paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98

Tippmann Custom 98 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Custom 98

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Custom 98
[ View Photos (286) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 3018
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $169

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The main feature is the ease of customizing the marker. The 98 custom combines all the great features of the model 98 with the ability to accept drop in kits for the Response Trigger, Electric kit, Flatline Barrel System, Double Trigger and Low Pressure kit. All of these kits can be installed with same tools that you use to disassemble the marker. We are sure the 98 custom is the most customizable marker you can buy.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Custom 98 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (302):  First  |  297  |  298  |  299  |  300  |  301  |  302
        Next Page
akathewolf Thursday, May 25th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
2 years0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Lots of low end blowbacks and mechs.
Spyders, other Tippmanns, BE's, VL's.
Marker Setup: 98 Custom
Dead On X-Core
14" Lapco Bigshot barrel
Custom paint job.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Drop Forward would be nice/Rail, Dead On or CP.
Lapco Direct Feed.
Teflon Bolt.
Aftermarket barrel, Dye Stainless Steel, or other Stainless Steel / Carbon Fiber barrels (less changes with temp.)
Regulator / X-Chamber
rocket cock (keep dirt out and easy pull back)
Strengths: Durable
Upgragable
Cheap
Easy Handling
Controllable Recoil.
Real Gun Feel.
Removable Elbow.
Balanced
Weaknesses: Average ROF.
Side velocity adjust.
Review: (Rewritten hopefully fixes any disputes, so !!!!please ignore any disputes that are about the entry I had before!!!)
When i first got this in 2004, I was impressed cuz all I had used before that was BE's, VL's, things like the Talon, Samurai, and Avenger. And for a good reason.
This gun has to be one of the most accurate blowbacks, ive ever used, now that ive used a variety of guns and have a little more seasoning as a player, and more knowledge of the gun I am rewriting this.
This gun is not for noobs as I may have previously stated... the correct word is beginners and woodsballers. (me having one doesnt say much does it?)
I'll start with layout and balance:
This is really balanced I used my friends Evil Pimp and I was like "Whoa".
The 98 is lighter and more balanced, where as the back of the pimp has more weight on it then the front and more kick as well...
I recently did a test with my Lapco barrel on my 98 and all shooting from 30' I got
shooting about 50 shots, averaging i got the following results: *(Inch Patterns)
1" - 25 shots
5" - 12 shots
10" - 3 shots
15" - 4 shots
20" - 2 shots
(there may be some dispute over 10-15", probably had to do with velocity, which I will state next)
The gun uses a lot of air if !!!not!!! tuned correctly. Please don't make the mistake I did when writing the first review and just guess at the velocity especially if using Co2.
The X-Core is a must upgrade and will help with any consistency issues, there may be a couple drop offs depending on temps tho.
I can get roughly 1200-1300 shots off a 20oz, ask IronCorps if you want a second source, he used the X-Core on his ol' Pro-Carbine and got similar results.
So as far as consistency the gun can be saved by spending about $40 on a vert. adapter(about $10-$30), and the X-Core(available at http://www.countysports.com/ which I bought all of my gear from) (about $10-$20).
Moving to ROF, (this doesnt need to be covered, if you are getting a tippmann in the first place, dont expect high rates of fire unless you get an E-Grip or Response Trig.)
Also in short the side velocity adjuster really is kinda a pain to get at with the allen wrench, but don't get a rear adjuster kit, they just screw up the gun in my opinion.
Some of my key opinions.
The removable elbow is nice for storing or cleaning the chamber of the gun without taking it apart. also allows to fix any jams (havent ever had any)
Next the gun is so upgradable you can fit it to just about any playing style and there are always custom modification stores, if you really want to make it personal.
BTW MINE DOES NOT HAVE ACT AND I HAVE NEVER HAD A BREECH BREAK WITH MY GUN UNDER 300FPS)
Conclusion: The gun isn't that costly and is really good for those who like to rise in performance over instant gratification, and is great for beginners as well... I give it a 9 out 10 because it can be improved upon.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, October 29th, 2006 at 1:21 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

mikeD00789 Wednesday, January 25th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder xtra/ the same piece of crap
Marker Setup: i use a non semi-auto xtra. i dont no y it isnt semi auto though. but anyway ive got everything stock on my xtra. it wasnt even worthy of an electro hopper.
Recommended
Upgrades:
none
Strengths: Accuracy?
Weaknesses: Heavy
1 finger trigger
barely response trigger if u get one
Review: I get the bad end of everything. from my xtra to this, its sucked. even rentals when i first started paintball. im sick of the chopping. but at least the custom doesnt. 1 good thing. i honestly can say this gun is no good unless its yer first. even though it is still to much for a beginer.
Conclusion: iIknow you didnt get much info on the gun, but it is that bad. This and my xtra go side to side in the trash. Put this least helpful but the people need to no b4 they waste their money on this. B happy i gave it a 3.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

