ 04 Dye Rhino tank cover or Crossfire Stinger 51/3000 w/ custom Gucci tank cover)
Recommended
Upgrades:
The new Dye Ultralite grip frame (WOW!) and/or Virtue board, barrel kit (sizing paint)
Strengths: Smaller, lighter, better looking, complete marker out of box.
Weaknesses: Only dust anodizing available
Review: How we got it:
Stood outside, peeking through the curtains at the Dye booth at World Cup before anyone's booths are open, after Wilma had hit. Gary Shows asks if I wanna see the DM6, well I say 'YES!' of course!. Anywho, he tells me to pull the curtain aside to look in so I do. He then walks up and says, "no, you gotta touch it" so he lets us in and he hands a DM6 to my son and the grip is AMAZING. He then asks if we want to see the new PM6. Well, you know the answer, we walk over to the Proto booth, pull aside the curtains, and there they are on the wall next to the 05's. Let me tell you, no picture I have seen yet shows how much smaller the PM6 really is. 1/3 to 1/2 inch, no big deal right? Wrong, after you add on/off and feedneck, its more like 1 inch. Its is better balanced, and the new Olive just rocks. My son lays out $$$ and buys the first one sold @ World Cup, maybe first sold retail! Gary then signs the box.

How it shoots:
Incredibly easy to roll on the new trigger. Just picked it u and could EASILY hit 15-17 CPS. After adding a Reloader B and 45/4500 tank, perfectly balanced at the grip. Smaller, lighter, tighter, what else could you want? The Dye techs told me that it is internally IDENTICAL to the DM6, though the DM runs at a slightly lower internal operating ressure. All i can say, the PM6 has less kick than any DM or 05 Proto I have ever shot, including mine. SD Legacy was running it @ Cup and it looked & sounded like it was running perfectly.

Addition onto original review:
Here is my son's marker setup:
Olive 06 Proto Matrix
Virtue Board
14" 2-piece Proto barrel
Olive Hybrid Grenade grips
Diamond Black Reloader-B
68/3000 Crossfire or 51/3000 Crossfire

We ran a case of paint through it last night (10/30). Got about 1000 shots off a 68/2800 fill. We ran the gun in all modes. We were hitting the hopper limit in mode 2 with 6 AA energizer cells on fully auto. Accuracy is equal to that of my 05 proto. My son's accuracy test: at 30' start a string on a soccer ball and roll it into a trash can 20' away without moving. He did it with 70 or so balls left in the hopper. The nightkast4life review has to be bogus. He's 12 for crying out loud!

New stuff on marker (02/01/06): He just got an Ultralite frame, and as I stated above WOW! I didn't think I was going to like it as much as my son since I have big hands, but, before we bought it, Roger Farmer (LTZ) told me its perfect, even for big hands, if you are wear gloves. He is right, the frame just rocks. There is even a little LED HUD that tells you what mode you are in without moving your hands from the marker. Great trigger, and you can adjust it without removing parts. Also, it has an integral dovetail mount that is loosened through a hole in the grip. One last thing, it makes the marker 3 oz lighter, that's almost 1/4 of a pound.

I just bought 2 PM6s, one black, the other blue. Mixed parts and posted pix of all three. It shoots amazing, nearly perfect out of box. Only problem, some metal shavings (spiral) in dump chamber. If you get one, remove the bolt, clean it thoroughly, and re-lube. I use Shocktech Bun Butta, it seems slicker cold and hot.

Added 10/28/06:
Just got through playing today. I keep trying new parts on my Shocker, my son just built a Shocker, we test, we run 'em they work great, yada yada. Some problems; we go back to our Protos: PERFECT. I haven't played with my Proto for weeks, it chronos perfect (285 fps) and ball-on-ball. SAme for my son. And he is like, WOW, my Proto is perfect. Truly, this marker deserves a 10. I hadn't lubed or done anything to it since sometime in early September. It just RUNS well.

Added 06/04/2007:
WOW, PM6 are sooo cheap. They are really under-valued. I need to add/clarify two items:
- Even though there are a few o-rings, maintaining a PM6 (any PM or DM) is very easy due to the fuse bolt design. Easier than any Shocker, though the design is more complicated due to the LPR.
- I have never had any marker have as little kick as a PM6 (w/o tophat mod). This probably applies to Matrices as well. My PM5 had an STD reg on it and it shot AMAZING, just too big.

