paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto Matrix M6 / Proto Matrix M6 / Proto Matrix M6 / Proto Matrix M6

Proto Matrix M6 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto Matrix M6

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto Matrix M6
[ View Photos (87) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 139
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $950

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The new Matrix VI features jaw dropping body style, a new balanced on/off bottom line, adjustable clamp neck, a new lower pressure bolt kit, new and improved LPR, metal logo inserts and a two piece barrel. With all of that we still managed to shave .5 inches off the height and 4oz. off the weight of the marker. We built the Matrix VI with one idea in mind: to help put you at the top of the podium.
Product Availability 
The Proto Matrix M6 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (14):  First  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  14
        Next Page
excessivearmy Saturday, June 24th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
DM4, DM6, DMC, DM6
PM6 shoots just as fast and accurate as any Dye marker
Marker Setup: PM6 cobalt
CP on/off
Halo B
Crossfire 68. 3000

Recommended
Upgrades:
the only problem i encountered with this gun is that the stock on/off didnt fit my tank so i bought a CP on/off, other than that out of the box it is shooting perfectly
Strengths: Fast, light, small, easy to clean.
Weaknesses: None.
Review: This marker is great, i also own a cocker and i was told that it would not be as accurate as my cocker but i think it is more accurate, it is shooting ball on ball. this gun is great out of box, i am going to buy a UL frame to lighten it up even more but it is not necessary.
Conclusion: overall Great gun, shooting ball on ball
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mlbnyyp8ntballa Monday, June 19th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder E99-don't make me laugh
Angel LCD 2k2-though fast it was a lot heavier
WGP Orracle-no comparison
Dm6(only tested)-although faster it was quite heavier
Marker Setup: Red Pm6
Lucky 15 Barrel Kit
Critical Products Raze Trigger
Ul Frame-soon to come
68/45 Lp Crossfire w/ Red Dye C5 tank cover
Black Viewloader Vlocity
Recommended
Upgrades:
1) New barrel-stock is good but no where nearly the best out there, I recommend getting a barrel kit to save you from having to purchase multiple barrel sizes
2) Ultralite Frame-the stock product is the lightest gun I have ever owned but with this thing on it you will sometimes forget you are holding a paintball gun and not a feather!
3) Possibly New Grips-just for looks
Strengths: 1) Overall look!
2) Speed
3) Easy to operate and maintain
4) THE FREAKEN WEIGHT!
Weaknesses: 1) Trigger Frame-not right size, leaves a gapping hole between gun and trigger
Review: Well I originally I owned a Red to Black Mini Orracle but when one of my friends contacted me about getting back into the sport I love so much, after I had been out for about a year and a half, I decided to purchase a new gun. Mainly to keep up with the new guns that are on the field today, but mainly I was looking for something with SPEED!

Keep in mind I had traded my Angel LCD 2k2 for that Orracle b/c even though it was fast it was heavier as crap. B/c of the weight I went for the less heavier equipment, lol. I got the Pm6 and this was nothing short of a 10 out of 10 in both the categories of speed and weight!

If you want a get a gun and not have to sell it after a few months to keep up with the crowd and are looking for that marker to be fast as well as light, THIS IS THE MARKER FOR YOU! I have tryed a Dm6 and honestly if I had the money to get a Dm6 I would still go with the Pm6 just b/c of the weight!
Conclusion: Great gun, if you are looking for a stock tourney marker that won't let you down, this is the marker for you! Unlike the Ion it will not break down on you, and unlike the pricey Dm6 it is light as a feather!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

fknut416 Sunday, June 11th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
predator boarded shocker with new dezigns trigger ( still not as fast ) its my friends
PM5 ( nice gun ) its my other friends
i only tested these guns
Marker Setup: Proto Matrix 6 ( stock untill i put my trigger on )
68/3000 crossfire
V35 Halo
Recommended
Upgrades:
New dezigns venom roller trigger
of course the UL frame
Strengths: Fast
Light
Accurate
Looks
Tight profile
Weaknesses: Trigger adjustment
Review: Alright i ordered this gun on June 3rd i believe which is a Saturday and received it on Thursday. We already had planned to go to West World so i could test it out. When my friend and i got there i put everything together, no leaks or anything so its was looking good already and had none of the ASA problems posted in other forms my tank went right in i screwed in the on/off and boom that's it. As always before playing i had to chrono it and keep in mind this is straight out of the box i have not shot it prior to Saturday. Well anyways we hit the chrono and it was shooting perfect with 259, 260, 261, 259 so i was ready to play. The teams were set and we started and right off the break i started rolling my gun and it shot smooth, accurate, and fast. I hit the stand up and the tight profile made snap-shooting a breeze. The air efficiency was pretty good considering it was the break-in period. It was using about 300-400 psi shooting a hopper and 3 pods. I played for a good 4-5 hours only because we couldn't stay there late and not one chop or any other problem with the gun. This is by far the best gun i have used and it showed. Maintenance is easily done considering the bolt is the only moving part. The manual says to lube it every 10,000 shots but i would do it after every 1-2 days of playing which is only about 5,000 put through it depending on who you are. The manual is very detailed and contains illustrations.
Conclusion: I strongly recommend this gun to anyone who is looking for a cheap high-end tourney gun. It is easily maintained and will be as fast if not faster than most guns out there.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

