paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto Matrix M6 / Proto Matrix M6 / Proto Matrix M6 / Proto Matrix M6

Proto Matrix M6 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto Matrix M6

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto Matrix M6
[ View Photos (87) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 139
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $950

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The new Matrix VI features jaw dropping body style, a new balanced on/off bottom line, adjustable clamp neck, a new lower pressure bolt kit, new and improved LPR, metal logo inserts and a two piece barrel. With all of that we still managed to shave .5 inches off the height and 4oz. off the weight of the marker. We built the Matrix VI with one idea in mind: to help put you at the top of the podium.
Product Availability 
The Proto Matrix M6 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (14):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
Tippmann Masta Thursday, October 26th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
PM5
Shocker
Etek Ego
05 Ego
06 Ego
Marker Setup: ~PM6~
CP on/off
CP rail
UL frame
Ultralite 14" barrel
V!rtue DM6 board
Recommended
Upgrades:
Ul frame...WOW!
Virtue board...WOW!
Strengths: Speed
Weight
Low profile
sexy
comfortable
quiet
Weaknesses: None
Review: WOW! This gun is great. The first time I shot it I was amazed! I didnt think it was gonna be this great. It is very fast and small profile. It is easy to snap shoot as well because its light and the Ultralite Frame makes it even more thinner. It already has .5 inches shaved off its height and 4 oz off its weight, but with the Ultralite frame, it is just as good, if not better than the Dm6 because its lighter and cheaper than the DM6. The UL Frame makes it 10x better than the stock trigger frame. With the Virtue board......it makes me speachless. You get tons of modes to choose from and it is %100 tourney Legal!!
Conclusion: This gun is amazing. I suggest you buy one ASAP!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

edd Monday, October 9th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ive used Shockers, Ions, friends BKO, Free styles, Ego, DM series, and of course, the PM5. All of these guns shoot about the same. Some with little more kick then others, but pretty much the same. The ones that are the closest though are Dm series, ion, and Pm5.
Marker Setup: -Proto Matrix 6 w/ tadao
-Halo B w/ v35
-Pmi 68 ci 3k
Recommended
Upgrades:
A new board just to have the modes. But if you dont have the cash, semi n this gun is awsome too.
Strengths: - LIGHT!
- QUIET!
- Air eficancy
- ACCURACY!
- Easy to work on.
Weaknesses: Stock board is only semi, but still rips either way.
Review: This gun is great. I was shopping around for a high end model gun and my choices were between: a Pm6, Etek ego, FS-8, Shocker. I had read reviews on all these guns and actually shot them after i read the reviews. Exept the etek, i had to shot a full blown Ego in place fort hat one........................darn? Anyway. I had shot all the guns exept the Pm6 and i was really about to get a FS-8. I was thinking that i wasn't going to lke the PM6 as much as i did. Then one day i got to shoot it. Not only shoot it, i got to rip out for about 3 games with one. After that, i made my decision. PM6!!!!!!
Ok now im going to write the review on the gun. I got mine with a tadao board already in it. So i had the modes. But i put it on semi to see how it would really feel. When i shot it, i just got that feeling inside that makes you wanna scream like a little girl. It was so quiet, and so accurate.

-Accuracy-
I couldn't believe that i got my first 3 shots in the same place. The ones after that went about 2 inches from those ones. And the shots seemed to go the same speed every time.

-Air efficiency-
Air efficiency is great. i can get about a hopper and 4 pods off a 68 3k. And still have room to fire about 100 more good shots. That's between 810-830 balls. So if you get a 4.5k fill you can definitely get 1100+ shots on a 68ci tank.

-Velocity-
Velocity adjustment is easy. Just put the right sized allen in the bottom of the reg and twist. The efficiency of the velocity is crazy!!!!!!!! At first i sot a string of about 20 shots and got 265-270. Im a back player and i want my paint to bust on the guy mirroring me. So i put mine up a bit. My new consistency was 285-291 on a 20 string.

-Speed/ ROF-
Again i have a new board, but i put it on semi. You can be the worst walker in the world and still get 15 bps with this thing. A new board is for people like me who really cant shoot fast with both hands.
Conclusion: If you want a gun that will never be a real problem, then get this one. Right out of the box it will rip. This gun will bring out the potential in even a person just starting to play.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

nickbyers Friday, September 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Pm5, Dm4, Shocker, 05 and 06 ego, Alias
Marker Setup: Pm6
68ci 4500 psi tank
Halo b hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
Some kind of board
Strengths: Very light
Fast
Quite
Relatively cheap
Weaknesses: No modes on stock board
Review: 1. Looks = 10/10

I absolutely love the body style and color of the pm6.

2. Weight / Size = 10/10

The pm6 is really light, and small. If you look at a pm5 next to a pm6 you can see that the pm6 is much smaller.

