paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann C-3 / Tippmann C-3 / Tippmann C-3 / Tippmann C-3

Tippmann C-3 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann C-3

Paintball Pump / Stock-Class Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann C-3
[ View Photos (5) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 32
Average Rating: 7.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $229

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Tippmann C-3� with PEP (Propane Enhanced Performance) technology is the world�s first propane powered paintball marker. With more than 50,000 shots per 16-ounce tank, you can spend more time playing paintball and less time trying to find a place to fill your CO2 tank. Propane provides the same effective range as C02, but it is not affected by temperatures and has the same consistency as Nitrogen or compressed air. Propane is a safe form of fuel used in many household items and the propane canisters can be picked at many retail locations at a fraction of the cost of C02.

The new C3 is a Pump Action marker that will appeal to players wanting to focus on strategy and marksmanship as well as new players looking for a fun and easy way to play paintball. The C3 is an aluminum and composite construction and features a 13� mandrel wrapped composite barrel for added accuracy and reduced weight. MSRP $229.

Caliber: 0.68
Action: Pump Action
Power: Propane
Firing rate: 4 BPS
Trigger: Standard
Barrel length: 13 Inches
Length: 17.5 inches
Weight: 3.75 lbs (without propane tank)
Effective Range: 150+ ft
Product Availability 
The Tippmann C-3 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
pezman Friday, July 21st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Various other pumps, sheridans, wgp, and the like
Marker Setup: C3, 16 oz propane tank, shake'n bake 200 rnd hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
none are available as of yet.
Strengths: See below.
Weaknesses: Tall because of low asa
No upgrades( has not yet been a problem for me)
Review: I am not new to pumps, so I was surprise how much I liked this gun when It came in the mail. The pump stroke it a little long, but light when compared to other pumps, and pretty darn decent when you consider all that the pump stroke accomplishes in this gun. It makes a fun crack noise when shot, very distincive to say the least.Having 50,000 shots is fantastic, though I really want to find a smaller tank. The gun gets toasty warm when you shoot it. a nice feature to have in the colder months.

The only thing that worried me was the new tech in the gun. Right out of the box I screwed up the air/fuel mixture thinking I was turning the gas on(woops). After a minute of reading the manual, problem solved. The gun turned out to be pretty easy to tech.

In the field;

I brought out this gun after having little luck with my main marker, It was a very warm day so the paint was mushy and feeding/shooting poorly. I brought out the c3 as a last ditch effort, but should have been using it from the begining. Accuracy went up ten fold immidiatly. I had never had good luck with pumps in the woods because of twigs showing up in the way of the ONE shot, but the c3 was able to keep up a good amount of fire to negate that problem. needless to say, the gun never ran out of gas ;p
Conclusion: I gave this gun a ten because it performed much better then I thought it could. I picked it up fairly cheap off ebay new in box, so any one looking to get into pump may want to start there.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

donny262007 Wednesday, July 11th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
mavericks, hornets , tiger shrks, talons, hornets
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion
-ndz skeleton bolt
-virtue lazer eye
-virtue ezon
-redz white body kit
- ndz on and off
-warrior clamping feedneck
-warrior trigger
- ndz Q.E.V
- redz pepper stick, dye ultra light
- air america 68 3000 carbon fiber
- evoII with Z-board
- Blackheart board

Proto Matrix 6
- velcoity
-Ul barrel
- 68 ci 3000 psi air america

Tippman c-3
Recommended
Upgrades:
None available unfortunately
Strengths: Efficiency
Weaknesses: Big, Heavy, kinda smells, loud, no upgrades available, no auto trigger, pain to work on
Review: I picked this marker up on ebay for 80 bucks.It is really fun to shoot. Tippman claims 50,000 shots out of one propane canister! The technology is awesome but I dont think it took off like tippman expected it too so it was discontinued. The marker does have alot of flaws, one being when you pump it you have to shoot right away because the air leaks out in about 10 seconds, its really heavy 4.4 lbs out of the box, it sounds like a cannon going off and this marker is one of the hardest guns I have ever worked on, and since this marker was discontinued there is no upgrades at all for it. If you have patience though and play alot of outlaw ball try to find a c-3 cause you never have to worry about air. Overall the marker does have alot of flaws but I think the technology outdoes the bad, to bad this product didnt catch on.
Conclusion: Cool marker. I would recommend this marker for any woodsballer or any outlaw baller. You dont have to worry about air fills which is awesome. I would not recommend it for stock class because it does not have a auto trigger. Overall it is a cool marker and you dont run into to many guys that have them. If you can find one with a cheap price pick it up
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, July 31st, 2007 at 12:23 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

