paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98

Tippmann Custom 98 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Custom 98

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Custom 98
[ View Photos (286) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 3018
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $169

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The main feature is the ease of customizing the marker. The 98 custom combines all the great features of the model 98 with the ability to accept drop in kits for the Response Trigger, Electric kit, Flatline Barrel System, Double Trigger and Low Pressure kit. All of these kits can be installed with same tools that you use to disassemble the marker. We are sure the 98 custom is the most customizable marker you can buy.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Custom 98 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (302):  First  |  298  |  299  |  300  |  301  |  302
        Next Page
paintball4chili Tuesday, December 16th, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder mr1
spyder tl-r
spyder tl
tippmann model 98
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom stock.
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel
Double trigger frame
Strengths: Short trigger pool
They make a lot of upgrades for them.s
Weaknesses: Expensive for what it is.
Review: Overall i don not really like this gun. I mean its ok and i would take it but i would rather have my mr1. I don not know if i just like spyders but i think that you can get more for your money if you get a spyder. My friend is getting one because its the only gun that he has ever really heard of and he likes the tippmann name.
Conclusion: I would recommend this to a friend that is just getting started and has money. But not for somebody who has experience.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

PugPaintball68 Sunday, November 30th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
2 years0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom Platnuim Edition ~ Just as Good.
Some Different Spyders... ~ 98 is Better.
VL Triton II ~ Pretty Good, 98 Is more customizable.
Marker Setup: Realtree Camo Tippmann 98 Custom A.C.T.
16'' Tippmann Sniper Barrel
Cyclone Feed System
Quick Aim Red Dot Sight
M249 Saw Stock
Double Trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
Stock, Larger Tank [or better yet, a Compressed Air Tank], Remote Coil
Cyclone Feed
New Barrel
Strengths: Strong
Easy To Take Care of
Easy to Customize
Cheap to Customize
Cheap in General
Weaknesses: Can't Remove Entire Front Grip
Review: I've had my 98 for 2 years, and it still packs a strong punch. It has never failed me, and it is awsome for beginners, who want a marker that can be customized to play with the big dogs like the A-5 and X-7, or if the player just wants to play an every-other weekend type of thing. The only thing I don't like is that you can't remove the entire front grip, but I think nothing of it when I'm playing because it feels/fits good in my hands.
Conclusion: I would give the Tippmann 98 a 9/10 due that it can be a very flexible marker and would fit great in a Newbie's hands, or a Pro's. It is very customizable, and can transform from a beginners starter marker, to a main Scenario Marker.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, November 30th, 2008 at 6:12 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

admiralblue16 Friday, June 20th, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: Tippmann Flat-line barrel
Strengths: Does not use very much co2, Cheap
Weaknesses: Not very accurate, Flat- line barrel chops paintballs a lot
Review: This is a nice starter gun but this gun just isnt going to be very consistant for you if you have the stock barrel and if you get the flat-line its more accurate but stuff gets in the barrel and is hard to clean. I have been using this gun for about a year i upgraded to flat-line about four months after i got the gun and I started having problems with it about 8 months after i started using the gun.
Conclusion: I think if your starting of I would recommend this gun because if your using the gun very little then it should work fine but once you start to user it a lot then i would recimmend getting a more reliable gun
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

pblover19 Thursday, February 14th, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
A couple spyders and a couple different tippmanns
Marker Setup: stock gun
Recommended
Upgrades:
still in review
Strengths: Cant really find any...just an average gun.
Weaknesses: Cant really find any...just anaverage gun
Review: Honestly I would get a spyder because you can get a gun just as good for a cheaper price. But becuse Im wrighting a review on a Tippmann 98 custom its a good gun shoots fairly hard and the accuracy is half way decent... but I cant say much because the person that was using it wasnt very good.
Conclusion: Get a spyder.
i would give this gun a 7 or 8 out of 10 but because of the price i give it a 5 out of 10.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

hawkfeind Wednesday, April 4th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Recommended
Upgrades:
Double trigger,new barrel(if you want more accuracy)
Strengths: Vary upgradable!
Weaknesses: Too common
Review: I always heard of tippmann 98's and i thought they were a ok gun, Vary upgradable, and common if you want a gun that your going to see everywhere and just fit in then buy this gun but if you wanna stick out you need to get a more uncommen gun.
Conclusion: pretty good gun Vary upgradable
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