3. Noise = 10/10

The pm6 is incredibly quite; it is truly SBD ( Silent But Deadly ).

4. Stock Parts = 9/10

The pm6 comes with a locking feedneck, on-off with purge, and a 2 piece proto barrel (which is basically another name for an ultra-lite). The one thing i don't like about the pm6 is the fact that the stock board has no modes except for semi.

5. Kick = 10/10

The pm6 has no kick whatsoever.

6. Manual = 9/10

The manual for the pm6 has large pictures of everything that you will need to see up close. It also has very helpful directions on how to maintain the gun or fix most problems. The only problem is that a few simple things are left out (for example, it doesn't tell you which way to turn the lpr to turn it up and which way to turn it down).

7. Price = 10/10

The pm6 is pretty much the cheapest high-end gun out there at $725; yet it rivals the more expensive $1200 guns.
Conclusion: This is the cheapest high-end gun out there (price-wise), and it excels in all areas.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, September 4th, 2006 at 11:53 am PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

FishyFrontMan Tuesday, July 25th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
'04 Shocker, various e-cockers, LaSoya Timmy, etc
Marker Setup: '05 LaSoya
CP reg
Hybrid ram cap
Virtue board
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel kit and maybe a new board depending on what kind of events you do
Strengths: Feel
ROF
Weight
Weaknesses: Maintainence (as with any spool valve)
Review: To begin, take note that I played on average two times a week with my proto, so it was well used in my relatively short tenure with it. I will address the five main things you should look for in a paintball gun and how they apply to the PM6: accuracy, rate of fire, reliability, maintenance, and aesthetics. Note that range is determined entirely by velocity unless a force other than gravity and momentum is put on the ball (as with the flatline) so it makes no difference in this review.

Accuracy- The accuracy of the PM6 was excellent. I could have easily played with the stock barrel and had it perform well. With the barrel kit, it was as accurate as a paintball gun can get.

Rate of fire- The rate of fire is one of two factors that really impressed me with the PM6. I found the stock trigger without the switchspring in to be incredibly comfortable to walk. I was able to hold a very consistent stream of paint at very high ROF's, instead of erratic streams which is my usual. For lack of a better word, the stock trigger looks very "stock" in my opinion, but it fit without any wobble and shot great, so I wound up keeping it; I feel an aftermarket trigger couldn't have performed better.

Reliability- As a spool valve operating gun, the PM6 isn't quite as reliable as a stacked tube, ram driven gun, such as an angel or autococker. There is always the possibility in the back of your mind that an o-ring may wear out and burst during play, somewhat robbing you of your peace of mind. That being said, I never had any problems with mine, so maybe my fears weren't entirely justified. The eyes, board, solenoid, etc always worked flawlessly as well.

Maintainence- Here was the low point of the PM6 for me. The maintainence required for the gun is relatively light, but must be done very regularly. I lubed all of the o-rings within my bolt, bolt guide, etc every time I played. I labelled this the "low point" of the gun, but it goes to show what a well-performing gun it is that made me label an extra 5 minutes of setup time as such.

Aesthetics- This is the second factor that had me very impressed. Though a lot of it is personal preference, I think it can be universally agreed upon that the PM6 is a great looking gun. It's weight was also a huge plus, giving my shocker a good run for its money as the lightest gun I own. It is also respected as a good gun, so you don't get condescending looks from players who judge skill by what gun you run with.
Conclusion: The PM6 is a great gun, it's spool valve operation allows it to be lighter and to avoid any metal-to-metal wear. It unfortunately also makes for more (but very manageable and reasonable) maintainence as well as an unwanted reliance on o-rings. It's incredible performance for a relatively low price puts it right back up to the top, however.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, August 13th, 2006 at 5:07 am PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Anoka2009 Friday, June 9th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
PM5-heavier
Shocker-much lighter, lots of problems
Marker Setup: PM6
14in .691 Stiffi Barrel
Empire Reloader B
Dye tank 70/4500
CP Sling Blade trigger
Orange Bolt
Recommended
Upgrades:
Trigger(not a nececsity)
Barrel
Ultra light or Stiffi or CP and Lucky 15
Strengths: Accurate
Light and Compact(good for Front Man)
Fast
Nice Design
Durable
Weaknesses: Gas Hog
About 1000 shots on a 70/4500
Review: I bought this gun cause i was very tired of my Ion always breaking down and i thought smart part has terrible service i sent that to them before and they never even fixed my gun. So i had to send it to them again. Anyway This is about the Proto!!

I used this gun the day after I bought it and just ripped on this thing i was shooting Draxuss paint outta it and it shot very well I had no problems at all.

The Accuracy is very good on this gun after u buy a new barrel the stock isnt bad but its onlt 12in. I use Shcoker lube for my orange bolt and it works very well better then the slick lube. It nice and light compared to some other guns i have shot and its smaller then the PM5.Id reccomend using any Draxxus, Xball gold,silver,bronze or any Evil paints out of this it shoots dead on.

