paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Dye DM6 / Dye DM6 / Dye DM6 / Dye DM6

Dye DM6 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Dye

Buy Dye DM6

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Dye DM6
[ View Photos (57) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 98
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $1350

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
DM6 features:
Ultralite barrel
On/off
Hyper 2 reg.
Operating pressure 145psi
Self cleaning eyes
New grip frame
Comes with differents modes of fire
Roller bearing trigger
It's about 1/2 shorter than the dm5
Metal power buttons instead of a membrane pad
Improved Fuse bolt
Locking adjustable feed neck.
Product Availability 
The Dye DM6 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (10):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
shockerfan1128 Sunday, December 11th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
PM5 DM5 Angels Timmys and XSV EGO AND NEXUS EGO
Marker Setup: Red to Black DM6 Black, reloader B and pure energy 45ci 4500psi low pressure
Recommended
Upgrades:
New feed neck i cant get mine to clamp on my empire reloader b
Strengths: Fast
Light
Accurate
Easy to Hold
Good manual
nice trigger
Weaknesses: clamp feed loose on my reloader B
super sexy
Review: When igot thos gun at Pevs they brought it out and it was still in the shrink wrap. The guy behind the counter took off the wraping and oped the box up. Iwas suprised the box looked like a square. When you open it u see the gin presnted like its on a rack. The gun comes out and all the parts and barrel are behind it. It comes it a small allen wrench set, parts kit, dye slick lube,barrel condom and a dye sticker. THe gun it self is so light when you take off ur tank after playing it feels like the gun isn't in ur hand.


Th only problem that i have had was the trigger retaining screw was tooo tight and the trigger stuck but tht was easy to fix.
Conclusion: This is the best gun and will be until dye comes out with a new one Buy this gun!!! Now stop reading this review and go to ur local store and get one
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, December 19th, 2005 at 2:23 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

CornishAcid Sunday, February 26th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 21 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
shocker, impulse, matrix lcd, dmc
Marker Setup: 68/4500 air america tank, halo b v35, freak barrel, stiffi tip.
Recommended
Upgrades:
board
Strengths: Sound, recoil, accuracy, speed, grip.
Weaknesses: Bolt, board parts.
Review: I recently recieved a brand new DM6 over the weekend, and i went out to play with it out at the local feild. anyways, when i got there i gassed it up put around 500 rounds through it and all of a suden air imedialty came out of the back of the bolt. needless to say the bolt would not move because there was no preasure. so i took it apart and changed the back oring that holds the seal. gassed it up again and still leaked. however now it was leaking from the front of the bolt to, and when that started to happen any paint that i shot through it would end up breaking inside the gun when the bolt hit it.. after a mild fit, i took the gun apart and cleaned the bolt, lpr, reg, and looked at the board to change my dwell settings and such. when i unscrewed the grip a little metal fragment came out. realizeing what this little peace of metal was i found out that it connected the battery to the gun.
Conclusion: I really liked the gun when it was working just like everyone else. but these problems whre just a little too much to deal with for the gun being right out of the box.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
12 Comments - Add Comment

STINGER556 Sunday, April 2nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Spyder Pilot Acs
Recommended
Upgrades:
NONE NEEDED
Strengths: See review.
Weaknesses: See Review
Review: NOTTICE: PLEASE NOTE THAT THIS IS NOT AN ORDINARY MARKER, THIS IS A MACHINE



Ok. At NYC Paintball yesterday there were a ot of people that walked in with these things.There was a game that they set up where there was 3 vs 15 guys. (the 3 guys had an ion, dmc and a dm6, While the 15 guys had tippmanns, piranhas, vieloaders, etc.) I was one of those 15.... we were slaughtered... I asked the guys if i could try this out for a few games and he miracley said yes.

Pros:
-Super Fast
-Super Accurate
-No jams
-Doesnt Chop
-Never Has Problems
-So Powerful
-So awesome looking
-Light
-Nice Feel
-Stock Barrel
-Basically all of the stock parts
-Extreme range


Cons
-None (maybe price though)
Conclusion: This is an extremely expensive marker. I only suggest getting it if you are a hardcore baller, or is your f***ing rich....
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

leons Sunday, February 26th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dm's, protos, shockers
Marker Setup: Clear dm6
Red with gold parts ego- star trigger- predator chip
4500psi/71cu dye tank- pepper sticks barrel kit- Vlocity
Recommended
Upgrades:
None
Strengths: Weight
Feelling
Accuracy
Speed
Weaknesses: Efficiancy if you like to shoot A LOT.
Review: Accuracy
I belive that the accuracy of the markers depends on good quality paint. This isn't different. With good paint it has an amazing accuracy, and with bad paint, it's not that good.

