paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98

Tippmann Custom 98 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Custom 98

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Custom 98
[ View Photos (286) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 3018
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $169

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The main feature is the ease of customizing the marker. The 98 custom combines all the great features of the model 98 with the ability to accept drop in kits for the Response Trigger, Electric kit, Flatline Barrel System, Double Trigger and Low Pressure kit. All of these kits can be installed with same tools that you use to disassemble the marker. We are sure the 98 custom is the most customizable marker you can buy.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Custom 98 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (302):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
kruelness Sunday, March 13th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year17 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
A5, Pro Carbine, Spyders,BE's , Dragon, timmy's , pump guns, u name it
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom Silver (M-4 Mock up to be)
-Collapsible Stock
-GTA Double Trigger
-3pt. tactical sling
-Ricochet Apache
-DOP Rocket Cock II
-GTA expansion chamber
-Response trigger
-J&J performance Ceramic
-J&J 14" Performance Ceramic/Flatline
-32* Starfire Bolt
-getting ASAP... Titanium rear bolt and DOP Pro Seal.
-Scope

-32 Degrees
* Remote
* 4+1 Belt
* Gloves
-JT Masks *2
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Expansion Chamber
Double Trigger
RCII
Strengths: Durable
Price
Upgrade Acceptance
Set-up(both bad and good)
Versatility
Weaknesses: Set-up
Stock Barrel
Single Trigger
Review: STRENGTHS
----------------------
This gun is extremely:

-Reliable, even if paint breaks the gun shoots fairly accurate. Hardly breaks paint, and when it does you can generally keep on going the gun usually doesnít jam. I have driven my barrel into the ground filling it with dirt and MUD. I had the RT (response Trigger) on at this time so I let off a few rounds as I landed. There was broken paint in the barrel; it had broken when it hit the mud. I took a few shots and dry fired and managed to finish the round. When I finished there, I proceeded to Strip my gun... Ugh. I was amazed that I was able to finish the round with a gun as dirty as that. This Gun is durable... They donít say BUILT TIPPMANN TOUGH for any reason, they MEAN IT.

- This is a great PRICE for an entry level marker that lets you do so many upgrades and looks to it. I personally would have paid more for the value that I received in my gun. I must say that if a company stays with the same basic idea for about ooh almost a decade now with minor changes, 98 to the 98C, they are doing something right if people in the market still want their product. $$$ Well spent.

-Set-Up. Well the design is set up all in a row. The front striker is connected to the rear blot via met connector and in-between is the Really cool valve. If you want to learn how it works go to http://www.pukindogspaintball.com/ . The VALVE actually always uses the same amount of propellant per shot it just lets it out faster or slower via the velocity screw. So wether you want to shoot 200 or the max fps on the gun your CONSUMPTION WONíT CHANGE. So have fun with your buddies in rec ball by crankin it up.

-Upgrade Acceptance. This gun is one of if not the most customizable guns in the market today. As you can see I have a mostly third party tippmann now. The internals have and are being revamped.
-Starfire bolt- IT is an excellent upgrade, makes your shots more accurate and is cheap. About $15 Canadian.
-Double trigger- This makes shooting allot easier and better to control, I suggest that you remove the spring that puts negative tension on the trigger. Makes it easier to shoot and doesnít counteract and RT if you have one. $30
-Response trigger- :) Well one thing. I LOVE IT. To see the look on peoples face when u role in with a fast shooting 98C. Contrary to common belief the RT does not use extra propellant. It connects from your valve to a cylinder behind your trigger which resets it every time you shoot. By keeping constant pressure on the trigger it shoots like a full auto and is still classified as a semi- auto because you are still pulling the trigger for every shot.
-Rocket Cock II. this device covers your rear / open bolt making it a kind of closed bolt system. This is keeps dirt and paint out keeping your gun clean and prevents scoring of internal moving parts. This device requires modding if you have a CAR stock or a Flatline. Contact me if you would like modding help.
- Barrel. Simple, stock barrels are inaccurate, GET A NEW ONE ASAP.
- CAR stock. This helps when shooting fast or accurate. Prevents kick back and allows you to stable your gun.
- Expansion chamber- gas efficiency.
-Flatline for woods or scenario ball, especially if entering the sniper role.
- New power tube. Not made of plastic and more efficient
- Dark horizon titanium hammer. Ups cyclic rate and decreases kick by 80%.
- GET AN ELECTRIC HOPPER
-If your are into snipering get a 3py. tactiacal sling.
So there that is the basic low down the upgrades I deal with.

