paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Response Trigger / Tippmann Response Trigger / Tippmann Response Trigger / Tippmann Response Trigger

Tippmann Response Trigger Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Response Trigger

Paintball Custom 98 Accessories

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Response Trigger
[ View Photos (6) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 49
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The response trigger is a drop-in kit for the 98 Custom. The response trigger kit increases your trigger speed by resetting the trigger and sear with excess gas during firing. This gas is used to operate a cylinder behind the trigger to do the resetting. The pressure of your finger on the trigger pulls it back to fire the next shot. The speed is determined by the amount of flow through the knurled adjuster on the side. The upper limit on the rate of fire is set by this adjuster. This kit does not prevent you from switching back to the original setup of the 98 custom.

Model No.: RT-02
Utilizing patented technology for up to15-balls per second air-assisted firing.

Available on: Custom Pro™, 98 Custom™
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Response Trigger is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
bz94rs Monday, March 19th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
um, electric trigger on Spyders?
Marker Setup: 98 Custom
Response Trigger
32 Degrees Night Stick
PMI On/Off valve 20oz C02
Strengths: Not too difficult to install.
Much, much, faster rate of fire.
Weaknesses: Somewhat expensive.
3 inch long straw down the side of your marker.
Review: I bought this product hoping that it would let me compete with my friends Spyder Pilot. I got it for 60ish dollars off of Actionvillage via Amazon.com. i opened up my Tippy a few days before to familiarize myself with the internal workings of my marker. I polished the internals using fine grit sandpaper, oiled it up and put it back together.

I installed the response trigger the day i recieved it. It took me like 20 min to install the new powertube and get everything in the right place. the hadest part was putting the 2 halves back together again. it seems that the new spring but alot more stress on the some of the pins making me have to snap the two halves together. It wa already night when i started installing it so i would have to test it out the next day.

The following morning i took it outside and began to test my new upgrade out. at first i couldn't see anything different, so i began to tinker with the rate of fire screw. It turned out pretty good i was getting really fast rates of fire from a tippmann! It all seemed good.

Later that week i took it out to the paintball feilds.

This is when the problem started.

I would be int the middle of spraying some guy with fire and the gun would just stop firing. I would pull the trigger and nothing would happen. It turned out that the gun was not re-cocking itslef all the way. it would get stuck halfway. id have to re-cock it after about 5 seconds of automatic firing. I am still unable to resolve this problem.

I have not been able to find other people that have had this problem. So it maybe that i overpolished the internals? i dunno.
Conclusion: Pretty good except for the problem i am having. In retrospect, i would probably still buy it. Hopefully i will find a way to resolve this problem.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

Gotmuscle8 Monday, March 13th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing
Marker Setup: 98 Custom, Cyclone Feed System, Response Trigger, 20 oz CO2 Tank, sticky grips
Strengths: FAST(understatement)
Feels good in your hand
Can use it on a paintball field
Weaknesses: Nothing
Review: Well my friend has an A-5 and he got a response and I shot it and not a week later I had one on my gun. The place I got it from installed it and I had to tweak with it when I got home to fix it up a little so I didnt have to pull the trigger hard. It smokes my friends A-5. Since I have the Cyclone I never have a mis fire.
Conclusion: I am going to give tis product a 9 because nothing is perfect
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Andrei_Shubin Saturday, May 26th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: look at profile
Strengths: Faster shooting
Mechanical unlike E Grip
Dose not Require batteries
Weaknesses: Dose not work when CO2 is low
Not tournament legal
Review: The response trigger is the bomb!!!
First, it is mechanical unlike the E grip. This is good because you get a drop of water on the e grip it can destroy it or batteries die so that would not be good in a middle of a fight, therefore the response dose not take reliability away. It only uses your exes gas so no worries of batteries or stuff like that.
Second,It improves shooting from 8 Balls per second to 15 balls per second.Also, if you fool around with the tuning you'll fine out that when you hold the trigger its shoots at a burst/auto.
Last, It makes your trigger pull more sensitive(Well if not, it feels like it).
the problem with it is that it is tournament legal.
Conclusion: I highly suggest you get a response. you get one of these upgrades and your gun will be so much better.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, June 21st, 2007 at 1:19 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kadetkorn Thursday, April 12th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
nothing, I havent seen anything like it.
Marker Setup: - Tippmann 98
- Response Trigger
- Cyclone Feed
- 14" J&J Ceramic barrel
- Tippmann Drop Forward
- 5000 psi Pure Energy tank
Strengths: - INSANE ROF
- Makes gun easier to shoot
- NO BATTERYS!
- CHEAP!!
Weaknesses: - Not tournament legal (for most)
- Sometimes uncomfortable
- T-adapter to work with Cyclone
Review: If your looking for a cheap way to up the speed of your gun, the RT is a must have!! This is a great upgrade to scenario ballers and possibly speedballers. It works flawlessly with a cyclone feed. People say its a air hog/ CO2 but it runs on what the gun would normally waste so I don't think it uses any more air/ CO2 than the gun would normally use. It is easy to shoot. However, when I bought this I thought that it made the gun shoot once when you pull the trigger in and once when you let it out (as it say "Fires on the pull and release of trigger" on the box. However, it pushes your trigger back out for you. As long as you keep pressure on the trigger it will shoot. It is pretty sweet how fast you can get your little ol' 98 going. I love it in scenario or woods ball games when you run because you can shoot your gun with just one hand and still be going 15 bps. The only 2 problems I had with this is that it is not tournament legal. Almost all the tournaments I've seen do not allow "Air assisted triggers" (RT's). Also, it takes a little tweaking to get the ROF just right. Another problem with it isn't a big one, but sometimes gets annoying that the part that has the screw that adjusts the ROF is right up by your knuckle and sometimes rubs up against you (depending on how you hold your gun). Finally, be prepared to have to get a T-Adapter for your gun if you plan to have a Cyclone and a RT. I got one for $5, but I really think the guy at the PB store over charged me.
Conclusion: Overall, I would definitely recommend a RT for anyone looking to add more fire power to their Tippmann. It goes great with a cyclone feed and is easy to use. However, make sure you know that you will not be playing many speedball tourney's with this. Also, remember to get a T-Adapter if you plan to use this with a cyclone. BUY IT!! well worth the 60 dollars!!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

