paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto Matrix M6 / Proto Matrix M6 / Proto Matrix M6 / Proto Matrix M6

Proto Matrix M6 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto Matrix M6

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto Matrix M6
[ View Photos (87) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 139
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $950

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The new Matrix VI features jaw dropping body style, a new balanced on/off bottom line, adjustable clamp neck, a new lower pressure bolt kit, new and improved LPR, metal logo inserts and a two piece barrel. With all of that we still managed to shave .5 inches off the height and 4oz. off the weight of the marker. We built the Matrix VI with one idea in mind: to help put you at the top of the podium.
Product Availability 
The Proto Matrix M6 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (14):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
protopber17 Sunday, April 16th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
lasoya promaster, xsv ego, empire timmy 06, and the ion but that doesn't really compare
Marker Setup: Blue 2006 Proto Matrix
Virtue board
cp roller trigger
Blue Halo B with rip
45/45 macdev legion air
Recommended
Upgrades:
the obvious-halo or evo2, HPA

later on think of the hybrid bolt guide a cp trigger (stock pretty good though), virtue board or ultra light frame
Strengths: Speed
Weight
Quiet
Accurate
Size
Looks-imo
Consistent
Feedneck
Speed
Complete out of box
Weaknesses: Bolt has 10 o-rings
Internal fragile wires
14 would've been better than 12in
Review: I opened it and was amazed at the milling, I picked it up and it was so light. The pictures you see mean nothing until you actually et to hold it. I went out to the alley and ripped a pod through it, and i broke one ball, but i realized that i hadn't turned the eye on. So i turned it on and put 3 more pods through and didn't chop. I was easily able to hit 15 bps no prob. also efficiency i got like 800 shots from a 45/4500.eh
Conclusion: shoots ropes no problems yet just lube it and your good BUY IT NOW
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, June 27th, 2006 at 7:19 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cfraz15 Saturday, April 15th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
05 timmy, 05 ego, ion, angel a4
Marker Setup: blue pm6
halo b
68/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
stock trigger is decent but some may not like it
Strengths: Light
Fast
Looks
Accurate
Weaknesses: Only thing i can think of is, non external trigger ajustments
Review: I got this in the mail a few days ago, I get home exited and open the box, WOW this gun is nice, the picture do it no justice, comes complete with the manual, small allen key set dye lube. everything you need

I read over the manual and set everything up nicely, the trigger is a little bit hard to ajust but its manageable

Time for some paint, all i can say is this guns is FAST, shot lazers.. has decent efficiency on my 68/4500 i got about 1500 shots


Took it out to the field: gun chronod at +/- 5 fps, out of the box thats pretty good
shot ropes all day long no chops no problems

A++ gun

dye/proto really outdid them selves with this gun
Conclusion: All in all this is a very good marker, can't get much better this this, especially for the price
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

RumblingRossage Thursday, March 23rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
I've shot everything you can think of. Freestyles, all matrixs, timmys, shockers... etc
Marker Setup: REd Proto Matrix 6, laser eyes, tophat mod, 72,4500 tank empire reloader b
Recommended
Upgrades:
New on/off
Strengths: Very quick, easy maintenance, accurate, doesn't break balls, sexy look, light, small, efficient.
Weaknesses: Stock asa comes loose alot.
Review: I got my PM6 for $700 nib as an upgrade from my Bonebrake Bushmaster. I'm on an XPSL team (Addicts Factory) so I really needed a better gun. The proto fails to dissapoint. I love this gun! Outof the box I knew I would love it. The red ones look amazing. I checked for any milling problems there were none. Only some slight machine marks on the top of the gun but I really had to look hard to find them. Then I took the gun to the tech counter and took it apart. I lubed it and it was very easy. It required no mental strain whatsoever and was not very time consuming either. I then put the gun back together and headed to the chrono. I shot two pods and a hopper through it and had no barrel breaks or chops whatsoever, every ball flew out amazingly straight. The gun chronoed in at 286, 282, 279, 283, 282,282,282,281,284 right out of the box. Not bad at all I say. The regs are very easy to adjust and are explained in the very detailed manual. On the field the gun is light, small, amazingly quick, and accurate. The stock barrel is just fine with small paint and since gettting the gun a few months ago Ive shot about 15 cases through it, three in tourneys and and all the rest in practice. Ive had not a single chop, and only 4 or five barrel breaks and one I'm not sure about. I've not needed to adjust the regs since the first day and I've not had a single board adjustment needed. Everything is great stock. The eyes work fantastically, this gun NEVER bounces and it is sickly fast. I've not had a single leak either. It now has a new name, "Killing Machine" because it is fantastically reliable and it shoots faces.

