paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto Matrix M6 / Proto Matrix M6 / Proto Matrix M6 / Proto Matrix M6

Proto Matrix M6 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto Matrix M6

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto Matrix M6
[ View Photos (87) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 139
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $950

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The new Matrix VI features jaw dropping body style, a new balanced on/off bottom line, adjustable clamp neck, a new lower pressure bolt kit, new and improved LPR, metal logo inserts and a two piece barrel. With all of that we still managed to shave .5 inches off the height and 4oz. off the weight of the marker. We built the Matrix VI with one idea in mind: to help put you at the top of the podium.
Product Availability 
The Proto Matrix M6 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (14):  First  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  14
                            
Cabooser Monday, June 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Well... an autococker is closest
Marker Setup: Black/Blue PM6
CP Rake Trigger
Custom Top Hat mod
Tadao M6 Board
Recommended
Upgrades:
- Deffinately a New trigger such as a CP rake or Roller
- Different UL barrel backs (will work with stock barrel) in different bore sizes
- Tadao M6 Board or Virtue Board
Strengths: Fast, Light, Accurate, Fool-proof
Weaknesses: Sometimes problems out of box
Review: Got a NIB Pm6 off of Pbnation last week, and I am glad I went with the 06 model. It is much smaller and lighter than the 05. Only problems out of box were that it was leaking, so I called up Dye, they told me to replace a couple O-rings then after that it started shooting ropes.
Conclusion: I love this gun, I recommend it to nayone who can afford it!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

McDoNaLdSbUrGeR Tuesday, June 6th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Ion - more reliable
Smart Parts Shocker - more accurate, not as beautiful
Other High-ends
Marker Setup: Razor Blue SP Ion w/ Blackheart, CCM Feedneck, Evil Detonator Reg, Evil On/Off,
ND Blade Trigger, TechT Lightening Bolt, 32 Degrees Drop, 12 inch Evil Pipe Kit,
Blue Halo B w/Rip Drive.
Black/Blue fade PM6 w/ 14inch total stainless freak kit, Shocktech Micro Drop/rail, Hybrid on/off, Orange Bolt, Top hat mod, CP Sling Blade Trigger, and Virtue Board.
Recommended
Upgrades:
I haven't seen many but maybe an Orange bolt, Ultralight frame, or a board if you like ramping.
Strengths: Light, Fast, Quiet, Accurate, totally sweet looking, easy to clean, and consistant.
Weaknesses: Leaky, not exactly reliable.
Review: Well I finally decided to get a new gun and the PM6 fit my price range and I had heard
good things about it. When I brought it home the first thing I did was take the bolt
out and grease it. I didn't realize that Dye slick lube wasn't very good at the time.
So, I'll start with the good.
The Good:
The first thing I did after I aired it up was dry fire it. Without adjusting the
trigger it is very easy to rip on. I'm guessing 13-16 cps. Then I filled my Halo with
ultra evil and took it outside. The first hopper full was awesome. Quiet, fast, pretty accurate, almost no kick at all, and no chops. I was curious about just how consistant
this gun was, so I decided to chrono it. This thing is consistant. It was +/- 5 over the chrono. Later I did some adjustments to the LPR which made it even better.
I lowered the LPR pressure and it made it quieter and made it kick even less.
The Hyper 2 reg is very easy to adjust. A quarter turn out will increase the velocity
like 15-20 fps. Before I knew that I made the mistake of giving it a full turn out and it
was shooting in the 360's. The stock barrel is pretty accurate but when I got my stainless freak kit the accuracy increased quite a bit. With the stock barrel, my shots
curved to the right over long distances. With the freak, the shots are straight for the entire distance.
The Bad:

