paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / First Endeavor Paintball The Quest / First Endeavor Paintball The Quest / First Endeavor Paintball The Quest / First Endeavor Paintball The Quest

First Endeavor Paintball The Quest Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount First Endeavor Paintball

Buy First Endeavor Paintball The Quest

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


First Endeavor Paintball The Quest
[ View Photos (26) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 43
Average Rating: 9.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $400

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Quest Paintball Marker comes fully stocked with a host of features. Designed with the player in mind, its’ sleek compact appearance is not only aesthetically appealing, but functional as well. The Slider Frame offers 2 positions for the player to choose from, a forward set of frame holes for the front player in mind or a further back set for all the back players out there. The trigger guard is enlarged to fit any sized hands on the triggers sweet spot. The Spot Trigger comes fully adjustable and equipped with bearings and a magnetic return. Both dually needed because at a blazing fast 23bps speed and with a 1500 rd capability (68/4500), The Quest will outshoot and outlast the competition.


For the tournament player at heart it comes cocker threaded, so no need to cart around another set of barrels, integrated snatch grip for the long walks from the pits to the field, and a trigger programmable board including NXL, PSP, and standard semi-auto modes. Together with a clamping feedneck and break beam anti-chop eyes The Quest is capable of fitting a variety of loaders and shooting paint break free.


With its simplistic 2-piece internal Bolt/Pin combo, maintenance and repair are a breeze. No more putting bolts back together backwards, or inserting a cup seal wrong. A quick wipe down and re-grease and your back on the field shootin fools all day long. Also included in the package is FEP’s 007 2-piece barrel boasting a 7” control bore.

With a combination of The Quest & 007 barrel, accuracy and consistency excel above all others!

Specifications:

Operation ~ Electro-Pneumatic
Power ~ 9V Battery
Length ~ 9.8” w/o Barrel - 21"" Overall
Height ~ 7.5”
Width ~ 1.2”
Weight ~ 1lb 14oz w/o Barrel - 2lb 3oz w/ Barrel
Max Rate of Fire ~ 23+ bps
Modes of Fire ~ Semi-Auto, PSP, NXL
Eye Sensor ~ Break-Beam Anti-Chop Eyes
Propellant ~ Compressed Air/Nitrogen Only
Operating Pressure ~ 220 psi
Cycling Pressure ~ 85 psi
Efficiency ~ 1500rds per 68/4500 Fill
Barrel Threads ~ Cocker
Barrel ~ 14” 0.691 2-Piece w/ 7” Control-Bore
Product Availability 
The First Endeavor Paintball The Quest is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
bintampa Monday, November 13th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
I own a DM4/w virtue board
Karni
tested other high end markers
Marker Setup: Dm4 w/virtue and some other upgrades
Recommended
Upgrades:
when first endevor puts a swivel on there Reg ... get it
Strengths: Fast
COMPACT!
LIGHT!
Accurate
Pretty simple
Weaknesses: Trigger seemed a little wobbly
Hose fitting on the reg
Review: Well I have looked at these markers before but being a newer company and the simplistic (even ODD) look of it ... would always go right by the booth and not really think twice about these markers (kinda like I did with the Alien marker) ... the difference is .... this thing is a beast.

I'm not really going to go into deep detail because everyone else pretty much has covered it all here already. I will say that when my friend bought one the other day for a backup to his Karnivor and I actually held it and shot it this is what I found.

1- The look is MUCH better than my first impression. Once I actually held it and felt how light this thing is (I mean it's light 2.3 pounds with his Stiffi on it). With his Vlocity loader (full) AND his tank ... I swear it felt nearly the same (if not lighter) than just my DM4 and realoader filled with paint. I personally liked the placement of the reg and loved how compact it was ... and the lack of milling I orginally though was a bit ugly ... really turned on to be a plus. Simple is better in a lot of instances ... this being one of those cases with the lack of milling making it a snap to clean up ... as well as the simplified internals as well. It's as fast and accurate as everyone else has stated ... and again my buddy chronoed his marker last Sunday (the first day playing with it) and 283 was the lowest and 287(8) was I believe the highest. At the time I was impressed until we left and he was talking about it and now I realize like everyone else has stated ... the reg wasn't even broken in yet!