-VERSATILITY: I know it sounds kind of redundant but I Love bush ball but my gun shoots fast is also able to play speed ball. With the Flatline RT setup you are able to play great bush ball. You have superior range and accuracy. If on the odd chance you do get caught between a bunker and a hard place, oh say a wall of paint, at least you have the fire power to get your way out of it. For the most part though it is one shot one kill snipering. Some people say that the Flatline can only handle 5bps or less, well, that is a myth my friend. I have attacked a CAR stock with is EXCELLENT. This greatly increases your accuracy and consistency of your shots. With the CAR STOCK it is nice to have a remote or a disposable 4oz. If your one of the few who can find a reusable one, well, your lucky and I envy you. By using a remote the weight is on your back instead of your gun making it easier to work with, especially when getting into the larger tanks 14, and 20oz. The other option was the 4 , it is small and you arenít tied down to yourself. If you are in the sniper role then you donít need many shots the little pocket hopper is nice(50 round). That hopper gives you a much smaller profile. Ricochet make a nice sniper hopper which is padded and decreases the noise greatly thus increasing your stealth. I personally like my apache because itís fine in bush or speed ball.

Also some people go to the other end of the spectrum and play speed ball. Well I have a RT which comes in handy again and now a J&J ceramic. I am able to keep on playing in short distances with more accuracy. I still keep on my stock and it is very little of a determent. When I have my stock , it makes it soooo much easier to have a remote so your gun isnít 2 tons heavier. This time I would not use a 4.Oz because I need more air and well itís a waste of money otherwise and I grab my 14 with a remote. The great thing if you use nitro or compressed air, Tippmann make the most beautiful kit, the compa-air kit. This basically revamps your internals and make it more suitable for speed ball needs. Some people say you canít shoot fast with a 98C but with reworked internals, a new powertube , Starfire bolt, and a titanium rear bolt, plus the RT you are hovering around the beautiful region of 20BPS. Some doubt it but it is TRUE. The stock spec says that a tippmann canít cycle past 14 bps. The max with the RT and stock set up is closer to 16. With lighter internals and the new bolt your cyclic rate is much greater and the kick is allot less(80%). I have not gotten my rear bolt yet but I will update this as soon as I get it :).

So from one shot shooting to spray and pray the tippmann works on both ends.
Just remember speed is fine, accuracy is final.
------------------------------
Weaknesses

-Set-up. Everyone knows that stripping a tippman is a pain in the ROYALPAIN IN THE @$$. I suggest when re-assembling start by the top left corner down first, to prevent the sight spring from flying out. Then work your way to the bottom right. Make sure to look out for pin placement, rear sight and bottom-line bolts.

-When modding the gun it can be picky but once you figure it out it works GREAT.
Conclusion: I really love this gun some say its a noobs gun or only for begginers. Well I think this gun can progress with your playing level and is VERY adaptable, from speed ball to sniper in a change of setup. Its durrable and will last ALONG TIME. Plus if you dont know what to do most fields will know how to help you or you can get ahold of me and I willl help you as i can as well. Take Er easy and GET A TIPPMANN
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, March 13th, 2005 at 6:34 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

bigasspballer Monday, April 26th, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months16 of 79 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
piranha ext pro 2k3 and spyder extra
Marker Setup: tippmann 98 custom w/ stock barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
14 inch barrel, double trigger and drop foward
Strengths: - cheap, only $130
- easy to upgrade
Weaknesses: - cheaply made
- hopper does not feed well
- cant fire fast, 8 bps max
- extreamly inacurate
Review: this gun is a good gun for people that do not want to put much money into paintball. with this gun u only need to spend $200 for the power pack and $40 on a new barrel
But if you have the money and want to play get something better. I hate myself for getting this gun instead of something better.
Conclusion: if u just want to play a little this might be a good gun for u, but if u want to play more than once a month do not get this gun.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
38 Comments - Add Comment

Khan Thursday, July 10th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months12 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Various rental guns, Core Pistol-clearly not in the same league
Marker Setup: M98c with a bp-usa combat folding stock and 20 oz Co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
A basic stock and either a 14 or 12 inch barrel is really all that you should get. You can get away with using the 8 1/2 though if you like. A flatline is a nice addition if you have the money.
Strengths: Price, iron sights, upgradable, durable, easy to maintain and clean
Weaknesses: easy to strip screws-hows that for irony with a customizable gun?
Review: A truly superb product and really the ideal paintball gun. It's fully customizable ability allows the weapon to grow with the player.

