paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto Axis Goggles / Proto Axis Goggles / Proto Axis Goggles

Proto Axis Goggles Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto Axis Goggles

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto Axis Goggles
[ View Photos (19) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 53
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $60

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
# Deluxe woven goggle strap for comfort and durability.
# Tiger tooth strap buckles will allow you to adjust your strap for a custom fit and bite down to secure the strap.
# The multi-ported ear piece provides unrestricted audible transfer to take place without sacrificing any ear protection.
# Incredibly simple 1/4 turn buckle (patent pending) makes the hassle of changing lenses a thing of the past. Simply turn the locking tabs to the right to unlock your lens frame. Pop out your old lens, drop in a new one, place the frame over the lens into position, and turn your tabs back again to lock it in.
# Multi-directional venting drastically reduces re-ventilated fogging. The venting also assists in keeping you cool and breathing easy.
# Self venting, low profile and removable, the Switch visor is able to pivot up and down for easy lens replacement.
Product Availability 
The Proto Axis Goggles are newer, so they should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
008 Thursday, July 19th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
None that are similar.
Marker Setup: Woodsball:

JT Tac-5 Recon (Stealth Black)
9oz. Co2 tank
JT Supressor Shroud
Viewloader Revolution

Speedball:

Smart Parts Ion
Core color body kit (blue)
Core Breakout trigger
CP on/off asa
Clamping Feedneck
Viewloader eVLution3
48/3000 air tank
Strengths: Very comfortable.
Flexible.
Low profile.
Awesome looking.
NO FOG WHATSOEVER!!
Weaknesses: A little bit heavy. That's it.
Review: This is by far the nicest mask I've ever worn. It is much more comfortable than any JT mask. It is made out of very high quality materials, it is tri-molded. Also, I like that you can take the lens out in about 30 seconds. It fits me perfect and never slips off my face. Since I bought this I have played with it for about 6 months, and in a tournament and have never fogged a single time. I bought this for $59.99 and it came with the fan! Usually it is $59.99 with out the fan, and the fan is $49.99! With the fan, there is never any chance of fogging.
Conclusion: This is by far the nicest, most comfortable mask I've ever worn and for the price I bought it for, it can't be beat. My team uses this mask now and we all love it. I recommend this mask to anyone.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, December 19th, 2007 at 9:00 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

icantseesquat Thursday, June 14th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Scott, JT, Dye, name it...
Marker Setup: currently I use an 06 Trilogy S/F Pro, on the side currently sits an F4 Illustrator
Strengths: Comfortable, Great vision, Easy to replace lens, Players seem to hear my voice better also..
Weaknesses: price, but then again, If you want a surplus price...have fun reaping my paint!
Review: I have played for an amount of years that would fathom most players., I've played with the nelson 007's and been around when the stock hopper held 45 rounds., ha!., this sport grows and with it so has quality., young players get engulfed with name brands I'm finding more and more., This proto mask is an exceptional mask, and shouldn't be considered a stepchild of dye., The mask has every quality, style, and function that there is to offer in todays modern masks. I can't give a more accurate report.
Conclusion: Very Comfortable. Great vision, Super easy to change lens, super style, awesome voice admittance, all in all a wonderful piece.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintballa412 Sunday, May 6th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Vforce Armor: no comparison
rental Proto Switch: alright but still nowhere near the Axis
Marker Setup: 98 custom
lapco direct feed
tapco car stock
16" j&j ceramic barrel
red dot sight
Strengths: In review body
Weaknesses: In review body
Review: I got this mask on a Wednesday and had it out in the field the next Saturday, and it performed great. It didn't fog up at all, and I'm a heavy sweater. I got a fair amount of ball bounces off every part except the lens.

Pros:
sweet looking
very comfortable; it doesn't wobble or leave red rings around your eyes
good ball deflection
good ventilation so you don't overheat and the lens doesn't fog up
doesn't muffle your voice
simple to clean and replace the lens
chin strap keeps the mask directly on your face
easy to adjust the straps

Cons: (there won't be many)
slightly heavy
visor sometimes sticks up a little if you're lying prone, which isn't a problem if you lie perfectly flat
Conclusion: A good upgrade from your entry level mask. The only reason I'm not giving it a ten is because I don't believe any product is perfect.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, May 6th, 2007 at 4:26 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

