paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Indian Creek Designs Thunder Cat / Indian Creek Designs Thunder Cat / Indian Creek Designs Thunder Cat / Indian Creek Designs Thunder Cat

Indian Creek Designs Thunder Cat Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Indian Creek Designs

Buy Indian Creek Designs Thunder Cat

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Indian Creek Designs Thunder Cat
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 24
Average Rating: 9.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Thunder Cat is a semi-automatic, open bolt, blow-back-type marking device. The major components of the Thunder Cat are machined from solid, aircraft-grade aluminum, then hard anodized per military specifications. No castings or extrusions are used in the construction of the Thunder Cat.
Product Availability 
The Indian Creek Designs Thunder Cat is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
the other one Monday, April 8th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98, Spyder, Spyder Compact 2000, Pirahna, Tippmann Pro-carbine.
Marker Setup: ICD Thundercat, by 4/02 I should have new smart parts barrel.
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel. nothing else is really needed.
Strengths: well, this gun has served me well. very well in fact. i have beat this thing up, dropped it, stepped on it, hit it against trees (on accident), and it still fires great. It is one of the most dependable markers that I have used. A lot of times I hear this marker being compared to the Tippmann line of guns. Only smaller and easier to maintain. This gun is extremely easy to take apart. I can field strip it, wipe the bolt, clean the barrel, and put it back together without tools, and in a very short amount of time. Unscrew two knobs, pull out the spring, and hit the gun against your hand to slide the bolt out. It is a great beginner gun for that reason. Another thing I like about this gun is that there are two places you can insert your CO2 tank into. you may have it in the vertical position, or have it against your shoulder like a rifle. So there's no reason to spend extra money on a bottomline. The gun is small, compact, and moderately light. Lastly, if you ever have problems with this gun, you can troubleshoot it yourself, sometimes on the field. Since it is so easy to take apart, you can find out what the problem is and fix it right away.

