paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98

Tippmann Custom 98 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Custom 98

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Custom 98
[ View Photos (286) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 3018
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $169

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The main feature is the ease of customizing the marker. The 98 custom combines all the great features of the model 98 with the ability to accept drop in kits for the Response Trigger, Electric kit, Flatline Barrel System, Double Trigger and Low Pressure kit. All of these kits can be installed with same tools that you use to disassemble the marker. We are sure the 98 custom is the most customizable marker you can buy.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Custom 98 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (302):  First  |  299  |  300  |  301  |  302
                            
hatchj Friday, January 27th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Victor 2-small, lighter, cheap feeling. I dont like it as much
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98custom
Red dot sight
20oz co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
Only things that you can use when you buy a new gun.
Strengths: Durable
Doesn't need very much maintinence
Weaknesses: Heavy
Grips are far apart
Not my kind of gun
Review: I got the gun for my birthday and I was very excited. I didn't let go of it for a long time. The first time I used it I was impressed with it. Then I found out there is a little thing you have to do while taking the air tank off of the gun. You have to shoot while taking the tank off. I didn't think of doing this because I have used other guns that you don't have to shoot while taking the air off. The first time I used it at a field, I wasn't very satisfied. It is somewhat hard to get around corners with because of the length of the gun.

You probably shouldn't upgrade the gun unless you can use the upgrade on another gun.
Conclusion: This is just my opinion. You should still go and see if you like it for yourself.
Rating:
6 out of 10Last edited on Friday, January 27th, 2006 at 1:18 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

set me free Friday, May 13th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
xtra a-5
Marker Setup: p8 zap mach 404 loader
Recommended
Upgrades:
drop forward (exremely long) rocket cock , and definately a new barrel
Strengths: Well built and accurate , with the right barrel
Weaknesses: Slow and too basic for the price
Review: I have had it a while and im about to upgrade cuz i am not satisfied with this product . It is just to basic and by the time you upgrade you could have already bought an impulse or bko . It doesnt feed good at all and the single trigger is pitiful . its fun for a rec-baller that isnt obsessed with the sport but its my life and i dont think its all that great when you buy a brand new gun and you dont have the distance out of the box that an extra would and you cant even come close to shooting the 13 balls per second that everybody else can.
Conclusion: Ugggghhhhh get a rodeo or something you can play with out of the box , cuz you dont any distance out of it stock and stuff like that and after you upgrade it to where its decent you could have bought a high end marker.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

ThE_EmineM_ShoW Tuesday, November 2nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
-The A-5 is the only gun like the 98 ive used.
Marker Setup: Spyder Victor body- Sprint ESP frame, rear cocking, shocktech super fly bolt, new hammer, icon foregrip, icon expansion chamber, drop, 14" crossfire punishment barrel, 12v Revy with X board.
Recommended
Upgrades:
-Barrel of course
-expansion chamber
-Double trigger or R/T (anything to get some extra BPS)
Strengths: -DURABLE
-reliable
-simple
-good color for woods
Weaknesses: -Low bps
-inconsistancy
-too many users (see review)
Review: If i say something in this review thats negative towards the 98C dont take it as me trying to make the gun look bad or something. I am a spyder user and all but i dont have anything against the gun like many other spyder users.

With that said, here goes nothing.

STRENGTHS

Extremely durable- You could run this gun over with your car, throw it, kick it, and you may be able to play under water with this thing.... the point im making is that it can take a beating and will perform how it did the day you got it.

Reliability- This goes along with durability, this gun doesnt just break down for some random reason.

Simple- Easy to clean, easy to fix, easy to use.

Woodsball- Its flat black, thats what you want if your in the woods.

WEAKNESSES

this is where im gonna get flamed but this is all true no matter what anyone has to say.

Low BPS- This is the case for all mech. blowbacks. The gun is simply slow. Good for woods, but its definantly a gun you dont want to get into a firefight against a electro pnuematic with.

Inconsistancy- This gun has no Reg or expansion chamber. Therefore, its inaccurate due to inconsistant amounts of air being used between shots.

