paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Bob Long Infamous Intimidator / Bob Long Infamous Intimidator / Bob Long Infamous Intimidator / Bob Long Infamous Intimidator

Bob Long Infamous Intimidator Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Bob Long

Buy Bob Long Infamous Intimidator

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Bob Long Infamous Intimidator
[ View Photos (11) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 33
Average Rating: 9.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $495

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Features:

* Used by Team Infamous!
* 1.5" shorter than the Intimidator Alias Marker and other 2005 models
* 1.6 pounds (without a reg or barrel) which is 8 ounces lighter than the Alias
* FASTER - shorter bolt length has improved cycle time
* Completely new Ram and Poppet system - allows marker to operate at even lower pressures, virtually eliminating kick by using less force to move the ball. Lower pressure and lighter ram.
* New look to the LPR system
* Completely new ram bumper system. Ram cap now encloses the sleeve by threading onto it, verses into it like before
* Grip features an integrated rail system
* Accepts the same board and solenoid as existing intimidators
* Added functions on the LCD, including the option to modify your ramp starts and caps and multiple modes to meet various league standards
Product Availability 
The Bob Long Infamous Intimidator is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
lucifer_sam Saturday, July 14th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
PE Ego '06 - A little heavier, more kick, but better stock accessories
Dye DM6 - Real nice all-around gun, albeit inefficient
Shocker SFT - Terrible stock gun, overpriced IMO
Marker Setup: Bob Long Infamous Intimidator:
- PBK detents
- Lurker Eigenram
- Tadao M6 "Infamous" board
- CP shorty reg
- NDZ on/off + rail
- Powerlyte Scepter 2007
DXS Pulse - RF chip harnessed
DXS 68/4500

Plus a few cosmetic things...
Recommended
Upgrades:
ASA. Stock ASA is TERRIBLE. LMAO.
Strengths: Speed. Lack of kick. Reliability (when properly lubed). Weight/dimensions.
Weaknesses: Regulators need reset every time an air source is applied.
Review: First and foremost... That framed picture is NOT an Infamous Intimidator, it's an Empire 2 Intimidator. Yeah, so, right. NOTE: This is more of a review on Intimidator v. Intimidator basis; it is to help maybe learn why this is a better Timmy.

Although I personally own only one 2006 Timmy, this review is for all three Generation 4 Intimidators (Empire 2, Infamous, and Ripper 3) because they have the same specs (except the board; earlier runs of the Gen4 Timmies used an Empire 1.5 board, and even that had no discernable difference from the Frenzy 127). Essentially, the latest generation of Intimidators has undergone a HUGE overhaul in milling and valve construction. This has resulted in an Intimidator with the smallest dimensions, lowest weight, fastest cycling and most efficient valve. The already impeccable line of markers has been heralded into undying fame by the wicked speed and incredible versatility of the Intimidator. Bob Long has built on this popularity by bringing out yet another unbelievable series of markers.

All Intimidators use a valve which functions off a sliding mass propelled by the solenoid. When that mass comes into contact with a small piece of metal known as the poppet, the valve opens and air is released through the breech to propel the ball. This concept is familar on many markers, including Egos, Cyborgs, Vikings, and many more. However, Bob Long revolutionized that idea by delivering what is commonly referred to as a pressure-balanced valve. Essentially, a redesigned poppet allows for a similar amount of pressure from both sides of the poppet, meaning that the operational pressure can be as low as the solenoid can take it. Earlier models required a differential in pressure to open and close the poppet, so they tended to necessitate larger pressures to fully close or open it. In this manner, Bob was able to reduce the amount of energy required to expend into the expulsion of a paintball, i.e. MUCH better efficiency.

Moreover, this newly designed valve was recessed into the body more, allowing the bolt, ram, and thus the cycling mass to be drastically lower than prior generations. This reduced cycling mass means for a much smoother and precise ride. I cannot assert that it is less than a Matrix or Shocker, but the kick on this newest line is infinitesimal compared to any other high-end poppet valve. The kick on prior Intimidators was a propellant to purchasing a new ram or ram kit. Not so with the Gen4 Timmy. In addition, the bolt is much softer on paint due to the lower operating pressure, and with a stock adjustable ram cap, you can put it where your loader will not push paint past the detents or allow for a misfeed.