7/4/06 Since then the gun is still reliable, never gone down and still has had no chops!! its awesome!!!!!!!
Conclusion: Get this gun it's soooooo worth the money and it is relatively cheap. This is the closest to perfect that I've ever shot.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, July 4th, 2006 at 4:51 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ReisReis Tuesday, June 13th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
DM6
DM5
Proto 05
All Intimidators
All Shockers
etc.
Marker Setup: Clear PM6 w/ blue parts
Cp Sling Blade Trigger
V!rtue
Contract Killer grips
Suicide Halo
70ci Dye Throttle
Recommended
Upgrades:
trigger (not needed stock is great)
Board ( i like v!rtue but once agian not needed, nice to have)
Strengths: Lighter than 05
Smaller than 05
Tighter than 05
Quiet
Price
Weaknesses: I would like a 14 in barrel
Battery Wires
Review: Whe i first ordered this marker i couldnt wait to get it ( i regret using ground shipping). I open the box and the this thing is the bomb!!

Proto has improved on everything with the 06, there is a new feed neck not the cheesy stock feedneck on the 05 and it now comes with a on/off, it is incredibly light its like holding a feather. Its also easy to roll the trigger, its like a machine gun.

I would like if the barrel was 14 in instead of 12 but i spent like 30$ and got a new front no biggy, be careful though when taking apart the grip frame not to rip the eye wire.
Conclusion: Its a must buy it is great you will not be unhappy
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Smack-Tastic-C Monday, May 14th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Strange Shocker
06 Ego
PM5
SFT Shocker
Marker Setup: PM6
72/45 Stubby
Halo B
E-Ventz
Recommended
Upgrades:
UL Frame
Feedneck
ASA
Strengths: Fast
Quiet
Very little kick
Looks
Weight
Size
Weaknesses: None at all!
Review: the PM6 is awesome!!

The 2-piece proto barrel is exactly the same as a Dye Ultralite just that it says proto on it. So no need to upgrade

There is no need for a bolt upgrade. In my opinion spending another $80-$100 for a bolt that adds little efficiency and consistancy is a waste of money.

This gun is awesome right out of the box. I took it out for the first time and went to a crono and got 280,281,281,280,280 which is very good for a reg that has not yet been broken in yet. There is no or very little kick. You may notice some kick but with a good fine tune u can get rid of it. on my 72/45 stubby i got about 5 pods, but when the reg is broken in and i have tuned it for the best settings i can get, i will be able to get more pods. The UL Frame is a number 1 upgrade to get. If you think a PM6 with is good stock, wait until you use it with a UL Frame.
Conclusion: I highly recommend this gun to anyone who is looking for a absolutely wonderful gun!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

colinfarrell699 Thursday, April 26th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
I used an E-teck Ego, shocker, 06 ego, and ive seen the performance of other high end guns.
Marker Setup: PM6, freak barrel, orange bolt, hybrid grips, pulse hopper, and a 68/4500 PMI Tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Orange bolt and barrel.
Strengths: Accuracy, dependability, range, speed.
Weaknesses: The weight and kick.
Review: I have used this gun for awhile now. I know it inside and out. And it is the best gun I have ever used or owned (to me). Throughout the review I'll explain why.
The Pros:
1. It hardly chops balls. In all the time I used this gun I only chopped four balls (two stinger and two rec sport). Out of five thousand I put through the gun. But it handled the paint really well, the paint didn't ooze its way all around the insides in fact most of the paint got pushed into the barrel. All you needed was a squeege to clean the barrel and you are good to go.
2. It is reliable. I've used this gun for six months. Not one leak or break down (its weird because every one I talked to about Proto guns says they leak). And I never had any problem with the electronics.
3. Its fast. This gun only as semi-auto settings, but I'm a scenario player on the MD Massacre team so all the games I do play ramping is outlawed. Not that the gun needs ramping. Its shoots so fast that my fingers cant keep up with it and I have fast fingers. Its not as fast as other guns but I think 23 bps is fast enough.
4. The accuracy is awesome. This gun is really accurate with the stock barrel but when i put the freak barrel on it, it made my jaw drop. And the range is really good too. It can out range a lot of guns and is accurate over long distances. I shot a 1 foot by 1 foot piece of wood from around 60 to 80 feet away and it it that thing every time. You probably could do that while your playing but its a little harder to do when your getting shot at.
5. I would have put the price on the cons but the price isn't that bad any more and it is worth the money. You could also get it used.

