paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Bob Long Infamous Intimidator / Bob Long Infamous Intimidator / Bob Long Infamous Intimidator / Bob Long Infamous Intimidator

Bob Long Infamous Intimidator Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Bob Long

Buy Bob Long Infamous Intimidator

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Bob Long Infamous Intimidator
[ View Photos (11) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 33
Average Rating: 9.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $495

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Features:

* Used by Team Infamous!
* 1.5" shorter than the Intimidator Alias Marker and other 2005 models
* 1.6 pounds (without a reg or barrel) which is 8 ounces lighter than the Alias
* FASTER - shorter bolt length has improved cycle time
* Completely new Ram and Poppet system - allows marker to operate at even lower pressures, virtually eliminating kick by using less force to move the ball. Lower pressure and lighter ram.
* New look to the LPR system
* Completely new ram bumper system. Ram cap now encloses the sleeve by threading onto it, verses into it like before
* Grip features an integrated rail system
* Accepts the same board and solenoid as existing intimidators
* Added functions on the LCD, including the option to modify your ramp starts and caps and multiple modes to meet various league standards
Product Availability 
The Bob Long Infamous Intimidator is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
mxmtl Monday, July 30th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Planet Eclipse 2005 EGO - Simpler design, Easier to maintain, Better display, A little more kick, A little less efficient, Limited replacement part availability, A little less efficient

Planet Eclipse ETek EGO - Simpler design, Easier to maintain, A little more kick, Less efficient, Less trigger adjustability, Harder to change settings
Marker Setup: 2006 Infamous Intimidator
+ DXS LP 48/4500
+ Viewloader VLocity Jr
Recommended
Upgrades:
None
Strengths: Responsive Trigger
Performance
Low Kick
Efficiency
Weaknesses: Manual
Display
Sharp Milling
Additional maintenance
Review: I purchased this marker brand new off eBay, and it looked like it was sitting around for a long time. The bolt was very dry and the lube on the marker looked a little grainy. So, I decided to re-lube the marker.

Following the information from the Intimidator forum on PbNation, I decided to use Dow 33. That turned out to be a mistake, as I spent hours trying to fix leaks from the LPR cap. Using Dow 55 as recommended in the manual, and replacing the o-rings in the LPR base and piston stopped the leaks. In turn, I re-lubed all the o-rings, except for the rammer sleeve o-ring which I did not touch in the first place, with Dow 55.

Although the information for lube on PbNation was misleading, the proper procedure for lubing the poppet and airing up the marker exists on those forums but not in the manual. The middle o-ring on the poppet should not be lubed, and the regs need to be reset each time the marker is aired up. This is done for better reliability and performance with the new balanced valve design.

The manual also has a conflict in the second o-ring chart. Due to this error, I had ordered the wrong size of o-rings for the bolt. The correct size is indicated in the first o-ring chart in the manual.

Out on the field, I found the marker very responsive. It felt as if it did not miss one trigger pull no matter how fast I walked the trigger. In bursts, it felt like it registered and shot every single pull. The kick and sound signature was dramatically less than my experience with the 05 EGO and ETek. At one point, I ran a Lucky Air Assist Valve in my 05 EGO with similar results. The difference with the Infamous Intimidator is that it was designed that way and the poppet requires re-lubing every 10 cases of paint versus the 6 cases of paint for the LAAV poppet.

The feel of the trigger frame felt like an improvement over the EGO frames (excluding the 07). The hump at the back fills my palm, providing a more stable base for walking the trigger and reloading while shooting. After about a couple hopper fulls of target practice and snap shooting, I was dialed in and making eliminations.

I found the display difficult to read out in the field. Unlike the other high end markers out there, turning the eyes off required turning off the marker, and holding the trigger while turning on the marker. It can take up precious seconds during a game in case of a malfunction.

The milling on the infamous is beautiful, but also very sharp at the back where the back of the bolt sits. Take care when tapping out the rammer if it is stuck and when reaching blindly into your gear bag to remove the marker. I have already stabbed myself while doing both. When the marker is aired up with the bolt in place, it is not a problem.

Taking apart the marker is not as easy as the EGO and ETek. Hosing and eye wires need to be carefully routed to avoid pinches when opening or removing the grip frame. The front block also requires removal of a hose from a barb, which can be "intimidating" for players not mechanically inclined. Access to the poppet, which the manual says to lube every 20,000 shots, requires removal of the front block. Removal and re-installation of the LPR base, in case of leaks like I experienced, is not easy with out the proper tools and knowing how to use them without damaging the gloss finish. Teching the marker should be left to mechanically inclined players or experienced airsmiths.