Okay, in the time that I've had this gun it hasn't been very reliable.
The first thing that went wrong was the ASA. The tank would screw in but
the knob on the ASA stopped turning out fully so I could never turn off the tank.
That wasn't a huge problem because the store I bought it from replaced it with a
sweet Hybrid On/Off. The next problem that occured was a tiny leak somewhere
from the bolt that I could usually stop by shoot it a few times. That didn't bother me
much as long as I could shoot the leak out.So, my first time with it at my local field
I aired it up and it was fine. My friend asked if he could shoot a hopper of paint through
it. The gun shot flawlessly and he was curious about the bolt design because he was
planning on buying a Minion (same gun with different milling). I let him take the bolt
out and look at it. Of course, the grease came off of the bolt because the was messing
with it. So I put some more Dye slick on it. Then the next problem occured. The bolt
was sticking forward and not letting paint in the breech, and the gun was dropping off
with rapid rates of fire. Another PM6 owner told me that Dye slick lube was too thick
and would cause problems. After I wiped the slick off and put some Evil Pus on it, the bolt stopped sticking but it was still dropping off. I had to mess with the LPR for 10 minutes to fix that problem. Then it shot fine for the rest of the day. Okay, now for the
worst problem of all. I aired it up and air started shooting out from the top of the trigger
and the trigger frame. This leak woudn't stop with just shooting it a few times.
I called Dye and messed with it for an hour and nothing fixed it. Then finally when
I aired it up again, it didn't leak. Maybe it fixed itself? Not exactly. That was a one time
thing. From then on, every time I aired it up I had to shoot out that huge leak.
The last time I aired it up was at team practice and that same leak started but wouldn't
stop no matter what. I think it was the seat under the noid. I had to use my Ion for
that entire day because of a stupid problem with an expensive gun. Right now I dont
have the gun because it's in the shop getting looked at and hopefully fixed.

EDIT: Ok well I figure it's about time I edited my review since I've got some serious playing time in with it since last time. I got all my probs sorted out and put some more ups on it and it works very well now. I've played 2 tourneys with it since my last review and it has performed great both times. It shoots ball on ball, it's still quiet, and easy to rip. Only one prob still occurs and it's pretty simple: The bolt pulls the oring out of the back of the top hat and causes a leak when you gas it up. Not a real prob cause all I have to do is push it back in when I take the bolt out to clean it. Having the Proto max'd makes it comparable to any high end out there. I think now that I've put several cases through it and broke it in that the probs are gradually stopping. I love this gun now that everything works and I've had some serious playing time with it so I'm gonna bump up the score a little.
Conclusion: Well, if you have the money and you dont want to spend 1500 on a paintball gun then
this is a nice choice if you want to risk it. The problems I had were probably just
with mine because I've heard good things about this gun. When the gun works
it's awesome but the frequent problems are very irritating. Maybe it will work when
it gets out of the shop. The good hardly outweighs the bad when it stops me from using
it for days at a time. So it gets a 7 until I find out if I truly want to keep this marker.
EDIT: Probs are sorted out and it rips like any other high end so if you have the $$ and are into Matrices which require a little more oring maintenance than Timmy's and Angels than it's deffinitely worth it.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, August 23rd, 2006 at 6:18 pm PST
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

dco145 Sunday, April 30th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Evil pimp upped
Marker Setup: Autococker trilogy pro empire reloader b/evolution 2 z- board 88/3000 hpa tank

Dragon bonez empire reloader b /evolution 2 z- board 88/3000 hpa tank

evil omen 1.5 empire reloader b /evolution 2 z- board 88/3000 hpa tank

Recommended
Upgrades:
Orange bolt
New board
Ul frame
Strengths: Fast
Accurate
Looks
Weight
Weaknesses: Price
Review: Wow this gun is amazing. My friend just bought a black one and i have been able to shoot it a little bit. When i first saw it when he took it out of the box I was blown away at its size. Then he handed it to me. It felt like i could throw it 50 yards. It is so amazingly light. When I shot it there was a little kick but not much. Thats where the orange bolt comes in. I was shooting white box army navy paint that i got for 20 bucks. It was so accurate. This gun is amazing. I am just about to order mine.
Conclusion: Buy it asap.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

hkafit Sunday, April 16th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Angels, timmys, egos, shockers, dm4 , dm5
Marker Setup: olive pm6
Orange bolt
Cp trigger
Virtue board
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nothing is nessesary
Strengths: Light
Fast
Cheap
Accurate
Overall good
Weaknesses: None that i ev had
Review: Got this guna about 3 months ago. SICK gun , out of the box is looks so good, pure secks, aired it up and it shot ropes, took it to the field the next day, shot ropes all day, have never had a single problem with it since then, u just gota be good at lubing it and ull be fine
Conclusion: Amazing gun BUY ONE NOW
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Kacenova Sunday, January 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Minimag
Smart Parts Shocker
Alias Intimidator
05 Speed
Marker Setup: Stock Black PM6, 14'' Empire barrel, Halo B w/ Victory board and rip drive, 68/4500 Pure Energy tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Longer barrel
UL Frame
CP On/Off (read in body)

