paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Dye DM6 / Dye DM6 / Dye DM6 / Dye DM6

Dye DM6 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Dye

Buy Dye DM6

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Dye DM6
[ View Photos (57) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 98
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $1350

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
DM6 features:
Ultralite barrel
On/off
Hyper 2 reg.
Operating pressure 145psi
Self cleaning eyes
New grip frame
Comes with differents modes of fire
Roller bearing trigger
It's about 1/2 shorter than the dm5
Metal power buttons instead of a membrane pad
Improved Fuse bolt
Locking adjustable feed neck.
Product Availability 
The Dye DM6 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (10):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
TeflonDeF Saturday, September 5th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
DM3, DM4, Angel G7 Fly, many others.
Marker Setup: (the first)DM6- Halo B, Dye Ultralite, Crossfire 70ci stubby.

(the second)DM6- Empire Prophecy, 14" Freak Jr, Critical trigger.
Recommended
Upgrades:
IF ITS AN LBB CHOPPER --->A TRUE self-cleaning barrel, a hopper that wont "chuck" the last ball into the chamber allowing it to bounce.

Otherwise nothing to note, just upgrade it to your style.
Strengths: Accuracy
Comfort
Speed
Looks
Weaknesses: Efficiency...left a little to be desired.

Some have LBB issues.
Review: THE FIRST DM6-
As stated above, I have owned two DM6's...both of which seemed to perform differently. The first one...was such a dissapointment. I tried it "out of the box" and decided I needed to work on it a bit. Once it was set up to my liking, I ripped through...or tired to rip through a few hoppers. It was evident that the eye system was trash. I brought it back to the paintball shop with steam coming out of my ears since they talked me into buying it, and promised that it was going to blow my DM4 out of the water. They called me a short time after and said that the problem WAS NOT a design flaw from DYE, it was just an unfortunate factory defect. They returned my DM6 with a new eye system, and I never had any issues with it thereafter. It was super light, EXTREMELY comfortable, and very well built. Dye put a lot of thought into every single inch of the guns design. Soon after I noticed that it was chopping balls. I never pointed my finger in the direction of the eyes since it was always either the very last ball in the hopper, or a ball that made it down to the gun without another directly behind it. If a ball fell into the firing chamber alone, it would hit for long enough to be read by the eye, but bounce back up far enough to be chopped by the bolt. This occured enough to make me run right back to the dealer to have the problem fixed. They swore up and down that it was my Halo chucking the ball too hard and making it bounce...but yet couldnt explain why it never occured in any other gun. I sold the gun as fast as I could so that I could make at least a decent portion of my money back. NOTE: through all of the broken paint in this gun, the eyes never required me to clean them, it kept on shooting.

THE SECOND DM6-(this one is much shorter, I promise)
I took in another DM6, this time on trade. I decided to give it another shot. I never had a single problem with the gun, and believe me, I used it A LOT. Its extremely accurate, I'm sure there are more accurate guns, but its as accurate as you'll ever need it to be. The accuracy remained with every barrel I used on it. The speed was impressive, I never once felt like I needed more. With my personal preferences and opinions, i would say that its the most comfortable gun I have ever used. The weight is well distributed, the gripframe is nothing short of amazing, and it is extremely easy to get the stock trigger to do exactly what you wanted it to do after a little adjustment to your likings. Unfortunately I cant shed any light on the LBB situation since I have never used a Halo on the second DM6. Has allLastly, the gun is almost too beautiful to shoot...I said "almost".
Conclusion: Its hard to give a conclusion since the two identical guns performed differently. I'm going to go out on a limb and say that i think Dye just produced and circulated some defective DM6's, and I'll give the conclusion on the SECOND DM6 I owned.

Overall I give it a 9 of 10. Thats the highest rating of any gun I have used. 1 being as useful as a slingshot and a bag full of soft swollen paintballs and 10 being godly perfection.