The Cons:
1. The weight. Its a little heavy, but if you are a strong guy you don't need to worry about it. It doesn't effect my playing and I play front and I run around a lot. And you could always get a UL frame.
2. The kick is bad. The kick effected my accuracy. So I switched the stock bolt with the Orange bolt and haven't had that problem since. The kick wasn't too bad its just that I'm an accuracy junkie.
Conclusion: With all of that said I would give the gun a 10 since the cons are not bad at all and the pros out way the cons a few hundred times over. Get this gun. You'll never have a gun this awesome for a long time.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

ion9810 Sunday, August 27th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
ion
e-cockers
response A-5
Marker Setup: Olive Proto Matrix
Dust Black CP Sling Blade Trigger
14in .689 Stiffi Barrel
Virtue Board
Camo Grenade Grips
Custom Painted Halo B With V35 Board
Dye 68 4500psi Air Tank
Dye Rhino Tank Cover
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel
trigger
but those are just preference
Strengths: FAST!
Light
Quiet
Small
No Kick
Awesome Milling
Perfectly Balanced
Weaknesses: None
Review: i got an olive Proto Matrix about 6 months ago. i love this thing. the first thing i noticed when i took it out of the box was the weight, this thing is lighter than my old ion. the second thing i noticed was the milling, the curves and and the finish it just looked so perfect. when i aired it up and started shooting i noticed something. there was no kick whatsoever. even with paint in it has almost no kick. it is so fast that on ramping (with the virtue board) my Halo B could Not keep up at all( that is why i got the V35 Board =)

i am a woodsballer and it is very important to have a quiet gun. the proto is the quietest gun i have ever heard. the other day we were playing at camp pendelton and my dad was right in front of me when this guy tried bunkering both of us. my dad saw him first and started shooting with his ion. and when he turned the corner i shot three times and hit him on the shoulder with al three paintballs. my dad had no idea that i was behind him. so after the game my dad was telling me how he almost got bunkered. then he told me that he heard some whispers over his shoulder and said that that was the quietest paintball gun he has ever heard. then i told him it was me and was so amazed on how quiet my proto was.
Conclusion: If you want a high end gun i would definitely get the proto. it is the nicest gun on the market if i may say so myself. i would give this gun a rating of 99999999999999999999 but it only goes up to 10 =,(
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

alienshinubie Saturday, January 21st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
cockers- don't compare
ions- don't compare
spyders- don't compare
Marker Setup: 06 proto with a 68/4500 adjustable output fiber tank & an reloader b.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Board
barrel kit maybe
cp trigger is always nice
New bolt maybe, but the stock bolt works fine for me.
Strengths: Efficiency
noise level
consistency over the chrono
weight
adjustable trigger
Weaknesses: I like a 14 inch barrel, easier to move the bunkers around with
Review: OK:

Price: you can find em for $810 but i got mine for $1001 with tax and supported my local shop. retail is around 929 I think.

Noise level: None really. its sorta like a little "puff"

Kick: Absolutely nearly none. Nothing really noticeable at least.

consistency: Without breaking in the reg, plus/minus 1 fps! No kidding!

Efficiency: I get around 750 shots from my 68/ 4500 filled to 3000 psi. ( Field doesn't fill past 300).

Trigger/ other upgradable parts on the gun: The trigger is very adjustable, therefore you can set it to your liking. As expected it is VERY fast when put in the right fingers. Plenty of room to walk the trigger. ASA: Small, seems light weight, and its on/off.
Bolt: lots of o-rings to lube, but hey, that's part of owning a thousand dollar marker!! Feed-neck: Shot and clamping. Uses an Allen wrench to tighten/loosen it. Nothing more to be said.


Barrel: Two piece twelve incher i think. Pretty sure its twelve inches. Anyways, I happen to like a 14 inch barrel because it is easier to push aside your bunker and to maneuver around it. Also I feel it is easier to aim with a twelve incher.


feel/weight/balance: the gun is very light weight and with a reloader b and a 68/ 45 tank, it balances out very well. I feels very solid, not flimsy like some other guns *cough* ion *cough*.
Conclusion: I highly recommend this gun. It feels solid and light. It balances out very well. It has clamping feedneck, a great trigger, on/off asa. It is very efficient and consistent. For more details, read body of review.

