paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Indian Creek Designs Desert Fox / Indian Creek Designs Desert Fox / Indian Creek Designs Desert Fox / Indian Creek Designs Desert Fox

Indian Creek Designs Desert Fox Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Indian Creek Designs

Buy Indian Creek Designs Desert Fox

Paintball High-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Indian Creek Designs Desert Fox
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 18
Average Rating: 9.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
This is the first production gun with a gauge built into the regulator. The Desert Fox is a high performance, blow-forward- style marker with an externally adjustable internal regulator. The gauge lets you know the operating pressures of your marker. You can actually adjust and know your velocity and performance at a glance.
Product Availability 
The Indian Creek Designs Desert Fox is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (2):  1  |  2
                            
scrap_iron Sunday, February 10th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Alley Cat
Spyder Sonix
Sidekick Semi
Marker Setup: Desert Fox with a BOA silenced barrel/J&J Stainless Steel barrel, quick disconnect remote direct to regulator, 24 ounce CO2 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Anti SIphon Tank or Nitro
Quick disconnect remote direct to regulator
Strengths: This gun is awsome, I had a couple of months of trial and error with this gun because I bought it used without any information. The design is very nice, it has a rugged feel, like it is unbreakable (but I'm not going to try to break it). It can be stripped and cleanted easily.
Weaknesses: Very few upgrades, and besides the barrel all of them have to be bought through ICD. VERY front heavy, actually the whole gun is heavy, it's not for the weak armed. The trigger guard also digs into my finger, which is tolerable.
Conclusion: Cut the weight down by taking off the bottom line addapter and running a remote directly off the regulator and it will make a world of difference. Besides the weight the only other bad things are few upgrades (but mentioned previously they aren't needed, it is just something to waste money on) and the trigger guard.

I can't give this a 10 because it isn't perfect, and I don't want to give it a 9 because it is better than that, so 9.5 would be the best spot to put it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, October 28th, 2001
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: This gun is really sweet!!!! Indian creek is awesome too. If u even think that mags are better, well uh WRONG!!. The FOX is the best blow forward gun I have ever shot and i have shot the mags and other guns too. If your a beginner and are looking for a sweet gun or if ur a tourny player this is the best gun to get. The rof is wicked fast. But yeah get tis gun... you wont regret it. PLusit's real easy to clean. Only one pin and all the internalls fall out. Buy this gunnnn!!!!!
Weaknesses: The only thing bad ahout it is the barrel...its better than some stocks but a better barrel would be a good upgrade. If you are using C02 you should also get a filter fot it cause of the internal regulator. Oh, and another thing is that thier isnt many upgrades for prolly cause u will not need them.
Conclusion: You have to buy this gun. The desert Fox deluxe gune is worth every penny! I would say that this gun is just as good if not better than an automag. I tottaly recomend this gun to any one. andf the stock barrel is good too.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