Points of note are the following-beginning with the good:

Easy to field strip: On of the more absurd claims of many m98c owners is that the weapon is somehow difficult to field strip. This is utter nonsense and I would invite anyone who says so to field strip and clean an M-16A2 rifle-an infinitely more complex and pain in the a$$ process than field stripping the M98c could ever be. As long as you are not a lobotomized monkey you should be fully capable of field striping the M98c even in the midst of a game. The estimates I have heard of 10-20 minutes once you know what you are doing is utter nonsense. A reasonably intelligent person can field strip the M98c in a few minutes.

Easy to clean: 6 screws, lefty lossy, gun oil, 6 screws, righty tighty, all clean. Why can't the M-16 be this easy?

Barrels: If you have the money go flatline. There really is no barrel which can rival the flatline and the fact that you can readily add one to you M98c alone makes the gun worth buying. If you don't have the money I would recommend keeping the 8 1/2 inch stock barrel until you can get the flatline for the simple reason than any other barrel on the market is not going to have quite the effect that the flatline will so why waste 50-60 bucks on some sub-par interim barrel? The stock barrel really isn't bad. For the ranges most people play at its fine-just aim a little high and you should be ok. If you must get a new barrel any 12-14 inch that fits will do. If you check the barrel review page on this site you will probably notice-due to the sheer number of 10s and 9s in existence its pretty hard to make a bad paintball barrel. So just get something cheap that takes good paint.

Upgrades and Price: The M98c itself generally only goes for about $120 which is excellent because many decent guns cost in the $200 range. This means you have more money to play with when you go to upgrade the m98c-and oh how many upgrades there are. This is where the real fun begins. Used to shooting military rifles? Well there's a whole host of different types of stocks out there waiting for you and the flatline gives it more of a rifle look while increasing range and accuracy substantially. One can have an M-4 carbine folding stock or folding stocks that attach to the buffer or stocks that attach to the bottom of the .45 grip-so many options its wonderful. The M98c can be upgraded to feature different trigger settings if your heart so desires. Tippmann was sufficiently intelligent to include a sight rail in the M98c's std. design so one may easily mount a sniper scope. Or Alternately, one could buy a nasty looking lapco dovetail sight rail to mount a scope on-the options seem endless.

Good basic design: with the M98c you can aim down the barrel and are aided by a set of iron sights. With anyone who has fired a real gun this should be a factor strongly in favor of the M98c as one does not need to resort to the aiming down the side of the barrel technique so common with other guns and which feels bizarre at least to me. Also, the tippmann is a blowback design and lets face it-its simply cool to A.) pull back the bolt to chamber a round B.) to have a bolt moving back and forth when firing. The M98c is also a very durable and sturdy gun capable of taking quite a beating. As before mentioned-std. sight rails are an excellent and useful feature. One last aspect is how you can quickly clean the chamber in the event of a paint ball break by unscrewing and folding down the elbow which is attached to the M98c by hinges.

Weight: All paintball guns are light being only in the 6lb range and the M98c is no exception.

Co2 efficiency: the M98c is very efficient with Co2

Weaknesses: the only outstanding weakness I have noticed with the M98c is that it can be very easy to strip the threads if one dozen't have any common sense. The gun is only $120 for a reason and some of the materials used to make it were less than good as can be seen in the aluminum screws which hold it together. This is highly ironic seeing as Tippmann pushes the M98c as being a highly customizable gun-while how the hell can you customize it if you accidentally stripe all of the screws? Be sensible when taking the M98 apart especially with the tighter connections such as those which hold the gas line in place to the bottom of the .45 grip. The basic screws which hold the body together actually arn't bad but those two in particular can stripe very easy if one is not careful. Make sure that your allen wrench is secure, don't over-tighten, and be sure that when you place the screws back in you place them in evenly. Why tippmann used aluminum for its threads I don't understand.

Understand that this in no where should prevent you from quickly field striping the M98c, it is possible to field strip it in a few minutes- I am speaking from experience when I say that-just understand the nature of putting it back together and you should be able to do it smoothly and quickly with little problem.