P.S. this gun has a great safety feature that not all guns have. You may stop the flow of paintballs into the gun, so as to prevent a painful misfire.
Weaknesses: well, I would have to say three things are not so great about this gun. One is the stock barrel. It is not the most accurate barrel, but you will usually hit your target with a bit of practice. Also, the barrels tend to come loose after a while of play. I usually put some black electrical tape around where the barrel and the gun meet to prevent this from happening. The second thing is the rate of fire on this gun. It is not a gun i would go play speedball with, only rec ball. The rate of fire is good, but if you pull the trigger too fast, you will chop the paintballs. You do not have to wait for it at all, and you can play backyard ball with the best of 'em. Third is the safety. The safety thing you push in sometimes does not go in all the way, and will still fire. That is why you should always put a barrel plug in the barrel when not playing. The safety works, just you have to get used to it. After a while, it becomes second nature to check the safety.
Conclusion: I would recommend this gun to any new player. At around 135 new, it's a great deal. I am happy that I got this gun and would not trade it for any other gun within a hundred dollar price range. You really get your money's worth.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, December 31st, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tipman and pirana
Marker Setup: 14in all american barrel aci expancion chamber with bodomline kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
a knew barrel
Strengths: It is veery durable, low matinece, never had one problem with it,it does not weigh alot , The gun is great in all ways great in all ways. this gun has never let me down on the field. i fell once and got mud all in my gun and it still worked fine. it is stanless steal so it will not rust unlike others.Easy to clean . i would chose this gun over any semi auto gun. the guns i have had in the past do not compare to the thunder cat.
Weaknesses: none
Conclusion: This is a good durable gun that will never let you down.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, December 21st, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
F4, Spider, Automag, Nova
Marker Setup: JJ 14" cermic barrel, ACI expansion chamber, 45 grip, custom dropforward
Recommended
Upgrades:
Well, I've actually never fired a ball through the stock barrel, and while I've heard its better than average, from the look of it, I'd expect you'd want an upgrade. With the JJ 14" ceramic, this is the least noisy marker I've ever come across.
Strengths: The thundercat (and its twin the alleycat, which is identical except for the name) is of very high quality manufacture, and I have never broken a ball that wasn't wet from rain. The design is compact and extremely durable. The manufacture could probably be made more cost effective by use of an extrusion, but this is not an issue for the end user, since competition has reduced the price to what must represent a relatively small profit margin. ICD uses a unique cycle (not your standard blowback) which makes field stripping easy, since the hammer and bolt are integral and there is no connecting pin. In terms of quality and reliability per dollar spent, this must be ranked the best buy available in the semi market.
Weaknesses: ICD uses its own thread on the barrel, and it would probably be nice to see this changed to be compatable with spider barrels, since we'd all benefit from the standardization. ICD's barrel thread design has no torque resisting mechanism, so it must be tightend occaisionally during play. This a minor flaw. ICD also has not kept up with the industry standards in terms of the surface finish available on its markers, which tend to have a dull appearance, and are generally available in only a black and silver (with the exception of the LT, which still does not have a state-of-the-art finish. Obviously this will not affect performance, but in an increasingly competitive industry, this clearly impacts marketability.
Conclusion: The Thundercat is the most cost effective marker available.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, September 29th, 2001
Strengths: Pretty much everything. I have had the great opportunity to review this gun twice. The first time was in -20*F weather with sleet snow and rain. It still shot great, never stuttered, or froze up. All the other guns at the field, including my maverick pump pretty much froze and we had about 15 of these just sittin in the car and we all used them for the rest of the day. Its very quiet, accurate, and easy to perfectly tune them for great gas mileage.
Weaknesses: I cant complain about anything but the grip, but i had an old spyder 45 grip (not trigger) and put that on it felt soo much better.
Conclusion: Quite possibly one of the best "low-end" semi's I have used. The gun will not freeze up no matter what, I think i'll put it in my freezer next time before I play. Probly still wont freeze. Big 10 from me!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, August 22nd, 2001
Strengths: i owned a icd pather years ago and had to sell it. i just got back into the sport and decicided to go back to a icd gun. I love my thunder cat! It shots fast, it shots shreight, and it has great range. it keeps up and out performs most of the other guns on the feild( tippmans, spyders, and it gives the atuo mag a run for its money). the thundercat, along with all icd guns is a breese to clean, i can remove the bolt, claen it ,oil it and put it back together in about a3 minutes with no tools, tell me anothwer gun on the market that can do that!?!?!?!? the thunder cat has all this and has a price that can,t be beat.(stander $125.00 or the delux $175.00)
Weaknesses: the only thing i can complain about is that the barrel has a tendancy to losen during play, but no big deal!
Conclusion: i have the deluxe thundercat and it fires good with its stoke barrel and excelant with my dye stainless. the gun is worth every penny!!! you can order it with many factory up grades, the only other thing i have put on it besides my barrrel is a sub zero e-chanber, and it has just fined tune the accuracy and range, but is really not nessary for thiis gun. if you want a great gun for the money, don't go with a tippman or a spider, buy a thunder cat and i know you will not be disapointed!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, June 5th, 2001
Strengths: It is a tough old gun that has served me well. I have bashed it into rocks and had it totaly submerged in watter and had it never misfire. It will shoot anything you put in your hopper. I don't know what kind of crack that ass hole was on the gun is liter fully loaded than a spyder or a tippmann fully loaded. The barrel is a decent stock barrel and it shoots accuratly and reliably if you maintain it propperly.
Weaknesses: The only problem is finding aftermarket parts. However it is easy enough to find if ytoyu put some effort into it.
Also the barrel could be inproved upon.
Conclusion: The stock gun i perfect for the beginner and is well woth the cost it is estreemly east to use. I would recomend it to all and any beginners.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, May 8th, 2001
Strengths: This gun is very well constructed, totally milled, no crappy welds. The option of back or verticle bottle is nice. The single-tube design is compact and VERY easy to strip and work on. The gun is suprisingly quiet for a blowback. the 3-point adjustment for gas is awesome...makes the gun more efficient and quieter. The verticle valve is unique to ICD and handles liquid very well.
Weaknesses: The stock barrel isnt all that good.
Conclusion: This gun is by FAR, the best entry level gun, very reliable and ICD is the BEST company I have ever dealt with in terms of customer service, this gun gets an A+
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, April 28th, 2001
Strengths: It's very quiet,I was shoting at someone and they did not even here it.
It's a good gun!
Weaknesses: It's cool but the velocity is kindof crappy.
Because it kept unscrewing on the field.
Conclusion: All you need is a sniper barrle.
It's good for the money.
It's like a SpiderTL.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, March 11th, 2001
Strengths: This gun is an awsome deal for what I got it for. It cost me 60 for the gun a 9oz tank and a hopper w/ elbow. I lost the elbow, but I got a new clear one. The accuracy beats almost any stock semi gun. The upgrades are fairly cheap, but hard to find. Just go to your local dealer and have them order things for your gun. It outplays my rebel Limited edition. When I get a new barrel for the rebel, im going to get the addapter for the barrel so I can use both.
Weaknesses: The safty is hard to use, you have to jiggle it around a little, and the upgrades are a little limited. The gun also has a hard trigger pull and has a lot of kick for how small it is
Conclusion: You dont need to upgrade this gun at all, but if you want to it isnt that hard. Nice feel, there is better out there. Good deal for what I got it for, but I wouldnt pay 150 for it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Nic Gerpe Sunday, March 4th, 2001
Strengths: Lots of good things about the T-Cat. It's lightwieght, durable and has a rock solid feel. It's one of the quietest blowback markers I've heard, and it's really accurate, especially with an aftermarket barrel. Once you learn how to tune it, it's really gas efficient (I can usually go the whole day with my 14oz). Also, it's one of the most reliable guns I've ever used; I've never had a problem with it that took me out of the game. Also, it can share barrels with all other ICD guns, so the Bushmaster or Desert Fox will take the same barrels. Oh yeah, and you can get the T-Cat for around $125.
Weaknesses: If you aren't particularly mechanically inclined, the 3-point gas adjustment may not be for you. There is a little bit of a learning curve, but it's really not difficult to learn how to adjust the T-Cat and once you know how the adjustment works you can tune it to play in practically any weather (I've been able to use it from 100* weather down to the low 40's with no problems).
Conclusion: Overall, the ThunderCat is a great marker. Reliable as all hell, accurate, lightwieght, and affordable. People gripe about how there aren't as many upgrade parts available for it as the spyder for example, but the great thing about the ThunderCat is that it doesn't NEED many aftermarket parts to perform well, except for a good aftermarket barrel. And of course, there are 45 grips and ex.chambers and bottom lines available too. Overall, I'd say the ThunderCat is one of the best mid/low cost semi-auto blowback markers available. You can get one and expect it to perform reliably consistently. So if you're looking for an excellent gun in the $125-$200 range, GET A T-CAT!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media