moepony Sunday, August 12th, 2001
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: This gun is very consistent shot to shot and doesn't experience velocity spikes when running CO2. The external gauge is really useful and the regulator does a good job of keeping the pressure constant. This gun is one of the easiest guns out there to field strip (no tools needed, remove one screw and everything pulls out the back). As a blow-forward style gun, there are no internal parts showing to get paint splashed into making it really easy to clean. The double trigger on this gun feels nice and solid with very little side to side play. This gun is also very fast (ICD claims 8 balls/sec) and can keep up with some of the higher end markers with no problems. There is also no need to upgrade this gun other than the barrel as it already comes stock with a venturi bolt, power feed, double trigger and the deluxe model adds an expansion chamber (ACI Sub-Zero four stage), raised sight rail, and 45 style rubber grips. It's also cool looking and pretty rare so you'll get a lot of people asking "what's that?"
Weaknesses: Not many upgrades especially if you buy the deluxe version but then again not many are needed. Like most guns, don't expect to light people up with the stock barrel screwed in at the end. The trigger may take a little getting used to and break in too. The safety on mine doesn't work well but hey, it doesn't work on any of my other guns for some reason either. It would also be cooler if you could get this gun in splash colors (ICD only offers gray and black) but this doesn't affect the performance of the gun. Nothing else is bad about this gun keeping in mind that it is not an electro.
Conclusion: Well it think it is very important to compare this gun to the automag because they're both blow-forward style markers and perform in similar fashions. I've also owned both so I don't think I'll be too biased. The fox is definitely a performer. It's fast, consistent, easy to use, easy to clean and maintain, and takes CO2 very well. Compared to the mag it runs on CO2 much better and more consistently thanks to the regulator (I've only used both guns with an expansion chamber). I think the fox is also a little tougher and more durable of a gun, this thing will take a beating like a tippmann rental. The mag also requires a few upgrades to get to the same performance level of the fox such as a venturi, double trigger and frame, and power feed which quickly makes the mag over $200 more. Both guns shoot about the same distance with the same barrels but so far I can't get my fox as accurate as the mag but maybe I just haven't found the right barrel match yet. Overall I don't think you can get more of a gun than the fox for it's price (deluxe $379 from ICD, $320 from skanline), the only thing you'll ever have to upgrade is the barrel unless you want to go nitro. I think the mag can perfom better when tricked out but by the time you do this your wallet will be tapped out and you would have been better off buying an electro like the B2K2. Nothing beats the fox for the price.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ironnerd Friday, June 1st, 2001
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: This gun ROCKS! I have had my Fox for about 5 years now and it has really not given me much trouble. It's accurate looks good and can shoot wicked fast! All you have to do is use decent paint, and lube it once in a while and you are all set! Customer service and support seems pretty nice as well. Also -- BONUS -- Bushmaster 2000 barrels will fit it just fine (as will Alleycat barrels).
Weaknesses: A touch heavy. Mine is pretty old and needed an adapter (from ICD) to use a expansion chamber, and that has never really fit correctly (but I made a gasket out of an old bicycle inner tube and now it works perfectly), but this problem has been fixed on all of the new models.
Conclusion: I have been playing Paintball since 1990 and I absolutely LOVE this gun! It's worth every penny I have put into it! It's rugged, does not mind getting dirty, accurate, FAST (for a non-electro) and reliable. I have shot Mags, and prefer the trigger feel of the Fox. And I certainly prefer the price to that of a Mag. If you are thinking about getting an AutoMag, DON'T! Get a FOX instead. There is a reason there are not many after-market partes for this thing...It DOESN'T NEED THEM!

Play hard!

Play Safe!

Have FUN!