Although the board did not exactly impress me, it was well suited to the job and it fit inside the frame nicely, with additional room for a radio frequency chip (if you have a Pulse). Again, the clamshell frame provides a way to play in absence of grips, and the LCD-in-frame gives you a nice display reminiscent of older Angels. A remilled body gives you the optimum protection with a weight that won't drag you down, and a new, lower twist-lock feedneck is as short as a No-Rise clamping or other such feedneck. The new Humphrey solenoid (present in Alias-style Intimidators as well) is the fastest Timmy noid ever, capable of 100+ CPS (cycles per second). Of course, no current feed system can keep up with that. Even with all great markers, there is a downside.

As aforementioned, the regulators need to be reset every time you attach an air current to your Intimidator. With the advent of new technology come new problems, and the Gen4 poppet is no exception. Its ultra-low operating pressure means that the seal o-ring, located where the cupseal normally is, is rather susceptible to "blowing off" erratically during the gassing-up stage. Normally, one or two shots is enough to reseat the o-ring, but this is not always the case. If you apply pressure how most markers accept it, all that high-pressure air will slam into the poppet and quite potentially disturb the seal o-ring. You must take the regulators in slowly so as to acclimate the poppet to such large forces. Aside from normal maintenance and regular lubrication, there is nothing to prevent a Generation 4 Intimidator from performing superbly.
Conclusion: Bob Long has been revered for his outstanding vision and engineering in paintball, and the Generation 4 Intimidator is an extension of that pioneering spirit. With a good price (under $600 new) and the best goddamn customer service on the planet, the Gen4 Timmy is a great buy, and it can keep up with the best markers on the field.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, July 14th, 2007 at 8:49 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

DrivenBaller Wednesday, April 19th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Shocker, Timmy, and Dmc
Marker Setup: 06 infamous black/red parts, fuel 71/45 tank, asasin barrel, halo b/ rip and victory.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Virtue because the stock boards psp doesn't work as well as the virtues does!
Strengths: Small, light, fast, cool looking, no kick, quiet, easy to take care of, and accurate
Weaknesses: None that i have en ountered
Review: I just bought my 06 timmy about 2 weeks ago and as soon as i got it i went and got a asa and then i went to test it out! The first shot was 260, 259, 257, 258. This thing is awsome it tells me how fast i shooting on the gun! I have my gun set on psp ramp and it rips! Of course though its capped at 15. I cant wait to try out my timmy on uncapped! This gun is really quiet for and open bolt gun and is amazingly accurate with its shock barrel. You can easyly rip on this beast! If you take the trigger spring out the gun is effortless to keep at high speeds, I love this gun!
Conclusion: I you have the money buy this gun! Its ready for anything you want it to do right out of the box! Any player from back to front will enjoy this beauty. BUY IT NOW!!!!!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

rrwwe Tuesday, January 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
alias, angels (all types belive me), protos , dms, egos
Marker Setup: infamous 2k5 , pearl white halo, nitro duck xtreme adjustible, cp on and off.
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel thats it.
Strengths: Small, accurate, fast, efficent.
Weaknesses: Nothing at all.
Review: Ok i bought this gun a few weeks ago and ive never used it in a game but i tested accuracy from a distance and speed. I grabbed myself some evil balls and ripped a whole bag on 3000 psi and ended up at 1600. WOW thats efficent. then l8r that week i invited my friends over and they have an ego and a proto 05. so we filled our guns and i used the proto first, pretty accurate but no efficentcy. then the ego. effiency and accuracy but way 2 loud and alotta kick so who wants a gun that kicks. then i fired my alias and about the same as the ego not as a efficent then i saved the best for last. it fired so much more accurate, no kick, low pressure, shoots like a dream every thing u need in a gun. this gun is worth every penny belive me. get it fast!!!
Conclusion: Get it ull never want a new gun again!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sssaammm123 Saturday, May 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Alias intimidator, dark intimidator, and pretty much every 05 timmy there is. Ive shot dm4's and 5's, alot of shockers, and an ego, plus a karnivor...........ALL of these guns i mentioned are heavier and bulkier then the infamous, and they ALL have more of a kick IMO.
Marker Setup: 06 infamous black to blue
-06 kila detents
-tadao m5
-hybrid lady grips
-hybrid asa