2- Yes the hose fitting sucks in my opinion. Is it truly a turn off from getting this marker ... no ... but why are you going to do such an A+ job on the marker and not put some kind of swivel fitting to at least give the option of adusting it. So yea that too irratated me like others have stated. I saw a lot of praise to the trigger ... I thought it had a little side play which i didn't like. My buddy has not adjusted the trigger though so maybe that was it ... and even so as it was it did not effect the rate of fire at all. Another thing I saw in a thread or too was the statement it couldn't shoot fragile/cheap paint. On the first day of play I have to say we found that to be true in our case as well. The LPR was set a little too high (just over 100psi) which was easily adustable as his reg DOES have a gauge on it. He found keeping the operating pressure under 100psi kept it from breaking paint. On the other hand ... when it did break paint it self cleaned and kept on shooting straight.

(ps I used his stock 007 barrel on my DM since he loves his Stiffi so much ... and I can tell you it shoots every BIT as straight as my ultralite or his stiffi)
Conclusion: Bottomline ... his Karni is now his backup and maybe I will pry it away from him this sunday and play with it since I think I will get a little better use out of it's super light weight, me playing mid to front while he sticks in the back. It is not a 10 because improvments can be made and we are yet to see how it holds up to the test of time ... but I can say it is the lightest most compacted low profile gun I have held ( beating out egos and shockers, etc) ... and it is just as fast and accurate as the other highends. I have been out of paintball for a year + ... but if I get a second marker ... this is probably it unless the invert mini's prove better. Please shoot one of these before getting something else ... you can't really appreciate it til you actually have it in your hands gassed up and shooting it ... if you do and you don't get sucked into buying a marker with flashy milling geared toward young niave players and go strictly on the nitty gritty features you truly need ... you will be hard pressed to find anything better.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, November 13th, 2006 at 9:57 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

fepkidz Monday, December 19th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
uhh ion dm6 shocker most timmys pm5 pm6 dm5
Marker Setup: i have a quest with dye throttle halo b cp on off and dynasty rail

smart parts ion with aim body kit freak kit ultralite qev lightning bolt cp reg dye sticky gripz hybrid clamp blackheart newdesignz trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
none it is absouluetly perfect
Strengths: Fast small light accurate the whole shabang!!
Weaknesses: Only the nipple on reg but its not bothersome
Review: omg where do i begin the speed?the accuracy?the weight?the body omg so much to tell!!!!!!

SPEED: ok the gun comes with a 23 bps cap... who needs more then that!!!it rips so easy i was shooting heads and bringing down lanes with this baby. omg the trigger so perfect. i was keeping a consitant blazing speed with it all game long and my fingers were not stiff from bad angles trying to find the speet spot i loved it.

accuracy:as good as a cocker. unfortunately i did not do any crazy tests where from 70 yards away and stuff but on the field that was my test it shoots heads!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! i loved it i broke one ball the entire day but only because my on off valve was not screwde all the way so it shot four wen i screwed it bak in. but even without a squeewgie after that it shot awesome.


weight: lightest gun ever.
it balances perfect in ur hands and makes u feel like ur holding a newborn baby but lighter lol.the frame is awesome it has simple milling but i dont like it when they spend most of the guns worth to make it look like a model. when i put my tank and air on both full it felt like my ion with a empty hopper and no tank........what more can i say???

the barrel is cocker threaded and the board with a 7 inch bak so if u fall and screw up your front part of ur barrel u can still keep playing with just losing some distance the board.comes stock with nxl semi and psp and more with too many options too say