ikey Saturday, June 10th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
dm6. pm5, dm4
Marker Setup: stock karnivor
Recommended
Upgrades:
new trgger, bolt mods
Strengths: Light, sweet looking, good feel, quality
Weaknesses: A littel bit of quality control, efficecny could be better, trigger
Review: these guns are sooo sweet for the money. first off, let me say they feel completely different from an 05. that extra size taken off completely changes the gun. from the grip frame down they are the same, everything else is better looking, smaller ans sweeter. the gun is just a tad more efficent than the 05. basically, to sum this up, it is a 05, but better in almost every way (smaller, lighter, better looking, better stock parts, technically faster because of new noid). these are super smooth and very fast. solid quality built guns.

teh bad. both the 05 and 06s have tiny milling marks. no biggie, but they are there. one thing you get with protos that are not on dyes. oh well

trigger- the trigger in terms of performance are not that bad. however, these triggers adjustments are not the greatest. not just protos but all dye stock triggers. . if you hate the trigger stock, get an new trigger, cause it aint gettin much better. there is also no spring tension.....you gotta cut the spring.

FEEL- well the gun feels great. it is entirely different than an 05. the extra height taken off makes it feel a ton more nimble and smaller. the extra few ounces taken off is pretty noticeable too. people with large hands will like the grip frame, it is pretty big.

stock parts- the gun comes with great stock parts. you halo might need to be sanded a little bit, but the feedneck works well. the on /off is very good. it is an adjustable rail, and the knob turn easily. it is not as nice as a CP, but come on it is stock. good stuff. the barrel is extremely light and good looking. if you have a dye barrel the proto can take dye fronts. so you can put a proto front on a dye back, or a dye front on a proto back. thats pretty sweet too (specially for colors.....my freinds has a clear pm6 and a black UL. he mixed matched the barrels to get a storm trooper thingy going on. nice).
all in all about the bad i am just nit picking. just little quality issues you get with a proto that you dont with a dye. that is teh difference with the guns. but really these things are so small they can be overlooked. also comes with a 06 rear cap that lowers pressure and helps efficency.

just a note.....i am so impressed with the overall feel, build and performance i will probably buy one TONIGHT

update:
the eye logic i have found to be very very good for a stock board. the eyes must se a ball load, and see the ball be fired in order for tehm to work right. most eyes you can just test by sticking your finger in there and fireing. with the proto, the eyes will only work in you put your finger in, fire, remove finger, and tehn put your finger back in (simulated balls passing through gun). i did not expect eye logic like this from a pretty mediocre stock baord. nice job proto.

2nd update: got some paint and let er rip. ok
-full setup with paint. a tad backheavy. i have the rail set so where teh tank screws in is flush with the back of teh grip frame (i moves it about 1/4 of an inch back from the stock position). that probably didnt help teh backheavy thing...but thats where i like my drop. oh well

- weight. nice. fully setup, she seems a tad lighter than my karni. not much but noticeable (should still only br 4 oz lighter.....but i guess a full seetup helped me really see teh difference)

- accuracy. well, obviously thats just paint and barrel. teh paint has heat, and not a good batch. i will talk later once i get some evils (it wasnt bad.....but wasnt top notch in terms of accuracy). after playing, with a good paint to barrel match it is the most accurate gun i have used. ball on ball, and super falt trajectory. awsome.

-kick. actually, you can notice th kick. it does have WAY less kick than my karni....so its still super low spool valve kick, but it is not KICKLESS. very very low yes, but there is still vibration

-speed. faster than i will ever need. shooting a spoolvalve is good but decieving. i love how smooth tehy are. very low kick, great feel. very fast. about as fast as i can pull, and can shoot faster than anybody will ever need. it is really funny. the gun is soooo smooth and so low kick....you dont think your shooting fast. it seems like im shooting like 8 bps, but a ropse of paint is coming out of teh gun. very weird. when i shoot my karni, i know how fast im shooting (probably cause i have that backblock moving about 1/4 from my eye. but the trix is weird felling when ripping. i guess i gotta get used to it. haha i guess so fast you cant even tell.

actually i just shot it again.....with the tigger set right, DARN FAST.

