paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98

Tippmann Custom 98 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Custom 98

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Custom 98
[ View Photos (286) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 3018
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $169

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The main feature is the ease of customizing the marker. The 98 custom combines all the great features of the model 98 with the ability to accept drop in kits for the Response Trigger, Electric kit, Flatline Barrel System, Double Trigger and Low Pressure kit. All of these kits can be installed with same tools that you use to disassemble the marker. We are sure the 98 custom is the most customizable marker you can buy.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Custom 98 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (302):  First  |  296  |  297  |  298  |  299  |  300  |  301  |  302
        Next Page
blackfire17 Sunday, August 5th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
a piranha and a blade but the dont compare
Marker Setup: tippmann 98 custom with
real tree paint
14"freak jr barrel
techtfang double trigger
riochett rhino
e-grip
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel, doudle trigger if you want to shoot fast, hopper if your chopping too much( which rarely happens)
Strengths: Acuracy

Good beginner gun that can become a pro gun
Weaknesses: Little heavy

And a little loudnothing a new barrel can fix
Review: Tis is a great gun right out of the box it was exellent.It is accurate and very power full and there are soo many ups for it its crazy you can make this gun to a pro gun easily and yea scince i have nothing else i have to ssay and there is a 50 word minimun policy im just gonna put random letters...hfgdfhjkalgrklaGruiwahfdjkldgfyuriaeghfheiuahfjrka
ytruafklgtrhfgjkfhjahfklrjwqioftghrjogyjfkalygueriqpyfrkalgy
rueiwpgkfla;uggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggrtyewggffffffffff
ffffffrwiptyuipwytruwtyruiethrekherutohguipugurehtyuierhwugt
reyuthurgtyierwyhgyjwitywerkjgbweyuofyre8oqaufiopsaugvusygue
rtwhrewjogysr;hgrtjskslhgvfds
Conclusion: buy It.its worth it trust me
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Bn Baller Friday, July 20th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Tippmann custom 98
flatline barrel
e frame
Recommended
Upgrades:
FLATLINE BARREL IS A MUST
Strengths: Never chopps, never uncocks. great all around marker
Weaknesses: The stock barrel is to short.
Review: this is the first paintball marker i have ever bought. and I dont regret it at all. i have never had a problem with it. but i oil it alot because it loves oil. It is a great beggining marker. and there are so many upgrades for it even the most advanced baller will love this gun with a little love it can go a long way.
Conclusion: Every person should use this gun at one point in their lives
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

lilpete101 Sunday, May 6th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippman a5is good but nos as good as this
Marker Setup: Just stock with double trigger kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
double trigger kit
Strengths: Power accuracy and lovely shape never goes wrong
Weaknesses: Loud thats it
Review: Well the tippman 98 custom act is a fantastic gun with unlimetd upgrade ability every thing you buy will fit on the 98 and it can becom the most fantastic marker you will ever ever us buy this gun becaue you van take it to tournaments and whip their asses just like i have yeehah this gun is the best gun ever buy this gun thats an order.
Conclusion: Fab amazing brilliant
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

shortguydave Saturday, May 5th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: rental, all stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel, bolt, e-trigger, electro hopper(if you get the e-trigger)
Strengths: Reliable, accurate, uprgradable, you can find them anywhere
Weaknesses: Crappy stock barrel, chops paint, heavy, and has minor kick
Review: Ive only rented this gun at my local field. it is a decent rental gun, but the stock barrel was terrible, it affected the accuracy too much. the gun also is too heavy to play speedball with. it chopped field paint twice but it was still pretty accurate ( as it can be w/ stock barrel). This gun is uber reliable and good for new players like me, but upgrade at least the barrel and bolt
Conclusion: It's a good gun, just get a better barrel and bolt
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

a-5tippman Saturday, May 5th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
4 years0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
a-5
Marker Setup: 98 custom
Recommended
Upgrades:
nothing
Strengths: Its accurate it looks good and it never chops paint i just love it.
Weaknesses: Nothing really
Review: I have benn using this gun every since i started plain paintball and i have loved it it has every thing i want because i love to pretend that im in the army when i play and i also love using a stock a-5 barrel on it. Also I love it because i put alot of upgrades in it that are not necessary and just make it look like militay gun and i also love playin with a 20 pound gun after i add the army barrel on it i say this gun is number 1 its the best.
Conclusion: Buy it just buy it.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