I would rate it higher than a 10 if I could due to its inexpensiveness (is that a word?).

Added 04/03/2008:
I haven't played in a while & I haven't used the PM6 in a while. So I air it up, chrono, and... PERFECT! It was shooting laserbeams. Even with 5-6 month old Stingers. Crazy fast and fairly efficient . I got a HOT 3000 psi fill on my 70/4500 stubby. I got 1 hopper (Vlocity Jr.) and 3 pods (locklids) for about 600 paintballs and was at 1400-1500 when I walked off the field.

My current setup:
Blue PM6 with black parts
- Black Ultralite frame
- CF Orange bolt with small tophat mod
- Blue 05 Hybrid Grind push-button on/off
- 14" Dye Ultralte barrel
Conclusion: REVISED: Cheaper than the DM6, as light as the DM6, and, if you want, you can upgrade to the Ultralite trigger frame (shaves another 1/4 pound of marker weight!) that is the main difference between the DM and PM. If you try it, you will like it. Also, its real inexpensive. You can pick up a used one cheaper than a new PMR.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, April 3rd, 2008 at 10:53 am PST
I found this review  
1619 Comments - Add Comment

ihavemyIONu92 Thursday, December 29th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month20 of 20 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Proto matrix (pm5) shockers, egos, dm5.
Marker Setup: 2006 black/blue Proto matrix (pm6), stiffi, dye ultralite .688 , Dye Ultralite Grip frame, Halo B w/ victory board.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Ultralite Frame cause the battery wires will rip easily so get one asap
Barrel- stiffi and/or ultralite.
Strengths: Fast stock
Lower presure bolt
stock clamping feedneck, on/off and 2 piece barrel
Smaller
Weaknesses: Battery wires
ABSOLUTELY No Mechanical Weaknesses
Review: Efficenciy: I thought that the effic. was very good. i could get about 1000 shots from a 45 45 so that was nice.

Kick: None unless settings are bad.

Accuracy: Great. I cant really say because it depends mostly on the barrel so depending on what barrel u get, your accuracy will very.

Speed: Very Very Very fast for a stock board. I was thinking i needed to get a new board right away because the only mode was semi auto, but i was wrong. If u got fingers that can work the trigger (walking) u will shoot atleast 17 i promise.

Sound. Very Very Quiet. If you have ever shoot a dm3, this is the current "dm3" with out the weight.

Chronographing: The chronographing was ok. It was +/- 7 which is good i guess. After the gun is broke in, it will be much better.

Weight: as light as a shocker. I was pleased with the lightness of the gun. Deff. noticable compared to the proto 05.
Conclusion: My final recommendation on this product is buy it. If you are taking the time too read this then you have some interest in this gun. There is absolutely nothing wrong with it so buy it. its a mini dm6. Sure it doesnt come with a ultralite frame but who cares. This gun rips. Quiet, Light, Fast, Efficent, and Cheep. Who you more do you want?
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

Tbone0423 Sunday, December 4th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months20 of 23 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Piranha E-Force Beginner Gun with huge kick
Black Magaic Autococker (pneumatic). Accruate and nice, but heavy
Tested a DM4/5, Shocker, Russian Legion Timmy
Held and triggered a DM4/5/6/C, Infamous Timmy, Alias Timmy
Marker Setup: (Tested)
Stock Proto Matrix 06
halo b hopper
68ci 4500psi
(Own)
Proto Matrix 06
Empire Reloader B
Pmi 45 4500
CP Trigger
DYE Ultralight Tip
Orange Bolt
Recommended
Upgrades:
Orange bolt (Personal Preference)
CP trigger (Personal Preference)
Strengths: Weight
fast
size
quiet
looks
accurate
Weaknesses: A 14in would be better than 12in
Review: Other Person's PM6
Little kick, but just enough to make the ball miss ur exact point by 1in (not bad). I was told that the orange bolt for it will eliminate all noticeable kick so that u can be dead-on accurate.

I recomended the 14in barrel because to me it just has a nicer feel and it is easier to aim. The accuracy will be the same with the 12in and the 14in.

