paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto Matrix M6 / Proto Matrix M6 / Proto Matrix M6 / Proto Matrix M6

Proto Matrix M6 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto Matrix M6

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto Matrix M6
[ View Photos (87) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 139
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $950

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The new Matrix VI features jaw dropping body style, a new balanced on/off bottom line, adjustable clamp neck, a new lower pressure bolt kit, new and improved LPR, metal logo inserts and a two piece barrel. With all of that we still managed to shave .5 inches off the height and 4oz. off the weight of the marker. We built the Matrix VI with one idea in mind: to help put you at the top of the podium.
Product Availability 
The Proto Matrix M6 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (14):  First  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  14
        Next Page
gazz123 Monday, August 14th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dm6
shockers
Marker Setup: pm6 w/ UL barrel
halo b
shocktech asa
crossfire stubby tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
aftermarket barrel maybe. Stock one is to short for me.
Evolve bolt if you are a back player.
Strengths: Fast
Very accurate
Compact
great looks
Easy maintenance
consistent
Weaknesses: A bit inefficient
Review: having owned the new proto matrix for 3 months now has blown me away.

Speed- The stock trigger that comes with the proto is very good. i can easily walk a consistent 14-15 balls per second. This thing will never leave you feeling outgunned.

Accuracy- With a correct paint to barrel match this marker is deadly accurate. At roughly 100-110 feet i was getting a spread of roughly 2 inches using marbs.

Compactness- i find it very easy to get in tight with this marker.

Milling- The pm6 is milled beautifully. It looks alot better in person.

Maintenance- Pretty simple and straight forward just lube all the orings.

Consistency- the hyper 2 reg is very consistent after being broken in. At my tournament yesterday i was getting +/- 3.

The only downfall is that it isn't very are efficient but i play front so i don't shoot nearly as much as a back player.
Conclusion: i believe this is one of the better markers out there. I highly suggest picking one up.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Bob the Warrior Sunday, August 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
the only other gun I've owned is a Tippmann 98

safe to say, it doesn't compare
Marker Setup: Proto Matrix 06
Empire ReLoader
Pure Energy 3000 psi 68 ci
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel kit
orange bolt
fast hopper
Strengths: Beautiful marker
Well made
Easy to use
Comes with everything needed to get it running
Weaknesses: Back part of trigger hurt my hand
Grips are a little chubby
Review: This is an amazing gun. The trigger pull is extremely light, and allows you to shoot very fast, right out of the box. The regulator is also very consistent . It read 270, 270, 270, 271, 270. The gun is also very quite, making it hard to get a sound trace on it. I was happy the gun came with a parts kit, allen wrenches, macro line, and a barrel condom. The anodizing is very good on the markers, and is a nice shiney gloss. The gun is very comfy to hold, with the exception of the pointed end on the rear of the trigger frame, which hurt my hand. The grips on the marker are a little fat, but this can be easily fixed by getting new grips.
Conclusion: This is ,all in all, a very good product. Even thought it has a steep price, it is well worth it
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

subzero77 Wednesday, August 2nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Timmys, Pimp, Impy, BKO
Marker Setup: PM6
Halo B
68/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
There is lots of upgrades for this marker. But for most tournament players its just fine out of the box.
Strengths: Little Kick
Accurate
Quiet
Fast
Light
Weaknesses: O-rings: the bold design has many o-rings. Easy Fixes though.
Review: Its better than anything ive played with before. i did alot of research before purchasing it. When i got it i pulled the bolt because it was brand new i wanted to make sure there was no Metal Shavings from Manufacturing it. cleaning and lubed it. (dont Use the dye lube that comes with it, Use Dow 33 or Hater Sauce). I also put a new battery in it. Aired it up and shot it worked great light and fast. Before long it popped and i lost all of my air out the barrel ( the o-ring problem ) so i went on pbnation and asked how to fix it. wasnt hard at all just had to switch an oring out and it worked fine. and has been ever since.
Conclusion: Its an awesome gun well worth the money. Its easy to work on, and will work great as long as you maintain it (clean and lube the bolt after each day of Play) It goes over all the Maintanece very well in the manual. i give it a nine because nothing is ever perfect but this is dang close.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