Halo B+ victory board

70/4500 crossfire stub
Recommended
Upgrades:
Halo B+victory board, you will definatly need it
Any air tank will work(even small ones), because it BARELY uses air
Tadao m5 makes it even faster
Kila detents make life easier
Strengths: -CRazy FAST
-small/light
Weaknesses: pointy on the back
Expensive for a brand new one
Review: OK well i just got this gun from someone on the internet for $850. I am so amazed by HOW small and light it is. I seriously did not belive how little air it uses, i have it running at about 50 psi and it works perfectly, wihout any air up's. The color of the gun is really cool, so is the milling because it makes the gun stick out and be very unique.
Conclusion: Buy it. Its eveyrthing you possibly need in a gun.My review might not have been good, because they arent good enough words to describe the gun. I would rate it 20 but 10 is max.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

loki63 Tuesday, December 20th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Angel 4 fly, classic timmy(my old baby), DM4,5,6, Spyder(everyones first gun), Many electro cockers etc. Anygun u can think of.
Marker Setup: Empire 2006 timmy
Redz pepper stick
empire b (needed!)
centerflag adustable tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
None at all! The barrel is always an obviosu one but stock one is good until u have money for a new one
Strengths: Light
Accuracy is amazing way better than prior timmys
Consistent
Etc Read review.
Weaknesses: Well it was pricy thats all i have figured out
Review: OK i bought it at the NPPL Miami cuz i live here. I bought black dust with red accents. (beauty in a box). I hooked up my nitro instantly. Of course i had to adjust the pressure but just from 50 psi to about 70. I looked through the modes the gun had and just pciked uncapped semi. Right off the bat the gun was shootin ropes of paint hittin one spot after another. The gun was amzing cuz ive never seen a gun shoot so well rigth out of the box. Not even the angel 4 fly was shootin as nice as this one.

Well after awhile i just started shootin it on ramp. I got to shoot up to 19 cuz my empire was diein on me barly keepin up. The gun had no kick wat so ever.

Ive had this gun for 3 months now and ivr played about atleast once every two weeks with it. I havnt had any problems yet except for lil kids askin me to see it. lol
Conclusion: This gun was a great buy and i dont regret it. I was goin to get the DM6 but this is by far lighter and faster.
If u have the money go for this gun u wont regret it. If not then save up for it its worth the wait!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Hamboy987 Friday, May 11th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
pm's
egos
dm's
and a crap load of timmys
Marker Setup: infamous
cp asa
cp reg
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel, but the stock is straight too
I personally like the cp reg, cuz the macroline goes into the bottom getting it out of your way during play.
Strengths: Fast!!!
light as can be
accurate
and feels great
Weaknesses: None yet....
Review: All i got to say about this intimidator is that it is a FUKIN SWEET ASS GUN. Ive shot countless amounts of timmys....... and nothing comes close to this one. Bob Long has done it yet again. I got a pm6 and that thing is weak, compared to this BEAST.
The infamous feels so much better, and is so much faster.

I dont even do the whole write reviews on guns thing....but after shooting the infamous, i had to let everybody know that this gun is a FUKIN BEAST!!!
Conclusion: SICK as can be
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Massempirepb Sunday, August 28th, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Bl closer ( virtued)
Angel
Dp
System x nme le
Marker Setup: Dp fusion Fx and a closer virtued
Vitrue board
Sly carbon fiber barrel/ ultralite
Ninja tank
Custom pro flaline e double trigger and folding stock
Dye rotor
Recommended
Upgrades:
Like always a nice barrel kit
Strengths: Fast
Lite
Easy to shoot ropes
Weaknesses: Poppet valve has blown not the worst tho
Review: I love this gun. Bob long has been producing amazing guns for years now. My infamous weighs a little less then my newer closer. It shoots ropes so effortlessly. It's tight and comfortable to hold. I had problems with the poppet valve but I'm sure that was from ripping it un capped dry firing. That's not good for any gun. So I don't blame the gun I was just having too much fun.
Conclusion: This is a great gun. If you have a chance to get one grab it and keep it forever. U feel like a champ just holding it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jamesb Saturday, March 22nd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
I used to have an ion, but that doesn't even compare to this beast
Marker Setup: DXS 48/45 Tank
Infamous Intimidator
Halo Smoke hopper
Deadly winds ASA with a CP ASA adaptor
Recommended
Upgrades:
Needs an ASA, Mine didn't come with one



Strengths: This gun is very short, which is good for a snake player

Weaknesses: Doesn't come with an asa
Review: This thing is tiny, light, and rivals the looks of Giselle Bunshon in the sexiness department (not really, but a guy can dream.) aaanyway... it can definitely put out a tight circle of paint from about 150 to 160 ft away. also, i can definitely play really tight in the snake and in dorito tape.
Conclusion: This gun rocks, and since its about two or three years old, I was able to pick it up for like four hundred, which is still a pretty penny, but its not 1300.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

csmith1199 Monday, February 4th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
SL66
Karnivor
Etek
07 borg
Eblade Autocockers
Invert Mini
Marker Setup: Guns: BW SL66 w/maniac board, WGP Karnivor, CCM SS-25, upped Trilogy pump w/ CP reg, and CP rail and on/off, and PMP pump kit w/hitman mod, Planet Eclipse All American autococker with CCM 86* frame and pump kit w/autotrigger, Stock Invert Mini.