Oh yes, and Tippmann has excellent customer service
Conclusion: Reliable and easy to clean like the AK, upgradable like the M4 and with the flatline it's the paintball version of a .50 m82 sniper rifle. If I had to outfit an army with one paintball gun this would be it. No other paintball gun provides the same bang for you buck and with all the custom features the M82c grows with you as you become more experienced. Excellent excellent paintball gun-quite frankly it really is all you need for the game.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

paintballqb15 Sunday, January 30th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month11 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Xtra
Marker Setup: J&J ceramic barrel 12 inch
response trigger
Strengths: Extremely Durable
Easy to Clean
Weaknesses: Too loud
Stock barrel is WAY too short
Review: I got my 98 custom as my first marker(yes im a noob) I didnt think it would be a very good gun for its cheap price but it was my first gun so i thought it would be good enough. I was suprised when i got it home and it worked like a dream! It shot way better than my brothers spyder xtra. I LOVE it! My only complaint is that the stock barrel is short and results in many off target shots, I would strongly suggest getting a new barrel. But that is a minor flaw that most players will overlook, especialy if they r trigger happy.
Conclusion: I think that the 98 custom is an awesome begginer gun
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Sporefrog Friday, March 11th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
1 year11 of 47 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Imagine
Cockers (barely compare)
Marker Setup: 04 Gen2 Freestyle 45/4500, Stiffi switch kit, nox board, prototype techna trigger, contract killers lady panels, Reloader B black, 05 CP on/off, CP reg, JDS LPR, carbon fiber side panels. CP twist-lock feedneck.
Recommended
Upgrades:
New gun.
Strengths: Durable.
Weaknesses: Long
Heavy
Kick
Consistency
Efficiency
Speed
Looks
Review: Many people seem to think that this gun is the greatest gun ever. I can assure you its not. It chops a ton, the consistency is non-existent, the efficiency is terrible, and itís heavy and long making it terrible for front players.

One huge misconception about this gun is that it has lots of upgrades. It doesnít. Besides stocks, sights, scopes, and other useless items there are maybe 5 upgrades. People have been saying that this gun with lots of upgrades is better than a cocker. Letís see, you can get a stock WGP cocker for around $200 so lets see how many upgrades we could get for a 98 custom and keep it under $200.

98 Custom - $130
Regulator - $40
Double Trigger - $30

So for $200 you still have an unregulated gun with a crappy stock barrel, will have slightly less kick, will be slightly faster, and maybe be a little bit more efficient.

For $200 spent on a cocker you could get a dual regulated gun, much better stock barrel, way less kick, way more efficient (stock cocker can probably get close to 1300 shots off of a 68/4500), and faster because there is way less mass moving in the gun.
Conclusion: If I could do it all again I would defiantly buy a Spyder imagine or try to save up the money for a cocker. Donít buy the 98 Custom its all hype.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
47 Comments - Add Comment

4tene Monday, May 16th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: Spyder Xtra 2004(TL-X w/ rear cocking) w/ Spyder Rocking Trigger, twisted volumizer, CP Medium Regulator, macroline fittings, Hybrid feed neck w/ adjustable collar and Delrin ACS bolt. Evlution II w/ Z-board, Bulldog 47 c.i. 3000k.
Strengths: Affordable, very upgradable, durable, reliable.
Weaknesses: Heavy, slow.
Review: I had to resort to using this once while I was awaiting my air tank. I don't really have any complaints about this gun, other then it's weight, and ROF(Rate of Fire) It was pretty heavy. But other then that, she was pretty good. She fired consistantly, never broke a single ball, pretty accurate, has a diagonal feed, so you can use the sights on it, open to countless upgrades, hence the name, CUSTOM 98, she was pretty comfortable, and doesn't look all that bad. I'm considering getting one just for the hell of it because of the physical upgrades for it. Make 'er look like a M16.
Conclusion: If you're a new comer, she's good for you. You can make her to how you like her.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Friday, June 24th, 2005 at 9:33 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

b_lockwood Tuesday, July 20th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months9 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Pirahna STS G3-stock
Tippmann Pro Carbine-stock
2002 Autococker
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
Response Trigger
Double Trigger
J&J Ceremic Barrel
Rocket Cocker
Rear Velocity Adjuster
Chrome Gas Through Grip
Dye Stickie Grip
CP Flame Drop Forward
Hyperstar Bolt
Quick disconnect
A black satin powder coat finish finish from kpcustoms.com/
20oz tank
Evolutionary 2 black hopper

