paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto Matrix M6 / Proto Matrix M6 / Proto Matrix M6 / Proto Matrix M6

Proto Matrix M6 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto Matrix M6

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto Matrix M6
[ View Photos (87) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 139
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $950

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The new Matrix VI features jaw dropping body style, a new balanced on/off bottom line, adjustable clamp neck, a new lower pressure bolt kit, new and improved LPR, metal logo inserts and a two piece barrel. With all of that we still managed to shave .5 inches off the height and 4oz. off the weight of the marker. We built the Matrix VI with one idea in mind: to help put you at the top of the podium.
Product Availability 
The Proto Matrix M6 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (14):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
SGTDeathStrike Wednesday, February 27th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
DM3, Shockers, Ions, Other Protos
Marker Setup: Proto Matrix 6 (Clear Dust)
Dye UL Barrel Tip (Red)
DXS 68/4500 LP
Halo w/ Rip
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Trigger
New Feedneck (maybe)
Strengths: Fast!
Fairly Light
Quiet
Sweet Looking!
Weaknesses: Trigger is annoying
Weird feel if you've never used Dye/Proto before
Review: I purchased my PM6 back in October of 2007. I got to use it for the first time in mid December. I LOVE IT.

The regulator did not take long to break in and I get a consistent +/- 3 on the chrono.

At first the feel of it is weird if you have never used a Dye/Proto gun before, the reg is VERY close to the trigger guard.

The trigger, in my opinion, is VERY annoying. The spring makes the trigger pull kind of stiff compared to other guns. The most annoying part is that the trigger will continue to travel back after it has reached the contact point. This takes some time to fix and even if you do you can't quite get it right. A new trigger is highly recommended. I'm getting one ASAP.

Even with the odd trigger, this gun RIPS! No problem cranking out high teens with it. And to top it all off, it's very quiet. Deffinatally the quietest marker I have ever owned.

The feedneck is a standard allen key locking feedneck, I would recommend a q-lock or something along those lines but if you don't mind the allen key feedneck then there is no need to get a new one.

Conclusion: This is an amazing marker, Highly recommended, with only a few upgrades this will no doubt be the best marker you have ever owned. 9 out of 10
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

OTEdge Thursday, October 5th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
ETek
DM's
PM5
Shockers
Other Random Highends too.
Marker Setup: Night Black ETek
Smoke VLocity
Crossfire 68/4500 HP
~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~
Black to Blue Spyder Pilot ACS 05
Trinity Clamping Feedneck
Richochet AK
SP Teardrop 14" Barrel

Recommended
Upgrades:
Trigger Maybe?
Strengths: Looks
Price
Feel
Accuracy
Pure Preformance
Weaknesses: Maintainence For Some
Not Extreamly Air Efficiant
Big Whoop To Both Of These
Review: Looks
A Perfect Design For Some, Butt Ugly For Others. This Is All Personal Preference, but to Me It Looks Sexy. The Finish on This is a Nice Smooth Clean Cut Surface With a Little Proto Jewel Thing In The Back.

Shooting Feel
Their Seems to Be Almost No Kick In It At All, Yes Their is Some But Hardly Noticeable. Not Like You Can Even Care To Much about Kick During The Rush Of A Game But Yea It Helps. Next Would be the sound which is...well.....amazing. Its Like a Lazer Gun Sounding Thing. This Sound Makes You Feel Powerful (Atleast For Me).

Holding Feel
The Grips Are Pretty Good and The Hyper2 Is Comfy. I Would Recommend Getting an Ultralite Frame If You Feel You Need To as The Protos Frame is A Bit Bulky to me. The Weight Transfer Kind Of Bugs Me, It Feels Kind Of Back Heavy, this is just me being picky so whatever dont listen to me or count this out of purchase. Other Than That Part This Marker Is Extreamly Light, No Amazing Diffrences are Felt when aired up and Paintballs Loaded but its pretty cool.

Walking
Well With That Lazer Beam Furtureistic Sound and the Streams Of Paint It Unloads, this thing makes me drool. When Firing Every Shot Is Nearly Ball On Top Of Ball. I Am Used To Shooting My ETek and Autocockers So It Was Hard For Me To Adjust As Their is a Completly diffrent shooting feel between the two. The Trigger Could Be A Good Aftermarket Part As Some May Agree They Dont Love The Stock one, But is not a totally nessisary upgrade.