yellowgti Tuesday, August 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
FEP Quest
Shocker
Nerve
Timmys
and yes,,,,,,the ION!!
Marker Setup: Current marker in use is Proto M6 with ultralite frame and 14 inch ultralite barrel and a halo of course
Recommended
Upgrades:
ultralite frame
14 inch ultralite barrel
Strengths: nice milling
very fast
great DYE quality
Weaknesses: Perhaps the stock 45 frame, it is a bit meaty
Review: marker ripped right out of the box and has performed flawlessly since with only normal upkeep. anti-chop system in this marker is great as I have yet to chop a ball and I have pushed a wide variety of paint through it. Efficiency is as good as can be expected of a marker that cycles this fast. Didnt care for the stock barrel tip ...kind of an ultralite rip off although it performed pretty well, I would recommend an ultralite on any marker. With the ultralite frame this marker is sooooooo sweet, like a DM6 clone. Makes me smiles when I can send ropes at opposing suckers so effortlessly.
Conclusion: Great marker, Good price, probably the best marker in the 700-1000 dollar price range.The Quest is in my opinion the only marker equal to it in this range but it is also around $850 opposed to about $725 for the proto. By far the best $725 you will spend in paintball.....Get it. I give it a 9....1 point off for the stock barrell tip and stock frame
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

zaj Friday, July 28th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
NOTHING compares
Marker Setup: PM5, CP on/off, CP rail, Dye adjustable feedneck, Halo B hopper, 68ci/4500 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Feedneck, barrel
Strengths: Accurate, air efficient.
Weaknesses: None
Review: This gun is absolutely amazing. It is great on air and it is accurate. You barely even need to upgrade it besides a new adjustable neckpiece for it to fit any hopper. I have shot over 4000 rounds and never, not once has it broke a ball and the barrel( that i have never cleaned out) is like brand new.
Conclusion: None better
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ifightthefoo Monday, July 24th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dm4. Dm5, Pm5, Pm6, Shocker, Ion, Ego, Timmy
Marker Setup: Black Proto Matrix with Red eye covers, red misjunction grips, CP reg, JDS Lpr, Hybrid bolt guide, Dye ultralite barrel with stiffi tip, virtue board, Cp roller trigger, Dye feedneck, Pure Energy 45/4500 tank, and Empire Reloader B.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Ultralite frame, hybrid bolt guide
Strengths: Small, light, quiet, amazing looking.
Weaknesses: None that I have seen.
Review: I played with my friend's PM6 for a day and I loved it. He has a PM6 with an Ultralite frame, Hybrid bold guide, and Lucky 17 barrel. The thing ripsss. And with the ultralite frame on there it is soooo light. The milling on this gun is one of my favorites. This gun looks sooo good. I like how they cut off 1/4 of an inch and it is more balanced now. It is also 4 oz lighter than the PM5. This gun has no kick and shoots absolute ropesss. The UL frame feels so nice on this gun. I didnt seem to have any problems with it that day but he said that it was burping and being a little irregular. He tried messing with the lpr a little bit but no it just drops off. The accuracy on this gun is very good and it is super consistant. I am thinking about upgrading to a PM6 when I get some more money. But it is a great gun.
Conclusion: This gun is a great gun and I would recommend it to anyone.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

murcilago Tuesday, July 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Almost every other popular high end
Marker Setup: ProtoM6
Reloader B
PMI 68/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
Aftermarket trigger (custom products roller trigger!!!!)
Longer barrel or tip
Everything else is unnecessary, but an orange bolt is really nice and makes it a lot quieter and smoother. The UL frame is also very nice, but not necessary.
Strengths: Speed
Simplicity
Reliability
Features
Smoothness
Weaknesses: Eye ribbons are quite weak
Back screw on trigger frame is a little too short
Review: Well, when I was checking out the pm6 at the store, I wasn't sure if I really wanted it. I held it, i walked the trigger, I dryfired it, but i just didn't seem too attached to it. I finally just gave myself one last thought, and just bought it. After a couple days of messing with it, I started to like it even more.

At the field:
This gun is great. Its very fast, has minimal kick, and is very smooth and quiet. The accuracy of the barrel was quite well also. With a tank and hopper, its a little bit heavy, but nothing to really complain about. Its overall a great gun. It performed well for me.