oobergooberkc Wednesday, January 17th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Phantom
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98C
Response Trigger
Expansion Chamber
Drop Forward
On/Off valve
Freak Barell
VL Revolution Hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
Well, guys, sorry to tell ya....there ain't none.
Strengths: Its a Tippy
50k shots on one 2$ tank
Its a pump....major cool factor
Weaknesses: Velocity Adj. is hard to change
incredibly complex internals, compared to other markers
Review: So i got the box in the mail...good old ebay 150$. OOH RAH. i whip open the box and there it is...the first EVER propane marker, kudos Tippmann. So i whip out my dull black little angel of death...kinda heavy, but i'm used to it. Give it a pump and HOLY SMOKES it feels like a man-gun, not a sissy little "oh, if my pump stroke is only 1/4" long it'll save me a millisecond on my shot, phantom". This thing is SOLID, rock solid. i seriously feel that (like all their products) Tippmann designed this to be run over by a MAC truck and picked right back up again. SO....i screwed in a shiny new propane tank, gave it a CHIC CHIC, and it was off to war. i pulled the trigger, ready to fire the ball and all i got was some weird noise from the gun...hmmm, OH YEA, i'm s'possed to adjust the lean/rich mixture...so i did(by the by, the weird noise is a series of sparks being made from your shiny new spark plug inside the gun). i tried turning the mixture valve all the way to the right...nothing....a couple turns back to the left...WHAM. this gun will take you by surprise if you haven't heard it shot before. im an avid hunter and paintballer but i was expecting the little "PHUT" that my 98C makes...no can do buddy...this baby is all business. She barks like a pack of wolves. I took a few shots and was about to start hip shooting it and screaming "I'll be baack" at the weeds, when i realized...hey id much rather take the time right now to see how this thing works. well, i was running last years paintballs through it which were all deformed, and it was about negative 5 million degrees outside (michigan) so i emptied my hopper worth of 40 balls at my bird house in the lawn and went back inside ASAP. let me tell you the truth....the 40 shots i took were HORRIBLY INACCURATE. I'm hoping that this was due to the deformed paintballs (probably) or i maybe didn't have the mixture right (i dont know if that adversely affects it somehow) or perhaps my velocity was way too high. im assuming that it was due to the bad balls that the gun wasn't performing accurately...im 99% sure it was due to the balls...but we'll see.

EDIT:: After some talking to people on the Special Ops Forums i found out that if you do not have the mixture on the gun tweaked properly for the day you're shooting, the mixture will adversely affect the combutsion, which in turn (i was surprised to learn) will throw off the flight of your ball. So i turned down my velocity a little so i was shooting about 280 instead of 295 and then i messed around with the mixture. THIS THING DRIVES TACKS. its amazing how much the lean/rich affect it's accuracy, if you get mixture right, it'll compete for accuracy with the Freak barrel. (I know, i have a freak on my 98C)

EDIT: Man this thing has alot of bugs. I havent played a single game with it and i have shot less than a hopper of paint out of it and already chopped a ball. That led to paint getting INSIDE the combustion chamber (WTF, tippmann?) so i had to take it apart and try to strip apart the blast chamber and now something ELSE is wrong with it and it wont fire. I tried to email tippmann tech support to get a picture of a certain part of the gun as it should be and they returned my email saying "We can only provide you with information from within the user manual". okay tippmann, then WTF is the point of your tech support? I CAN READ THE MANUAL IF I WANT TO!!!!!!! gettin' pretty fed up with them right about now. now luckily i have a 1 year warranty and i have to mail it to them and get it fixed. GREAT....not.
Conclusion: LOVE THE GUN
i don't know what it is, but i love the gun...hopefully the accuracy will improve
if you cant get acess to anything other than propane, BUY THIS MARKER
if you want the worlds sweetest pump gun BUY THIS MARKER
if you want a back up gun and you love tippmann products and reliability BUY THIS MARKER
This marker has major cool factor...PERIOD
its great for practicing. ive improved my snap shooting, and left handed shooting 100%
saves mucho paint and increases mucho skills
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Monday, March 12th, 2007 at 1:14 pm PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

Chrisfire69 Sunday, November 20th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
SL68 and a Phantom
Marker Setup: Ion
68/4500 3a tank with empire cover
Empire reloader b (black cherry shells)
New Dezigns blade trigger
Pro touch grips
32 degree's flame drop
14inch black All american
Q-lock feedneck]

C3
16.4oz coleman tank
200 round hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
non that i can think of and there is non
Strengths: Shots
no weight to it
looks awsome
Weaknesses: Smell when you screw thank in/out
Review: So anyways got it today at my sponsors field and gased it up and it makes a clicking noise because of the spark plug. Pumped it and it shot once then it wouldn't shoot. So i had to frig with the propane regulator at the end of the asa and with the velocity but after awhile of frigging around i got it shooting. So over the chrono i got 286,285,282 so it wasn't bad. Played with my 500 rounds until it was all gone and i did pretty good.