Upkeep
To An Extent this Feels Like a Pretty Stable Marker But I Wouldnt Go Throwing it Around Like a Tippmann or anything. I Cant Say To Much On This as I Have Not Used It Alot but I have Heard that the wires are pretty weak, and I have seen first hand what happens if you dont clean it. So Make sure you know how to take care of a marker before purchasing this one. (Note To You: Dont Listen to what I say in this little part because I have not the experiance enough with this marker to judge its Maintainence and Durablity)

Efficiancy
It all Depends What Your Comparing It To. Towards my ETek....it Sucks Air From Your Lungs, Towards......Whatever Unefficiant Markers You Have used... its pretty good. The Person I Play With Whom owns this gun finds it annoying as he has to fill up after every two sets (Not To bad But Whatever.)
Conclusion: Great Gun And Quite a Bang 4 Your Buck. I Recommend This Product Fully.
If I Missed anything Or You Would Like Me To Add Something Post In Comments,
I Have Access to Test This Gun Mostly Any Time.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Socks4me1 Tuesday, April 11th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Shockers, Dm's.
Marker Setup: 06 Proto Matrix
Mushashi 5 programming
45/45 Dye Throttle
everything else stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
A Fast loader if you dont already have one.
Maybe new board.
Maybe new trigger.
barrel
Strengths: -Quiet
-Fast
-ABS stock
-Light
-Great Stock Reg
-Easy maintenance
Weaknesses: Trigger Adjustment
Fragile Wiring
Some Protos got a leaky ASA.
Review: Well, When i got my proto and opened the box i was amazed. I really couldnt believe how awesome it looked. Pictures on websites dont do it any justice at all. After airing it up and shooting some paint through it i was astounded. It had no kick what so ever and was sooo quiet. When i took it to the field Sunday it was shooting mad ropes. When i took it to the chrono i was getting a steady 289,290,289,288. And thats with no adjustments!!! After my day of play maintaning my proto couldnt be easier. All you have to do is take out your bolt which is 4 parts, and apply lube to all the orings, and slide it back in.
Conclusion: I love my proto matrix. Its everything i could ask for in a high end gun and not a chunk out of my money. I would get one if i were you.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

satyn7 Wednesday, January 11th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
DM4
05 Proto
Various Matrices
Marker Setup: Proto M6(Blue Dust) w/Musashi 5 board, UL 14", Reloader B, PE 68/45
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel (personal opinion)
Strengths: ROF
Accuracy
Weight
Cost
Size
Weaknesses: None
Review: First thing that I noticed when I got the M6 was the weight difference to the 05 Proto. People say that the weight is not noticable, WRONG!!! Huge difference when you set them up the same and hold them at the same time. ROF is what could be expected from a Proto. Accuracy...well it is a matrix so there you go. I was shooting Ultra Evil, and BALL ON BALL...everytime. One thing that did take some getting used too, was the size difference. I have been shooting older matrices, cockers, and angels. The fact that the M6 is smaller than what I have been using, I alomst dropped it during practice while switching hands. LOL!!! Cost for the M6 is very reasonable for someone wanting a high end gun and not having to sale the house to get one. The M6 is a great addition to the Proto family and will keep you running with the big boys for some time.
Conclusion: If you are looking for a high end gun at a decent price, the M6 is the way to go. A great choice for the rec baller or tourney player all the same. Very ez to maintain and will make you invicible(well you will think so)... A must have for any baller!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