efficiency- on a brand new stock UNBROkEN IN gun, i got 500 shots out of around 2000 psi. thats over 1000 off a full 68/4500.....broken it will be better. good, about what i expected from it. after runnig about a case through it, i get about 2 pods off 1000 psi.
Conclusion: All in all for the money this gun pretty much cant be beat. do some bolt mods and get a new trigger and your set. they are amazing guns. i give it a 9 for the nit pick quality issues. no gun is perfect. performance for price-10/10. if you took this gun (of any newer 06 trix) and gave it WDP quality....i think these would be just about a 10.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, July 8th, 2006 at 1:50 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

HK soldier x3 Sunday, June 4th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
DYE DM4, Defiant 2, PM5
Marker Setup: STOCK Clear PM6, Blue Diamond Empire B and an Empire Fuel 45/45
Recommended
Upgrades:
Hybrid Bolt guide
Strengths: Fast
Light
ACCURATE
Sweet Milling
Mows Faces
Small
Weaknesses: Gas Hog.
Review: OK i got my PM6 a week ago from actionvillage and i used it for my first time yesterday at practice. (6/3/06) This gun was AMAZING. i was really surprised at how fast and accurate this gun actually was. I was either going to buy an EGO6 or this. I chose the pm6 because it was cheaper obviously. But i shot this in the chrono and then my friends 06 ego and i surprisingly liked my pm6 more. This PM6 has no bounce or kick and is simply amazing. The ONLY problem with this gun is that i came to realize that it is in fact a gas hog. I have a 45/45 and after 2 Rounds about 2 Hoppers and a pod i was empty. This should be easily helped by a hybrid bolt guide however. All in all the PM6 is one of the best guns on the market and is a steal for the low price of $725.00 NIB.
Conclusion: I HIGHLY reccomend this gun for any novice and up player. The gun simply mows faces, its accurate, light,fast and has good milling......everything you could EVER want in a gun.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

thunnderstrukk Sunday, May 28th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
PM5 Dye guns
Marker Setup: Clear PM6 CP trigger. halo b w/ vic and rip 45/45
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Trigger. longer barrel (stock has great accuracy though)
Strengths: Fast Light Accurate. good range.sexy
Weaknesses: Only one board mode. only dust colors
Review: I bought this gun about a month ago and every time i use it i am further impressed with it. it has accuracy like an autococker as well as range. it has speed like you wouldnt believe. they are not kidding when they say that the only thing capping your marker is your hopper. the thing rips. and for a frontman its nice because its light and low profile. i compared it with my ion and its acutally exactly the same height. its slimmer. and its sturdier. the only thing i would recomend buying for it is a longer barrel for airball cause a 12 inch is a little hard to push bunkers back with. other than that it doesnt need anything. the single turn on/off is awesome too. plus it comes stock with clamping feedneck. what more could you ask for in a gun other than some board modes? heck, screw ramping im giving the gun a 10 cause it deserves it.
Conclusion: If you have the 725 and you need a really good gun, do it. its worth every penny
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

protostar123 Friday, May 26th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dm4/5, nerve, spyder electra, shocker vision
Marker Setup: red/black pm6, dye ul frame and barrel,
red halo b w/rip
crossfire 68/4500 carbon fiber tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel
**trigger**--personal preference
asa - some are too small stock
ul frame--personal preference--alot of $$ for not that much of a difference
orange bolt
Strengths: Speed
Quiet
efficient
no chopping
speed
weight
Weaknesses: 10 o rings on stock bolt??
Spring in stock trigger
Board has no ramp modes
Review: This is very good gun for the 800$ it costs. You could spend around an extra 300 and make it almost equal to the dms. The price comparson is also way better. ive shot a dm6 and its nice but id rather have my proto and the extra 1000$ in my pocket. You also better have a good fast loader cuz once u start rippin on this thing you dont wanna stop...Trust me.
Conclusion: This is a great gun for all levels of players. I rate it a 9 mainly because of the stock trigger and bolt.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, June 2nd, 2006 at 11:20 am PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

darktamer Tuesday, May 23rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
DM4 - Heavier, shoots similar
DM3 - Much heavier, shoots similar but not quite as good
Marker Setup: Olive PM6
Freak kit
V35 Halo
68/45 PE tank


Yellow/black ANS 2k4 GXe
Free flow ram w/ QEV's
CP reg
CP on/off
Custom bolt and Back block
Freak kit
68/45 PE tank
Halo w/ rip
Recommended
Upgrades:
A longer barrel if you want, the stock 12" is nice but a too short for my taste.
A new board if you want or play tournaments with ramping
Strengths: Dye/Proto quality
Quiet shot
Fast
Lighter than previous DMs/PMs
No kick
Weaknesses: Not as light as other high ends
Efficiency isnt spectacular
Only Semi on stock board
Review: Bought this gun new from my local shop, and had practice with it the same day. Shot like a dream. Since I've gotten it, I've shot somewhere around 2500 rounds, and have had zero chops, although there was one barrel break.