P 1 IVI P 1 N G Friday, May 4th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Most of the masks out there.
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5A2
ProCaps Coiled Remote with Slide Check
Strengths: Comfortable
Does not fog
Easy to change lenses
Easy to adjust and use
Price
Weaknesses: Ventilation is kind of limited.
Review: This is one of the most effective masks I've ever used. It's comfortable, it doesn't fog up at all, and the Switch system is awesome for changing lenses. Two twists of the strap locks and the frame pops right out, allowing you to switch lenses and put it back in very fast. I have four extra lenses for mine, Smoke Fade, Yellow Fade, Blue, and another Clear, and I have to say they are some of the highest-quality lenses I've used. The mask is a bit wide, but that doesn't bother me. It's more for jaw protection, which I like. The mask is soft, so you'll get an occasional bounce, which is always a plus. There's a chin strap, which I've always liked, because if you get your mask caught on a branch while playing Woodsball, your mask won't get pulled off.

These masks won't fog up. I used this mask in 85 degree weather for six hours straight and it didn't fog up. I've also used it in the rain, still no fogging. I bought the fan for it, but I haven't needed to use it.

A key element here is price. The Axis used to be $90, but the price dropped to $60 not too long ago. The replacement lenses are between $20 and $27, depending on the type of lens (thermal, mirrored, tinted). The quality of the mask is amazing, not just "It's amazing for the price," but more like "It rivals more expensive masks."

The only negative I had was ventilation. It gets hard to breathe if you're running a lot, but it's not a big enough difference to lower the score of this mask.
Conclusion: I give the Axis a 10/10. It's definitely one of the best, if not the best, mask on the market. The price is astounding, the mask is comfortable, and the lenses are easy to replace, not to mention the mask doesn't fog. If you're looking for a high-quality mask, but don't want to spend a lot of money, go with the Axis. I'd rather have a good mask than a good marker, I bought this mask, and was in shock as to how well it worked. And I didn't need to dish out a hundered dollars for it. If you want to spend over a hundred dollars on a mask, buy two of these instead. You won't be disappointed.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

fuzzy99 Sunday, March 25th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Spectra Thermal
Proto FS mask
Vforce Profiler
Dye Invision (btw stay away from the Dye invisions and i3...horrible masks)
Marker Setup: SP Vision Shocker with Evolve v2 bolt kit, unimount, trniity feedneck, SS freak set, VIRTUE board, FireBallMountain Delrin Blade Trigger
Strengths: Never fogs
Easy to take apart
Damn fine looking
Flexible
Wide field of view
Weaknesses: Chin strap - I cut it off immediately on buying it
Nothin else
Review: Wow, what a great mask!! It's got it all, very protective yet flexible enough to encourage a few bounces while stiff enough to protect the face effectively. The lens quality is great with a wide field of view.

Like all proto masks, it's very easy and quick to take apart or replace lenses which cuts down on cleaning time. Also this mask PROTECTS chin unlike many others where you may find opening your mouth exposes mouth & jaw.

My only gripe with this mask was the chin strap. It's made to the size of a child/youth. I cut the chin strap off right away after buying, makes things much easier.

Lastly, it even looks great!
Conclusion: Buy this mask if you want a comfy, high quality, great looking mask that does its job with grace.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jrrdog Tuesday, February 27th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
invisions
Marker Setup: PM5 with WAS
eggy
48/3000 steel tank
Strengths: -They will not fog no matter how hard you try.
-Looks
Weaknesses: None that I could notice
Review: A friend of mine got the axis and one day we were going out to play woodsball when it was raining slightly. He was worried that the moisture would fog up the lense while we were playing so we decided to test it by breathing heavily on the lense. It did not fog. It also looks great and gives you a pretty low profile.
Conclusion: Great mask, would definitly recommend
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jeff_Meister Thursday, January 18th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
V-Force Armor mask
Extreme Rage X-ray
Switch EL
Marker Setup: Shocker '03 vision with:
-HE Bolt,
-ShockTech gas thru grip,
-Shocktech feedneck,
-New Designs Roller Trigger
Smart Parts All American two piece 12'' and 14'' with freak kit.
Halo B with Rip Drive
68/5000 Evil Scion HPA with Dye Rhino Cover
Strengths: Style
Fit
Bounce
Ease of switching lense
Weaknesses: Chin can stick out
Review: I had for quite some time used the Switch EL system, and I decided it was time to upgrade. I really liked the switch system for changing lenses so I looked along the lines of Proto masks again. I didnt care for the Switch because it was far more expensive than the Switch EL, but didnt have anything really noticably different that I could see, looked like almost the same mask, little bulkier, with thermal lenses. The Proto Axis really caught my eye. Has the same looks as the Dye Invisions, yet with the ease of lense change. The mask fits great, very firm. The tigertooth strap I find a bit pointless however. I put shaded lenses in mine and it just looks great. The bottom of the mask isnt solid, so it greatly encourages bounces. This mask breathes very well, and you can hear well, yell well, and have a great field of vision. The mask has never fogged on my yet, which is something I greatly look for in a mask.