I have not had much experience with a fast electric gun, but i was shooting streams of paint with this thing unramped. It was incredible. THe fastest i have ever shot in my life.

effiency doesn't bother me with any gun, i go to a field where its $5 for all day air, so if i need to refuel after 4 games or every time im out of paint, thats fine with me. Also there is no "first shot drop-off" so ur first shot is as good as ur last shot. In fact, due to ABS (anti-bolt-stick) ur first shot is usually a higher velocity which i like. Also if u put an ORANGE bolt on it, the effiecny should improve if you put in the mod that comes with it.

Okay, so overall this gun can really bring out the true patential of any player it shot beautifully with almost unnoticeable kick and couldn't be balanced any better.

____________________________________________________________
______
Okay, now the review part on the one i now own

In complete aww, they opened the box. The blue to black fade is just the most incredible thing i've ever seen! As they pulled it out, i prayed that i didn't get one with a bad ASA and believe it or not, it was perfect! I think its actually one of the best asa's out there. So i shot it stock. THis gun RIPS stock. ANY upgrades on this gun should be for personal preference. RIght out of the box, literally no shots shot before it, it was 235, 238, 238, 238. Thats ridiculous. THATS RIDICULOUS. My first 4 shots of the entire gun and 3 of them in a row are the same! So then we decide that i might want the ball to travel a little faster and the speed limit at the place is 265. WE set it to about that and fired. 268, 265, 269 265, 268. Not bad considering this is horrible old paint thta they gave me for free to test it and that the gun has only had a total of 10 shots.

So now we put in the upgraded trigger. At first i thought i shouldn't have, but then when i got use to it, i was really getting going with this . Personal preference is everything in this sport which is another reason i like this proto. Its nearly as customizeable as the ion. Also, the way you can hole ur hand ON the barrel and have ur palm on the lpr is very comfortable. You can't do that so much with the DM's because they have that on/off in the way.

No need to upgrade the board on this gun. Semi is fine. It is very very good semi. Unless you NEED ramping, dont get a new board. I completely disagree with the anyone who needs ramping to shoot 15bps.

One thing i dont get is why are people always so concerned about their guns effiency. Does a Ferrari not consume a lot of gas? They are one of the most guzzling cars in the world yet people buy them all the time. Should it be different markers? Not to the extent people give them today!

Anyway, in a couple of months, my orange bolt should arrive from Germany and i'll put a section about that bolt here. But the gun is very smooth stock, i just dont even want to feel the bolt so im buuying an orange bolt. (that and who doesn't want carbon fiber parts?)

EDIT: July 21
When i took the top hat mod off, my gun got quieter, smoother, and better consistancy. My consistancy was PERFECT! 261, 261, 261, 261, 261, 261, 261, 261... I couldn't believe it, i turned the chrono off and on because i thought it was frozen, LOL.
In case anyone is now wondering what im running on the gun...
Dwell is 16
Putting Dow 55 on an Orange Bolt
ABS is on
HPR at 4 turns
LPR at 2 turns

But yes, efficiency did get a little worse, but i dont care for efficiency (didn't get much worse anyway). My gun always sucks the life out of my tank from 4500-2300 and then it hangs around 2300 for a really long time lol

I made a video with it
http://www.darksidevideo.org/video/7d74a3a9-230c-4171-a595-9
81400428204.htm

Another nice part about this gun is there al literally no hoses within the body to burst. All the air passage ways are milled into the body
Conclusion: Great gun, so much better than all the other guns out there for more money. Great deal for 725. Its also very customizeable so you can get exactly what you want! THe proto barrel good, but dont get an entire ultralight kit if you want a 14in. Just buy the dye 14in tip. They fit on the proto barrel back!