Accuracy- 9 of 10
Comfort- 10 of 10
Efficiency- 7 of 10
Looks- 10 of 10
Weight- 9 of 10
Bells and Whistles, out of the box 9 of 10
Cost- depends on how talented you are at eBaying.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sfx606 Saturday, May 10th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ego 06
Pm6
Etek ego
Dye dm5
proto rail
pm5
sft shocker
Marker Setup: dm6 w/ stiffi barrel and cp asa and flow plug
70/45 crossfire stubby
Vlocity w/ virtue chip
Recommended
Upgrades:
cp asa
cp flow plug
stiffi barrel
Strengths: EXTREMELY quiet
Very smooth
Fast
light
pretty efficient
comfortable
Weaknesses: None
Review: I just traded my sft shocker for this and It was the best trade Ive ever made. I Just got back from using this at a scenario and a little speedball inbetween. For me, I play speedball most of the time so I was kinda hoping for something efficient. Out of my 70/45 I was getting about a hopper and 8-9 pods. Thats plenty for me :) Then At first shooting I thought something was wrong cause it sounded like it was barley firing at all. Wow, was I wrong. This marker is the most quiet marker ive ever shot. My friend and I both thought it was broken it was so quiet. When I was shooting at people, they didnt even know where the paint was coming from it was so quiet. It was fun to watch them go "where the hell did that come from?" This is also probably one of the smoothest markers ive ever shot as well. No kick at all, due to the low operating pressure, this is really easy to shoot fast and keep a steady aim going. In terms of speed, you dont really need/allowed to shoot faster than 15bps. If you wanted to it would be no problem but its incredibley easy to walk. Consistency wise, I was getting +/- 3.
Conclusion: This is an amazing marker! Due to that its 2 years old, you can find them relativley cheap now, and theres not much of a difference between the dm7 and 8. I would definetley recommend getting this marker if you've got the cash and are looking for an amazing high end marker.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

drummerguy791 Thursday, July 27th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
angel g7, impulse, 06 ego
Marker Setup: 06 Pevs special edition
Recommended
Upgrades:
I have only played with this gun once but it could use somthing for the efficiency but it isnt to bad.
The bolt got stuck on me once so mabey a new bolt.
Strengths: Very fast
acurracy
looks
very nice feel
consistent
light
nice trigger
Weaknesses: Bolt gets stuck sometimes
eficiency could do better
some kick but not a lot.
Review: Well i went to go play w/ my 06 ego and i went up to the chrono and the inline reg wasnt getting enough pressure so the bolt barely tapped the ball. After playing with it it wouldnt work. That day i took it to the proshop n the guy said it needed but suprisingly he said i could use his gun. So he goes in the back and pulls out this sick lookin DM6. I was very suprised how light it was. So i went back to the field and man this thing could rip. a ref was watching and yelled at me saying i was ramping and i told him it wasnt and he said i was and came and tested it and he couldnt get it to ramp or bounce. So hes like whatever. Then i go 2 the field and this thing damn near flys. Now im wanting to sell my angel g7 and get one of these puppys.
Conclusion: I would so if you have the extra penny get one. Prtos have kinda the same feel so you could role w/ one of those to.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

clecko54 Tuesday, February 28th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have shot almost every mainstream gun thatis out there...from the old classic timmies, 2k2, GZ, Lasoya, dragun, alias, infamous, etc. Trixxes, gen-e lcd, led, nyx, ironman trix, DYE Lcd, DM4/5/C. Cockers, impulses, shockers, impulses, you get the drift.
Marker Setup: 2003 Belsales Evolution Autococker
Black E2
Palmer reg
eclipse nexus ram
68/45 maxflow with gas thru

2004 Black DYE LCD Matrix
Evolve Gold Kit
A+ Annodizing flat trigger
CCM feedneck
CP Snatch

2002 Black Shocker Sport
NDZ Blade trigger
Dye sticky grips
Gadget grip
16 inch AA and 14 inch freak kit
68/45k maxflow tank system

Silver Evolution Cocker with race
Freak kit
ANS Reg
Palmer pneumatics
Recommended
Upgrades:
Cut the trigger spring down a little bit
Strengths: What do you want in a gun? Becuase this one has it.
Weaknesses: Trigger doesn't have the best adjustability, initial eye issues.
Review: The new DYE DM6 is what you want in a paintball gun. You want a fast, light gun, that is easy to use, set up, and good on gas. You also want a gun that doesn't break paint, and will shoot very straight and precise. Well, this gun does all that. It is super fast, super light, super good on gas, shoot lazer beams, shoots ropes, shoots darts, shoots mad fools in the face, It will make you win, i guess is the main point of this sentence. It is wicked light, wicked good on gas, easy to use and shoot, and simple to set up. This gun is better than all others, i guess is the thesis statement of this review. Go out and buy one.
Conclusion: Fast. Light. Efficient. Great gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SpeedyKJ Monday, February 13th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Max upgraded Tippmann A-5
Marker Setup: 2006 Dye DM6, Virtue Board, Ultraliteframe, Ultralite Barrel, Halo B with Victory board, 68/4500 Pure energy nitro tank and >>Tag Sportz Blue glowing lazer eyes <<Very cool
go to www.tagsportz.com to see for your self
Recommended
Upgrades:
Trigger is a must the stock trigger that comes with the DM6 I cant stand (maybe its just me) and the Virtue board is amazing
Strengths: Very fast marker and very lite very quiet and 3 trigger adjustments
Weaknesses: The trigger it self I do not like but thats it
Review: This is one great marker .....Not much on the down side here folks its very fast and quiet and its so easy to get to the eyes and clean em
With one of the best barrels on the market not too many upgrades you will need to do
I did upgrade the board to the Virtue board and am glad I did that is one wicked board and the only other upgrade I will say is worth doing is the trigger I really do not like the stock trigger but maybe its just me.....but once a after marked trigger comes out I will be all over that
And keep an eye on the box if you guys order a DM6.....Dye sent me a "flawed" marker my mistake ....just look at the ser # on your markers box if it ends in a letter "F" that means you got a "flawed" marker so give Dye a call if that happens I hope I am the only one that happens to but just wanted to give you guys a heads up
Conclusion: So far I am loving this marker and cant wait til summer so I can really get full use out of it Dye keeps out doing it slef and like some of the other guys reviewing this marker were crying about the price ......yea its a high price but its a HIGH END marker for peats sake.....it you dont like the price dont buy the gun then cry that it costs too much I think you diserve a kick in the head if you do that the price shouldnt affect the review
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