The weaknesses:
I noticed that the eye ribbon is very weak. I constantly take off the trigger frame to clean and just mess with things, and I have already screwed up the eye ribbon a little. The eye ribbon now has to be pressed down against the board or else it will not work. Its not that big of a deal, but wired eyes would've been much better.
The back screw on the trigger frame is a little too short, but i just picked up a longer one at the hardware store. no big deal
Also, its not as efficient to what i want it to be. I find myself refilling regularly, and if i'm playing back and i'm doing some serious laning, this gun probably won't do it for me.

After a couple months of use:
Its kept up very well. It hasn't broken down on me or nothing. Its been performing very, very well. I am very satisfied with it. I plan on getting a ul frame and an orange bolt, so this gun will be killer after i upgrade it.
Conclusion: Its a good gun. It has performed well for me. Just lube the bolt and clean the gun after every days of play, or after every 2 days of play. Just be careful with the eye ribbon if you do get this gun. since nothing is perfect, i'll give it a 9.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, July 18th, 2006 at 3:25 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

teamspicy14 Friday, July 14th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
E-Cocker, Ion, Timmy, Shocker, PM5, and Freestyle.
Marker Setup: Olive PM6 w/ UL Frame, Victory Board 06 HALO w/ Magnetic Lid and Speed Cone, and Crossfire High Pressure Peanut.
Recommended
Upgrades:
UL Frame.
Strengths: Speed, Weight, Quiet, Accuracy, and Looks Great.
Weaknesses: None.
Review: My PM6 has the UL Frame and this thing shoots perfectly straight ropes all day. It shoots very smoothly and very quietly. The bolt is easy to access and the trigger is easily adjustable. Unlike most guns that need to be lubed but only come with a one time use pack of lube- Proto sends you an 8 dollar tube of Dye Slick Lube that lasts for awhile.
Conclusion: Proto- Fast, quiet, cheap(compared to other high-end guns), just all around great.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

killerbunny Friday, July 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
this is my first matrix, so i cant compare similar things
Marker Setup: 06 proto, 68/3000, eggy
Recommended
Upgrades:
its all preference, im going to get a 14" ultralight tip eventually
Strengths: Small
Light
Fast
Easy to use
Cheap (compared to other matrixes)
Accurate
Weaknesses: Fragile wires
Damn trigger spring is kind of annoying to keep track of
Review: so today i bought a brand new 2006 proto matrix, after reading pretty much all the reviews here and talking to other people (while drooling at its pictures) i made up my mind on buying one. I happened to be really lucky and badlands had a sale, so i got it for 750 CAD which for a high end electro is pretty damn good. So i bought a blue/black fade and it looks amazing, i couldn't have asked for a better looking marker! So i take it home with my brand new 68/3000 to try it out. I get home and screw the tank on, and i get a HUGE leak from the top of the hyper2, and after a little bit of playing around with it i re-cut my macroline 1 mm shorter. roblem solved. Then to test it out, i grabbed some old white-box paint that was sitting in my room (in really bad shape) so i was expecting some chops at least and i take it outback.
i fire at a box i had sitting outside so i use that as my target
wow i was amazed by the accuracy, even with sh** paint too, i decided to see how fast i could rip on it and got it to around 15-16bps easy, with no trigger adjustments or anything
i can say i am amazed with it so far, the ONLY things i don't like about it so far are the wires, they are so fragile, and the trigger spring can get lost so easy because it falls out when you take the body off the gun. Obviously those can be fixed with a little care though
Conclusion: VERY nice looks, its fast and accurate right out of the box, its light and small
what more could you want?
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

ProtoBaller22 Thursday, July 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
dye dm4,dye dm5,dye dm6,pm5
Marker Setup: PM6 blue/black fade empire reloader b hybrid shell 68/3000 psi carbon fiber tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
new asa
Strengths: Good looks good accuracy it shoots fast .
Weaknesses: It needs a better asa .
Review: Ok my gun just came from fed ex i was so excited to get it out of the box .The desigh was flawless.so i had to try it so i got a tank and some paint and and shot its was accurate and no kick what so ever.The only bad thing was that the asa leeked but it stoped.
Conclusion: This gun is great for all ages if you are looking for a great gun for a low prise get it its ball on ball .I recommend this to any one who wants to shoot fast .
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (14):  First  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  14
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media