paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto Axis Goggles / Proto Axis Goggles / Proto Axis Goggles

Proto Axis Goggles Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto Axis Goggles

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto Axis Goggles
[ View Photos (19) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 53
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $60

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
# Deluxe woven goggle strap for comfort and durability.
# Tiger tooth strap buckles will allow you to adjust your strap for a custom fit and bite down to secure the strap.
# The multi-ported ear piece provides unrestricted audible transfer to take place without sacrificing any ear protection.
# Incredibly simple 1/4 turn buckle (patent pending) makes the hassle of changing lenses a thing of the past. Simply turn the locking tabs to the right to unlock your lens frame. Pop out your old lens, drop in a new one, place the frame over the lens into position, and turn your tabs back again to lock it in.
# Multi-directional venting drastically reduces re-ventilated fogging. The venting also assists in keeping you cool and breathing easy.
# Self venting, low profile and removable, the Switch visor is able to pivot up and down for easy lens replacement.
Product Availability 
The Proto Axis Goggles are newer, so they should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
rapinatore Friday, November 7th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
dye invasion, vforce, jt, scott, etc....
Marker Setup: 2004 Mini Orracle
Pinokio
Deadlywind 16"
Dye throttle 72/4500
Strengths: Everything else....
Weaknesses: Weight
cleaning
thermal lens separates (but that's ok, read more below!!)
Review: Good:
The foam padding is very thick and very soft making it fit many different facial shapes easily. This also means that you can easily adjust the strap to hold it tightly to your face without causing discomfort. There is addition foam by your ear for added comfort. There's a slot in the foam for those that wear glasses. There is also a lot of space between you face and the lens allowing room for you glasses. I don't wear glasses so this mask is not as low profile as it could be but the high protection makes it worth it. Speaking of which i am stunned when i hear of people swallowing paintballs or getting their lip busted and so on, at the very worst i might taste a little paint, but i've never had a paintball come in contact with any part of my face, forehead etc and i don't ever use the visor. The lens changing system is nearly flawless, once you get used to it you can easily swap lenses in under a minute. I can dissassemble the whole mask in probably a minute and a half, very quick and easy. The visibility is the best i've ever experienced. The thermal lenses will not fog at all IF they are sealed, but see my comment about this below.

Bad:
Well this mask is not light, if weight is the most important thing to you then try the i3. All the little gills and holes in the mask are almost impossible to clean. I use a toothbrush and i still can't get most of it out, so if you want to keep it clean then run it under water the same day you play, do not wait or it won't come out!! Can't forget about the fan, the only thing the fan does is weigh down the mask more than it already is. If you are dripping with sweat you might feel a slight although uneven breeze across your forehead but that's it. I've never used other fans so maybe this is normal. Also once you install the fan into your mask you'll be luck to get it out with out snapping the tab that holds it in. Fortunately it fits so snugly that it seems like you don't need that tab for it to stay in place but i haven't tried playing with it installed since i broke the tab. Although i don't plan on ever using it again.... and then the lens.......

Last but not least is the stupid proto lenses. First off do not touch the inner pane with anything but nice soft cloth because it scratches very easily. Secondly before you use the lens go to your local dollar store and buy the cheap runny superglue and run a very light amount around the foam that holds the thin inner pain to the outer pain. DO NOT let the super glue touch any part of the lens you wish to see through because it ruins the finish. The reason you must do this is because the adhesive that proto uses falls apart once it comes in contact with water so the inner lens will pull away from the outer lens. I actually had a tiny spider crawl in between the two lenses while i was playing, very very distracting, lol. However as i said above before water separates the lens it works great but after you seal it up with superglue the lens works even better (assuming you seal it completely). I have not had it fog since July and i play at least once a week in southern ny, so it ranges from 98 and 90% humidity to 30 degrees and snow.
Conclusion: considering how comfortable it is the weight isn't an issue and if you clean it the same day you play you won't have a problem there. The only other thing is sealing up the lens (read above) but all in all for 50 or 60 bucks this mask is well worth the money!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

