paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / First Endeavor Paintball The Quest / First Endeavor Paintball The Quest / First Endeavor Paintball The Quest / First Endeavor Paintball The Quest

First Endeavor Paintball The Quest Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount First Endeavor Paintball

Buy First Endeavor Paintball The Quest

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


First Endeavor Paintball The Quest
[ View Photos (26) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 43
Average Rating: 9.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $400

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Quest Paintball Marker comes fully stocked with a host of features. Designed with the player in mind, its’ sleek compact appearance is not only aesthetically appealing, but functional as well. The Slider Frame offers 2 positions for the player to choose from, a forward set of frame holes for the front player in mind or a further back set for all the back players out there. The trigger guard is enlarged to fit any sized hands on the triggers sweet spot. The Spot Trigger comes fully adjustable and equipped with bearings and a magnetic return. Both dually needed because at a blazing fast 23bps speed and with a 1500 rd capability (68/4500), The Quest will outshoot and outlast the competition.


For the tournament player at heart it comes cocker threaded, so no need to cart around another set of barrels, integrated snatch grip for the long walks from the pits to the field, and a trigger programmable board including NXL, PSP, and standard semi-auto modes. Together with a clamping feedneck and break beam anti-chop eyes The Quest is capable of fitting a variety of loaders and shooting paint break free.


With its simplistic 2-piece internal Bolt/Pin combo, maintenance and repair are a breeze. No more putting bolts back together backwards, or inserting a cup seal wrong. A quick wipe down and re-grease and your back on the field shootin fools all day long. Also included in the package is FEP’s 007 2-piece barrel boasting a 7” control bore.

With a combination of The Quest & 007 barrel, accuracy and consistency excel above all others!

Specifications:

Operation ~ Electro-Pneumatic
Power ~ 9V Battery
Length ~ 9.8” w/o Barrel - 21"" Overall
Height ~ 7.5”
Width ~ 1.2”
Weight ~ 1lb 14oz w/o Barrel - 2lb 3oz w/ Barrel
Max Rate of Fire ~ 23+ bps
Modes of Fire ~ Semi-Auto, PSP, NXL
Eye Sensor ~ Break-Beam Anti-Chop Eyes
Propellant ~ Compressed Air/Nitrogen Only
Operating Pressure ~ 220 psi
Cycling Pressure ~ 85 psi
Efficiency ~ 1500rds per 68/4500 Fill
Barrel Threads ~ Cocker
Barrel ~ 14” 0.691 2-Piece w/ 7” Control-Bore
Product Availability 
The First Endeavor Paintball The Quest is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
imbadatpaintbal Saturday, June 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Shocker--Doesn't even compare to the Quest's greatness
Ego-close but not quiet there
Marker Setup: 06 Grey Quest
cp reg
68/4500 dxs(draxxus)
halo b with rip
Recommended
Upgrades:
Cp reg but thats just personal preference
Strengths: Qiuetness
Speed
Size
Effieciency
Quality
NO KICK
Weaknesses: None, flawless
Review: Great Great gun. Mine was the talk of the field the first month i got it. everything you could want from a marker without the 1000$+ price. Has all the great nesesities of a gun. I love mine and i think that would would love yours. My friend likes his better than sex itself.
Conclusion: Great gun, Great company. Buy it and join the family.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, August 29th, 2006 at 8:17 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

shutter_elite Monday, April 10th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Shockers, Timmies, Dm's, Meet & or beat most markers.
Marker Setup: 2k5 Green -2- Black timmy
cp reg
Check it on/off
techna scythe II
Predator 5.0
VP piston
EFX Eyes

Quest
Nox chip
CP reg
Check-it on/off
Recommended
Upgrades:
Regulator (just fitting placement)
Strengths: Light, fast, dependable, effecient
Weaknesses: Just don't care for stock reg fitting position.
Review: This gun was amazing out of the box, shot about +/- 5 first day. Immediatly put a nox chip in it, works flawlessly. Main Reason for getting nox was so I'd have the "legal" psp mode were it reset after a second. The stock regs consistancy is great, just can't stand where they placed the fitting for my shoting style, so I switched to a cp reg an no complaints.