p4intballa Friday, February 10th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: DM6 with Virtue board, SLY carbon-fiber barrel, CP trigger, Orange bolt, blue Lucky Lazer Eyez, and a Hybrid Hedloc feedneck clamp.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Virtue board. CP if you like them. SLY if you like them. Orange bolt cause they work wonders on recoil. Lazer eyez cause they look cool. Hedloc cause it makes set up easier.
Strengths: Fast, accurate, easy maintenance, very little kick, reliable, never chops, and Dye's customer service.
Weaknesses: First batch had some issues -- all been fixed by Dye now.
Review: Fantastic product. Best gun I have ever owned by far and I think that it is somewhat underrated on this site, mostly due to bad review of first batch. Mine had a few issues because I got mine early, but it wouldn't be the first time a new design had some flaws. I sent it to DYE and everything is fine. No more chopping. All the new DM6s going out are fine so they will not encounter the problems the first ones had. Dye's customer service is one of the best.

-----UPDATE-----
It has been over one year since DYE fixed mine, no chopping issues or any other problems since.
Conclusion: If you have the money, go ahead and get one. IMO it's better than an EGO, and yes I own an EGO too, so I can compare.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, April 24th, 2007 at 6:43 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

][D][][V][][D Sunday, January 29th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ego 06
Angels
DM4,5,C
Timmy
Marker Setup: Black/Cobalt DM6
Halo B w/ Rip + Victory
Recommended
Upgrades:
none
Strengths: Fast!!
Light
Eyes
Smooth
Accuracy
Weaknesses: NOT as efficent as an EGO but pertty good
Review: I got my DM6 3 days ago and this thing rips.

Speed-
First off this gun is definetly one of the fastest guns on the market. Compared to the previous models like the 4,5,C which have a capped rate of fire this gun with an uncapped rate will basically shoot as fast as your hopper can feed.

Weight-
This gun is definitly the lightest gun i have ever held. I have held EGOS, Timmys, Angels, but none compare to this. Dye with its new Ulralight frame makes this gun lighter than a feather.

Eyes-
Dye just came out with a brilliant idea for the DM6 with new "self cleaning" eyes. these are amazing, instead of having to deal with thoes annoying eyes inside the gun these dont get dirty.

Smooth-
This gun has little to no kick WHAT SO EVER i can hold my gun to the side and fire a full hopper and have no problem with kick. You would never notice that you were shooting because it is so smooth.

Accuracy-
Defintly the most accurate gun today. After roping a full hopper of HORRIBLE paint this gun was dead on.
Conclusion: In Conclusion this gun is simply amazing. With todays newest paintball technology this gun TOPS all other. The DM6 is definitly the TOP of the line when it comes to paintball guns.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TragiK Friday, January 13th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Angel G7, Intimidator Alias, DM4, 05 Speed, PM6
Marker Setup: DM6 Blk/Red
White Halo B w/ Rip Drive
Dye Throttle 70/4500psi
Recommended
Upgrades:
HaHa. Who needs 'em?
Strengths: Speed
Kick
Milling
Weight
Looks
UL Frame
Comfort
Trigger
Weaknesses: I haven't had any yet, and most likely won't.
Review: When I opened the DM6 outta the box, I shot off a full hopper with it and every shot was right on. The gun has amazing capabilities to it and is very sleek and stylish to all the other Matrices. This gun shot better than my G7 and Alias, and is great on air. The DM6 has little to no kick what so ever and is a very good gun to upgrade to. However, if you want to spend the $1350 on it like me and other people than do it because this gun is definately worth its price. The board is great and is easy to program, while the trigger is absolutely amazingly sick.
Conclusion: Dye made a great product this year and is worth every penny! If you have $1350 laying around, get off the couch and buy this!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BrutishOpus Thursday, January 5th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
DM4's and up including the DMC
Proto Matrix
Proto VI
Marker Setup: E-99 Avant with a 16 inch Nightstick barrel, Shocktech Superfly bolt, Dye Sticky Grip