This isnt really a weekness about performance, its just something i hate about tippies. I hate going to the speed ball arena and seeing 24685354643 people using tippies. So if your a owner and you have one your not going to be differant or unique in anyway. Some people most likely dont care about that, but personally i like to have something nobody has or seen before.
Conclusion: So in the end if you play woodsball or you are new and you want a gun thats not going to fall apart i recommend getting this gun. If you play speedball or just want something alittle faster id say get a imagine for the same price.
(it seems to me that when the gun was designed to was meant for the woods)
Rating:
6 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, December 22nd, 2004 at 10:08 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

smoof7 Tuesday, February 6th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
Ion, Spyder, Triton II
Marker Setup: just used it at a paintball place and this was the gun they gave you
Recommended
Upgrades:
none.....used it a paintball place
Strengths: Not too loud, light, good handles and grips, shoots alot, doesn't waste much air
Weaknesses: Alot of $, horrible accuracy, uses up paintballs
Review: I went to LVP 3 times and this was the gun I used, they gave you tis gun to use. Its crappy. This gun is alot of money...I'm talkin' $150-200 and not worth the money. Save up! I bought a $80 gun from Walmart thats better than this, Triton II, its not THAT bad, but just not worth the time :0
Conclusion: Good gun for practicing or messing around, horrible for normal play. Its alot of money and not worth it. Dont buy it. I got it as a rental and hated it. Your sure to lose with this gun unless everyone else is using the same thing
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

scorpions Thursday, February 1st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
ion pro angel speed bob long
Marker Setup: got it didnt make any upgades no poin to
Recommended
Upgrades:
umm none just buy a new gun
Strengths: Very Accurate
Weaknesses: Heavy and doesnt shoot fast
Review: Good gun for woodsball and just playing around.If you are on a team you might as well just get an electronic gun. You can get a double trigger but it still isnt electric.Good gun for playing once or twice in the woods but i just saved up my money and got a better gun.
Conclusion: if your on a team or goin to be on one dont get it because in the NPPL and ICC you play airball mostly so you need speed. if not this is a good gun
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

piranhapro93 Sunday, January 28th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Piranha evo
Smart Parts ion
Marker Setup: Grey Piranha Evo 05
48/3000 psi w/ dye cover
ricochet ak
upgrades soon to come
Recommended
Upgrades:
literally everything if you're going to get this gun
Strengths: Top aiming
Weaknesses: Almost everything
Review: Basically, this gun sucks. BUT it's OK for woodsball. At Santa Clara Paintball, they're the standard rental marker because it's cheap, and beginners don't know that this gun is bad. The only cool thing I think is the way the aimer (whatever you want to call it) is good.
Conclusion: Don't get this gun unless you're seriously thinking of upgraded the whole thing or your a woodsballer.

Oh yeah, don't consider me as the guy who buys $1600 guns and $2000 worth of accessories
Rating:
4 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, January 28th, 2007 at 5:57 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

markade Tuesday, July 13th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
4 years0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
None, just 98Custom.
Marker Setup: All stock, no upgrades.
Recommended
Upgrades:
That depends on what you going do with it. woods ball or speed ball.
Flatline barrel, a regulator if using co2.
Strengths: Everything. marker is just the best out there. made by tippman....
Weaknesses: Not much. barrel is too short for some people.
Review: This is the first marker i ever got. was in a package deal, hopper, tank and stuff. played with my friend's out in the woods here and it just smokes!!! took a 2 year break from playing and just started to get into it again. (have other marker's for play) very durable marker, hardly any maintenance on it. i just oil it up and go play. recently i was playing against a "pro" team here, and the the owner of the field came up to me after a few rounds and asked me what i got in it? i told him stock all stock, he was amazed!! the way this thing fires!! i got a good marker!
Conclusion: Buy it!!! the best marker out there!!! easy to fix and use!!! this is now my main backup marker. but most players are scared of it. they say it hurts, poor baby's!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

NFLFanpufferj Sunday, January 22nd, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Matrix, Autococker, Spyders-different models of each manufacturer
Marker Setup: -Autococker Pro STcok '05 w/ 4500 nitro, smart parts linear barrel and VL X-board hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
Needs a WAY better barrel, double trigger
Strengths: Good for beginners
Weaknesses: Overall a terrible gun
Review: Most fields rent this gun to beginners, and it's not bad for that purpose, but if you play more than once a month, invest in a decent marker. This gun has terible acuracy (shots landed almost 3 ft apart) and even worse range (wouldn't even reach midway on the field when I was arcing it). Needs a better barrel, any barrel besides the little 5' stock one, and the single finger trigger prevents from getting quick shots off do to the hard pull. I've only played with this gun twice, when I first started playing paintball, and just recently when my autococker was messin up. The difference between a beginner using it, and an experienced player using it is huge. Beginner's will find the gun marginally decent, but as I said, experienced players will generally hate it.
Conclusion: Good to rent, bad to own.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (302):  First  |  299  |  300  |  301  |  302
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media