When I picked up this gun it felt like it was a toy with how light it was, just incrediabley light and I love the milling. The gun just feels good to hold, I like it 10x over my timmy for comfort.

Use something other than the stock lube (if they sent it to you w/ dow 55). That was the only thing giving me problems, but switched lubes and I have my lpr down to 55 psi on so-so warm days with absolutly no kick when held by one finger & shot. Effiencey on this gun rocks, can beat out a shocker any day :) and rivals and or beats my timmy as well.
Conclusion: The gun is great, for it being the companies first gun, it is definatly a great gun. They still are makng improvements on it that they keep updates on, on pbn. Can't wait to see what they come out w/ next.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Hibiki54 Monday, March 27th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Shocker, DM4 & 5
Marker Setup: Hibiki54 Dynasty Ion
- Dynasty Body Sleeve
- Powerlyte Scepter Kit
- CP Mini-Reg
- CP Blade Trigger
- CP Drop-Forward on/off
- Lucky Stage 1+2+3
- Nitro-Duck Plasma 90/4500

CCI Phantom - Black
- WWA Fr-antom II 12"

Tiberius Arms TAG-8
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, only if you want exact bore matching
Strengths: Maintanence
Weight
Low pressure
Barrel
Weaknesses: Barrel
Review: I have been reading about the Quest for a while, and to my excitment, they had a booth at NPPL Huntington Beach 2006. I had a chance to talk to the owner of First Endeavor and later on try the marker out with one of the pro-players.

The eye-catcher for the Quest was the ease of maintanence. The gentlemen at the booth pulled out a quick-field strip version of the Quest and simply twisted off a cap at the back of the firing chamber. He then pulled out two pieces from the opening - a bolt and pin sleeve. Looking inside the chamber, you can see ALL the way from the end to the tip of the barrel, one clean smooth bore. He then lubed six o-rings - three on each piece - and re-inserted the two items before closing it with the cap. He then stated it was ready to rip. With the exception of an autococker (bolt only), I have never used a marker with such simplicity of use!

The weight of the marker was very light without hopper and tank. Just as light as my SC phantom. The bolt is very light, possibily made out some sort of polymer that Lucky uses for their Stage-1. It's also very small.

This gun is awesome. Low pressure to conserve air! Around a 200 psi operating pressure with a cycling pressure to operate the bolt of only 90 psi. We were getting some thick ropes with this marker at around 220 psi at 300 fps. Very little drop-off after the regulator was broken in. As stated in the product description, we got around 1600 rounds of paint from a 68/45 crossfire. Using my 90/45 Nitro-duck and a Freak, we got around 1-1/2 a case of paint!! WOW!

The barrel is both a weakness and strength of the marker. Weakness, meaning that it comes at a stock .069 bore. This means that small~medium or medium size paint will produce semi-poor accuracy and poor gas efficiency. The barrel is also made using an extruding process similar to Smart Parts and Dye barrels. Strength, the control bore of the 2-piece is 7 inches, compared to 4 or 6 inches of other barrel manufactures. This means the ball remains in the original bore to allow the ball to travel a little farther with much more accuracy before it can reform into the step-bore of the 2-piece and become effective by air that would go around and behind the ball.
Conclusion: This marker is awesome if you have the money to spend! It's well worth the price. Does not require as much maintanence of other markers like Intimidators, Egos, Autocockers, DMs and Shockers of the same price. It has much more gas efficency compare to the others just mentioned. Right out of the box it comes tournament ready and is ideal for the up and coming tournament player than doesn't want a complex marker with high maintanence issues.