*^RwK^* Tuesday, March 13th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder extra
Marker Setup: (woodball)98 custom viewloader (speedball) spyder pilot evolution 3
Strengths: This gun shoots well
Weaknesses: But this gun breaks easy
Review: the Tippmann 98 custom breaks within a month. i was in the middle of a game when i ran out of paint so i took a pod when i lifted my hand up and the trigger fell out of its socked. so i had to surrender. i fixed it played another game and i went for my pods with my other hand and a few screws came out. this gun is accurate but breaks
Conclusion: I don't think it is the best gun you will have to repair it a lot
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

beretta92fs Monday, February 19th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ive used a spyder victor 1
spyder sonix
spyder electra
tac-5
Marker Setup: Spyder sonix
14" Progressive barrel
48 ci 3000 psi pure energy hpa tank
And all the basics (mask, etc.)
Strengths: Upgrades availible
Semi-fast w/o reponse
Weaknesses: Looks for one
Innacurate with stock
Review: I wouldent reccommend this gun my friend got this gun the first 20 shots that he fired the bolt jammed back and was nearly impossible to get unjammed and a week later the friggan trigger broke off seriously. that accuracy was unbelievebly poor comparing my spyder i mean for a 170 gun you can get the spyder sonix for 135 for power pack and a 14" progressive barrel and outpass the tippmann. And comparing that the spyder sonix looks so sexy and weights about 5 ibls with a full hopper of paintballs 2 pounds without paintballs.
Conclusion: Dont get it save your money or just get a spyder pilot ( pilot jumps around alot really) id recommend a pryder fenix if you have a budget of 150-250
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

JoeliusCeasar Thursday, February 15th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Ion
Dye Matrix '03
Angel Speed '04
Tippmann 68
Spyder Rodeo
Level 7 AutoMag
2000 Side feed wgp autococker
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion modified to feed from bottom of the gun. (-:
Qloader
CP Reg
Qev
Empire barrel kit
Hand customized single finger trigger with single trigger guard
Apex Barrel (haven't used it yet)
Recommended
Upgrades:
It's too expensive but to make it good-An expansion chamber, a regulator, a 16" barrel, and a hpa tank (but you need that on any gun to make it good)
Strengths: As long a s you take the feed neck off you can't break it.
Weaknesses: Inaccuracy
Inconsistent Velocity
Breaks Paint
Weight
Large Size
Hard to Clean
Chops
Review: It breaks lots of paint-both in the barrel and by chopping if you shoot fast at all. Compared to a spyder compact it's much less accurate, heavier, more inconsistent, harder to upgrade, more expensive and breaks a lot more paint; the only benefit you get is the better sights and rail. The Tippmann 68/pro-carbine has all of the 98's benefits and not many or its weaknesses The 68 is more consistent than a spyder and about as accurate. While being much quieter than the 98 and breaks almost no paint.
Conclusion: Buy a spyder, a tippmann 68, or even an ion if you have the money. But in all cases you should use an air tank instead of co2.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

PBshot100 Wednesday, September 20th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Xtra, Pihranna
Marker Setup: Spyder
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, Expansion Chamber if CO2 and Double Finger trigger as well as E-Hopper
Strengths: Durable, Easy clean
Weaknesses: (With stock) accuracy, can chop if rapid firing, weight-not bad though. upgrades expensive
Review: Wel wen i first got this gun i was a bit surprised to say the least. It did not seem as brilliant as claimed by others IMO. The accuracy with stock is quite poor and for some reason it chopped the paint quite often. this was the same with anothr tippman i ordered just to make sure it wasnt the gun. it is slightly heavier than other markers but people should nt complain about it because it isnt that bad. Now this gun is not dreadful, ive tried my friends upgraded model and da* its a vast improvement. unfortunately, he spent bout $250 upgrading it.
Conclusion: Like all markers, this one has its weaknesses and strengths. unfortunately, the weaknesses outweigh the strengths until the marker is upgraded. It is formidable wen up'd tho, bt this is defintely at ur expense. Try other markers before making ur deccision if your planning on buying PB gun, wat reviews say r usually a matter of opinion and what doesnt work for somone else could end up being ur best buy.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

dark_religion Sunday, March 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
VL orion
BE eradicator
ACI Assassin
Marker Setup: BE eradicator
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel
Strengths: Durable
Decent Accuracy
Weaknesses: Price
Review: I currently use a Brass Eagle Eradicator, but the day before I go to the field it gets a CO2 leak. So I had to rent a 98 for the day. Overall it is a pretty good gun. I had been waiting to use one for the longest time and I was pretty disapointed. It had only decent accuracy. I was considering buying one but to pay over a hundred dollars for something thats no better than my Brass Eagle is crazy. Mine, I dont know if this happened to anyone else, but when firing rapidly, but actually not that fast at all, the gun would lose pressure and the balls would only go about 20 feet before falling to the ground. My brother was using a friends extra gun and it was also a 98 custom. The only diff was it had a smart parts barrel on it. Turned the decent gun into a sniper! Instead of having to unload on someone to hit them, he only had to shoot about 2 rounds! Lob shots are required for the use of a stock 98 custom.
Conclusion: Its a good gun but its crap until the gun is customized. Replace the barrel and you dont need much more. The only really bad thing about the gun is the fact that it doesnt perform much better than my BE that I bought in a kit for $60 than a gun thats according to pbreview nearly $170.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (302):  First  |  298  |  299  |  300  |  301  |  302
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media