Speed
Now a days every gun can shoot faster than your fingers, and faster than 15bps, so it's the same with every gun.

Board
The stock board comes with settings for every league, so you don have to buy any other board if you don't want to cheat.

Weight
It's super light (2.2lbs) but I still feel my ego lighter.

Milling
It's simply amazing n much smaller than the dm5.

Kick
My dm6 has a little more kick than my brother's dm5, but it's still super smooth. It has more kick, maybe because it's lighter, or maybe because mine is with stock settings.

Noise
What can I say...

Ball detents
This is something about the marker that i love. They are made from strong plastic, so you dnt have to worry about them.

Efficiency
Maybe it'll be better when it's broken in, but the first time it gave me about 7 pods n a hopper with a 70/4500.

Eye problems
At the begining, the eyes were able to move and it made them not to work correctly, but Dye already fixed this so dont worry about the rumors.

Comfort
It's very small, so it's very easy to hold and snap. It's amazing!

Feedneck
It's very good, but not for small hopper necks.

Trigger Frame
It's sooo biggggg.

Quality
It's a dye marker, so you can imagine. It comes with a kit with orings, screws, etc...
Conclusion: If you want to buy a marker, this is the best.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

NathanTerepocki Tuesday, December 21st, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Too many to name
Marker Setup: DM6 with stock Dye Ultralite barrel, CP feedneck, CP on/off, Carbon Fiber 70/4500 compressed air tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel kit with bore sizes, but it shoots amazing even stock
Strengths: Read review
Weaknesses: Read Review
Review: Ok so this gun is basically amazing:



Accuracy - This thing is very accurate with the stock Ultralite 14" barrel

Speed - Very fast. the hair trigger is nice and u can walk the trigger with ease and send ropes down the field.

Weight - Really light

Simplicity - A VERY simple gun to take apart. a child could do it.

Shape - Slim, round, curvy body that is simple and convenient to handle. nothing will ever get in the way.

Price - Extremely reasonable price for the quality of gun youre getting. even though this gun is a few years old, its completely amazing.

Also, this gun is EXTREMEEEEEEELY quiet. you can sit there and shoot ropes of paint while waitin for the games to begin and it sounds so quiet compared to the other guns you will see
Conclusion: This is my main gun and i completely love it. i recommend it to everyone. and if you can afford it, go for a newer model of DM
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, December 21st, 2010 at 5:29 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Cablos Wednesday, April 19th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Angels, Egos, Timmies, preety much everything worth a damn
Marker Setup: Black 05 Ego, Black Dm6
Recommended
Upgrades:
nothing needed
Strengths: See below
Weaknesses: A few problems out of box
Review: aight so i got this gun and out of the box this gun was horrible. First day out i managed to shotgun 8 balls out of it and i was really frustrated. I opened the gun up and their was a lot of problems broken o rings, loose noid, and horribly placed lube (big lob on the bolt) it took me a few hours to set it up right but ever since the gun is amazing. Accuracy is ball on ball. Sound well their is no sound (very little). Kick is their but nothing anyone older that three cant handle. Efficiency, i use a 45/45 filled to 4k i get 4 pods and a hopper so it aint too bad. Overall an amazing gun you just have to work on it, i guess i expected a little too much from a 1350 dollar gun. (NOT ALL DMS SHIP IN THE CONDITION MINE CAME IN).


Conclusion: Buy this gun you wont regret it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Thanatos2288 Monday, December 11th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
-2005 Ego
-2006 Ego
-Dm4
-Dm5
-Pm5
-Angel G7
Marker Setup: 2006 Dark Ego, Angel G7, Dm6
Recommended
Upgrades:
I prefer a freak barrel to the ultralite, but that's just me.
Strengths: -very little kick
-very quiet
-Smooth Milling
-easy to work on/offs
Weaknesses: -Air efficiency leaves something to be desired.
-very poorly weighted
-prone to break downs
Review: I recently acquired a Dm6 and took it out for a day of practice. I was fairly excited, because I shot DM4's when they came out and loved them. Before taking it out, the only changes I made was to swap out the ultralite with a Stiffi barrel. The marker chronoed in at 281, 276, 270, 280, so not great, but I was shooting RPS Premium and it was pretty cold, so this isn't a great indicator.