I plan to get one for myself. With GOLD gloss anodizing to match the 007 barrel ^_^
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

warobinson Saturday, August 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
timmy 2k5
karnivor
Marker Setup: i have a spyder x-tra
trilogy pro cocker
Strengths: Light
Fast
Feels good in ur hands
Weaknesses: I hate the first ball drop thing
It bounced
Review: This is my friends gun its really nice becasue the trigger pull is super light and its really quiet the thing i dont like about it is that if u not in the shade when u turn it on u cant see if the eyes r on or not cause the lights on the grip r not very bright
then i shot a hopper full of paint in like 10 seconds
and the ramping on the gun is super fast

Its a great gun i would buy it if i had the money
Conclusion: I give it a 9 cause the timmys i think r better
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, August 12th, 2006 at 7:44 am PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

the_real_kaz Sunday, November 11th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Other Spool-valves. DM's and PM's.
Marker Setup: 06 Quest, Angel Fly
Recommended
Upgrades:
On/off for sure
Barrel Kit
Strengths: Trigger, bolt design, grip position. Board, grips
Weaknesses: Mircoline placement, no On/Off, Not pretested,
Review: First off I bought this gun brand new for the newly dropped price of $400. I'm going to compare it to other spools like Pms and then other guns in the price range, but first I'll start with the impressions on it and then explain it's strenghts and weaknesses.

Initial impression:
Sweet. The gun comes in a tombstone shaped box (I thought it was cool. Some would say it's not), Micro line included, a set of extra o-rings (super nice), and Hater Sauce lube. Enough to last a while. The first thing i noticed was how small it was. The photo's don't do it justice.

Strenghts:
The trigger is the best I've owned by far. It reminds me a lot of my teammates 06 intimiadors trigger. Almost no side to side play and great return.
Bolt Design: This is in reference to the bettter air efficency than all other spool valves ;(pre-druid). A lot better then the Dm's and PM's I've got my hands on.
Grip Position; This is the first marker I know of that allows you to switch the grip from a forward to a back postion. I noticed the same with the ASA when I put my On/off on it.
Board W.A.S. board, Enough said.
Grips: The grips are sweet. I don't care what anyone says, they are cool.

Weaknesses:
Microline placement: The reg is made so the microline enters it on the left side right where your hand should be. Not only is this uncomfortable, but it makes it so you have to take the grip off get the reg off.
No On/Off: All guns that are $800 should have an On/Off. This isn't as big of deal now that the price is $400, but for $800 is was rediculous.
Not pre-tested: By this I mean the factory dosn't air up the guns before sending them off. I know this becase one of my body screws where leaking baddly when I first aired it up. I had to heat the screw to get the locktight to let go. I then used a higher grade locktight, and a nicer screw in it's place. This is important becuase it allows stupid little things like this to get out. A person not a mechanically inclinded would have a problem with this.

Compared to other Spools I've shot, (Pm6, Dm4) This marker is alot smaller. It's more air efficent. It shoots just about the same. Not sure if FEP is as good as DYE yet, but i'll update this as I deal more with FEP.

Compared to Angels, the quest smaller again. It has less kick and a much nicer trigger than my Fly.

Compared to other $400 markers, I thought, and still think this is a better marker. My freinds fusion dons't shoot as smooth and isn't as small. The quests trigger is so much nicer.
Conclusion: When the Quest first came out, I though the Price was to high. No On/Off and unknown company had me worrying. Because of the recent price drop I feel it's the best new marker in that price range. It easly goes round for round with the PM6, is well ahead of the DM4, Fly, and Fusion.

For $400 it's a great buy, for $800, I always thought it was overpriced. And when I opened the box and it leaked, I questioned FEP a little more but for $400, 9/10 easly.