snypin u out Saturday, February 16th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
crap jt,tippman, and brass eagle masks
Marker Setup: Indian Creek Promaster
Eggolution3
Dxs Tank
ICDU Lp Ram
Barrel Kit
Evil Detonator Reg.
Inspire On/Off
Hybrid "east coast killers" grips
Strengths: Doesnt fall off my face
The adjustmenat strap doesnt losen during games
Very clear vision
Weaknesses: A little bit of distortion since the lenses are curved
Review: um, what can i say another exelent product from proto.Very clear vision,doesnt fall of my face, only bad thing is that there is distortion, very little though,sturdy absolutley DOESNT FOG. This is another durable, quality prodoct from Proto.If you buy this it wont be a mistake and you wont want, or need, to buy another mask for a long time to come
Conclusion: Really good gogles from Proto, but hey wht does Proto make that isnt good? I would give it a 9.5 for exeptional quality, duribility, and vision but that isnt a choice.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, February 16th, 2008 at 9:48 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Foltzie88 Thursday, March 1st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Just some Brass Eagle mask, really sucked, but oh well.
Marker Setup: I have 2 that I use.
Spyder Pilot-2 piece CP barrel, Lapco clamping feedneck, CP direct mount on/off, Dye 3 Sticky grips and Flat trigger.
Tippmann 98 Custom, All stock except a 14 inch J&J Ceramic barrel.
I use a clear Empire Revolution B Hopper between them both.
Strengths: Comfortable
Fog Resistant(?)
Can get loads of oxygen in the mask, and out
Weaknesses: Not enough padding around the back of the ear.
Price
Review: This is a excellent piece of equipment right here. Proto has made a mask thats Second to none I would say. The Axis is comfortable, very fog resistant, and padded well. The Axis allows air into your mask keeping you supplied with fresh air. I had 3 down points about this mask. The first one is the price, I bought this not long after it came out and it was nothing cheap at all I think 89.00 or so. I bought it with money out of my own pocket. Ok bad point number 2 is that theres a ton of padding, which soaks up sweat nicely but not too much towards the back of the ear. Yeah, I felt a tad bit of pain after 3 shots there. And the last bad point is the changing of lenses is not for the impatient. Patience is a wonderous thing when you use, I just never do lol. Oh well.
Conclusion: Excellent mask Highly recomend it if you have the money, the price has gone down since it came out so go get one and be happy with a excellent product.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pbmylife Monday, January 15th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Switch el- harder
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Imulse,Smart Parts blade Trigger, Q Lock Feed Neck, BlackHeart Board, Empire reloader B, Empire revolver kit
Strengths: See review
Weaknesses: Chin strap- cut off
Review: This thing is the best mask i have used. I got this for christmas and have played once with it since. I was at a very humid field, but it wont fog. The chinstrap can be a pain, but just cut it off. It is basically the same as a switch, except it ois lighter. Proto once again surpassed my expectations.
Conclusion: Need a high end mask? get this!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

moodydoody Wednesday, February 20th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Most JT masks, Vforce masks, and tons of other random masks
Marker Setup: Blue Macdev Droid, SPD grips, Deadlywind 14" barrel, PBK trigger, V35 Halo, Crosfire 68/45 or pure energy 45/45

The "Good" ghost white Half Blocked totally custom sniper II modded to hell with too many upgrades to list
Strengths: Cool looking, good protection
Weaknesses: Very poor lens on Proto masks, Very Heavy
Review: I bought the mask with the fan included for free for an amazing deal and was very excited when I got it. I tried it on and there was decent hearing, good protection, and was cool looking. I played a few times with it and everything seemed ok, the lens was harder to remove than some of the systems I have used but overall it was a decent design. One thing I noticed is how heavy it was compaired to other masks I have used.

Then I tried playing in a light rain with it and noticed something that has only happened with this mask, water got between the thermal panes of my lens. This annoyed me to no end as the water evaporated and left nasty uncleanable streaks and watermarks between the lenses. At this point I relegated it to my ref mask as it was bright yellow.

Then another nice surprise awaited me. Keep in mind the fact that I kept it in its bag in the box it came with and I treat my gear very well. I left it in the car for a week and when I pulled it out of its box the next week to ref some games I found that the inner pain on the thermal lens was cracked in the center from top to bottom. I am unsure why it was cracked, just the fact that it was. I do not think it was crushed as it was the only thing in my trunk. I do not know if the daily hot/cold would cause it to crack or not but that might be a possibility.

I also talked to another ref at my field who owned a proto switch and he had the same problem with water getting into his lens.

In the end, we have both shelved out proto masks. I do not like the fact that both lenses had water that got between the lens and the fact that it cracked has made me not the biggest fan of the lens’ on proto masks.
Conclusion: In conclusion, I would not buy this mask or any proto mask again. I think I can venture a few guesses why the masks are on sell for half the MSRP at a lot of stores.
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Monday, March 10th, 2008 at 10:53 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

UberGeekGamer Saturday, March 8th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: AGD Emag
Orbium 3 Kit
Reloader B
Crossfire 68/3k
Strengths: Protection
Lenses
Weaknesses: Maintenance
Weight
Review: This is my first pair of goggles and while I do like them they do have some draw backs.
Looks the mask looks nice to me but other players could find it ugly so it's all personal preference.
Weight is one of the problems as the mask feels really heavy after only a couple rounds.
The feel of the mask feels a little bulky and also for me the hard plastic near the ears made my ears hurt after a full day but isn't really a problem for me.
Venting can be a problem if players feel like they overheat easily but I never really felt that too much.
The FOV on these are good but not as great as e-vents or profilers. And the lenses on these are great as they are thermal so they have never fogged up and also really resistance to scratches.
Protection on this mask is awesome. Players can feel safe wearing these and really never have to worry about painful face shots.
Maintenance on these is a little bit of a chore but not as much as I've heard on some other masks. Basically the strap is connected to the lenses and they twist off the lens frame comes off the then the lenses. What makes a little chore is putting them back together as the lens frame is a bit hard and is bit tricky to get it to sit in correctly.
I got these never used but still got a discount because I was a friend but other then that the value is good for the protection.
Conclusion: Overall it's a great mask I would recommend them to new players but not to veterans as they would be used to the pain.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jedianakinsolo Thursday, July 19th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Invader, and such.
Dye I3 Pro
Tippman standard.
Marker Setup: Spyder Rodeo
- Smart Parts All American 14''
- Custom pistol grip mounting stock
- Custom grips (They're also mounted on the pistol grip, in case you're wondering)
- VL Revolution
- Bob Long Torpedo Reg
- Shocktech Superfly Bolt
Strengths: Comfortable
Doesn't fog easy.
Looks sweet
Cheaper
Lense removal
Weaknesses: Little on the heavy side
Review: Having used the JT Invaders, or such masks for most of 2 years, we were ready for something new. The JT's held up alright through most of a day of woodsball, which was nice, but that last hour where you're trying to squeeze another game in before dark was miserable. Couldn't see your own hand it was fogging up so bad.

