paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Sly Equipment Dual Carbon Barrels / Sly Equipment Dual Carbon Barrels / Sly Equipment Dual Carbon Barrels

Sly Equipment Dual Carbon Barrels Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Sly Equipment

Buy Sly Equipment Dual Carbon Barrels

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Sly Equipment Dual Carbon Barrels
[ View Photos (12) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 25
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $90

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Carbon fiber barrel system that uses aluminium breech sizers. Comes in Pro, Stealth, and Camo editions.
Product Availability 
The Sly Equipment Dual Carbon Barrels are newer, so they should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Kevs68 Friday, March 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
WGP Kanar Barrel, WGP Stock barrel, J&J
Marker Setup: '05 Super Stock Autococker
Eclipse Eblade 2 w/ QEV's
ANS Ram
AKA SCM Reg
MQ-Valve
SLIK Edge III Bolt
SLIK Miniblock
Recommended
Paintballs:
Diablo
Strengths: Extremly Light!! Barrel bag
Weaknesses: See Review
Review: It is shipped in a great looking clear package, when I first opened it up and held the barrel I was in shock at how light it really was, my wife was even shocked!

The barrel itself is great, I got the Stealth Dual Carbon, I think it looks great, it shoots outstanding, and is quit and accurate.

It comes with a Barrel bag, holds up to 4 barrels and 6 backends and other odd ball things, such as allen keys etc... it is very well made

The only downside I found was when I screwed the backend in the body of my cocker, it would only go half a turn, due to SLY's Logo Stickers at the rear end of the backend, it would hit my RAM, which is actually smaller in diameter then the stock RAM. So I simply pulled them off carefully not to scratch the backend. I called SLY and Tyson answered and was a bit surprised that I had to do that as he said they tested it on a few Autocockers and said he had no issues, but would talk to the R&D to look into it.

Tyson was really helpfull when ordering and during shipping.
Conclusion: This is the barrel to have! I have seen a few Stiffis at my field, but I personally like the SLY better. Don't worry about ordering this barrel, its worth it!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ego09forlife Friday, May 14th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
CP 1 peace
Marker Setup: Proto slg
vLocity Jr
hpa
my new sly barrel!
Stryker str 1
gravity loader
co2
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything
Strengths: Accurate, light, quiet, looks super cool, stays clean
Weaknesses: The normle price
Review: I just got my sly barrel today, and i went in my yard to test it out with the lowest grade of karnage thats been sitting for a while. My fps was either too high or too low because my gun was acting wierd like it does when the fps isnt right. But still, the barrel shot perfectly. I was about 60 yards away and all the balls hit on the same square yard, but most of them in the middle. When i got a little closer, it was almost ball on ball. I'm sure if i get the fps right it'll be almost ball on ball from 60 yards.
Conclusion: I am very impressed with this barrel for the price i paid. I got it on sale from ans gear, front and back for $75! I wouldnt pay $120 for it because im not rich
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Da'dtou-di Monday, July 13th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Evil Pipe
Armson Stealth
Marker Setup: Spyder VS3
-VS2 trigger
-Tadao Board
-Evil pipe

Ion
- Sly CF 12"
-Dynasty Body
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any - it's a kit
Strengths: Quiet
Light
No breaks, yet
Weaknesses: Price
Finish
Review: This barrel's pretty slick. It's great at not breaking paint (I havent broken one ball in it, to date shooting about 4 cases). When it does, it's a pain to clean as swabs are a "no no".

I love this barrel I can only see two spots for improvement as listed in the weaknesses. Paying 180 bucks hurt.... Also, the end of my barrel has the clearcoat kind of bubbling. Not exactly what I want in something this expensive.
Conclusion: In short, I think if you can get this at a discounted price it's a sure buy. Otherwise, I think that you could get slightly lower quality at a significantly lower price. (I got my pipe for 70 bucks, and it's on par accurate, just breaks more).