.
Conclusion: I think that this gun is worth the money and better then anything youll find out right now.
greatest find youll get for the holidays.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

Death_Spartan Wednesday, January 4th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Angel A4, XSV Ego and nothing else can top this gun
Marker Setup: I have a TOn Ton Shocker with: Dye Sticky Grip, 68 cu compressed tank, Halo B with rip drive(not fast enough for it), drop foward and the only other thing you can upgrade is the board.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Board and a better on/off valve
Strengths: Speed, Accuracy, Look and everything else
Weaknesses: Air pig
Review: This gun is amazing. It is well worth its value and is way under rated. It comes with a freak which rly helps its accuracy. The gun is quite silent but is an air pig. So make sure if you're in a tournament you go into every round with a full tank. Besides using alot of air there is nothing else bad about this gun.
Conclusion: Buy it. It's well worth the $$$.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
16 Comments - Add Comment

andy Monday, May 5th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Toxic Impulse
Upgraded Quest
Marker Setup: Silver Quest w/Raider Board & CP on/off ASA, Halo Hopper, Crossfire 68/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
Honestly, there is no need to upgrade this marker. Play more instead of upgrading, no marker will make you a professional.
Strengths: Accuracy
Speed/Trigger Feel
Size/Weight
Rarely Breaks Paint
Stock Regulator is VERY GOOD
Weaknesses: Stock ASA had a leak develop over time
Review: After my brother had purchased a Quest and I was able to shoot one, I had to buy one for myself. I bought a used one about a year ago for around $400 and I couldn't be happier with it. The gun is just about as accurate as any paintball gun could possibly be, has a high rate of fire and feels incredible to hold while playing. It will never break paint in the gun no matter how fast you shoot, and I've probably only experience 1 or 2 breaks in the barrel itself probably due to old paint. I can probably get about 1200+ shots out of my tank right now which isn't too bad for gas efficiency and the stock regulator is very consistant. (+/- 2 FPS roughly) Maintenance is also quick and easy by removing the back cap with an allen wrench and re-lubing the bolt and pin.

As I stated earlier, my brother has this exact gun with mostly everything upgraded (CP Barrel, CP Reg, GoldMember Bolt) and I really observe little to no increase in the performance of his gun over mine. Actually, we both agree that the stock regulator on my gun seems to be more consistant than the CP regulator on his.
Conclusion: I would recommend a Quest to anyone looking to get a competitive electronic gun. It is rather inexpensive compaired to other markers today (ex. Ego, DM8) and can definetly hang with them.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jhorgan Tuesday, May 8th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Shocker, DM, and PM series markers
Marker Setup: 2006 Cyborg
PBK Sabre Trigger
06 Sonic Clamping Feedneck
PowerLyte Barrel Kit
CP mini-rail w/CP on off

2007 FEP Quest
Goldmember Bolt
Snatch Pin
007 Barrel
WAS Chip Board
FEP Zero Drop Reg
CP Rail
NDZ On/Off
Recommended
Upgrades:
Goldmember Bolt, Snatch Pin
Strengths: Easy Maintenance, Price, Light, Fast, Accurate
Weaknesses: Chip Board (see review), Very few aftermarket parts
Review: I picked up a used Quest after doing lots of research. Of course it is light (only 2 pounds), very well balanced, compact, etc. Everything that a high-end marker should be.
Maintenance is also a breeze. The bolt and carrier assembly is only 2 parts with a total of 7 o-rings. Just wipe off the old lube and apply the new stuff. The manual recommends DOW 55, but I've been using Hater Sauce and have had no problems at all. I even called FEP and asked them if Hater Sauce is OK and the tech I talked to said that's what he uses on his.
After going through the marker it was time to gas it up and run some paint through it. The Quest shoots ropes quite easily. The trigger can be set to your liking and is a magnetic return trigger with 3 adjustment points.
With a good paint to barrel match the Quest is ball on ball accurate. The Zero Drop regulator seems to be very consistent. And at high rates of fire there was no noticeable drop off what so ever. So putting paint across the field accurately is no problem for the Quest.