Please keep in mind I will up-date as I deal more with FEP and shoot the marker more.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Shrubf4 Monday, August 25th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Impulse-stock--> doesn't compare
Dm5-fairly stock can't remember --> little more kick than any of my quests
Classic timmy --> decent amount of kick, but with the way it was tuned, almost as gas efficient.
stock olive Quest--> the first one you shoot is always the best
2 different gloss red quests--> same
Marker Setup: Red gloss quest
hed-loc
Plat. member bolt
snatch pin
cp on/off
WAS board
Recommended
Upgrades:
None really
maybe an on/off, barrel if you want
Strengths: Gas milaege
hardly any kick
doesn't really need many upgrades
Weaknesses: lack of upgrades
uhhhhhhhhhhhh.....
some of the WAS boards didn't work .
Review: I have owned 4 quests and hopefully more to come.

none have ever let me down and while they are not everyones cup of tea, they are simple to maintain and hold up under all kinds of pressure.

My favorite day with this gun was, it was or had been raining and off the break, I slid into my bunker and dropped it in a mud puddle by accident. I picked it up and made sure that the light was still flashing correctly and started shooting. There was no faltering and when I was done, I checked it out in the pit, no shorts or anything. I just lucked out big time. These guns continually amaze me.
Conclusion: While everyone bashes this gun, all those shooting them stand by them because they work beautifully under any condition. And for that reason I will keep recomending them.
Quite possibly the best gun out there.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, August 25th, 2008 at 5:31 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

importdirect Wednesday, December 19th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
PM Rail, SP Ion, SP Shocker NXT None of them really compair.
Marker Setup: NDZ Rail and ON/FF, Crossfire 68/4500, Reloader B2 Hopper, Goldmember Bolt, Snacth pin, Bionic Hedloc, Lucky Ace Board, Raider Grips, Critical Trigger, Powerlyte barrel kit.
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Board!!! WAS malfunctions out of the box.
Strengths: Light, Efficient, Consistant, Fast
Weaknesses: Board (WAS), Trigger (personal), No asa or ON/Off
Review: Well as soon as the coffin came in I was very impressed. Tin of lube, Tin of O-rings, Allen key, macro line, 2 piece 007 barrel (nice), manual, warranty card and wait no rail or on / off damn.

This marker just feels solid in your hands. When I aired it up and shot a few, wait it didn't shoot had to adjust the lpr and reg. Once it was going not to bad 285, 290, 282, 289, 291. Considering it was not broken in yet I was impressed. So I turned the marker off via button on the back, guess what it fired holy s**t if I have been pointing this thing in the gerneral area of anyone with out the barrel sock........ Checked online and this is a known issue with the WAS board. Other than that I hate the trigger I mean I can rip on it I just don't like the feel.

First day at the field (Bellow Air Force Base Hawaii) took it there before I decide to take it to a speed ball field, didn't want it going down on me during a speedball game. First thing I get complements from everyone including the field owner, mostly for not copying everyone elses marker choice. Took it over the feild chrono and played my first game, keep in mind field is rather large. First thing I notice this marker shoots really flat so my accuracy was awesome and man this thing is really operates smoothly. Kept up with the guys using timmy's and egos. Used 7 pods and a hopper full that game and still had 1500 in my 68/4500. In the middle of my second came I ran into problems marker stopped shooting. So I go back to the set up area to find the lpr backed out not the screw the whole lpr. So I put alittle teflon on the treads tightened it up readjusted the lpr and I was fine for the rest of the day. Other than that I put 2 1/2 cases through it that day not one chop or barrel break. To my surpise no leaks.

Maintenance is a breaze take out the back cap remove the pin and bolt, whipe off old lube, put on some hater sauce and your good for another day.

EDIT:
Now with the upgrades Goldmember bolt, snatch pin, Lucky board, critical trigger. This thing totally rocks. My 06 ego is my back up to this marker and its staying that way. It out shots my vlocity and B2, shoots flat and I go through 3 cases before the bolt needs lube. The marker does not make the player but when you have a fast consistant light marker it sure helps.
Conclusion: I love this marker, my 06 ego is my back up to this marker. I will make revisions later after I install the Goldmember bolt, snatch pin, bionic headloc, lucky board, critical trigger and the kila detents. I would have given it a ten but it wasn't set up out of the box (minor), lpr came loose (minor), malfunctioning board (major).