None of these are REALLY necessary but, they will help.
Strengths: Light
Fast
User-friendly
Sexy milling/design
Weaknesses: Stock ASA
Price (not TOO pricey though)
Review: So, I bought my PM6 two days ago, and was very excited, because it was my only gun to have ever been bought brand new. (I'm tight with my cash). So, I figured, "Great! It won't be broken as soon as I get it like my other used guns that I got. Well I was wrong. I brought it out to the field and began to screw my tank into it. Everything goes good, I had heard that people with crossfire tanks had trouble with the threading, but my Pure Energy went in perfectly. Heres where the trouble begins. I screw in the On/off at the front of the stock ASA, and I begin to hear a hissing. The further I turn the ASA On, the louder the leaking gets, until I have it all the way on and air is just shooting out of it. So I'm thinking, "Great, brand new and its already breaking on me." So I go and get a CP from the field owner. Problem solved. I go to chrono, shooting 280, 275, 281, 272. So it's shooting good out of box, could be a little more consistant, but, I still need to break in the reg, so thats very good. So, I go and play with it. Shoots very nice and smooth. I liked it much more than my timmy or my shocker. Then it realize something, my feedneck is spinning around like crazy. And by feedneck, I don't mean the clamping part, I mean the actual whole feedneck peice is flailing around. So, I go to the owner of the field/shop (who's store I bought this from) and show him the problem. We look at it, and basically the threads on the feedneck aren't matching with the threads in the gun. Just great. So he tells me to come back the next day and they will fix it all (ASA and Feedneck) for free. Well thats good, but I'm still not impressed how this brand new gun broke on me in two ways, in the first day it had been out of its box. I'm a little disappointed because I've heard very good things about DYE's products, and how they work so perfectly.
Conclusion: Overall, gun shoots great... when it worked. The problems with the feedneck and ASA really annoyed me. I will be getting them fixed, and only rating the gun on how it shot though, because I'm sure my experience with this gun only happens to 1 in about 100 people. Maybe less. I also wouldn't want to ruin this gun's rating, because it really does rock, when it actually worked..... sooo... I'll take off half a point for each of the ways the
factory made errors. Still, it's a great gun. Once I get it fixed and shoot it again I may change it to a ten... depending on how well it shoots.

EDIT: Got it fixed, and played with it today. Shot great, used Rec paint and never chopped (well once but that was my fault not the guns). Shot very smooth.. very nice. I'm impressed.. therefore the score is changed to a 10.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, January 15th, 2006 at 1:26 pm PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

pm6_baller Thursday, December 8th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
-proto matrix (05)
-Angel Speed
-Shocker
-Ion
-DM5
Marker Setup: Proto Matrix 6 (dusted black)
-Halo B Hopper (Black) + RipDrive
-Dye Throttle 68/4500 Tank + DYE Rhino Cover
-Hybrid "Contract Killer" Grip
Recommended
Upgrades:
-no necessary upgrades
-may want to buy a CP RB Trigger or if your really rich, the Ultralite Frame (EXTREMELY nice), however, stock trigger isnt bad...
Strengths: -Looks
-Weight
-Speed
-Accuracy
-Quietness
-Price
-Size
Weaknesses: None really...
Review: The PM6 is a great marker. It is a complete marker right out of the box. After reading the manual thoroughly, I hooked up my taank and hopper and filled her up with fresh draxxus paint. At the crono, it shot a string of 289, 291, 290, 293, 291 (not bad at all being that I didnt break the reg in at all). I played the whole day and had no breakage whatsoever. I then decided to test it. I used some walmart paint that had been in my closet for a year -- no chops.
Conclusion: Overall, this is a GREAT marker that easily competes with its DM cousins. If your looking for a good marker, under 1k, that competes with 1.5k markers, this is it. Happy shooting.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