PbMaster598 Friday, December 9th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder guns
a few other low end markers
Marker Setup: PMI Piranha E-Force EXT 2K4
Viewloader EvLution 2 w/ Y-board
Smart Parts 16-inch All-American barrel
20 oz. CO2 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel
some kind of regulator
Strengths: Durable
light weight
Weaknesses: ROF
not accurate
loud
efficiency
Review: I had heard good things about this gun and i was very dissapointed when i got to use one. at first it was ok, but then it became very inaccurate. the owner and i decided it should be taken apart and clean to improve performance, but one of the bolts was stuck so the only thing we could do to help was to clean the barrel(which didn't help much). the gun also used a full 12oz tank on 500 rounds, which is very bad considering we didn't shoot fast. it also chops every once and a while.
Conclusion: Based on my experience with this gun, i would not reccomend it. it may have just been this one cause he never takes care of anything he gets.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

JasonA Thursday, November 17th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyders
Marker Setup: 2K2 Red-Black Fade
CP Roller Trigger
DYE Sticky Grips
Clamping Feed Neck
Shocktech Bolt
Hybrid Ram Cap
Strengths: Durable
Co2 works well
Weaknesses: Ugly
Heavy
Hard to break down
Review: I have used a 98C many times, and I would never buy one. They are ugly, Tippman could do allot better if they just made it a little nicer looking. Heavy. Hard to break down, you cant just take the inards out the back, you have to unscrew like 8 screws? Though, they are extremely durable.

In my mind Tippmans are more of rental markers. If you are just starting out, get a Spyer. They are simple, and so much cheaper.
Conclusion: Rentals - Nothing beats them
Otherwise - Get a Spyder
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

ducepapi Wednesday, April 6th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
ariakon pistol, impulse, spyder e99
Marker Setup: tippmann 98 custom, 20 oz tank ; spyder e99 w/ fast hopper, 20 oz tank; 03' impulse w/ halo b and dye 14'' boomstick , 68/3000 psi
Recommended
Upgrades:
20oz tank , flatline barrel system, response trigger, fast hopper
Strengths: Extremely durable and will last forever.
Weaknesses: Curves after short distance.
Review: I was very happy last week when i found out I that some kid was selling a 98 custom stock for just $90 . At first I thought there was something wwrong with it, but I said what the hell I'll just get anyways. After I bought the gun and took it home I shot it a few times was pretty impressed at first, but after I moved back too about 75ft I saw that this gun was not that persistant, and missed its mark often. So i thought to myself maybe that lid meesed with it. So I took it to the paintball store around, Army/Navy Outdoors. I had two different people take a look at the gun and both said that it was exactly how it should be. So after all this fuss about the tippmann 98, I realized this wasn't such a GREAT gun it was pretty much perfect at about 50-60 ft. away but once I moved back to aboout 70-80 ft it was pretty bad. The gun has little recoil and is relatively smooth-shotting. But once I was at 85 feet the gun was shooting everywhere and was taking crazy curves. I was pretty pissed at this point. I was expecting a lot more out of a TIPPMANN.
Conclusion: in conclusion the 98 custom is defenetly a newbie gun. It SHOULD never be allowed into toureys. But on the good side it is probably the most dependable gun on the market and isn't too pricy. The best part of the 98 custom is that you don't get any complications and that's cause there's no battery or any wires and you NEVER have to clean it. overall I wouldn't waste my time on this gun I'd rather be spending the money on upgrades for impulse.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