liljaygreg Saturday, March 31st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
E-Grip on my friend's A-5
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
14" Smart Parts Progressive Barrel
Tech-T Fang Trigger
Response Trigger
Cyclone Feed System
Trigger Mods
Strengths: -Really Fast
-Allows you to shoot in bursts
-Adjustable
-FAST!!
Weaknesses: -Uses some of your air to operate
Review: This product is genious. It allows you to shoot up to 15 balls per second and you can adjust to shoot every pull and release of the trigger. It's easy to adjust you just turn the screw with a screwdriver (which comes with the RT).

I was laying in the bushes along a creekbed and a pointman from the opposing team came walking by. I slowly raised my 98C and setup my shot. I pulled the trigger and about 6 shots mowed out of the barrel and lit up the pointman. He didn't know what hit him.
Conclusion: If you have a Cyclone or an electronic hopper, buy the RT not the E-grip.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

matt_conti Sunday, October 22nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
E grip
Marker Setup: tippmann 98 custom ACT
smart parts progressive 14 inch barrel
cyclone feed system W/standard 200 round hopper
20 ounze C02 tank
BSA RD30CP red dot scope
NXe 4+1 harness
PMI remote line
responsive trigger
Strengths: Cheaper then egrip
15BPS
easy to use
Weaknesses: None
Review: This was the best upgrade ive ever gotten. First of all, it was very easy to install. nothing to complicated. while the kids with egrips are constantly recharging bateries and hiding from the rain, this uses exes gas and it can be used in any weather. it took about 300 balls to realise that i could change the speed of the ball so easyly. at 1st i was shooting 3 bps with it, then i got up to at least 16bps. it was my first time using something like this in a game so i ran thought about 400 paintballs in the one 15 minute game. if your goning to use a cyclone, (which you should realy consider buying) you need to ask for a T adapter for the air. once you learn how to press the trigger with the responce trigger, it basicly becomes a full auto gun. the only problem is if you press to hard while using it on "auto", it stops working, and u gotta let go and wait a few seconds befor shooting again. but after time you'll get used to it.
Conclusion: Im going to give this a 10 on 10 for the soul reson that its 40$ cheaper then the egrip, and it gives u near the same results. its great for woodsball but consider an egrip for tournie play.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