paintballdude88 Saturday, March 24th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Angel 06 'The Gat' Speed (current gun)
ICD Layosa Promaster (tested)
Spyder Electra ACS 05 (used it 2 years ago)
WDP Angel 1 (Only Tested)
Marker Setup: Angel 06 'The Gat' Speed, Reloader B, 68/4500psi crossfire carbon fiber
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel...
new grips *Personal Preference*
New Board
Strengths: Fast
Small
Looks
Weaknesses: Grips are way to weird
trigger sucks
feels weird
No modes
Review: My friend has this gun, so i went over to test it, therefore my review may not be as creditable as those who own this gun.

Looks- I did like the looks along with many other people

Board- no modes, kinda mad at that...

Trigger- Felt like crap. Spring returned trigger

Grips- Hurt my hand.... very uncomfortable.. hurt my wrist after awhile

Barrel: I didnt find it very accurate..

The PM6 does have some strengths:
Very Small, and light
Fast and quiet
has good looks

I understand that many will probably dispute this review but its just my opinion

Conclusion: If you think that the gun is worth it, i recommend u buy it. It's not terrible, just in my view, not on my A list for markers. I dont own this gun so you may not like my opinion.

So, buy it if you want
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, March 24th, 2007 at 8:14 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

owens81terrell Wednesday, May 10th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Proto pm6 (Blue)
Halo B (Blue)
Dye Ultralite Barrel (Blue)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Dye Ultralite
I've heard the UL Frame is nice
Strengths: Flawless Milling
Havent shot it yet, so I cant comment on that
Weaknesses: See Review
Review: I got my pm6 yesterday and I was so surprised that the pics of this gun online really don't do it justice. The milling is beautiful as well as the on/off and trigger. The problem was that when I screwed in my nitro tank and went to shoot...nothing. I think the problem is the bolt but i'm not sure. If anyone has any ideas on whats wrong with this marker please comment. Once I get this gun up and running i'll write an actual review.
Conclusion: Will review once I have it firing. Comment with any ideas on whats wrong with it or if u had a similar experience with this gun. thanks.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
10 Comments - Add Comment

golfmaster78 Sunday, May 21st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ego, Vision Shocker, DM6
Marker Setup: Proto M6 with Pure energy 68/45, Dye ultralite, Reponse Ramping board
Strengths: Very quiet, Very Accurate, Very stable
Weaknesses: Tempermental and breaks frequently
Review: The reason I am writing this review is to Rec ballers or new tournament players who think that the PM6 is a Blessing from God and is nothing more than a Dm6 without the ultralite frame and barrel. I have got news for you, this gun is prone to breaking and is very fragile. If you are in to upgrading boards or taking your gun apart, the wiring, especially the ribbon eyes, are increadibly fragile and tend to break or snap if you bend them to much. The eyes inside the gun are tempermental. If they do not line up perfectly, they do not work. The dwell, ROF, and LPR need to be perfectly tuned or else bolt stick (even with the Anti bolt stick on), and shoot down will occur. Now to my horror stories. I have had three, yes three Proto's sent to me by Proto over the past three months. Why? Well the first proto came from the factory with the set screw ground into the LPR, which, when the LPR was adjusted at the factory, caused metal shavings to enter the LPR which could have spelled disaster for the Solenoid. My second gun was sent from the factory with eye problems. Sent it back, again they sent me a new one. The third gun came again with a nick in the bolt from the factory and what do you know, more eye problems. (I am not stupid and did not break the eyes. The way the eyes align is a horrible design because they are based on exact measurements). I am a tournament player and have been for 6 years and know a lot about guns. The PM6 is one of the most exceptionally accurate, quiet and stable guns ever made. The gun does not move when shot. If you are into upgrading eyes and letting other people do your tech work, than it is worth it. I would suggest however having a decent back up.
Conclusion: Good for people who have time and know good techs. Awful for people who can afford only one gun and need a reliable piece of machinery.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (14):  First  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  14
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media