PainSktr14 Friday, December 16th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
DM5
DM4
Ego
A-bomb timmy
Ripper timmy
Ripper 2 timmy
Texas Storm timmy
Dark Shocker
06 Shocker
Angel Speed 06
Karnivor
They alll dont compare to the PM6 it is one of the greatest guns ever!
Marker Setup: Proto 06(red)
Carbon fiber red halo
Hybrid black grips
Hybrid black bolt guide
Pure energy 45/4500 tank
red to black ultralight barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
none really only upgrades can do is make it look better
Strengths: No kick
No sound
Very sensitive
Good looks
Sery fast
Super light
Weaknesses: None at all.
Review: The proto has to be the nicest gun ever it is better then a Dm6 becuase it doesnt have all those o rings. It is better then a Angel just becuase Angels just really suck.It is really fast and super light.IF YOU ARE LOOKING FOR A GUN TO BUY GET THE NICE PROTO 06 IT IS THE BEST AND CHEAPEST GUN OUT THERE!!!!!
Conclusion: It is good all around period.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

ase Saturday, March 11th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 44 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing similar; first Matrix bolt design I've owned.
Marker Setup: Black w/ Green 06 Ego, Delrin Pin, Halo B, Crossfire 68/45
Green w/ Black 06 Ego, Delrin Pin, Reloader B, System X 68/45
Recommended
Upgrades:
An eBay account (to sell it).
Strengths: Bling (people think you're cool if you have a PM6)
Potentially fast.
Weaknesses: Bolt design
Looks
Trigger
Board
Barrel
Grip frame
Grips.
Review: Strengths-
Out of the 5 weeks I had it, it worked for one full day. In that day, the gun was rather fast and quiet.

Weaknesses-

Bolt design- I can not stand Matrix bolt designs. They are so high maintenance. Too much lube, you're screwed, too little lube, you're screwed. They're also super inefficient. The only real good thing is that they're quiet, which isn't going to help you out at all.

Looks- UGLY! Everyone thinks it looks awesome, but I guess it's my opinion that they really do not look good at all.

Trigger- Who the heck want a spring returned trigger in their high end electro? A $925+ gun!

Board- No modes! In a $925+ gun!

Barrel- Just terrible.

Grip frame- Fat, ugly, uncomfortable. Makes your hand/wrist hurt after a while, I sh*t you not.

Air efficiency- 5 pods on a 68/45 full fill out of the box.... On a $925+ gun!?!?!
Conclusion: This gun is a huge ripoff. There are so many better guns you could get for the price. Do yourself a favor, save yourself $200 and buy a used 05 Ego. Can you say....OVERRATED??
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
34 Comments - Add Comment

sfx606 Saturday, November 24th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Proto rail, dm5, etek, sft shocker, fusion, dm4, nxt shocker, pm5
Marker Setup: silver PM6 w/ ul frame
1 piece evil driver barrel
70/45 crossfire stubby
Vlocity
Recommended
Upgrades:
Ul frame (if you dont like stock which I like both stock and ul mine just came with ul frame)
Barrel ( not necessary though)
Strengths: FAST!!!!!
Light
Easy to clean
easy to adjust settings
quiet
smooooooooooooth
SEXY!!
Weaknesses: My friends are always wanting to shoot it and hold it, otherwise...none
Review: I just bought this marker which was very lightly used and came with a ul frame on it. I got it the day I was going to practice which was nice cause I was so excited to use it. I took it out of the box and it felt sooooooo nice in my hands. It was nice and tight and I thought the silver color of it might be annoying but I was WAYYYYY wrong on that it looks better than any other color in my perspective. I dry fired a few shots with my compressor just to make sure there were no leaks and there weren't =). Then I lubed it all up and went to play. When I was playing I used it on psp ramp and I was amazed at how fast it is. I had to turn my eyes off cause the detents weren't holding the balls infront of the eyes but thats just something that needs to be replaced every now and then considering they will wear down. It was very smooth and probably the smoothest gun I have ever shot. Also the quietest gun ive ever shot. Its crazy fast too. I got about 3 guys out in a few seconds who were running to there bunkers and I was able to get a quick lane of ropes on them and they were out. It was awesome. My friends kept wanting to hold it and use it cause it felt so comfortable and shot so well. Consistency wise It was very good. I was getting +/- 2 which is very good for me. I was not sure about my efficiency but I will update it when I do an efficiency test.
Conclusion: I recommend this product to anyone. People say that the dm6 is way better but in my mind its not. I like the DM's dont get me wrong but for a few hunder bucks cheaper and the same internals as the dm6( not including the eyes) I would definetley get it over any gun out there. I love it and you will definetly not regret getting this marker.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, November 24th, 2007 at 6:53 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sonnemann Sunday, June 17th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
-Shocker. Same idea, but terrible execution.
-Timmies. I like them. Sometimes just as smooth as a Matrix, too.
-Egos. Nice, but I have moved on. Anno sucks, too, to be honest
-Legend: light and comfy, but WAY loud and a ton of kick, even with the new parts
-Marq 7 Rapper: The only gun that I use over the PM6 right now. Read my review to see why.
Marker Setup: PM6
UL frame
DYE Blackout kit
CP roller trigger
!4" .692 Ultralite
CP ASA
VLocity
MacDev 45/45 LegionAir
Recommended
Upgrades:
UL frame, or a new board if you're going to keep the stock frame
Strengths: Light
Fast
Reliable
Small
Quality build
Quiet
Comfy
Stupid-simple
Weaknesses: Spool valve maintenance, but still not all that bad [read below]
Review: I got a UL'd PM6 in a rather fortuitous trade for an Alias, and immediately set to work proving to myself yet again that spool valves suck because the constantly eat o-rings, hog gas, and leak and leak and leak.