Only weakness- When you talk your chin sticks out.
Conclusion: Great look, great feel, awesome for bounces, great fit, NO FOGGING, easy to change lense. This is simply one of the best masks on the market right now. If your thinking about the Dye Invision buy the Axis, same style, easier to maintain. The is one of the best masks you can buy, you should really consider it. Shaded lense makes it that much better.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

RPT Thursday, December 21st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Invision i3, JT flex
Marker Setup: 06 Spyder Electra w/ eyes
Dye sticky grips
Veiwloader VLocity
Stiffi 16" Barrel
Strengths: Flex
Looks
Comfort
Weaknesses: Lenes
Review: Pros- the looks are awsome, very comfortable, and a flex. If you like dye and proto goggles you will love. the googgles flex system makes it very comfortable but not to flexible to not protect you. the padding inside is amazing. its like tripple foam. i think these goggles are awsome!

Cons- the stock lenses are nice, but i wish they made upgrade lenses. ther are no other options for this goggle system. other than that A+++
Conclusion: Worth every penny of the money!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jfarabee Sunday, December 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Java Goggles
JT Masks
DYE Invision
Marker Setup: 2k4 WGP Autococker Trilogy (laugh all you want, its sweet for cheap)
WGP Pro Ergo Reg
Shocktech Superfly Bolt
Empire Reloader B
J&J All-Star Elite Ceramic
Strengths: Great Vision
Quick Lens Change,
Soft, but Safe
Great sound transmission
Weaknesses: Lens fogs
Can't remove the chin strap.
Review: Well, I have been using this mask for several weeks, and am very happy with it. Its not quite as light as DYE, but overall I think it is better. The lens change system is extremely useful. I get a lot of spray and mask shots, and it is great to be able to pop the lens out for cleaning. There are no little tabs to get lost with the lens out (except the strap, but its big enough to find, and important enough that you wont lose it.) The vision is very clear, and you barely notice the mask on your face. When I first got it, the foam was too much, and it seemed to be pinching my nose and cheeks, but after playing for a while, they have kinda formed to me, so its very comfortable now. It is also very easy to hear, and to be heard with this on. Another nice thing is the vents over the mouth are open enough to make it easy to breathe, but not so open that when you take a round to the face, you get paint in your mouth. The rubber is soft enough to get some bounce on glancing shots, but its also rigid enough to keep balls from slapping your jaw.
Now that I have said all the good things, my question is this: When will someone make a mask for hot and humid climates (ie: Florida.) Every mask I have used down here fogs, has have all the other guys I play with (between all of us, i think we use every make out there.) That being said, this mask fogs up, but not any worse than other brands (keep in mind we play with temps and humidity both in the 90's.) I think its mainly your own sweat that makes it fog, cuz its the inside lens that does it. Anyways, it takes a good 20 minutes for it to fog up, but if you are playing long games, you inevitably lose vision at the worst time. Another negative is the chin strap is on there, whether you like it or not. Personally, I don't use it and would love to take it off, but no dice.
Conclusion: Great mask, love everything about it except it will fog up in hot/humid climate.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

*EGO*GUY* Sunday, December 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Vforce profilers
JT Flex 8
Marker Setup: 05 ego with 06 bolt

Matrix lcd with too many ups to name
Strengths: Small
Tight profile
strap and lens removal is easy
Weaknesses: Foam on the nose is a little restricting
Review: I recieved a pair of proto axis goggles in a trade. The original owner had cut of the top part above the lens and ears. I was amzed at how nice and normal it still looked. Well, in game, they were very nice. i could hear well and the venting was amzing. Wind blew through the vents making my face nice and cool.

The only downside is that the foam in the nose of the googles pinches my nose alittle restricting my breathing a bit. not cool. i am still working on cutting down the padding.


not a strength or weakness, but i soft eared mine and they are super comfy. i guess if you have questions about it, you can post a comment or hit me on pbn-freestyleman.
Conclusion: Nice mask. if you are bored, cut em like mine and soft ear them. and then shave down the foam paddiong on the nose so you can breathe.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, December 3rd, 2006 at 7:43 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media