Recommended
Upgrades:
J&J Ceremic Barrel
rocket cocker
Evolutionary 2 black hopper
Strengths: Very though
easy matinince
easy to upgrade
Weaknesses: A little loud
Review: This is a great beginer gun, I TRADED my AUTOCOCKER TO BUY THIS GUN! I fell in love with this gun at senario games. My cocker couldnt cut in senario games, broke to many balls, somthing went wrong, things broke. The tippmann will hold up and hold up well! Now days a Tippmann can be used for anything from speed ball to woods ball and it will gett the job done! I truly belive it can out preform almost any gun in the long run, it has unlimited amount of upgrades and personal touch custom parts for you to choose from. Its easy to ues and fun to use and I have played for a long time and have never use a more worry free reliable gun!
Conclusion: All in all from beginer to expert this is the gun for any typre of player, it can adapt and become a custom work of art.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Amras86 Thursday, May 20th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
6 months8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann Bravo One
JT Tac5
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom Basic
Flatline Barrel w/ Tactical Rails
GTA Expansion Chamber
Double Trigger
TechT Hair Pin Trigger Kit
Cyclone Feed System (Votex Mod, Lightning Rod, Squishy Paddles, QEPH)
Low Profile Hopper
Collapsible Stock
Red Hot Power Tube w/ Derlin Bolt
TechT Zero Kick Hammer
Response Trigger
Remote Line
Adjustable M16 Sight Rail

Tippmann Bravo One
G36 Barrel
Cyclone Feed System
Aluminum Power Tube w/ Derlin Bolt
E-Grip

Tippmann TPX
Remote Line Adapter
TechT Low Pressure Spring Kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
My paintball marker, as it stands, is a pretty good setup. I did notice some of the parts worked well with others. For example, the hair pin trigger kit and response trigger work well. You really need to install parts and then try them a couple times and then go again.

I always recommend the flatline barrel or cyclone feed system. Can't go wrong.
Strengths: Highly Customizable
Light
Reliable
Easy disassembly
Weaknesses: Small Parts
Plastic Parts
Review: I bought this paintball marker because a few guys I worked with suggested we get into paintball and play every other weekend. I was told this paintball marker would be a good beginner marker to get. So I bought it and I've been using it for the past 6 months. I have always had a thing for modification to make everything unique so I bought the upgrades and tried them, bought more upgrades and tried them. I think I am at the point now I have nothing left to add to my marker that I would really want. I think this is probably the best paintball marker for new players.

Strengths:
Again, this marker is very customizable. It may not look like much when you first take it out of the box but after a few upgrades, it is a serious player on the field. The marker itself, without a co2 tank attached, is very light and maneuverable. After adding a tank it is still quite light. This marker, out of all that I have tried or used, has to be the most reliable. It's basically the AK-47 of paintball. You can drop it, get it dirty, throw it out a window(one of my friends did this from a two-story window to escape getting shot), and it will still work like the day it was bought. The disassembly of this marker is a bit confusing at first, you really need to take it apart without the parts moving from their locations. But once you do it once or twice, you will be able to take this marker apart with your eyes closed.

Weaknesses:
There are a lot of small parts in this marker. Personally, I've missed putting some of them back in when I've disassembled it. I find the worst part of the whole marker is the front sight spring. It's very tricky. You may want to buy a parts kit for this gun to keep with you while playing in case you ever need to field strip it. When I say plastic parts, I am mostly referring to the power tube. It is quite sturdy but I don't know. Something about a part that handles compressed air and below freezing temperatures doesn't seem right to be for some reason. I never had a problem with my power tube but I read reviews that the aluminum ones make the marker more consistent, which is why I got it.
Conclusion: I would recommend this marker to anyone who is either a beginner or a pro. You will never be disappointed by a Tippmann marker. I have all Tippmann markers, except my JT Tac5, and I never leave home to play without them.