Loaders: Empire Magna Drive, Halo V35, XSV VLocity, VLocity, Revvy, Sportshot 100 rd. hopper, Brass Eagle Pocket hopper.

Barrels: Stiffi Mamba Switch Kit, Dye UL, WGP Kaner Kit, CP one piece, J&J ceramic, Python Compression System.

Tanks: Crossfire 68/45, Pure Energy 45/45
Recommended
Upgrades:
NONE!! The problems people get with Timmy's comes when they upgrade them. See below.
Strengths: Small
Light
Fast as hell
LCD screen
Efficient
Looks good
Weaknesses: Sharp as hell edges. I always cut my hand.
Review: This gun was my first true high end gun a couple years ago. It was a giant leap from an E-blade autococker. It was lighter, faster, more efficient, and a lot more compact. The LCD screen can be a little hard to read through the clear plastic on the grip, but it's still a nice perk when compared to LED's. In one year of use, this gun perfomed FLAWLESSLY. Not one time did I have any mechanical problems with this gun. It was easy to maintain, and was dependable. Everytime I took it out of the bag, I knew I didn't have to worry about my equipment and could focus all my energy on playing the game.

Over time, Bob Longs have gotten a bad rap about reliability. A buddy of mine is a BL tech, so I got to learn a lot of good things from him. Basically what it comes down to is that BL's only start to jack up when people "upgrade" them. They just aren't very good at accepting any aftermarket parts for some reason. On the flip side though, the gun is very fast, and very efficient, so there is no reason to upgrade any performance parts anyways. The only part I would consider upgrading would be to a better feedneck.
Conclusion: Like I said earlier, this gun was light, fast, compact, efficient, and didn't give me a SINGLE problem in 1 year of use, no bull. So, there is nothing I can fault this gun on.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ADyingBreed Sunday, January 20th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Fenix - dear god not even in the same category
NME - much better, more reliable
Shocker SFT - more efficient, easier maintenance, more reliable
PM5 - more efficient, more reliable, lighter
Ion - more comfortable, easier maintenance
Abomb Timmy - that timmy blew this one away but thats because it was super up'd
2k2 Timmy - lighter and faster
05 Ego - was godly compared to this timmy because of its ups
07 Ego - great marker, more reliable than this one
Marker Setup: Bob Long Infamous II Timmy Dust White
Critical Trigger
Eigenram
Stiffi barrel
Proto asa
Black VLocity with Nox chip
Carleton 68/4500 with Guerilla Air Assault Reg

Spyder Fenix (my ultimate backup. never gonna give this thing up)
Recommended
Upgrades:
trigger, feedneck, barrel
Strengths: Lightweight
Easy maintenance
Consistent
Fast
Weaknesses: Barrel.
Poppet is hard to get to.
Review: Now i should note that the majority of the markers i have used have been used by the time i have gotten them. so most of the problems i have run into are because of previous owners not taking care of their stuff or doing goofy things to them like using super glue.

well when i first got this i had a proto asa that didnt work but that is no fault of the gun since it is not even from the maker of this marker. when i finally got it so where i could air it up it had a slight leak from the ram, but a good lubing took care of that. once i got it up and running it was great. fast, consistent, and easy to take care.

one thing i should mention is that with crappy paint the bolt has a tendency to get stuck.
what happens is that because of the bad paint (dimpled or odd shaped) it pushes on the bolt as it tumbles in the breech and the bolt gets pushed up and the front orings get caught on the breech on the return. also if you play in dirt fields expect to get lots of breech wear from the dirt getting caught inbetween the breech and the bolt. (makes for a very dirty breech which is something i despise).

in regards to efficiency i get close to a hopper and 10 pods off a full 68/4500. im sure i could squeze another pod or two out of it if i lowered the lpr (im running 70 psi with an eigenram)


Conclusion: I say you should totally try this marker. because of its efficiency, speed, and ease of maintenance it makes a worthy member of my gun whoring lineup.

i give it an 8 out of 10 because the closest ive had to perfection was my 05 ego and this barely even compares to it but is still a very good product.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, January 20th, 2008 at 1:46 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media