I played again a week later and my local field and it was so much fun we were playing 3 on 3 and i completly dominated.NO CHOPS or anything. this gun has helped my playing a lot and I know the gun doesnt make the player better unless your shooting some cheap thing but this helped me and Dye makes great products and I will be entering a 5 man tourney next month and cant wait.
Conclusion: I would buy this gun if ur in the market for one they are very nice and built very well its not that bad stock but after u upgrade it, its just a machine and shoots very fast.

Buy this well worth the money
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
11 Comments - Add Comment

xtreme pballer Thursday, June 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Piranha gsx comes nowhere near this
Marker Setup: Proto matrix 6 halo 45/45 proto jersey and pants
Recommended
Upgrades:
ul trigger
new asa( preferribly a maxflow)
JDS LPR
new bolt (lucky bolt or hybrid)
Strengths: Compact
Quiet
Accurrate
Light
Price
Fast
Weaknesses: Stock trigger
Wiring
Review: I got my new proto and had to write a review about.
first off the gun itself looks awesome. its really compact and easy to maneuver it on the field.
the first time i played with it i only got shot like five times all day. this is a big difference between now and before i got my proto. so every body says that the gun doesn't make the player i say the gun doesn't make the player but it can help. the box it comes in gives you a tube of dye lube, a barrel cover and any kind of o ring you could need for your new proto.its also padded so if you put your gun in there it wont get all scratched up (very nice).
pros- this gun is extremely accurate. i can stand about 75 feet from a target and the balls are basically on top of each other. this gun is pretty fast stock. i think i can easily get 15 bps out of this gun. this gun is definitely not one of those that you get tired of carrying around the field (and that's not just because everybody wants to see it either). its almost the same exact thing compared to the dm6 or the dmc so the price is right.
cons- the trigger electronics look pretty cheap so i would buy the ultra light trigger for it. but that's pretty pricey so if you cant get that go ahead and just get a musashi board for it. you ll like the ultra lite trigger better though. THIS GUN DOES NOT COME WITH RAMPING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! i bought a new gun for ramping what a bummer. but that's just a quick fix with a new board. i would also change the asa. it comes loose every now and then after a few sloppy slides.
Overall though, im happy with my buy.
Conclusion: If you dont have $1500 to spend on a new gun this is a great gun for you.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, June 25th, 2006 at 1:11 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

pbsenior Saturday, May 27th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
DM4, Trilogy Pro Autococker
Marker Setup: red and black PM6 marker, viewloader evolution II hopper, 3000psi compressed air tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel kit
Strengths: Fast, accurate, awesome looking, light
Weaknesses: none that I can think of...
Review: Well, this gun was ready to shoot right out of the box. I loaded my paint into my egg hopper and started shooting ropes at targets the size of small paper plates about 50 yards away,and I hit them every shot! The stock trigger on this thing is very sensitive, but that is an adjustable setting. This marker is almost a DM6, but it is about half the price! My matrix was $725, while the DM6 is anywhere from $1300 to $1500.

Speed:

this thing is SOOOOOO fast! when I shot it out of the box, I was doing about 13, 14 bps on semi-auto. I used up about 300 paintballs in just a few minutes. And on configuration mode, I can ramp it up to 30 bps.

Accuracy:

Like I said before, I set up targets the size of paper plates about 50 yards away and hit them every shot, and that was with the Proto stock barrel.

Weight:

This gun hardley weighs anything, it is very light, it's so light, a 5 year old could run around playing with it. With the hopper, paint, and air tank, it's about 4 or 5 pounds.
Conclusion: I highly recomend this marker to anyone who is planning on paying $750 for a high end electronic marker, becausei have absolutely no regrets on buying this gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

JoyKiller21 Thursday, May 25th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Angel Speed 05 - When it worked, probably equal to the pm6 overall.
(Used a couple times) Freestyle - Like both, both are light.
(") Shocker - This gun was also light and I liked it too.
(") Ion - This Ion was insanely upped, but doesn't quite live up to the pm6. Still a fine marker.
Marker Setup: Silver w/ Black Accents Proto Matrix 6
`Orange Bolt
`Hybrid Grips (not as comfy, but look nicer)
Stiffi 12"
Black Empire Reloader B2
68/45 PMI Tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Orange Bolt, or any other bolt that may help gas efficiency. TOP HAT MOD For sure
Other than that... Personal preference.
Strengths: Light
Tight
Small Profile
Fast
Good Stock
Accurate
No FSDO
Weaknesses: Gas efficiency
ASA
Review: Okay, so I took this beast out of it's box on my way home from school one day, and I was amazed at how sexy it was, and how light it was.
I put in the Stiffi, and that took a tad bit of weight off and balanced it a bit more.
Then I put in the Orange Bolt but have yet to figure out how to fine tune it... but I'll do that later.