Score: 9

I give this a 9 because its not perfect. Its a bit awkward to hold when the tank is attached to the ASA, the small parts can be a pain to deal with.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Access-Required Saturday, May 31st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months8 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Mokal Titan- Used as a rental and was SEVERELY lacking. Inconsistent accuracy and relative poor performance was received. But, it was no doubt durable.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Upgrade to your hearts (or bank accounts) desire!
A) New Barrel
B) Electric Agitating Hopper
C)Regualator
D)HPA aka N2
Strengths: Great Design
Super Durable
Well ballanced
Accurate
OpenRifle sight
Built in elbow
No ball chopping
Weaknesses: Stock barrel
A mild gas-hog
Review: Smiling smugly on the drive back home, I opened up the box that was sitting on my lap and could only widen my smile. Haha, 'I've joined the family of Tippmann owners' I thought to myself. When I got home I took the marker out of it's box; It felt like it was modeled to my hands, it felt tough, not rugged-tough, quality and simplicity combined tough. It was cool, indeed.
At the arena I put it together with ease and confidence, smiling as my friends looked over it, giving there approvals. I headed to the range to get a feel for shooting, and I was surprised: it performed like it should. What's there to be surprised about you ask? Groupings where tight and well placed and no-misfires. Balls fired with a slight arch , but that is too be expected over long distances. Not perfect performance, but perfect in the expectancy of a stock marker. After that I headed to the field started in a game. While I was on my stomach, knees, standing or a mix of the few the gun felt comfy and very well balanced, not to mention accurate. The gas efficiency is a little blow expectation, but nothing to complain about.
I left the arena that day very satisfied.
Conclusion: Completly meeting my expectations and requirments, this gun is a dream. You'll fall in love with this marker over, and over again. Tippmann has produced one fine, fine marker worthy or all recognition. Perfect marker is for everybody who's anybody. A well justified 10 out of 10.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, June 22nd, 2003 at 10:25 am PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

PhantomII Thursday, May 22nd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
This is the first semi-auto that I have owned until a year ago I only played stock class.
Marker Setup: Tippman Custom 98
Car Stock
Evil Driver 14" Barrell
50/3000 WGP HPA Tank
Drop Forward
Laser Sight
Empire Reloader II
Recommended
Upgrades:
Definately some kind of stock it makes the marker look cool and it helps steady your aim. 6/23/08 The stock hopper has to go, I know it's gravity feed but I have been shot 3 times because of no paint in the chamber due to a misfeed when I had the other guy lined up. I also replaced the CO2 tank with a HPA tank it's way more consistant and you don't have to worry about the ice chuncks shooting thru the barrel.
Strengths: It feels like the M4 and M16 I was issued during my FAC duties.
Weaknesses: A little back heavy but I imagine with a drop forward that could be fixed.
Review: Ok I set out to do a true baseline test with this marker, I didn't put any of my upgrades on it until I shot 1000 rounds thru it. With the stock barrell and full CO2 tanks the same paint and the marker chrono'd at 290 fps here's what I found out. The marker consistently shot between 110 to 125 feet braced on a 4 ft high table. At 110 feet I was able to hit a 8 inch target 70% of the time I'm very certain that the 30% that missed were due to the flight characteristics of the paintballs. From 75 feet I was able to hit a 6" target 85% of the time and from 25 feet I hit the 6" target 100%. The trigger pull feels right along the lines of the real weapons I used in the military which can either be a good thing or a bad thing depending on your style of play, I like realism so I like the feel. The barrell definately has some bark you're going to know when you fire it and so will the neighbors, it's not offensive but people will look up if they are around. I've read a ton of reviews and I just have to say there must be a ton of weak people because the one complaint I read on a bunch of reviews was the weight, my only gripe isn't the weight it's the balance. I think those that think this thing is heavy should put down their game controllers and pickup some weights. I would rather have a gun made of tough materials that had a little heft to it than some light weight flimsy toy that's going to stop working the first time you drop it or hit it against something, but to each their own. The sights are kind of hokie but you should be able to get it dialed in with minimal effort, personally I don't use them at such close ranges. I didn't try to set any speed records with firing rate I think that kind of play is a waste of paint and money I was trained to make every shot count and conserve ammo. For those of you that want to spray paint they make a trigger upgrade for this marker so knock yourself out. 6/23/08 I installed a drop forward and like I suspected it did make the gun more balanced.
Conclusion: Conclusion if you're looking to get a marker that's going to last many, many years,give you very few problems, and offer tons of upgrades this is a great marker to look into. I like it for the realistic feeling I get for it but that's me if you want something that feels and looks like some exotic alien weapon look somewhere else. I'm giving it a 9 out of 10 only because of the balance. 6/23/08 With the few upgrades I have installed my marker is a weapon to be reckoned with in woodsball or scenario games, I'm too old to play speedball or airball and I don't need to fire 20 bps to hold my own and have fun, I just want a gun I can depend on and know I can keep making it better as I get better. I played all day yesterday in the rain and mud and the gun never missed a beat these things are built so durable I wouldn't want anything else.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, June 23rd, 2008 at 6:12 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (302):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media