The marker is balanced pretty badly with a 45/4500 and an empire reloader. To me, it feels very awkward to hold and shoot, especially compared to an Ego. It also seems heavier. I don't know if it actually is, or if it's just the weighting, but I definitely could tell a difference.

As far as shooting it, it seems to be just like my old Dm4. It's very quiet and has very little kick. It definitely shoots darts. With that said, however, most high-end markers are going to shoot very well. It'll shoot differently then an Ego, Shocker, Quest, or Onyx, but they will all be about the same accuracy wise as long as you have good paint and a good match with your barrel.

My biggest gripe with the Dm6 is it's proneness to breaking down. This may just be my experience, but I know that I would not trust a dm6 in a tournament. My Dm6, when I received it, did not shoot. The board would only register about half of the trigger pulls. After messing with the pull itself and the board settings, I was able to get it up and running again, but this is not a problem that a marker of this level should have. It's one thing if you set the pull in such a way that the micro switch cannot fully engage. It's quite another when the board just decides that it doesn't want to register all of the pulls (the actual problem, btw, was with the board's connection to the micro switch). In addition to this, a teammate recently purchased a Dm6. His marker suffered from horrible shoot down. Even after rebuilding the LPR and HPR, as well as the solenoid, and clocking in the dwell and regs, it still will not function perfectly. I mean, that's fairly ridiculous. In addition to all this, the Dm6 eyes really need to be replaced with DM5 eyes to stop eye problems. I'm not really penalizing the marker itself for these problems because their are plenty of Dms that run perfectly, but I personally do not trust a DM6 in a tournament. They just seem to break down too often. I feel like to be fair, though, I need to note that DYE does a really good job of fixing markers for you. I have always been able to send in DMs (weather I had a warranty or not) and get it fixed for free in a timely manner.

One thing that DYE did very right with the DM6 is the board. It comes stock with both PSP and Millenium modes and has pretty much all the settings that you need. It's really nice to not have to purchase a new board just to play PSP. Also, even though a lot of people complain of the ASA being hard to turn off, I find it quite easy and like it a lot.
Conclusion: Overall, I like the Dm6, but not as much as other high-end markers. I don't really see the trade for less kick and volume worth the sacrifice in reliability and air-efficiency. That combined with the poor weighting of the Dm makes me confident that I will be staying with the Ego for a while yet.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, February 18th, 2007 at 5:55 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Promister 666 Friday, February 10th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
The other DMs, PMs, and i guess a timmy is comperable to some extent.
Marker Setup: Electro-
Alien Intimidator
Dye Throttle Adjustable Air System
Empire 7 piece barrel kit
Reloader B
back up-
Kingman Spyder Electra ACS '05
Replaced the alumionum ACS with Derlin
Eggy
Mech
Nasty Typhoon
Two Revys
back up/ senario
Ariakon SIM-4
Q loader
Sidearm
Overlord
Stock Class Phantom
Side arm
Recommended
Upgrades:
Only a small drop foward, ott nothing is realy needed.
Trigger, stock is crap
Strengths: Light
Consistant
decent feel(imo)
Fast
Able to handle ropes
Kick
Weaknesses: Effeicency
some come with poorly alighned eyes
Review: First for my lil story bout how i got to try this marker. My "friend" just barges into my house screaming i got a DM6. He loves to say how much better he is then me cus he uses an ion and i use a timmy...wtf. Now he got a DM6...So anyway he wanted me to try it cus he kept saying it way soooo much better then my timmy. I did here where the results.

Wieght- lighter then timmy, im taking other word for the fact that it is lighter, i did not get the same impression but it doesnt matter, . Extreamly light, barley noticably when your running and diving. It doesnt add wieght to your set up.