zakstrikesback Thursday, April 27th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
spyder e grip
tippmann e grip
Marker Setup: tippmann custom pro w response trigger
smartparts 14 inch progressive barrel
vl revolution loader with xboard
shocktech superfly bolt
rocket cock 2
Strengths: Fast, durable, easy to tune, simple maintenice, NO BATTERIES!!!
Weaknesses: Doesnt work well if you are low on air
Review: My marker came with this installed. i took it out to the woods and in 10 min i had it set perfectly. it works by resetting the trigger using gas from your cylinder. it allows for full auto but i have mine tuned so that it just resets the trigger unbelieveably fast. it is strange feeling at first because the trigger is forced back into your fingers. i like it better than an e-grip because there are no batteries to worry about getting wet. this product is perfect for woodsball. i spend most of the time crawling around so if its wet my marker is always in the mud. the only problem is that when your air gets low the trigger gets extremely hard to pull.
Conclusion: Overall an amazing product. faster than my friends spyder egrip set to full auto and no problems at all. just make sure your tanks are full if youre going to play a long match. wow a must have for the model 98 or a-5 owner.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Soulmanpaintbal Saturday, April 22nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Can't think of anything similar beside an E-trigger
Marker Setup: Blue 98 Custom
Lapco Bigshot barrel - 8 inch
Expansion Chamber
Response Trigger
I usually use cheap paint
Starfire bolt
16 or 20 oz. Co2 tank
Strengths: Fast. Affordable (ebay). Awesome. You can adjust it.
Weaknesses: May waste paintballs and air easily. Need Electronic Hopper
Review: Ok, this has got to be one of the best upgrades for a 98 besides a new barrel. I just bought it and have been trying it out, lets just say i am in love. I found it off ebay for like less than 50 bucks. I was just practice shooting it and got my heart pumping it was shooting so fast. You can adjust the resistance of the trigger pull also so you dont go trigger happy and waste all of your paint. I think that is the only weakness, that you may get carried away with it and forget about the amount of paint and air you have left. I also like that you don't have to keep pulling the trigger, it does it for you. If you do it just right it will fire for as long as you want. It goes back and forth for you if you put tension on it. Also i just found that it uncocks the gun sometimes because the ACS.
Conclusion: Definitely buy it if you are the type that likes to own the field. Its a monster. It is affordable. If you get it keep in mind that it is easy to blow all of your paint.Also consider buying a electronic hopper with it. Try to find a deal on Ebay or something where you can get a gun with it on it and a e-hopper. I give it a 9 because nothing in paintball is perfect :o)
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, April 27th, 2006 at 7:28 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SHANE_98C Friday, October 27th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98c
14" Teardrop Barrel
Cyclone Feed
Double Trigger
RT
RT/Cyclone adapter
Shocktech Long Drop
Special Ops Commando Stock
Strengths: Fast!
easy to set up.
Fun!
Weaknesses: You will chop more paint
You gotta feed it
Review: I got this thing for 65 dollars on Action Village. I had to by an adapter from my local pro shop to be able to use it along side the cyclone. The adapter cost 25 dollars.

This product is a breeze to set up. It is amazing how simple this thing works - but it does its job well. I have used it a few different times and am very satisfied. I have, however noticed a rather large increase in chopped paint since I have started using it... That is to be expected at 15 bps thought.

This will NOT make you a better player. It will just give you the joy of peeking around the corner and pressing the trigger down and 10 balls will be in the air.

It runs through paint and air really fast. At increased firing rates more liquid CO2 is pushed into the gun and you run out faster. I need to upgrade to HPA soon!

Conclusion: Overall I think this product is great. Buy it
8/10
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Jason79 Monday, December 26th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Is there anything similar to the response trigger?
Marker Setup: I use a Tippmann 98 Custom. I have a 5" drop forward, a collapsable stock, laser sight, bipod, 16" thunderpig barrel(also a 3 piece 21"),barrel rocket cock2, the double trigger, expansion chamber, and cyclone hopper.
Strengths: With co2, fast and reliable
Weaknesses: If you are not mechanical, possibly the installation.
Review: I installed the response trigger and the expansion chamber at the same time so I did not have to tear the gun down twice. The install went smooth and easy. It took just over an hour to put both in and have the gun ready to be tested. I do reccommend getting the new cyclone hopper system, you can out shoot a gravity hopper quite quickly with the response trigger installed. All in all, the RT is a very good upgrade, and if you happen not to like it, it comes with a bypass plug so you do not have to use if you dont want to.

I recently helped a friend install and tune their new response trigger. it does work better with a expansion chamber, without the chamber the trigger can freeze up with really fast shooting. but when we got it fine tuned it will keep up with or without the expansion chamber.

*** I recommend the Cyclone hopper with this upgrade, you almost never break paint, and it feeds as fast as you can shoot. The electronic hoppers work, but not as well with this trigger as the cyclone.
Conclusion: I would reccommend this to anyone who wants to trick out their gun, it is fast, and easy to install, but if you arent mechanical hire the install done.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, July 3rd, 2006 at 3:15 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media