EDIT:
With upgrades this marker is a 10+++++
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, December 28th, 2007 at 12:50 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Inquisitor23 Saturday, October 6th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
DM7, Proto 05, Proto 06, Ion, Shocker, Ego
Marker Setup: Quest Gen 2, Sliver CCM Reg, UL Barrel, Raider Board, Angel 1 ASA, Snatch Pin, Goldmember bolt
Recommended
Upgrades:
CCM Reg, Snatch Pin, OnOff ASA, Goldmember Bolt, Lucky Board or Virtue
Strengths: Preformance on Semi - FAST marker and efficent. Easy to maintain!
Weaknesses: Inside milling, Reg Position and ASA (No, on off)
Review: Rough milling inside the grip frame and body internals (Clean but sharp edges), careful not to damage wires! ASA where the reg screws with the combo of the stock reg does not alwasy place the microline in a good place. Boards that come with the gun is never the same, and some programing on the stock doesn't always work. Gotta play with it.

Traded the marker for a Gen 3 version, much better than Gen 1. Comes with WAS boards as stock. Better inside milling.
Conclusion: For the price, GO BUY THIS GUN! The preformance is insanse and it's efficency is awsome! It's easy to maintain, just be careful when you take the grip frame apart not to catch anyt wires putting it back together.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, February 18th, 2008 at 6:18 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Fire_Wall Saturday, August 4th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: Specs-
Gold/Black accents 06 GEN 3 Quest
Custom SPD Grips
Matching 007 Barrel
Lucky Spitfire Board
WAS Board
Quick Bolt Snatch Pin
Hybrid 07 Quarter Turn bleeder
Hybrid 07 D-Stroy Rail
Grey/Black Quest grips


Reloader B-
Black Suicide Shells
White Speedfeed
Custom made Rip drive nob(made from yours truly)

70/4500 Stubby Crossfire
3A Tank cover
silver/black nipple cover
68/3000 Pure Energy tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nothing
Strengths: Looks, Accurate, Light, Fast, Consistent, mostly everything about it is awesome.
Weaknesses: Nothing so far.
Review: I am going to have to say this is the best gun I have ever shot. It shoots really nice, Doesn't have much kick, and can get 500 shots from 1000 psi fill from a 4500 tank. This gun has Never failed me, Always worked when it had to work.
Conclusion: In conclusion this gun is by far one of the best guns I have laid my hands on.
I would suggest this gun to any user that like both Timmys and Shockers.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

radiationchild Thursday, March 29th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
DM6
BOB LONG
egos
nxt shocker
Marker Setup: PROTO RAIL paintball gun
halo B
dye ultralight
Recommended
Upgrades:
none really, there isnt too many upgrades, barrel if you want
Strengths: Accurate
fast
looks
efficient
light weight
easy matenance
reliable
Weaknesses: Macro fitting
Review: the quest is definately one of the best markers in the sport, FEP did a great job of making this marker,

strengths

accuracy: it comes stock with a .696 control bore 007 barrel

speed: its pretty fast, 23 bps stock board, the board itself has 3 modes: semi auto, psp ramp, and nxl auto

looks: the smooth milling, the skull grips, the quest logos are just a few reasons why its sexy

efficent: it advertises that you will get 1500 shots out of a 68/4500 fill, people are getting closer to 1200 shots

light weight: it weighs in at 2.3 lb including barrel and ASA

easy matenance: just unscrew the back cap and outcomes the bolt

reliable: I have never heard of a case where a quest broke down


weaknesess

macro fitting: the macro fitting makes it hard to grip the gun with two hands
Conclusion: I would definately reccomend this gun to anyone who plans on playing in tournaments
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, June 26th, 2007 at 10:19 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media