So, I went out. I searched for a good mask, and had decided on the Proto Switch FS, and was looking for a good used one on PBNation when I stumbled across a grey Axis, which was the color I needed. Red and yellow suck in the woods.

45 shipped, fan included. And I love it.

First off, right out of the box, it looks great. Aggressive lines, nice flow, just looks cool.

The ease of working on it got me next. The visor being able to pivot, raising up and down is nice. Not mandatory, but it is a nifty little feature. But even better is the lense removal. Two turns of the strap pieces, and the whole assembly pops out. It doesn't get better than that, and the fact that there's a thermal lense sitting in there makes it that much better. My brother has an I3 Pro that he likes, but the lense removal on that is a real hassle. He's rather jealous of that part.

Then I played with it. The fan isn't anything to write home about, but the mask itself more than qualifies. It fits nice, rode nice, and once my neck got used to the extra weight, it was all good.

Then I got to really test it, in that last game with the night falling on us. By then the mask had accumulated lots of paint, and was already distorted some, but not enough to really worry about. And once that game got going, we had to pause it about 5 times so everyone could wipe their masks.

But not mine. I wiped it anyways, but it didn't need it. Didn't hardly fog up a bit, while my brother's I3 Pro was fogged up real bad. And he paid 80$ for his. I paid 45$ for mine. So, Axis for the win.

Conclusion: Love the mask. I'll recommend it any day. It is a little heavy, doesn't fit quite like the I3 Pro does, but it's an excellent mask nonetheless. Kudos to Proto for an awesome product.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

qwertyuiopo Saturday, April 14th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Proto switch
Marker Setup: ion
fire bolt
all american 14 inc barrel
empire b2
pure energy 48 ci 3000 psi
Strengths: Does not fall of
Comtforable
Does not fog
Weaknesses: Nothing
Review: this mask is still in perfect condition after a year.the foam part for your face has not broken.it is the perfect mask and one size fits all.I also like it because it is so lite and it does not get hot while you are playing in a paintball game.
Conclusion: when you get any mask i recomend geting fog off.Because when you get hit and wip the paint off it fogs.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Chairmonkey Monday, August 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
V-Force Vantage, V-Force Profiler, Several JT Masks
Marker Setup: 05 WGP Prostock Autococker
Orange PB Bolt
Shocktech Bomb 3-Way
Shocktech Feedneck
Dye Sticky 3
Strengths: Very lightweight, very comfortable, low profile, easy to clean, replacable lense
Weaknesses: I can't see any
Review: I love this mask. It is simply the most comfortable mask I've ever worn, that's why I bought it. It gives you an extremely small profile and you can usually get a lot of bounces off of it. The switch lense system is great, and makes it easy to clean. One thing I must say is that within my first two months of owning it, the thermal lense broke, but I sent it into Dye and they replaced it for free.
Conclusion: If you have the money and you're looking to invest in a great mask, get this..
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Bob the Warrior Wednesday, August 2nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
JT piece of crap
Proto FS (tested)
Marker Setup: Tippman 98 custom
LapCo 14" Big Shot barrel
Empire ReLoader
Pure Energy 3000 psi 68 ci
CP drop forward
Strengths: The mask fits very snuggly to the face and does not fog whatsoever
Weaknesses: My thermal lenses got sweat and dirt inside of them
Review: The mask is very light and fits well, no shifting at all. I was wearing it on a very hot and humid day and didnt even get the slightest fogging. The peripheral vision is amazing, and because it weighs so little, you forget your wearing it. It also offers lots of protection around the ears, jaw, and top of the head. The vents allow your hearing and voice to sound crystal clear.

The only con is that sweat and dirt seaped in between the two lenses. I had to pull the glue off of the lense and remove them to clean it. However, it is so easy to remove and change the lenses, it is no real hassel cleaning them.
Conclusion: A very good product, one of my favourite masks out there. With its mix of style, comfort, and protection, its a great buy.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, August 2nd, 2006 at 6:41 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media