Very good price, very good gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, December 20th, 2006 at 8:43 pm PST
I found this review  
27 Comments - Add Comment

NakedBaller Thursday, February 16th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month14 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
DMs (slightly better), Angels (not as good), Shockers/Ions (bolt is identical...DYE is suing SP cause of this, thus, Proto/DYE > SP), etc.
Marker Setup: Proto Marix 6 (Black Dust)
DYE Ultralite Frame w/ Sticky3 Grip (Red)
DYE Ultralite 14" Barrel (Black Dust)
DYE Throttle Tank 68/4500 w/ DYE Rhino Tank Cover (Red)
HALO B Hopper (Black) w/ RipDrive
Recommended
Upgrades:
1. A fast hopper with eye activated feed (i.e. HALO B), not sound (i.e. Empire Reloaders), unless you use dark shelled paint, because it may have trouble "hearing" the PM6...
2. If you got an extra 250$ to spend, buy the DYE Ultralite Frame - it will make the PM6 even more lighter, more sexy, and the trigger is MUCH better than the stock one.
Strengths: 1. Weight
2. Looks
3. Kick
4. Sound
Weaknesses: 1. Fragile eye wires may cause problems, however, that is about it.
Review: 1. Looks = 10/10

The PM6 is a beauty. Flawless milling and anondizing will DEFINENTLY turn heads.

2. Weight = 10/10

The PM6 is crazy light and with an UL fame, it weighs even less.

3. Sound = 10/10

The PM6 makes a hardly noticible pffft sound and it is so quite that my friends Empire Reloader had trouble feeding it because it couldn't hear it!

4. Kick = 10/10

The PM6 has barely any kick whatsoever due to its low operating pressure.

5. Price = 10/10

The PM6 could hold its own against many $1000+ dollar makers despite being significantly less expensive.

6. Reliability/Quality = 10/10

I have personally not had any problems with my PM6, however, my friends PM6 did have some problems with the eye wire tearing.

7. Customer Service = 10/10

Since I have not had any problems I cannot first handedly say that the customer servicer is superb, however, my friend who ripped his eye wires said that the customer service was just absolutely amazing and reliable.

NOTE: These ratings are based on markers of similar build (i.e. spools) and in the same relative price range ($700 to $1200).
Conclusion: WORTH EVERY SINGLE PENNY (all 92,500 of em)! If you are considering this and are unsure, I would HIGHLY reccomend buying it.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, February 22nd, 2006 at 1:02 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

jrgflrs149 Monday, October 31st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month9 of 33 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Proto Matrix 05 and angel G7
Marker Setup: Proto Matrix 06 and nothing more
Recommended
Upgrades:
none
Strengths: Every thing great gun fast sweet
very light.
Price
better the the DMs
Weaknesses: None.
Review: This gun as you can see looks greats. It very fast and very light. I had to sell my cars sound system in order to get this gun. You will like this gun but dont buy it unless you have used a proto in the past. Or if you realy want it, because if you buy it and dont like it witch Im sure you will not like it but love it. Dont come back and put rate it a 1 because you got a defective one just return it and get a new, just like that.
Conclusion: BUY IT great gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, November 7th, 2005 at 2:41 pm PST
I found this review  
13 Comments - Add Comment

teamxtreme1 Sunday, January 29th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
all dms
ego
shockers
other high end guns
Marker Setup: Proto M6 black, orange bolt, freak barrel, virtue, 68/45 croosfire, Reloader B w/ rip drive

Shocker (black and red), HE Bolt, freak barrel, dynasty board, maxflo micro 4500, talon grip, Reloder B w/ rip drive
Recommended
Upgrades:
ultralight frame, new borad if you want one, barrel

if you dont get the ultralite get a new trigger
Strengths: The PM6 was light, fast and accurate.
Weaknesses: There are not really any
Review: Hi
if you could not figure it out i play on team xtreme (we got second due to xfarctor running major tournies.

I got my PM6 like fishhead at the world cup. i went to the proto tent and was amazed. The price,WOW!!!! it is like almost $400 less than a dm6.

I couldnt use the gun douring the tourney due to still having to use Smart Parts guns. That sucks but not in a bad way.

We started to practice a few weeks after Xmas and i was amazed. In the whole practice i didnt chop a single ball. Guys on our team after seeing my PM6 wanted to trade me for a DM6. I was tempted to say yes but i had already put in $300-$400 dollars in gun.

After practice i go home a clean my gun. Since it was my first Proto gun i had some trouble, but i got used to it. It is acually easier to clean than my shocker.

I still havent choped a ball in 7boxes of paint. I get the same 1200 balls per fill.