Everyone will want to shoot the gun and will wanna know how it works so be prepared to tell them. It was gross the smell of propane when you screw it in and out so watch out where you do this at so you dont smell up some place. Good gun i think its worth it because you get alot of shots and a pump cause pumps are awsome.
Conclusion: Its a pretty good gun get it if you want a pump for woods. Also its made by Tippmann so if anything breaks you can get great customer service on it
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, November 21st, 2005 at 6:53 am PST
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

New Baller Wednesday, October 26th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested4 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: stingray 2 stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
grips barrel
Strengths: Uses propane easy to get efficient doesn't chop balls strong and accurate.
Weaknesses: Price
Weight

Review: I thought it would suck, it didn't. the best rec ball gun i have ever had. Uses propane so that i don't need to waste money on co2 and way cheaper than air. You can play with this gun for monthes without refueling the tank. Safe and easy to use because of propane.
Conclusion: Buy it if you have 240 bucks. pays itself because of propane. 50,000 shots per 16oz tank. I give it a 9 because of price and weight. still the best woodsball and recball gun ever.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
37 Comments - Add Comment

Buhju Friday, January 27th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested4 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
No other pump markers
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom A.C.T.
-14M4 Apex
-Laser Sight
-Offset Rail
-Response Trigger
-Tippmann Triumph SSL
-Expansion Chamber
Zeus G2+
Recommended
Upgrades:
None available
Strengths: Propane, accurate, more of a challenge
Weaknesses: Smells bad
Review: I originally thought this was going to be a good gun, but I was wrong. I'm so glad I didn't buy one. When I tried this gun it was winter and initially I liked it and considered getting one because I could get a lot of shots out of not a lot of gas and it was accurate but after about 50 shots it didn't work anymore. I pumped it, pulled the trigger and nothing happened, eventually it must have ignited something in there because just before I informed Tippmann I shot it one last time and it shot flames and smoke out of the barrel. I asked many other owners of the gun and they said they had the same problem with shooting it in the cold. The problem was that the electronic trigger doesn't ignite the propane in the winter very well. Tippmann said that this would be good for winter because propane isn't effected by weather like CO2 is, and it isn't but the electronic trigger is. F.Y.I.: this was the reason I got my Zeusg2 as a second gun instead of the C-3
UPDATE: I sent it back to Tippmann to fix it and it didn't work any better. I sent it back to them for a third time and they sent me a new one. This is an awesome gun NOW. All I can think of is when I ordered my gun, I got a bad one.
Conclusion: This is a good gun even though my original one didn't work. Thats why I'm giving it a 6
Rating:
6 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, September 13th, 2006 at 7:35 pm PST
I found this review  
18 Comments - Add Comment

hellspawn129 Saturday, November 5th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested4 of 65 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
no pump gun
Marker Setup: ION
Freak kit
48/4500psi pure energy hpa
evo 2 loader w/ y board
morph mask
Recommended
Upgrades:
none out its a new gun
Strengths: New propane technology
50,000 shots per tank
Weaknesses: Barrel
Accuracy
Review: Ummm Where do I start, This gun has a great new technology with the propane tank idea, i felt like hooking mine up with a remote and putting a propane tank on my back (one of the ones for your barbeque), thought it would be funny.

Strengths
well i dont know what size tank they expect 50,000 shots out of, but with mine im hoping for a lot more...lol

any thing else youd find in a pump gun

Weaknesses
First off the accuaracy (as with most stock barrels) is pretty horrid, the biggest problem with that is there no barrel changing with this gun, and if there is the threads are very ummm unique

The fact that theres no customizability to this gun, i dont want my gun looking just like everyone elses

Its heavy and has the cylinder thing on it makes it feel awkward and look really big