The Chip Board (came stock in Gen 2 Quests) is my only real pet peeve with the Quest. It took me quite awhile to get used to it after using the Predator Board in my Cyborg for so long. But after playing with it for while it got easier. Although I'm still never confident when I change a setting that it actually worked; so I go back through to make absolutely sure that the setting was changed. I might end up changing the board or the chip eventually. I just don't like how the stock chip board is set up software wise. I will most likely end up getting a NOX chip.

As with any new marker from a small paintball company there are very few aftermarket parts available for the Quest. The only ones I know of are from FEP: The Goldmember Bolt and the Snatch Pin. Of the two I recommend the Goldmember Bolt the most since it will help with gas usage.

Overall I love the Quest and has proven itself to be an excellent backup to my Cyborg.
Conclusion: If you are looking for a spool type marker but have stayed away from them for one reason or another (mine was the maintenance issues, I like simple markers) you might want to consider the Quest. It is everything that a highend marker should be, and is a great addition to the spool type marker family.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, July 17th, 2007 at 6:27 am PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

surfsup362 Wednesday, December 27th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
DM6, 06/07 Ego's, Shocker, Angels, pretty much anything under the sun
Marker Setup: 2006 Gen 3 Quest
-Goldmember bolt
-lever lock feedneck
-check-it uni mount
-snatch grip
Recommended
Upgrades:
-Reg if the placement is uncomfortable. All preference...nothing really needed
Strengths: -Fast
-Reliable
-Awesome Customer Service
-Accurate
-Super Efficient
-Light
-Quiet
-Low kick
Weaknesses: None really, reg placement if it bothers you
Review: I just traded my pmr for a gen 3 questand I love it. It shoots just as good as my ego and dm6. I love the fact that this gun is cheap,has awesome customer service and that not many people have them. I love how easyit is to wrap a bunker with this marker due partly to the ability to slide the rail. Ihave had no problems what-so-ever with this gun and cant wait to use it some more.
Conclusion: I highly recommend this marker to anyone that wants top-high-end performance for a cheaper price. The customer service alone is a reason to buy it. FEP has taken the time to make the perfect marker to those who want it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

.:{}:. Wednesday, January 11th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
i used pretty much every type of gun...
Marker Setup: FEP Quest
Stock Barrel/ Stiffi Switch Kit (Depends what my mood is :o)
Stock Reg
Pure Energy 45/45
Halo B (soon to have V35)
Recommended
Upgrades:
I havent noticed any necessary upgrades, just whatever you want it to have.
Strengths: Fast
Light
Kickless (read review)
Easy Maintenance
Quiet
Weaknesses: I am noticing that it isnt as air efficient as boasted in advertisements.
Review: NOTE: fep DOES NOT ADVERTISE KICKLESS OPERATION, JUST NEARLY KICKLESS

Well, before we get to the performance, lets start with the aesthetics of it. the gun with the barrel measures out around 20.5 inches and is only a little bit greater than an inch in width(smaller than a shocker width-wise, not sure about length) and it sports those measurements pretty damn good. pictures do this gun no justice, you have to see it in real life to appreciate it. of course, its not a timmy and its not milled to hell, but i definately think it looks better than a shocker. now moving on from some specs there-- lets just move to the trigger. it comes with a scythe-like trigger stock and is triple adjustable (firing Point, Magnet, Trigger Length) and is actually very comfortable for being a stock trigger. from first picking this gun up though i immediately noticed the weight. this gun is one of the lightest gun's i have ever held (not sure if its the lightest though) even with the stock barrel on it.

now then, lets move a little bit more towards features...

this gun comes equipped with...