I wouldnt mess w/ settings unless you know what ur doing. I found out the hard way!!
Conclusion: BUY IT NOW
almost the same as the DM6 except for the enternals (i said this to all of the people who have to have the facts perfect
Its cheeper and almost as light as the dm6
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, February 11th, 2006 at 7:38 am PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

Ghost779 Thursday, July 19th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
A-5 Tippman w/ response trigger and flatline
98 Custom w/ response trigger

Marker Setup: PM6
freak stainless steel back w/ stainless steel insert and 16 in freak 07 front
crossfire 45/45
V-board
cp on/off
empire B loader w/ rip drive
45/45 tank cover
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel
board
asa
Strengths: Speed, accurancy, no chopped balls, light
Weaknesses: None
Review: THIS MARKER ROCKS!!!! I MEAN IT ROCKS. It took me awhile to get everything I wanted for the marker but adding a V-board made this marker absolutely sick. I went to play with about 30 guys and I end up getting more hits in one game than I had in 10 with my old Tippman. I hit three guys at one time with this marker. It is worth every single penny. At the paintball store I got it at it even came with a life time warranty. Thanks Action Paintball. Nothing is perfect. It has it quirks, but all and all this is the sickess marker I have ever seen in action. Hats off to the people at virture board for making such an awesome board and for there friendly customer services. Adding the freak barrel to this marker just makes it sick accurate. I did not even need that many shots to get someone. just sick with it's accurancy and Hey if your in Michigan and you play look me up @ impactjroseman@yahoo.com. Hey if you are tired like I was of markers that jam and break get a pmr or pm6.
Conclusion: This is honestly an investment and just like any investment you want to invest in the right thing. this is not a cheap marker but if you take the cheap route you will always end up where you started. If you invest in this marker you will not regret your investment.
Ghost out!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jeff_Meister Friday, April 6th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Shocker
Dark Intimidator
Marker Setup: PM6 w/ UL frame
Checkit JR3 14'' barrel
Reloader B Diamond smoke shell
Crossfire LP 68/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
Ultralite frame
New Barrel
If no UL frame a new trigger
Strengths: Weight
Length
Speed
Kick
Weaknesses: Read Review
Review: I picked up the PM6 because I have had my eye on it for quite some time. It was between the DM6, 06 Ego, and the PM6. The PM6 was just the cheaper of all 3, but I am very glad I bought it out of the 3 and I will explain later. Best upgrade you can put on your PM6 is a UL frame. It adds a new trigger, board,and far better feel. LED lights are great , and it imporves the overall look of the marker drastically. Now the reason I prefer the PM6 over the DM6 is that once you put a UL frame on it, the differences start to seem a lot less imprtant. Self Cleaning eyes, lighter, and stock UL barrel are what the DM6 enjoys, PM6 is in fact shorter, and I preferred the LPR in the front, so it was an obvious win. After testing Ego's I found them to be less accurate than my PM, albeit faster, so its really what your looking for, I did not extensivly test the differences however. Now for the review itself.

PM6

Strengths:
Weight- This marker is incredibly light and you will notice that the second you hold it, also very compact.
Speed- I found the speed to be the same as the majority of all highend markers, it can ramp easily up to 20 BPS, and probably more.
Accuracy- Fitted with the right barrel, and I dont care for the stock one, this thing can be deadly. Dye Ultralite is my recommendation.
Milling- Absolutly stunning
Adjustability- LPR and HPR, adjust to have the right velocity with no kick
Kick- None
Maintenance- Very minor, Ive never had my marker go down seriously yet, only problem was leak out the back and I just swapped out the O-rings.
Stock locking feedneck is a nice add on, dont need to upgrade.