The manual specified Tri-Flow to lube the bolt. Unbeknownst to me, there are two types of Tri-Flow now on the market: Superior and Superior Dry. I emailed Bob Long Technologies, but have yet to get a response to which Tri-Flow they recommend. My guess is the Superior, and not the Superior Dry that I had initially purchased and used without a problem.
Conclusion: I recommend this marker for players who are looking for high performance at a great value now that they are being sold for a fraction of the price, and for players who are tech savvy and not afraid to deal with the setup and maintenance that comes with this marker.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, July 30th, 2007 at 6:15 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bgaranger Tuesday, May 8th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Alias Timi
Dark Timi
06 Ego
Etek Ego
Marker Setup: Infamous Intimidator
CP Reg
Kila Detents
Dark Intimidator
CP regulator
CP Roller Trigger
Hybrid Hedlock
Function six shooter adjustable ramcap
Function Bolt
Eigenram
-------------
Freak Barrel Kit
Crossfire LP tank
Vlocity loader
Recommended
Upgrades:
Bolt Mod (see review)
CP or other reliable (Palmers, AKA) regulator
Kila Detents
Barrel Kit
Strengths: Fast
Light
Reduced Kick
Small
Reliable
Rail on grip
Weaknesses: Sharp milling
Torpedo Reg
Review: Well what can you say about a great gun? The 06 Intimidators are great. If you've shot 2k5 Timis and liked them, the 06 is a step up. They are light, fast, have a small profile, and if you maintain and set them properly, extremely reliable. The new poppit threw me off when I went to lube it, but follow your manual and you'll do fine. The integreated rail in the grip frame is excellent and the new shapre is very comfortable. The gun is very tight and light, and with my stubby tank and vlocity loader it balances well, making playing snake or the 50 easier. For the back guys, set the trigger the way you like it and this gun will keep up just fine. I reccomend the kila detents because they never wear out, and the orings on the bolt really wear out the detents. I would reccomend getting on pbnation and doing the bolt oring mod to reduce wear on the detents. A new reg is a must as the torpedo regs just weren't up to par this time around, I put CP regs on all my guns. The sharp milling on the back of the gun is annoying and dangerous at times, and it also makes it slightly more difficult to clean. Many friends have said it needs hybrid grips (thinner) but I personally like the stock empire grips, so that would be by preference.
Conclusion: Great marker, if you like intimidators, this is the best timi to date, or if you've never shot one, this is the one to try.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

crt Monday, July 9th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
dm5, dm6, quest, ion, a-5, spyders, & one autococker. once I got my infamous timmy I sold all my other guns cause I knew I would never use them again. This gun is awesome.
Marker Setup: 06 infamous with a dxs pulse, rf module, and a 68ci. 5000 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel, trigger mod done by Matt B. @ xtreme paintball.
Strengths: Shoots extremely fast and accurate. Marker is very small and lightweight.
Weaknesses: None yet
Review: Purchased marker from xtreme paintball in dayton ohio, these guys are so helpful. Iam a recreational player but wanted a top of the line marker. The infamous gives me a big edge when playing with my buddies. this marker is soooo fast and accurate it is amazing. Marker was great from the gitgo but after the xtreme paintball guys set it up for me it is crazy fast. People call it the saw cause it cuts everyone down.
Conclusion: Excellent marker for anyone light, fast, durable, and once set it holds true.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dieromantic2 Thursday, December 14th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Bob long onyx
Ion
Angel one
Marker Setup: Bob long infamous intimidator, C.P. reg, C.P. on/off asa, Stiffi, Halo b
Recommended
Upgrades:
Reg
On/off asa
Strengths: Speed
Weight
Weaknesses: Accuracy
Review: The gun can shot! it is a very nice marker for beginning players or advanced players! You can almost play with it right from the box! Its fast as hell and ounce you get the trigger right you should have no problem ripping on it! For you guys who love light guns, this is a nice and light gun! It looks cool as hell and is my favorite!
Conclusion: I would get this timmy over anyother one!!!
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ironman311 Wednesday, August 30th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
I own a Species timmy and the 06 Infamous blows it out of the water!
Marker Setup: Dust Black with blue parts 06 Infamous
Stiffi switch
ANS 68/4500
CP Rail
Halo
Recommended
Upgrades:
Maybe a trigger? Depends on what you like.
Strengths: Light and Fast!! Accurate and great on air!
Weaknesses: None
Review: I took out the spring on the trigger to make it lighter and it made a world of difference!
I adjusted the board settings and the thing flat out rips! The milling on the gun is fantastic and the anno is superb! It came ready right out of the box.
Conclusion: This is the best timmy ever made! I have had no problems with my gun . I even let my friends borrow it for tournaments and they say that is the best gun they have ever shot!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