Luckily, I was wrong. The Shocker-inspired hatred of spool valves has left me. I cans afely say that the PM6 is a great gun.

To start with, it's very fast and light, with a small profile and ver little kick, as you might have guessed. As with most spool valves it feels like the ball is being pushed out of the barrl rather then smashed, and shooting it is a lot of fun!

It's very maneuverable and easy to snap with, and the recessed LPR that is the Proto trademark makes it really nice and easy to snag ahold of that front portion and snap away.

Maintenance is really a breeze. Whereas I found that a Shocker will break indiscriminately--basically at will--the PMs and DMs will work well as long as you keep them lubed and loved. I usually relube it after every few cases and it's still an absolute champ. I bought a 3-rebuild o-ring kit for it but have yet to replace a single o-ring. This really is the epitome of what I have always looked for: a spool valve gun that actually works perfectly ever time you pull it out of the gear bag.

I recommend getting ahold of some Hater Sauce, or plain old Dow if you've got it already, and sitting down and learning how to take it apart and lube it correctly. Too many times have I seen kids trying to fix their gun at the field when they don't even know the order of the bolt parts...what are there, all of 5?! And I wonder how these kids would survive if they had a DM3...sigh.

Basically I love this gun, and even though resale is dropping quickly I honestly don't care primarily because I got such a good deal on it, but also because I love to shoot people with it.

Conclusion: Go pick one up ASAP, especially at the prices that they are going for now. Be sure to treat it well and it will treat you even better in return. A great product, and pretty close to perfect.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, June 17th, 2007 at 8:35 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

front line Thursday, June 14th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
2 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
impulse, shocker, m5, dm, invert.
Marker Setup: dye ultralite frame ultralite barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
dont need any
Strengths: Small, lite, fast, acurate, quiet
Weaknesses: Alot of orings to grease
Review: Great gun I have owned and shot alot of guns protos are by far the most reliable, quiet and acurate guns. I have owned my gun for over 2 years and have never had a problem with it. There are alot of orings to maintain but dont let that scare you it is still easy to grease.
Conclusion: Buy this gun! you can get it really cheap now.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DukeDerox Thursday, February 15th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
None really
Marker Setup: PM6 w/ Ul Frame
------------------------------
Ion
45/45
360 QEV
CP Roller
CP Reg
Halo B
AA 12 inch
Q-Lock
Recommended
Upgrades:
UL Frame
Other than that, I just tested it
Strengths: Light with UL frame
Fast
Little kick
Easy to clean the bolt
Weaknesses: Heavy without the UL frame
Review: Tested it in just one game so far and I'm very impressed.
With the UL frame it is amazingly light. You don't really need it but weight can be annoying to some.
It's the fastest marker I've ever shot.
Works fine with my Halo B, havn't chopped once. Only shot on semi and I was impressed with the consistency.
The stock barrel is alright, could be more accurate. (Still shoots ropes..more like lazers)
First experince with a Dye/Proto Product and I love the bolt design. It has to be one of the easiest bolt to clean!
The gun looks sexy
I love this gun!
*Will edit in time.*
Conclusion: I love it! Buy it if you can!
10/10
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (14):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media