Weaknesses:
Trigger- Stock trigger I strongly dislike, just save up and get a UL frame, worth the money.
Efficiency- As well all spool valve markers the efficiency could be better, I get 8 pods on a 4000 PSI fill with a 68ci tank, which really isnt all that bad.
Conclusion: The PM6 is a real winner, especially with the UL frame. You see the pros using them and now you know why. I would not hesitate to buy this marker, you wont regret it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Mad Muffin Man Friday, January 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Ion, MacDev Cyborg, Smart Parts Shocker, Dye Matrix 5
Marker Setup: PM6
VLocity
Crossfire 68ci 4500psi.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Longer tip for barrel, Fast hopper, Fiber tank
Strengths: Fast, accurate, efficient, BEAUTIFUL, comfy
Weaknesses: Semi only. 12" stock barrel, HORRID eye wire, see review.
Review: I just recieved my clear dust Proto Matrix 6 today. Upon opening the box, which is currently being displayed in my room because of its beauty, I noticed the sweetest looking gun I have ever laid eyes on. Now this is my first high-end gun, but it doesnt classify me as a newb. I have shot everything from Shockers to Timmy's. My teammates have higher end guns they are selling tonight. Im not kidding, 4 teammates selling within 30 minutes of shooting this beast. We have just finished an order costing over $2,800. This thing has flawless anodization on it. The clear dust is something that can only be seen to be appreciated. The hyper2 reg is as comfy as it performs, great. The feedneck will fit mose hoppers well, a little sanding is necessary for halos and reloaders tho, as expected. But all in all it holds hoppers tight as needed. The trigger has 2 points of adjustment, enough for me. The grip is amazingly comfy, not as good as a sticky3, but very close. The ASA problem with the Crossfire tanks has obviously been solved, as mine glided right in, smooth as butter. The FUSE bolt it simply something to be admired all by itself. Now for the problems. I cant believe how long the barrel threads are, autocockers are extremely long, coming from Impulse. The 12" stock barrel doesnt quite cut it, your gonna need 14" at least. The stock board is Semi-auto only, which is kinda disappointing, especially for a speedball gun tourney ready. And most importantly and lastly, the eye wire is complete poop. I adjusted the trigger a little, reassembled my gun, and had an eye malfunction. Im thinking how, it worked 10 minutes ago? It turns out the eye wire severed at the split. The eyes are not on a seperate board, but alone. I did not pull that hard even. Please someone make an aftermarket set of sturdier eyes. So I called Dye/Proto. I never would have expected such a friendly customer service. Perfect, exact, precise, just all in all great. They charged me nothing and are shipping me 2 replacement sets of eyes. That has to be the single best service experience I have ever had.

*UPDATE* I have tested this gun on the field yesterday. I had a few problems. First, my detents wore out rather quickly, but I blame my own ignorance as i was turning my velocity way up and my settings all around. That probably put those detents through hell. So I grabbed one of the two extra sets of included detents. Works flawlessly. Secondly, my gun would not shoot, however the reason is because I have only dry fired my gun in a 75 degree house and played yesterday in 30 degree weather, i simply adjusted my dwell up, tuned the velocity, and it shot great from there on in. However, I do believe that breaking only three balls(all because of cold weather) compared to my friends ions breaking hundreds, is pretty good. This may be because of the operating pressure being lower. Either way, I had three games where I eliminated the ENTIRE other team. I can honestly say that my Ion could not have done that, no matter how sweet and customized it was. This baby is amazing. Ultralight frame and Powerlyte Sceptor Kit to put it over the top are on the way.
Conclusion: This gun is next to flawless. It is 2/3 of the cost of similar shooting markers. I personally love this gun, and have not had my paws off it since I got it. 8/10 for the problems, but 10/10 for everything great about it. 15/10 for the best customer service with the few little problems. Absolutely the best purchase I have made in quite some time.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, January 22nd, 2006 at 6:21 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

bunkerboy2411 Monday, November 14th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
DM5,Angel,Timmy,Karnavor,shocker,proto
Marker Setup: I have a pm6 black/red red diamond clear empire reloader b hopper with a dye stubby
Recommended
Upgrades:
the pm6 needs a longer barrel
Strengths: Its fast accurate light small and looks great
Weaknesses: There is no problem just you need a longer barrel
Review: This gun rips out of the box. I got it and its nice. I wayed it at the local shop and its 4 grams heaver than an eclipse ego! Thats light! The first time i used it, it ripped. Not 1 ball chopped. Ive used it every weakend on crap for paint and it shoots great. After evvery day i clean it & its so simple. All you do is take the bolt out, lube it, put it back in, then wipe off all the paint on it. thats it.
Conclusion: Buy this gun. It may look expencive but, its worth it. If you want a gun that rips,looks great,and is light, this is the gun you need
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
15 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (14):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media