The consistancy is very good. After running seven cases of white box through it without aiming or anything we croned it. 299,299,298,279,275,294 relitivly broken in. Very good consistancy. This was using Domination paint. My timmies usaly like +-5, im sure if the DM had been tuned it would have been the same. (note- im comparing it to my timmy not to brag about my marker but to make the comparison, please dont think im trying to be a dick about it)

The feel is all up to the person. Iv used eveything and have never held a marker i liked more then my old pilot, idk why but it has a nice feel. This does too, not amazing, cus its not my type of desighn i like the blocky makers, Alien, Spyder, Russian legenary timmy ect, but it was nice. One thing i noticed is that snaps are very easy using this markers foregrip set up.

Very fast...i guess i can pull like 20bps first time holding it. I get 25 on my timmy which im used too so this is good. The trigger is crap, either buy one or make ur own if u can. Id mod a Alias trigger to fit the DM i like the whole semi cercle trigger thing, its just a nice feel. One test of a makers ability is to do a rope test. Fire a number of ropes wih a few secend pause, the more ropes wo a chop the better. DM got 5, which is ok, cus this is a unual test ill give a cuple other examples, ION-3, Nerve-4, Alias-5, PM-5, Russian legenary-doesnt chop. So the speed is great and its up there with the other great markers in roping(my word i think). Its a lil choppy at high speeds ill admit.

Simpley said there is no kick.

This gun is a gas hog... i used so many tanks of gas that day testing that gun...

Check ur eyes some come screwed up..there a pain in the ass to realign.
Conclusion: GREAT MARKER. Its amazing, simpley amazing, u wont be disapointed. A lil choppier then the other high enders that are in the 1000s.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, February 11th, 2006 at 10:17 am PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

pbluvr Sunday, November 12th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
ego(very very good gun) angel 1
Marker Setup: dm6 cp 2/piece barrel, cp on/off, black gun w/ silver parts.
Recommended
Upgrades:
bolt, and a good allen wrentch to take apart the gun and lube it ever game
Strengths: Very fast, good barrel
Weaknesses: Loud, bolt sucks, it leaks sometimes
Review: Baught this gun and as soon as i put air in it, the dye on/off started to leak. when i put a new cp on/off on it started to leak out of the bolt, when i took it to the local pb store to fix it i added a new orange bolt in it and it started to work but the bolt would get stuck and wouldnt even shoot.

I sent it to dye and replaced the bolt and added a new stock bolt. the gun worked great for about six months, i got tierd of it so i got an ego much better gun.
Conclusion: This gun is a great gun and shoots good after i sent it back to dye, but i had to go threw the struggle of trying to fix the gun, so i give it a 4 if the gun shot good befor i sent it to dye i'd give it a 9
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

paintballer9907 Sunday, January 1st, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested3 of 20 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
trixes
Marker Setup: 2 much 2 list
Recommended
Upgrades:
there rn't many and it doesn't need much
Strengths: See review
Weaknesses: See review
Review: My back player bought a dm6. (dye matrix 6) i was really interested to see it because i had never seen one. my 1st impression was wow this is light. but after you put the tank and halo on it felt like any other marker. this marker looks similar to the other dm markers but with a few small changes. well after i looked at it for a few minuties it was time to shoot it. (my back player had already had it for about 1 or 2 weeks so it was all setup) it wasn't anything special. it shot like everyother trix. infact my older trix shot better than it.(although it would probably shoot the same if it was stock) i liked the marker and if i could pick any new marker i would pick this one. but for the price it wasn't very good. you can buy used dm4s for about 500 and used aced trixes for about 400 and they will all shoot the same and work the same way. with that said most highend markers will shoot about the same. (that are actully highend witch doesn't include ions,imps, bushys, ect) although i much prefer the matrix because it is a spool valve and i believe it performs the best.
Conclusion: Dye has dragged the matrix into to many generations. 6 is way to much in 4-5 years. (diablo slideswitch, gen e led, dye aced lcd, dm4, dm5, and dm6) and thats not including the protos and dmc. this marker won't make you a better player. unless your rich you should just buy a used dm4 or aced vintage trix and then you will have an awsome marker and 900-1000 to spend on paint.


i give this marker a 7 because fully uped custom anoed markers with custom milling that will perform better will fall in the same price range and i would rather have one of those then this. i believe that it is unfair to give this marker a 10 not because it costs to much but simply because of the other markers that fall in its catagory.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, January 3rd, 2006 at 9:22 pm PST
I found this review  
23 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (10):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media