beastatsnake Sunday, April 23rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Alias Intimidator, A-Bomb Intimidator
Marker Setup: Russian Legion Intimidator
M6 Infamous Board
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nothing
Strengths: High Reliability
Flawless Operation
Smooth Feel
Lighweight
Weaknesses: None
Review: The 2006 Infamous Intimidator is a absolutely flawless marker. There are no downfalls or weaknesses with this marker. It is very reliable, lightweight, and it can hold its own with the fastest markers. I had the chance to test one of these a week ago and it blew all of the other markers out of the water. The trigger frame has a superb feel to it and there is alot of room to work with. I am going to give this Intimidator a 10 out of 10.
Conclusion: This Intimidator is the best marker that I have tested. It operated flawlessly and will be the next marker that I purchase.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PB2k5ripp Friday, February 24th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
every single timmy made, egos agnles, all dms, shockers
Marker Setup: dust black and red infamous timmy, infamous board, 14" stiffi, unimount on/off, empire b, crossfire tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
halo or empire b, infamous board (thats not the stock board) and a new barrel
Strengths: *Weight!
*Kick!
*Speed!
*Looks!
Weaknesses: *Sharp edges
*Anno
Review: i bought a 06 bob long infamous timy about 3 monthes ago, and right off the bat it amazed me. i have shot all of the timmys made and the infamous is by far the lightest! it now comes w/ the new manual (FINALLY) on a cd. i noticed that right out of the box the anno on it was already chipped around the edges. when i picked it up, i cut my self on the back of it. it is crazy sharp and i had to sand it down a little bit so when i dive i dont accidently kill myself. the bolt and ram are practicly none existent. i didnt like that it didnt come w/ any fittings or macro line, but no timmys do. i turned it on and loved the board it had. u can personallize it just to you w/ over 40 modes of fire in psp cap, not cap, nxl cap, and not caped. i aired it up and shot it. it was pretty quite, but nuthin special. but there was ABSOLUTLY NO KICK, it was amazing. i wanted to see how fast it really was, so i put it on smart ramping. w/out changing any settings other than the mode of fire...i hit 24bps immediatly!!! the opperating preassure even at that speed didn't change and over an hours time, didn't creep up or down at all. price is not a flaw, you get what you pay for
Conclusion: If you can afford it, get it you wont be dissapointed at alll. This gun is the best
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

strongbad1177 Wednesday, January 4th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
every other high end gun out there.
Marker Setup: infamous 06 timmy black to yellow dusted. Pure energy tank. dye rhino cover. freak kit. halo b with ripdrive
Recommended
Upgrades:
a new reg. the stock one is good. the only problem is the macro cannot be moved to where you want it. it can only stick out the left side. in the way of your hand. not that annoying though.
Strengths: Everything. It is very accurate and it rips.
Weaknesses: The macro going into the reg is a little annoying.
Review: Ok this gun is basically super awesome. It shoots like a dream. I only chopped one bal in a thousand rounds. But thats because I was still breaking it in. Now its like a different gun. It absolutely rips. It doesnt need any upgrades. But if the macro getting in ur way annoys you, Then deffinatly get a new reg. So that the macro goes into the bottom of the reg instead of the left side.
Conclusion: I only gave it a 9 because of the macro going into the reg being kind of annoying.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Havocide3 Tuesday, November 22nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
2k4 upped Alias - could keep up with a ramping board
Stock 2k5 - same as above
G7 - not as good
05 Speed - couldn't compare
Marker Setup: Infamous Timmy, Dust black with gloss red parts
Cheetah boarded, hybrid driveconed, and rip drived Halo B
68/45 centerflag tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
None AT ALL!
Strengths: Size
Speed
Weight
Weaknesses: None!
Review: So I picked up the Infamous at the store, and all I can say... WOW! Pictures do not do justice. First thing I did after I dropped the pretty penny, took it home and lubed it, which is why people think it is bad or they have problems, they forget to lube the regs and the ram before they use it.

First impression after shooting it... VERY fast, VERY small, VERY light. I have yet to really play with it, but I can tell you this gun will turn heads. Personally, I think it weighs less than my full Halo, and the balance on this gun is amazing. It feels weightless because of the amazing balance on this gun. Also, from the 2k4 style guns, I will say this feedneck is significantly better than any previous style... also the stock trigger is very worthwhile.

By lubing the gun before testing, I believe I eliminated many of the problems others say they had because of bolt stick etc. All they needed to do was pull out the lube...
Conclusion: This gun is DEFINANTLY worth the money. It wasn't too expensive, but it definantly shot AMAZING out of the box.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

junski Tuesday, November 22nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Alias timmy, DMC, Karnie, GXE
Marker Setup: Infamous 06, Hedlok feed clamp, Hybrid volumizer, blunt rail, On/ Off ASA, Empire loader, CP reg, Ultra Lt. & Stiffi barrel kit, Dye 45/45 and 68/45
Recommended
Upgrades:
Volumizer, better feed clamp,
Strengths: Litter, less kick when rapid fire, same consistence that Timmy owners love.
Weaknesses: Needs snatch grip for easy carring, and milling is sharp enough to rip glove.
Review: First of all I think the guy that gave the third review has no clue to what he's doing. I tested bob personal gun, Please!!! He should try using the gun longer than 5 minutes and stop testing it and start use it on the field. Good, got that out of the way. The gun itself looks great. It's litter than before, like the alias need to be litter. It shoot as straight as a cocker with the proper barrel to paint match. The gun is ready to shoot straight out of the box and the only changes u need is basically your preference. I am amazed that this gun is as small as an ion and shoots better than an alias with less kick.
Conclusion: I would recommend this gun to who ever is in line of picking up a new gat. You wont regret getting it. The price is resonable and i recommend to shop around because their are shops who are willing to give a good deal. The reason i give this gun a 9 is because there is always room for improvement.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, November 22nd, 2005 at 10:33 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media