Ion Pro with rail and On/Off ASA, Freak Barrel, CP Blade Trigger, CP Reg, Halo B hopper and a 3000 PSI HPA Tank from Pure Energy
Recommended
Upgrades:
Fast hopper, nothing less than a Halo/Reloader B or upgraded Evolution
Strengths: VERY Fast
VERY Accurate
VERY Quite
Among tons of other things
Weaknesses: None
Review: This gun is so sweet, man I wish I could afford one, oh...my..., it is the best marker I've ever tested, all I can say is wow!!!!!

Pros-

This marker is like on steroids or something, imagine a starving monster that only eats paintballs and picture it with a barrel, and a DM body and you have the DM6, THIS THING RIPS, and its very easy to, I dont own a DM and I was ripping this thing like I was a trigger master or somthing, its extremely easy to walk, and it just spits strings of paint, its like a rope of paint coming out of your barrel

The DM6 is very very accurate, matched with its speed this is a beast on the speedball field, if your a back player you can lay tons and tons of paint off the break and for you mid and front guys this is the perfect gun for suppressive fire for bumping up and keeping heads down, I was at a paintball range at my local field and literally the paintballs where hitting one after the other, on every target, it was accuarte at close/mid/ and long ranges, even at extremely long ranges it is very accurate, so you Higher level guys that play X-ball and stuff are going to like this gun since the fields are huge, its has unbelievable accuracy

Its very quite, it makes a Ion seem as loud as a gun shoot, (for you who have shot a Ion) and the cool thing is is that when your ripping it sounds like a long "puff" or air, its so sweet

I love the look of the gun, its very sleek and sex and smooth, very good color choices and its a beauty

Cons-

None


Conclusion-

I fast hopper is a must, so buget for one, a Evo wont do unless its upgraded, a Halo/Reloader B will be fine, but if you get a uncapped board you might wont to upgrade to a Victory board so something
Conclusion: Very nice, best gun I've ever testes, WOW!!!!!! 2 thumbs way up, nice job Dye
I would give this a 20 out of 10
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

RobVsWorld Thursday, December 29th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ripper2 and other alias timmys, shockers, egos, most angels, defiant 2s, dm4/5s, cockers.
Marker Setup: Black-Orange Ripper 2 with VP bolt, pistons, and hoseguard, a function ASA, katana style techna, m3 infamous board, lucky 15 and hybird grips.

Dust black dm6 all stock...soon to have lime green accents or a lime fade.
Recommended
Upgrades:
nothing really...
Strengths: Speeeed, weight, cool gimmicky stuff, ease of use, little kick.
Weaknesses: Requires mucho tuning out of the box, doesn't seem to like cold weather much.
Review: Well, I just got this bad boy a few weeks ago and I immediately opened up the cool beans carrying case they gave me with the gun. The gun comes with a pretty big spare parts kit, barrel condom, nice manual, and an allan key set, which is pretty cool. The gun was very well annodized as well. Now, knowing that dm5s ran well at 14 dwell and an lpr setting of 3 1/2 turns out, I immediately applied these settings to the dm6. I aired up the gun and ripped a string of paint through it outside.

CHOP CHOP CHOP

Much to my dismay, I had to remove and clean and relube the bolt and clean the eyes, which although do a pretty damn good job of cleaning themselves thanks to the self-cleaning eye feature, still get some crap on themselves. I aired it up again and repeated the cycle of shooting and chopping and then had the bright idea to up the dwell back to the stock setting of 18. Chopping problem solved. I set the lpr at 1 turn out and now it shoots like a dream. In fact, I have no idea why I can run the lpr so low without shootdown. Oh well.

Let me just say that the dm6 has zero kick when set up correctly. It also is extremely fast, comes stock with a UL, has a nice clampfeed and airport, the UL frame is wicked nice, and the eyes function well too. Its also got a swively reg which is nice but totally useless. The on/off feature is kind of cool also but again completely useless. The marker has minimal kick which is expected from a matrix.
Conclusion: Very nice marker when set up properly, I loooove it. My ripper 2 has just made a good friend that probably won't be leaving any time soon.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (10):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media