1. Break Beam Eyes
2. Magnetic roller Bearing Trigger
3. CCM clamping style feedneck
4. Snatch Grip
5. Cocker Threaded barrel
6. DM5 detents
7. 2 piece bolt system
8. Great board modes stock
9. LED operating system (<3 flashing lights)
....and more.

After doing some quick skims of some of other peoples reviews, i noticed that the reg placement seemed to be a little bit of a problem, but it felt fine to me :-/..... but anyway, i think one of the most crucial selling points of this gun that makes it great is the break beam eyes, the eyes have worked flawlessly from what i have experienced and i will still keep using them. as i have already discussed, the trigger is another high point of this gun, i like the style and the really simple trigger adjustment. being the ccm whore i am, i was planning on putting a chipley feedneck on this gun, but as soon as i got it, i realized that it didnt need it! the feedneck has a ccm style to it, easily locking the loader in place. a little bit on the electronic features include Demo Mode (not intended for paint), Anti-mechanical bounce,tourney lock, debounce, and anti-bolt stick along with many fire modes. and being an LED, if you know how to program the board, it can be done in under 20 seconds, depending on what you want to achieve.enough with the features of the gun, onto the performance.....

The performance of this gun is amazing. right at the chrono, i was quite impressed. while test shooting and just plain fiddling with it, i got a +/- 5, an incredible amount for a reg that hasnt been broken in yet. another astonishing feature of this was the noise factor (not like it matters though) but it seemed that it was just 10 times quieter than everything on the field. it seemed to just be "psss" noises unlike "clats, clats." and on to the one thing that everyone needs, the speed. speed is blazing, just dry firing with the eyes off, i was impressed at the speed, but when i put paint through it, it just seemed to be a steady 13-15 (yes, my fingers arent really fast) in semi, and when i went to PSP and NXL, i was just blown away by the speed. now accuracy, this gun is just putting darts on the other team, i didnt see one ball curve at all (was using "high quality whitebox"), even with the not most trusted paint it was still amazing. during our team practice, we did a snap shooting drill where it's single shot, and it was right on my fellow teammates.

alright now, the main selling point of this gun obviously is the kick. now, when you dry fire it, there is ABSOLUTELY no kick, but with paint i did notice some, especially at higher rates of fire, but nothign to fret about. another huge selling point about this gun is maintenance. i couldnt believe how simple bolt maintenance is, only two pieces. cleaning the bolt and relubing it shouldnt take longer than 3 minutes, if that. i was amazed. but of course every once in a while, you have to clean the LPR and HPR (not a problem, if you know what you're doing)

It seems though im being a little too happy about this, but i did notice a little bit of negatives. as listed earlier, there is A LITTLE bit of kick, but another thing i noticed was that FEP was a little too boastful about the efficiency, it does seem that it goes through the air a little bit too much, i didnt really keep track of it that much, but ill get you an approximate estimation this weekend ;-).
Conclusion: This gun is amazing, althoguh FEP was getting a little over-zealous about the kick and efficieny, it is still worth every penny; barrel is great, reg is great, blazing fast, light, and extremely quiet.

10 out of 10
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, June 21st, 2006 at 11:47 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

ronbunkerz#2 Friday, September 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
every marker on the market!
Marker Setup: blue quest, 06 FEP grips, 007 barrel kit, suicide shell'd halo, crossy 68/45, WAS board
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel, HP tank, board (WAS)
Strengths: speed, accuracy, effieciency ( runs on 85 PSI), looks
Weaknesses: None!
Review: I got this FEP Quest off of PBN and i love it, i got it broken but i sent it in and FEP sent back a whole brand new quest with 06 grips and a free t-shirt, i love this company and i think that they have better customer service than DYE, i dont like Dye and i love FEP so much better, guys and girls, i give this marker a straight up 10 and is pretty much the best marker on the market that i have shot so far. GET THIS GUN no matter what, sell ur 05 ego and get this because it shoots like an ego, it looks like a shocker and sounds like no other gun! get this and i have nothing else to say.
Conclusion: Get this gun right now and don't hesitate, its the best on the market and there is nothing else to buy!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