Pros:
Like all high ends these days, it's fast. It will shoot as fast as you can pull the trigger

Spool valve simplicity: Unscrew the bolt assembly, take apart the four pieces, lube all o-rings, put the four pieces back together, screw back in, and you're done. A huge step up from the relative complexity of my race cocker.

Zero kick. End of story, there just isn't any kick. Shoots amazing. The stock 2piece Proto barrel is essentially an Ultralite; it's even compatible with UL tips and backs.

Comes with all the hardware you need stock: Clamping feedneck, good on/off with purge, comfy stick grips, etc.. With my 68/45, it's an ergonomical delight...

Cons:
Relatively light, definately lighter than the previous PM5, however some other high ends like shockers and egos are still a bit lighter.

The stock trigger job is not so great, but I still ripped on it. Annoyed me enough to bother shortening it and cutting the spring when I got home.

Efficiency is not too bad, but could possibly be an issue for some back players. Off of my 68/45, I'm getting somewhere around 7-8 pods with it not being broken in yet and on stock settings.

The stock board only has semi-auto, no ramping modes. I personally don't care, since I only play at fields and tournies that use NPPL rules, but if you Millenium or PSP or something you'll need to upgrade.
Conclusion: If you enjoy Spool valve guns, this is probably the best buy out on the market right now.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

baconbits_66 Monday, May 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
ion- non comparable
Marker Setup: Black Pm6 (stock)
Clear Halo B
68/4500 Dye Throttle
Recommended
Upgrades:
14 inch barrel unless youre a front
new trigger stock is ok but take out the trigger spring
Strengths: Fast
Light
NO KICK
Fast
and did i mention FAST
Weaknesses: None
Review: This is one of the sickest gats ive ever owned or held.

FAST
This thing is so fast i could shoot a rope of 14-15 consistently with this badboy

REG
I shot 282, 283 280 289 284 286 over chrono

LIGHT
this thing is 1.6 pounds whatelse is there to say

MILLING
This thing has such sick milling if it looks even better in real life

ANNO
the anno is awesome nuttin else to say
Conclusion: This thing is the bomb. It is the best gun for its price. I mean at a measly 725 dollars its a steal!!!!!!!!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

1337sk337 Saturday, May 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder E-999 Avant... Dont get me started
Marker Setup: Proto Matrix 6 (Black/Blue)
Dye Throttle 70ci 4500psi
Evollution 2 Hopper withe upgraded X-Board (23bps)
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Trigger (if you're not going to get ultralight frame)
New Board
Ultralight frame
Fast Hopper
Strengths: No kick
Fast
Efficient
Light
Cool paint job
$Price$
Great Eyes
Easy to use
Weaknesses: Crappy Stock Board (kinda slow right out of Box)
Crappy Stock Trigger
Common
Review: When I went to my paintball shop...

I went to the shop looking for a gun in the $900-$1000 range. Tried an Angel... didnt like it, used timmy...nah. But what is this? Two guns, staring right at me. The DM5 and the PM6. It was hard to decide.. but i finaly chose the PM6. I really wanted the Black/Blue to match my gear but hey didnt have it in stock. I told them to order it for me. A couple days later the phone rang. "Mac could you get that please get that?" "Fine." I push talk "Helo?"
"OK thanks!" They had just gotten my gun! So I went over and picked it up.

First impressions...

When I saw the box I wased amazed at how small it was! I opened it up. Inside there was a parts kit, a manual, a set of allen keys, dye slick lube, a barrel condem, a barrel, and the amazing looking PM6. Instincively I screwed the barrel on, turned it on, and messed with the settings and trigger. I took it apart and was amazed at how easy it was to clean. I loved it, and couldn't wait to run some paint threw it!

At the field...

I was pumped, I wanted to rip some heads off with my new weapon of mass destruction. I air it up and give it to the ref for him to crono. Bam, Bam, Bam Good consistency for it being out of the box. It was shooting at around 260, which is to slow for me, I had to get it up to the limit 285. I go to the shooting range and secretly smile under my goggles as people stare wide eyed and open mouthed. Bam Bam Bam! Wow, I couldnt believe it, this thing ripped. I went to go play some hyperball, my first game, I was amazed My Proto was threw ropes through my lane. My fingers and trigger seemed as one, poetry in motion. I was stunned. I love and will always love this gun.
Conclusion: A must buy for anyone who is looking in the $900-$1000 range.
After a few upgrades this gun will rip! Just ask Legacy and Evil factory (Minion is just a PM6 with different milling and barrel).
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, May 6th, 2006 at 4:04 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (14):  First  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  14
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media