Rick James Thursday, March 15th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Sonix-this was better
Marker Setup: 98c
14 inch SP Teardrop
Flame drop
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Strengths: Durable
Shoots well
Awsome woodsball gun
Weaknesses: Slow
Heavy
Long
Review: Well my step dad bought me this gun for my first. This gun is very nice, but has a few flaws. For one its very heavy. Its also extremely long. There is a lot of upgrades avalible for it. It is a very nice gun. It always shoots and is sooooo hard to break.
Conclusion: Its a pretty good woodsball gun, i would have to say get it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

boomerisnuts Sunday, January 14th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Pilot-better A stock spyder pilot can take a stock 98 any day. But if you put money in to the 98 they become equals.
Triton 2-Worse
Marker Setup: Blue to black fade spyder pilot
14 inch j and j ceramic barrel
Shock tech top cocking spyder bolt
blue Dye sticky grips
lapco clamping feedneck without holes
evolution 2 hopper with y board
i will be switching over to hpa and then i getting a new board and a new drop off and maybe a reg. also a new microswitch and trigger
triton 2 (soon to be sold or given away)
Recommended
Upgrades:
I really do not know alot about this marker as i have only used it as a rental. But for upgrades i would say...
Barrel
E grip
Electric hopper
Strengths: See review
Weaknesses: See review
Review: Strenghts
this thing is built like a tank! i get a little jealous when i have to spend alot of time cleaning my spyder when my friends with tippmans barely have to do any matenince. also the acs works very nice. The gun will rip if you upgrade
Weakness
-the stock barrel is kinda crappy
-needs a lot of upgrades to get it on the same level that some guns come stock with, mainly expansion chambers and such
Conclusion: Get it. It is a great product with tons of upgrades.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PSPp8ntballer Saturday, December 16th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ummmm, a low-end Piranha
Marker Setup: SP Ion with a Virtue board, superfly bolt, and a Linear Barrel.
Recommended
Upgrades:
New stock barrel, lighter trigger, upgraded rate of fire.
Also could use another feedneck
Strengths: - Really Accurate
- Nice adjustable sights with an offset feedneck
- Anti Chop System
Weaknesses: -Loud stock barrel
-Heavy trigger
- Screws on feedneck fall off easily
Review: Well, my first gun was a Tippmann M98C. Actually, it was my second gun. Anyway, I bought the Tippmann because they are known for their durability. I actually liked the Spyder better becase it shoots faster. This gun is a good woodsball gun but it could still use a ton of upgrades, namely a new feedneck and a new trigger. It could also have a more common thread type. It is also easy to feild strip, but for the money you can get Trilogy Pro Cocker.
Conclusion: An Okay gun, but could me even better. Skip the M98's and just get an A-5. It'll save you money.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, December 30th, 2006 at 10:16 am PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

wmmadaras Friday, September 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 years0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
VL Orion...lol
Too many Spyders to mention
SP Ion
Diablo Wrath
Shocker
Marauder
Marker Setup: 98 custom
rt
rva
evolution II
double trigger
pe 68/3000
tear drop barrel

Other Setup:
Black Diablo Wrath
FBM Blade trigger
Delrin Bolt
R15 Ramping Board
Recommended
Upgrades:
DBL Trigger
Response is a waste of money and time.
Barrel...8.5 inch stock is useless
Strengths: Very Durable
Shoots any paint

Weaknesses: Gas Hog
Slow
Too many upgrades
Review: Ok... So I got my first paintball gun, the 98c and was overjoyed and excited. I aired it up and loved it and have been using it for too long. The first upgrade I got was the Response trigger. Pretty much useless and a waste of money. Half the time it doesn't even work, and I went through 2 of them until I found one that worked remotely. The problem is, There is not enough pressure for the R/T to work. The double trigger and the Egg were my best investments because it stops the gun from oozing with paint and it shoots faster(even though it is just about 8 bps, not like the 13 bps the box says.)

The durability. That is amazing. When I was fooling around with my friends by a creek in my back yard, I accidentally dropped it in the water. The gun didn't just get splashed. It was fully submerged for about 5 minutes, until I could get it out. I picked it up, and bam! worked like new, other than the soup that used to be paint. Of course, I immediately took it home and cleaned and oiled it.
Conclusion: What I'm trying to say is that the gun is great for beginners because of the immediate setup out of the box and the wonderful invincibility, but more experienced players, look for a more high end gun.Giving it an 8 for the durability and great times I've had with it.



P.S. I think i spelled everything right.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Friday, September 1st, 2006 at 3:39 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Angel7723 Friday, June 16th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
My sonix is better.
The MR1 on this site isn't better but I think it is.
The Icon Z is awefull just read my review.
Marker Setup: Ion
Blue Body kit
Blue Ion Q lock
Stiffi barrel
Halo B w/ Rip drive Blue (had an Empire reloader not the reloader B)
Blue CP reg
Recommended
Upgrades:
not aything really many ups it is pretty good on it own.
Strengths: Off set hopper
room for scope? Dosent make a diffrece.
Weaknesses: Heavy Huge Hasle to run with.
Review: This is a good gun don't get me wrong but it is avrage it has it's ps and downs. It is really heavy compared to most guns trust me. If you weigh this gun and an Ion or Sonix or other gun that I didn't state within the last 20 words.
Conclusion: Avrage.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (302):  First  |  296  |  297  |  298  |  299  |  300  |  301  |  302
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media