pber13 Sunday, December 24th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
the only things similar are a dm6 and High end timmies--IMO Egos can't touch this marker
Marker Setup: tippman 98 custom w/ teardrop barrel
PM5 with tadao board
All stock Quest with a VLocity
Recommended
Upgrades:
I would recommend the snatch pin for the bolt that makes it a toolless bolt removal, but absolutely nothing is needed for this gun to be the best
I don't say a new barrel because the stock barrel is the most accurate barrel I've ever shot, if you need a kit, FEP sells a 007 kit on their website and has color options to match your gun's color
a Goldmember bolt is also a great buy- you get 1-2 more pods per tank fill-but not needed with ~1600+ shots out of a 68/45 fill
Strengths: where do I start?...
Accuracy
Speed
Weight
Size
Trigger
Barrel
Price
Modes come stock
Weaknesses: The regulator macro fitting
Major Bounce!
looks are argueable, but I like them
Review: As you can see so far I love my new Quest. For the price you can buy it at now, about $700-$750 brand new, it's a steal. Here's why:

*EDIT* $700 brand new on actionvillage.com---or $550 used on Pbnation if you're willing to buy off there

First impressions: When I first saw the gun online, I thought it looked really cool. When I went to my local shop/feild, they had one in stock. The owner (now my boss) let me hold the gun and when I first picked it up, i couldn't believe how light it was! I weighs the same as a shocker does, and the looks are a little understated, but it still looks cool nonetheless.
Feel: The trigger the way the gun comes stock is amazing. Three point adjustable and it just looks cool on this gun. Its also amazingly easy to rip on and I can easily shoot 16-17 bps ropes with ease with right or left hand. This gun is fast! the newer generation Quests have boards that are uncapped in semi, and with this trigger, you can definately keep up with any other gun out there easily.
Testing: Later, after I had bought the gun, I aired it up, loaded up some paint and took it to the chrono. Shooting at a 2 inch wide target from about 50 feet away produced 10 of 10 hits!! shooting at the ropes holding said target produced 7 out of 10 hits. This is one heck of an accurate gun even at 150 feet, this gun's spread is still within 6 inches, so you can hit whatever you want in a game. The light weight makes snapping a breeze, and the accuracy just makes gunfighting tons easier. This gun also comes stock with PSP and NXL modes, which for most people is a plus, because it means that you don't have to go out and immediately spend $150 on a new board, but for me I will always use semi, so it makes little difference, but is still cool for tourney play. To me, the amount of kick in a gun does not matter much, but in this gun it is absolutely minimal with an unbroken in regulator and set at 100 psi, once reg is broken in and I can drop pressure to maybe 85-80 psi, it will be virtually nonexistent. I have not yet put a test to the claim of 1500 shots per 68/45 fill, but from looking at how much air it uses from about a hopper, I'd say that that number is probably realistic, and with the Goldmember bolt, that is supposed to rise another 1-2 pods or so..
During play I managed to chop a ball...but since I use a Ricochet Apache (I hate all other hoppers and I'm cheap), and the batteries were running low, it was not feeding fast enough when the hopper was nearly empty, but IMO the best feature of this marker is its amazing ability to self clean! Seriously after that breech chop, I only needed to shoot 10 times to get the gun shooting exactly the way it had been before the chop!! I took the gun apart after that game hoping that there would not be too much paint to clean from the breech, and there was barely any visible paint left in the breech and the barrel--so the self cleaning definately is a big plus=no more squeegeeing in game!
Now the Bad...
First off, I do not feel that any of the below listed weaknesses are enough to turn away anyone who would be looking at the gun, but they still need to be mentioned in a review.
The macro fitting on the regulator can be irritating when you first hold the gun, but after the first game that I played with it, I didn't even notice it at all, and it never becomes a problem. With a light trigger pull also comes bounce and unfortunately with the stock settings, this gun has a lot! With some board settings tweaking and some trigger adjustments the bounce can be eliminated though, so again, it's no big problem.
For some people, this gun may look a little plain, compared to other $1k plus high end guns, but I like the understated looks, but this part of any gun is all preference.