Overall - it's a buy, if the cash isn't too tight.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paint2ballfreak Sunday, August 3rd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart parts freak kit. Stock bob long assassin barrel.
Marker Setup: Warped Sportz Dark Timmy; Tadao OLED Alias Board, Sly barrel w/ 689 back, Bob long cam drive.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Doesn't matter because its a kit.
Strengths: Accurate, Quiet, Light, Looks
Weaknesses: Doesn't clean itself in 2 shots.
Review: STRENGTHS:

Very accurate and quiet. It weighs 4-7 times lighter than a aluminum barrel. It looks amazing. I get a spread of about 4 inches from about 45 Yards. Does everything a good barrel should do.

WEAKNESSES:

Doesn't clean itself in two shots like they said it would. It's more like 10-15 and until it cleans itself those paintballs are going everywhere. Cant use a cloth squeegie.
Conclusion: I would definitely recommend this to anyone. If you don't have the money to get the entire kit just get a front and one back, then when you get another 30 bucks buy another back.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Paint_Baller33 Friday, April 18th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Freak- its fine but not accurate or self-cleaning
Redz pepperstick- really nice but still not as accurate
Other than that, stock barrels but no other CF barrels
Marker Setup: 05 Superstock
Trinity CFN
NDZ on/off

Spyder VS2
Trinity FB
CP reg
PMR asa
Recommended
Paintballs:
If you get the kit any but if you dont have that money id suggest medium bore paintballs like RPS
Strengths: Accurate, Self-cleaning, Looks, LIGHT
Weaknesses: Expensive and you cant use fuzzy swabs
Review: Accurate, Lovely looking, Light, Self-Cleaning in 1-4 shots, need i say more?? SLY made an excellent barrel. Its a 50 word minimum so im just going to type random things like this sentence you are reading. Well its an excellent barrel so if you want a barrel that is gonna increase your accuracy and you have a deep pocket buy it. You cant go wrong with this barrel. P.S. SLY has excellent customer service.
Conclusion: If you have the money and need one of the lightest and most accurate barrels on the market. get these
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Rambob Thursday, April 17th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
SP Freak Kit
CP 2 piece
Knock Out ( does anyone remember those??)
Bob Long
Marker Setup: Marq 6,Dye high pressure70/4500, 14' Sly Barrel Kit, View Loader Velocity, Bob Long S-Class trigger and Critical ON/OFF.
Recommended
Paintballs:
I have used and done well with Chronic, Pro Ball, X-ball Gold, Ink'd and Spank. we practice with Spank.
Strengths: Quite and Light
Weaknesses: Wish they came with more backs.
Review: I use the Stealth barrel. I like the flat finish and the weight is very nice. Having the backs weight right up against the marker helps keep the marker balanced and makes change of direction easier. Here are my Pro's, Con's and In betweens.

Pro's.

Weight- While the barrel is light, much lighter feeling than other barrels I have at my disposal. I feel the fact that the backs carry most of the weight of the barrel to the rear. Keeping the center of gravity near the marker and making chnage of direction and position very easy. Don't be fooled this makes a big difference.

Quiet- I noticed that the sounds coming out of the barrel are smoother and deeper. This is nice because they will be covered up by the voices and shooting of other markers.

Accurate- I would put this barrel on par with the Freak kit with All American front ( my personal favorite). To me that is a very high compliment.

Con's

Backs- I wish the kits could be had with more sizes ( though I dont really need them). It just is nice to know you have the exact right size all the time.

Umm that is not a very big con sorry.

In Between's- The costs of different length fronts is kinda high. I usually only us 14" barrels but hey I may need a different barrel someday.
Conclusion: As far as barrel kits go this is the one to buy. I love my freak kits. I have Three, they are just as quiet. I just find that the way the SLY barrels are weighted and the sound that comes out is just suits me better.