I pumped and then pulled the trigger 3 time before it actually fired

Slow firing rate, as would be exxpected with a pump

Barrel cant be removed, hard to clean barrel in game, when ball chops

OMG the smell the it releases oh wait thats jjust propane... but either way IT STINKS
Conclusion: I wouldnt recommend this gun for anyone, the 50,000 shots per tank is useless on a pump gun... self explanitory of why
-If tippmann made a semi-auto gun using the same propane system it would make more sense, firing more paint means more air. but they need to make a threading for it and some sort of freak kit to go along with it
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
31 Comments - Add Comment

zombieman1 Saturday, January 5th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
some superheavy something-or-other pump
Marker Setup: totally stock,wish there were upgrades
Recommended
Upgrades:
none available which totally sucks
Strengths: Consistency, can use tank on Coleman grill after game
Weaknesses: Heavy its a pump and its hard to clean
Review: Tippmann,once again,has made a futuristic,cool,durable gun.if you are looking to save money and buy a gun that sounds realistic,then this is the gun for you . I am tryimg to own every gun made by Tippmann and I have three so far I cant wait to buy the c3 anyway heres my review.
strengths:
it gets 50,000 shots per tank
it sounds cool to pump
it goes along with the bandalor and camo shirt and pants
saves you money
all your buddies will be jealous when they run out of air and you still have an almost full tank
you can cook some steaks during a 24-hour woodsball game
if your playing with this during winter you can just cock it half way, pull the trigger, and have some warm propane steam-stuff blow on your froze hands
its consistent
its another super-durable tippmann product

weaknesses:
its heavy
its bulky
basically its high profile
its hard to clean
some pieces are made of plastic, but only like 4 or 5
its not exactly a super fast shooter
if your out in the woods playing paintball against a guy with a guiet gun and the police hear you shooting and reloading then, well, your probably in trouble 'cause this gun kinda-sorta sounds like a 12 gauge
there arent any upgrades available for this gun yet

this gun is great for anybody and I cant wait until tippmann reveals semi-auto and full-auto versions.I will definetly buy all three,the pump, the semi-auto, and the full-auto
thanks,Tippmann
Conclusion: i would recommend this gun to anyone who likes paintball and challenges
I give it a nine because of the weaknesses other than that, this gun is great its a full auto though but who cares its still awesome
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

bvdave Friday, December 15th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Talon, Btute Pump (love it)
Marker Setup: stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
none
Strengths: Efficency, Pump, accurate
Weaknesses: Smell of propane
Review: This marker is pretty cool, it works great and has amazing efficency due to the PEP, Not worrying about freezing co2 or needing a refill is great. I love pump markers so I dont count that as a downside, you need to learn to play instead of spray with this marker which is great.

remember when pumping you must make full strokes not only do you need to load the paint but you need to get some propane into the chamber as well as vent from the last shot. reminds me of short stroking on a cocker I guess :P

also the sound it makes is very unique, its more of a pop then the traditional bank, perhaps due to the lack of porting but my tacamo doesnt have porting and its still a bank, I think its because its not really using pressure in teh same sence as regular markers, I actually find it to be rather quiet compare dto my custom pro.

Accuracy is fantastic, it has a 13" barrel that is supurb, I guess it has to be because it cant be replaced and its a pump usually used by snipers and the like.

Only dislike I have is its size, its short but large, i dont mind large if its longer but it just feels a bit stubby for me, I love longer shotgun style pumps, this just seems a bit short, but all in all i love it its very cool and preforms great! it also has avery unique sound and is harder to locate then a typical semi on co2 or hpa.

it also warms up your hands in the winter :P

Also you do need to remember that the grip is electronic so dont forget to change your battery every so often.
Conclusion: Recommended if you cant easily get co2 or like pumps, great starter marker as it teaches conservation in air and paint.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, March 14th, 2007 at 7:56 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

reesd Tuesday, March 27th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
None. Had a semi-auto but traded in for this one.
Marker Setup: Nothing to explain. No upgrades available
Recommended
Upgrades:
Use blue torch tanks, not the Coleman ones. The torch tank is longer, and goes against your shoulder.
Strengths: 1 Efficiency
2 Reliability
3 Accuracy
4 Saves Paintballs
Weaknesses: 5 Pump
6 No aftermarket barrels
7 Hard to clean
8 Must shoot after pumping
Review: OK IM TIRED OF LONG REVIEWS, SO HERE IT IS : )

I have had this gun for about a year now. I bought it because i play once and a while and its hard to get CO2 in Northern Canada.

GOOD
1- Efficiency: Tippmann says 50,000 shots but i have still to prove that.

2- Reliability: Uses steady flow of propane, no miss-fires or broken paintballs

3- Accuracy: excellent accuracy, steady paintball range, shoots straight

4- Saves Paintballs: no spray and pray, pump uses less paintballs

BAD
5- Pump: if you bought it then don't complain, you need skill

6- No aftermarket barrels: one on there is long enough, (13 in)

7- Hard to clean: too many bolts holding it together

8- Must shoot after pumping: no longer than 10 sec after, the propane escapes out of the air holes if not ignited right away.




Conclusion: If you live where its hard to get CO2 then i recommend this. You just have to get used to the gun. Once you are then its no big deal.

I give it 8 out of 10 because of the pumping right after shooting.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media