*EDIT* Played my first tourney a week ago with this gun and it had no problems whatsoever! not a single ball chop the entire day and i was able to eliminate people from wherever I was shooting at them from, even with some of my paint a perfect bore match and some that was about .002 too small, I still had amazing accuracy, the spread being about the width of a person from 150 ft--again a great marker and still no problems to date!

*EDIT2* Put to the test the efficiency claim of 1500 per 68/45 fill-I filled my 70 cu tank to what turned out to be 3800 psi cold-I shot 7 pods and a hopper of paint (1280 shots give or take a few) and I still had about 1100 psi left in the tank...sounds like 1500 per fill might be a little understated. Also got to compare my quest to my friend's new 07 Ego. Sure it's lighter, but the only way it can compare in accuracy is shooting 1-2 bps...in long strings it looses accuracy while in the quest accuracy does not change. One problem I encountered was that my stock bolt snapped nearly in half one day while I was dryfiring my gun. I called FEP and before I could tell them that the gun was under warranty they told me to send the broken bolt to them and that they would give me a new one. I sent it in and it took a while to get there b/c I used cheap shipping and they used overnight shipping to return it to me free of charge! Great customer service
Conclusion: I belive that anyone who is looking for an upgrade to a high end tournament marker should definately give this marker a good, long look because of the amazing performance that it offers for the price of entry. I work at a field and I have shot many high end guns including 05 and 06 egos (no 07s yet though..) DM4s, DM5s, and DM6s, and many more, and I feel that this gun outperforms all of them straight out, with no price involved. Add in that price and you have a great alternative and plus you will be the only person playing with it at the field!-I give this product a 10 out of 10 because I believe that is really no way to make a better marker than what FEP has done with the Quest-> great job FEP!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, March 24th, 2007 at 11:36 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

bushido1 Wednesday, December 20th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
schocker (very similar)
Marker Setup: diablo mangoose 2 reincarnation and i have and viewloader revoluton with halo B w/ rip drive

Quest, halo b w/ rip drive v35 board, 88/4500 pure energy tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
i say get a better barrel
i stock one is fine but a freak seems so give the accuracy a little kick
Strengths: Light,fast, not two flashy, really not to many up grades needed, great stock gun
Weaknesses: Really there is nothing wrong with the gun. just a little bouncey
Review: I love this gun i saw it and i know that it was my next gun. Once i got it i opened its coffin and started to take pics of it lol. they only thing i didnt like was that it didn't come with a rail or asa, but i hear that FEP fixed that and now the gun comes with them. well i live in Colorado and when winter first stuck i knew i had to put this gun to the test. so i went down to the local field and even inside it was freezing. i got the crapist paint they had their and loaded up. in the chrono the gun was perfect i didn't have 2 touch anything. i got out on the field i could see my breath in my mask (vents by the way which worked great and didnt fog up) the buzer buzzed and i was off shooting ropes across the field. i was amazed cuz the gun was light, blazing fast and very accurate. i was getting guys out from the littliest cracks. i didnt chop one all day and i was amazed at that 2 cuz not only was the paint cold it was the worst and cheapest paint that the field had. i couldnt even play back 2 back games cuz guys had to clean or try and fix their guns cuz they eather broke the paint or their gun just stopped working cuz of the cold.i was very very happy with the quest and knew that it was $800 well spent.

the only thing i had problems with was the bounce a little bouncey but i got programed it and now it hasn't bounced once.

setting are A.M.B lvl5
Trigger sensitivity lvl 30
Conclusion: Nothing really new barrel mostly and if you want get the gold member bolt.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media