I give it a 10. The best barrel I have ever had used.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

KaSBeK Tuesday, June 19th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Dye UltraLite 14", SP Freak
Marker Setup: Ego Etek, Empire B2,Sly 14" barrel,
Recommended
Paintballs:
Proto
Strengths: Diferent Cal. (.683 .692 .689. 686)
Weight
Looks
Barrel Wrap
Weaknesses: None (see review if u think is expensive)
Review: U really get a great pack with the barrel for $180 u get, 4 caliber addapters
(.683 .692 .689. 686) so u can find the one that ur paint needs, the barrel warp is great and has space for another barrel, 2 extra adapters, and a good sized bag with zipper
so its really not expensive cuz this is the stuff, there are no barrel in the market that fills the SLY shoes...

The first thig i did after using my new Sly Barrel was to sell the Dye UL in 5 bucks... lol
this is a serious barrel... its truly ULTRALITE, and it makes ur makrer really acurate, maybe the only low score for the etek is acuraccy... well the sly makes u feel like a US Army Sniper... its really a different marker with the UL or the SLY... it weights like half of the UL and its twice acurate...

Conclusion: If u really want to improove ur acuraccy and the total weight of the marker this is the barrel ur lookin for... its the best barrel by far
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Twitch28 Thursday, April 26th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye UL
Freak Kit
Stiffi
CP Barrel Kit
All-American
Stock Barrels on many markers
Marker Setup: Dust Black Infinity Legend. 16in(.692) SLY dual Carbon kit, VLocity, Nitro duck 90/4500 HP tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
Draxxus, Evil, Premium, All high end paint. (i havent shot low-end pain in barrel yet)
Strengths: LIGHTEST BARREL EVER HAD ON MY GUN!!!!! dont need to clean if ball breaks. major +++++
Weaknesses: None as far as i've seen.
Review: Ok so i just got this barrel about...3 weeks ago. So last sat i headed to the local field to test it out. I shot a few balls in the chronie area, seemed ok, wasnt "impressed" or anything. it seemed to shoot like a regular ultralight. and boy was i wrong. once the first game started, i realised how incredible this barrel was. on a 7-man field i gogged 2 guys in a snap-battle across the field. (back-right to back-left). After 5-6 pods broke 1 ball, 2-3 shots later couldnt even tell i had broken one. Another kid there had a a Stiffi, and we decided to see which was better. The Sly won, on the same gun,(06 dark ego), same paint, same amount of shots, same everything. we even intentionally broke a ball in the barrel to test the theory out. The sly after the breka kept shooting soup, the SLy cleared it right out and shot rails after. DEFINITLY BEST BARREL EVER SHOT. once i get enough $$$ im buying the whole kit.
Conclusion: This is the lightest, best at clearing paint, and im my opinion accurate barrel on the market today. There is no need 2 buy a kit, but if you can, do it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

agentM192 Friday, April 6th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Apex
Stock Barrel
Marker Setup: A5
Special Ops A5A2 Kit
SO Shorty Shroud
14" Sly CF Barrel
Response Trigger
Some $12 Daisy Sight
Lapco Offset Sight Rail
Strengths: Very accurate.
EXTREMELY light.
Weaknesses: Price.
Can't use normal swabs.
Coating can get scratched easily.
Review: I love this barrel. I really love how you can buy different bore-sized backs instead of a whole other barrel. It's extremely light and very accurate. Looks bad@$$ too. The Sly barrel also has ball-for-ball accuracy and excellent groupings. I recommend this barrel to anyone who can afford it.
Conclusion: Very accurate and extremley light. Awesome product.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Bdill Monday, March 12th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock ion barrel
tear drop
Marker Setup: ion
sly barrel
VLocity
q-lock
qev
Strengths: light
accurate
light
light!
LIGHT!
Weaknesses: Cost
Review: I got a sly barrel on Christmas and put it on my ion. I immediately noticed how light it was. It does make the gun a little back-heavy, but it feels great once you shoulder it. I took it outside and shot a bag through it. It was very accurate, and a huge step up from the stock barrel on the ion. Personally I think it's a great looking barrel too.
Conclusion: This is by far the best barrel I've used and highly reccomend it
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media