I have only shot about 5-6 hoppers through this beast in my backyard, but I'm going paintball this Saturday so I'll tell you how it performed then afterwards.

Pro:
Light
Tight
Fast
Accurate
No FSDO
Amazingly Sexy

Con:
ASA doesn't fit my tank!?! So I had to put on an Evil ASA.
Gas Efficiency, but with my Orange bolt it's been dramatically better.
Conclusion: 9.7/10 so far.
Love this baby.
Only reason its not a ten is gas efficiency and the ASA problem.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

katistrofic Saturday, May 20th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
dye dm6 and i think that the pm6 is the same if not better
Marker Setup: -proto matrix 06
-stock -view loader evolution 2 hopper
-wgp 300 psi compressed air
Recommended
Upgrades:
ultra lite frame if not too expensive for you or a virtue board
-new barrel(dye ultralite)
Strengths: accuracy
speed.speed.speed.speed.speed
easy to shoot
PRICE
Weaknesses: Not air efficient.
Stock 12 inch barrel.
Review: i just got my proto matrix today and i love it. shot 1 month old diablo heat paint and shot good still. my proto matrix is all blue dusted wich is one of the best lookin markers out too date. the only thing is that if you want to go above 18 bps then i suggest you get a proto responce board, virtue board, tadao board, or a dye ultralite frame. the accuracy on this gun is probaly the same on a dm6 or dm5. the proto is the SAME EXACT thing as the dye dm6 but just without the dye parts so my suggestion is that if you dont have proto then get one and if you do good dor you!
Conclusion: this gun is the lowest priced gun that is at the same time the best gun for people who like to rip it on the field.if you like to just have a good gun that is like over $1,000 then shame on you. U MIGHT AS WELL GET A PROTO
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

protoballer57 Tuesday, April 4th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Diablo Wrath (not really similar though)
Marker Setup: PM6 Stock, PMI 45/4500, Halo B+ Ripdrive
Recommended
Upgrades:
different feed neck (one that doesent require allen keys)
new board/ Ultralight Frame (obviously if you play PSP, Nppl, NXL etc.)
perhaps a new trigger depending on how finicky you are.
this upgrade is a bit pointless but it's explained in my review : new macroline
Strengths: Ranked from most important srengths to least: light, great bang for your buck, asthetics.
Weaknesses: No LCD, trigger cant be adjusted externally, feedneck needs allen key
Review: Overall I believe that the PM6 is a GREAT gun to own. If you bought when it first came out, they were quite expensive (around 925 I believe) But recently they dropped to 725, which for a pro level gun is pretty damn sweet. The only other guns in this range that can compete with the price:performance ratio when not on sale, are shockers and evil guns. I like the fact that they included all the Allen keys in this neat little holder that tells you their sizes. It also comes with an extensive repair kit including multiples of all the orings, a new trigger spring, and 2 sets of detents. IT also comes with some of the dye lube which seems to work pretty well, although slick honey is supposed to be better. Im not particularly good at walking the trigger but with the PM6, it seems to be a breeze. The kick is almost nothing, and the stock trigger is pretty decent, but it's a bit annoying that it's not external adjustment. I have only used it once, but I haven't had any problems which seems to be a good sign. One problem I did have though was that the stock macro line that it came with was REALLY stiff, hard to cut, and was really hard to bend. I just bought a foot of some other stuff which worked better, but this really doesn't matter in the whole grand scheme of things. Another thing i didn't particularly like was the fact that the feedneck, although clamping, needs an allen key to be tightened. I don't know if most guns are like this but it's a bit of a pain to have to allen key your hopper in. People might whine about the fact that it has no ramping board or anything stock, but when your paying 725 for a gun as awesome as this, buying a new board for like 125 isn't a big deal. I haven't had a chance to test the air consumption, but from what I have heard it seems to be a bit of a problem. When I tested it without touching anything, straight out of the box at the chrono, with 3 shots they were:
275. 276, 268. With a HP tank, there was no drop off, even after shooting long strings. The stock 2 piece also fires pretty awesome and although I dont know what size the bore is it is pretty big, Probably a .691 or somewhere around there. Something else that's a bit annoying is the eye wire. It's practically like paper, and can probably be ripped pretty damn easy so that will have to be watched for.
Conclusion: The price cant really be beat except if you buy a shocker. I cant comment on shockers because I haven't tested them but smart parts in my opinion is a bit Naziish, trying to sue every company on the planet so I would steer clear of them just out of principle. Overall im going to give it a 9 because il take .25 off for the feedneck, and .25 off for the fact that the trigger is not externally adjustable, and .5 off for the lack of LCD.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (14):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media