--SPAZ
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

roundballs Sunday, April 22nd, 2001
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: This is a great gun.Its easy to maintain,field strips really fast.It looks cool too doesnt seem like that many people have them.Its very acurate if you use good paint.I have a J&J 14 inch ceramic barrel and an expansion chamber wich helps it handle co2 better.Its a very well made marker.Icd is a great company to deal with.I forgot to say i got 1000 shots from a 14 oz tank .thats pretty good
Weaknesses: well i guess you could say the stock barrel isnt the greatest but its probably better than most so you dont have to run right out and buy a new barrel.The regulator takes some getting used to.It just takes very small movements of the adjustment screw to change the pressure.I guess this next comment isnt really that bad because you have to do it with all guns,just make sure its well oiled,also i would sugjest getting a co2 filter to keep crud out of the regulator.
Conclusion: I would say this is a great gun to buy .It compares to an automag.It can be found cheaper than an automag too.It performs well stock but is better with barrel upgrade.I would recommend this gun to anyone really.This will step on some toes but i think it better than tippmen 98,spyders and i have shot those guns too.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, April 3rd, 2001
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: Great gun. First of all, I have to point out that ICD is by far the best company I have ever dealt with, purely nice people, helpful too. This gun is basically a higher quality, lower pressure, better looking automag. Its rof is as fast as I can shoot and it is very accurate. I also like that it is unique, because barely anyone has one. The reg is sweet to have and the balance of the gun is great. There is not much you can improve on this gun either, a stock delrin venturi bolt, a double trigger, lp internals, verticle ca and 45 grips. this gun can be stripped is 2 seconds flat with no tol, which is sweet. Stock it is outstanding, on of the best values in paintball.
Weaknesses: There is not many upgrades available, it is loud, and it doesnt handle liquid well, that it about it.
Conclusion: Very impressed with this gun overall, icd is great and the machine work on this gun is outstanding. Everthing about the gun is great, and for $300 you cant beat it with a stick.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, April 2nd, 2001
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: Great Design. Takes what's good about the automag and improves a lot on what's bad. Handles CO2 much better. I also happen to think it looks a lot better.
Weaknesses: The way the barrel is threaded allows it to shake loose during normal play and causes breakage. This can be prevented
by taping the barrel down, but it is still a nuisence. Also, if using CO2, a filter is a must. Any bit of debris that gets into the regulator seals can really cause havoc. There are also very few specific accessories for the Fox.
Conclusion: An expansion chamber is a must if you're using CO2 with the Desert Fox. Liquid CO2 sneaking into the regulator can cause bad things to happen. The stock barrel is not too bad, but as with any paintball gun, it's usually the first thing replaced. Pricewise, it's a bit cheaper than the automag, and in my opinion, much more of a gun. The lack of readily available accessories can be a bit of a drawback, but aside from an expansion chamber and barrel, not much is needed. The rest is just eye candy anyway. I'd definately reccomend this gun to anyone looking for a mid to high range gun for a good price.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

FlawleZ Saturday, May 8th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Alley Cat, Automags, etc.
Marker Setup: Custom '96 RF Cocker
-Rat 2 Valve
-Custom Splash Ano
-ANS 3-way
-ANS Quick Release Bolt
-ANS Hammer Kit
-ANS Jackhammer
-ANS Ram
-ANS Low Pressure Chamber
-Air America Unireg
-Competition Sear
-Nelson Spring Kit
-Double Trigger
-12" Dye Stainless
-KAPP Stainless Ball Detent
-B&E Adjustable Drop
-Hogue Wrap-Around Grips
-Microline w/ stainless elbows
-Stainless Bolt Pin
-"P" Block

Custom Splashed Automag RT
'98 Desert Fox Deluxe
-ACI Phat Fist Reg
-Dye 750 PSI Micro Guage
-Taso Drop with on/off
-Bushmaster Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
A nice drop and a good paint to barrel match is all you really need. The stock barrel is great for small bore paint. CA/Nitro is a must for the Fox to perform well. You'll most likely need a Revy too.
Strengths: DURABLE
Decent ROF
Unique
Easy to maintain
Fully adjustable trigger
Cheaper than a used Mag
Weaknesses: Upgradeability (no biggie)
Not "Showy" or "Pretty" (again, no biggie)
Review: I picked up my '98 Desert Fox Deluxe off of ebay back in Dec '03 for ~$150. At the time there were several listed but they seem to be few and farther between. I've played about 5-6 times with it since and 90% of which has been speedball. I play against Bushy's and Cockers and the Fox had NO problem getting the paint where you put it and as fast as you wanted to pull the trigger. It has always been very reliable and as long as you oil the rings in the gun and take care of it, it will perform well and last a very, very long time.
Conclusion: I'm giving this gun a 10 not because it's perfect but mostly because of the bang-for-buck and coolness factor. Several of my friends call it the "Dirty Fox" and they make jokes about how loud it is but they know it performs very well and for ~$150, you can't go wrong. These still pop up on ebay from time to time and check the popular forums as well to find one for sale.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, May 8th, 2004 at 3:38 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (2):  1  |  2
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media