Oh yeah, and I think the full blue is definately the hottest!!! To bad i got black.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
11 Comments - Add Comment

SpyderPaintz Tuesday, March 27th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
DM/PM Family (All Have basically same attributes with minor changes in each)
Egos (Less Maintainence, More Kick, Louder, Better Efficancy)
Timmys (See Ego)
Angels (A retarded Ego basically....accept for the A1)
Marker Setup: Was Using:
Cobalt PM6
UL Frame
Dye Throttle 68/4500
VLocity and Halo
Recommended
Upgrades:
None Needed But
Bolt Guide
Barrel Kit
Clamping Feedneck
UL Frame
Strengths: Fast
Looks
Sound
Light
Kick
No Chops
Low Pressure
Weaknesses: Stock Frame??
Review: Well let me start off by saying this is my Dad's gun which I have used many times, I do not own this marker but have had much experiance with it.

Speed
Fast enough....cant recall if normal frame has more modes than Semi but either way...this marker rips straight out of the box. It is fun making those infamous Matrix Lazers. This marker keeps up in tournaments.

Looks
Flawless out of the box, no scratchs, dents or anything. The cobalt looks very nice too. When you pay this price for a marker you should get some decent milling and annodizing on it and this is not very far from perfect.

Sound & Kick
Spool valve guns are known for being quite and no kick at all, and this is just another marker that proves that. When ripping on this gun I feel no lift at all, comparing to my ETek (Which I really do love). The sound is quite and very cool, it has a futuristic tone to it.

Feel
Pretty darn light marker, good milling with shaved off fat from it making it not so much of a burden to carry. Sadly I think when holding the stock frame it is VERY bulky and uncomfortable. So my dad got a UL Frame and he loves it, I find it to be to thin though that it hurts my hand. All personal preference thier.

Firing
Well it runs at a pretty low pressure and dosnt really chop unless he or I are using bad paint. Their is no drop off problems or anything either. Fires VERY smooth and basically its all good.
Conclusion: Ill do a Maintainence section whenever I feel like making one but overall this gun is EXTREAMLY nice. Id recommend it to anyone who wants to start moving up into the highend world (ETeks also if you like ram guns)
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, March 31st, 2007 at 5:56 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TStorm Wednesday, November 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
texas storm intimidator- louder, more efficient
pm5- basically the same
shocker- horrible gun compared to anything
Marker Setup: Dust Black PM6 w/:
blue/black ultralite barrel
UL frame
VP trigger
Blue Hybrid Bolt guide
blue eye covers
ccm feedneck
530 mod
tophat mod
Recommended
Upgrades:
UL FRAME!!!!!- basically personal preference but it is so confortable. Board comes with different modes

nothing but maybe some bolt mods or aftermarket bolts to help efficiency wise
Strengths: No Kick
Quiet
Fast
Looks Sexy
Very comfortable
Weaknesses: Inefficiency
So many o-rings
Review: i just got this gun a couple of weeks ago. It is the smoothest gun i have ever shot. Right when i got it i put it on PSP ramp (UL frame) and i went out to shoot it. I cannot tell you how quiet and how little kick there is.

i haven't been able to get to a field to test consistency. But when i was shooting in my backyard i went through a little less than 2 pods on 1000 psi... kinda bad. So i did a tophat mod and i already had a 530 mod done on the bolt guide... so that should probably help with efficiency a little.

It isn't that bad to maintain the bolt, you just have to know what to lube and how much to put on. On a whole i think that this is a much better platform (spool valve) than my timmy's platform (ram/poppet).

with my settings right now i had my:
lpr-3.5
Dwell- about 13
HPR: ?

with these settings i was getting very little kick and the gun was very quiet. But i just put on the tophat mod so i will probably have to tune it again.

the only thing i would say to get for this gun is an oring kit because there are a lot of orings on the gun

Conclusion: very fast, quiet and very little kick. A little bad on efficiency but that can easily be taken care of with all the bolt mods and aftermarket bolts out there right now. Also with the pm7/dm7 comming out, you will be able to pick up this gun with possibly a UL frame for a relatively cheep amount.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, November 1st, 2006 at 3:27 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (14):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media