bakerskater124 Sunday, March 20th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Xtra-I own and love
Spyder e99 Avant-good
Tippmann 98 custom and model 98-no pro company would sponsor or look at a tippmann player(no offense) I don't like either.
Rebel-I've seen MUCH better
Spyder Fenix-Love it
Marker Setup: -Ion, Q-Lock, Halo B w/ Rip Drive, CP Classic 14" .689, CP Roller Trigger, Flame Drop, 72/3000, Redz Tank Cover
-VS2, Shocktech feedneck, Halo B w/ Rip Drive and Egg2 w/ Y Board, 72/3000, Redz tank cover
-Omen 1.5, 1.5 board and cam arms, timmy clamping feedneck, 72/3000, Redz Tank Cover, Halo B w/ rip drive
Recommended
Upgrades:
if you want to stick with it then a new barrel
Strengths: Light
Indestructable duh
Doesn't chop that bad
Great for scenario and woods
Weaknesses: Expensive to upgrade
A little long
Review: My friend has this gun and he let me borrow it a little under a month.Every game I played I found that it is very long, too long for speedball and also that it is very light. Compared to Spyders I don't like this gun.Spyders can be upgraded cheaply and easily.Tippmanns cost a lot to upgrade and you have to buy these stupid kits.My Xtra can be upgraded easily without having to buy kits.This gun (custom 98) should be used for scenario or woods,not speedball.
Conclusion: I wouldn't buy this unless your obsessed,play scenario or woods a lot or are looking for a decent gun.I would recommend a Spyder, but the choice is yours.
Rating:
6 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, November 23rd, 2006 at 2:34 pm PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

i_lovesniping Tuesday, February 22nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann a5s, auto mags, spyders.
Marker Setup: Diablo wrath,crossfire 47ci 3000psi hpa tank and a richochet apache 2005 hopper.
Recommended
Upgrades:
basicly whatever you can afford or what fits your preferance example new barrel.
Strengths: Reliable
fairly accurate
nice looks
good upgrades
good durability
Weaknesses: Not that good with all stock parts
This is a rental gun on most fields.
Review: This marker is a good reliable marker. You can upgrade it very easily and it is very cheap, i got a power pack deal for $240 canadian. It came with a V force armor mask a 12 ounce co2 tank tools oil and a hopper.

If you want to really make this thing good you will need the following
-after market barrel
-compressed air
-maybe a new bolt
-electric hopper
-rt trigger

And if you really like shooting far you can get a flatline barrel and a stock and scope.
You can pretty much do anything with the gun. I highly recamend this gun to others.
You cant go wrong
Conclusion: a good reliable marker.
I hope this review will help you make up your mind of what marker to buy.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, May 15th, 2005 at 4:39 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

20654 Monday, January 19th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Icon e- great
rebel 02- decent
Marker Setup: icon e
16in. J&J ceramic barrel
empire reloader
20oz tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
NEW BARREL
flatline barrel
response trigger
electronic hopper if you have response
Strengths: durable
cool looking
good upgrades
Weaknesses: hard to adjust co2 velocity
no field strip
bad stock barrel only 8in.
Review:

overall this is a good gun. its only about $130. if you like to play in the WOODS THIS IS THE GUN FOR IT. ITS EXTREMLY DURABLE, WATER PROOF AND WILL NOT RUST OR BUST. although if you like speedball or airball dont get this gun because it shoots very slow without the response and does not have a double trigger.
Conclusion: if you are a woods player go out and buy this gun. but if your an airball fan dont even go near it becaus e of its slow fire rate w/out response.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

wahoot Sunday, May 27th, 2001
 
0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: -Accurate
-Looks Awesome
-Trigger Pull (awesome)
-Barrel (not great but pretty good for stock)
Weaknesses: -Kinda heavy (who cares)
-People writing bad reviews about it cause they're losers.
-Your still reading!! Go get it now!!!!
Conclusion: Get this gun. It's awesome. It's weird, it shoots good with BE but PMI shoots straighter so that's what I would reccommend for it. Stop reading this and go get it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Roctronic Thursday, December 10th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Electra '05 w/ACS
Piranha GTI Plus Rampage
Marker Setup: Spyder Electra '05 w/ACS, DXS Pulse (V2), Pure Energy HPA
Recommended
Upgrades:
Upgraded Barrel, Proto 2-Piece is wicked.
Strengths: Comfortable
Simple Process
Easy to Clean
Power
Weaknesses: Accuracy
Speed
Size
Maneuverability
Customer Service
Review: This marker is said to be one of the most reliable and accuracte in the business. I beg to differ. I only tested it for a few games and in my opinion, its not that great. Many of the shots I took went 50 ft in the air, even after holding it as close as possible, it was still 2-10 ft off any target the sight showed as hitting. For the price, for a beginner I guess it could be worth it, but in my opinion...just rent. This marker is not worth more than $60, and I wouldn't pay a dime over it.
Conclusion: I wouldn't purchase this product. Get a Piranha GTI Plus Rampage, cheaper and much much better marker.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (302):  First  |  297  |  298  |  299  |  300  |  301  |  302
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media