paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98

Tippmann Custom 98 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Custom 98

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Custom 98
[ View Photos (286) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 3018
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $169

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The main feature is the ease of customizing the marker. The 98 custom combines all the great features of the model 98 with the ability to accept drop in kits for the Response Trigger, Electric kit, Flatline Barrel System, Double Trigger and Low Pressure kit. All of these kits can be installed with same tools that you use to disassemble the marker. We are sure the 98 custom is the most customizable marker you can buy.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Custom 98 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (302):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
dirty_rat Monday, January 17th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
4 years5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Kingman Viewloader and JT guns
Marker Setup: Tippmann Model 98 with a 14" Custom Products barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel 1st of all, anti siphoning your co2 is never a bad call
Strengths: Durability, efficiency, accuracy (when suited with a proper barrel)
Weaknesses: Inaccuracy with stock barrel, hard to field strip
Review: I enjoy using this marker very much. It's always been a solid piece of equipment for me which I cannot say for some of my friends guns. Tippmann made the marker simple and tough and that's the way it should be. I would definitly recommend this to anybody searching for a marker just to have fun with and not extensively upgrade.
Conclusion: Get it if you just like to go out and have fun and not waste money on boat loads of upgrades.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Coenen Tuesday, January 29th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Raptor-not even close
Stingray 2 w/ barrel upgrade-ok but still not even close
Spyder- just tested but in my opinion not as good
Marker Setup: 98 custom w/ rocket cock and Smart parts teardrop soon to come
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, expansion chamber, rocket cock
Strengths: Near unbreakable, has only broken one ball in the 1500+ I've shot thru it, this includes some BE but mostly RPS super swirls. Very accurate, I have no idea why some knock the stock barrel it is very good, but lack a bit of range, and accuracy at long range. Easy to maintain, but that may be b/c of the rocket cock, which really helps keep crap outta the action, especailly dirt and paint. Gas efficeint, gets 600+ rounds off of a 12oz of CO2. Price, reliable and worth the $120 I paid.
Weaknesses: Field stripping would be a pain, but a well kept gun shouldn't need it. The ball latch tends to pop out when the gun is disassembled, as does the end cap, minor set backs, but with a tray under the gun you don't lose any parts. Also one of the short pins in the receiver sheared off, but that's prolly my fault fer leaving the gun cocked fer a long time, no worries tho Tippy will replace it, it is under warranty after all. Kinda long too, but I move alot so gettin' inta tight spots hasn't been much of a problem. Shoots down ALOT when low on CO2 but keep the gas flowin' and it should do fine.
Conclusion: A good weapon, maintenance is no prob especially it ya follow the manual. The problems should not effect you much on the field as long as the gun is taken care of off of the field. I'm not gunna say go get one right now, but at least give one a try before buyin' a spyder or more expensive marker, I don't think that you will be dissappointed. Mine has worked first time every time w/ no real prob 'cept the pin 'n that didn't happen till I got home. Overall a fine marker. I'll give it an eight 'cuz nuthin's perfect and the field stipping thing is a pain.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ByPermitOnly Friday, May 30th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
A Titan
A Piranha
A few Spyders I tried out

None of them compare with the consistency, durability and overall appearance of this gun
Marker Setup: Tippman 98 Custom with 14" Smart Parts Tear Drop Barrel, Ricochet 2K Black Hopper with counter, Worr Gas 70ci 4500psi Nitrogen tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
The stock barrel above average for a stock barrel. A very reliable barrel, shoots pretty straight, cleans easy. But I'd recommend an aftermarket barrel more suitable for your personal way of play. E.g. Whether you're a front or back player, etc.
Strengths: Very Reliable
Very Durable
Great Customer Service
Very Consistent
Extremely Upgradable
Perfect for Beginners
Weaknesses: None accept the Stock Barrel which is above average for a Stock barrel
Review: I ordered the Tippman 98 Custom after reading tons of favourable reviews for it and had my hopes that it would live up to the 9's and 10's it was getting on this site and others. IT DOES. This isn't a super fast Electro-pneumatic Autococker and it doesn't try to be. If you want one of those save up a couple grand. For less than 200 US dollars this gun is a steal and it's that cheap everywhere. It is all the Strengths I mentioned above plus I love the design. It feels and looks and performs like a weapon should. It doesn't have some splashy bright blue colour and shiny slippery handles. This thing looks dangerous and IS dangerous. Perfect Entry level marker.
Conclusion: Of course it's not he best gun. But it's perfect at what it sets out to be. An affordable and reliable entry level marker.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

hambone Monday, January 5th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Some crappy brass eagle
A-5 (liked it more but couldnt afford it)
Recommended
Upgrades:
go with a new barell first after that you can look into other upgrades.
Strengths: key strengths is just that strength
Weaknesses: mine came with a little 9 oz bottle
Review: You can abuse this marker and it will keep firing, droped mine in a creek pulled it out and BLAM!! kept on firing. No matter what kind of ball you are looking at playing this marker can be easily modified to any configuration you desire, Upgrades are cheap except for the e-bolt.
Most fields use these as rentals due to their reliability and ease of maintance. For the price you pay for one you cant find a better marker.
Field stripping is not something you would do duning a game but even so it takes a few minuits to fieldstrip the 98c...my first time took me about 20 minuits. now it only takes about 4 to dissasemble wipe oil and reassemble. If this is a factor you can purchace thumbscrews to make it a little faster
A lot of people say this marker is heavy but actually it is practicaly the same wieght as most other markers on the field today. It is just that the marker is a little long due to its design and people assume it is heavy

Conclusion: Get it, its cheap reliable easily modified and practically maintance free....but if you have the extra cash go on out and get an A-5
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, March 22nd, 2004 at 7:32 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

TippJoeman Saturday, October 25th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Xtra-same
Raptor-Much Worse
Marader-Even worse than raptor
Spyder Shutter- better
Marker Setup: T.E.S. (Tactical Electronic Sniper)
3000psi crossfire nitro
stock Barrel

Former Tippman Owner- 1 year
Recommended
Upgrades:
For those of you who really want to get into paintball and have the money to spend I would buy a barrel for this gun. I recommend a CP around 14 inch. The Stock barrel for this gun is only 8 1/2 inches long, so cheap balls curve (big balls, store brand).
The stock barrel is also quite loud due to the shortness of the barrel and limited space for the CO2 to get out. This makes it easy for your opponents to pick out your position, along with the neighboors who dont like noise.
However for those of you who play seldom, or dont have an outstanding paycheck the stock barrel will work fine, just buy Dusks (My recommended paintballs for this gun)
A double finger trigger may also help for rapidfire.
Strengths: Durability, easy fit, accuracy (overall), no constant cleaning
Weaknesses: Barrel, not ball on ball, bad rapidfire, fieldstripping, length
Review: The Tippman Custom 98 is a great gun for the mediocre player. Its durability makes it so the owner only has to clean the gun one out of every 7 times, give or take. However little cleaning comes with a price. The Tippman 98 is very difficult to clean. DO NOT TRY TO FIELD STRIP, you might as well give up and come back another day. Its not worth loosing all the pieces, not to mention the gun could get shot by your opponent flinging bits and pieces into the air.
To clean you must unscrew 8 screws with an Alan wrench, taking more that 15 min. The cover comes off only to completely expose the entire inside of the gun. This makes it very easy for bolts and gizmoze to fall out of place. When something falls out it takes forever to find were it goes. Anyone who owns a 98 will have to become an excellent mechanic to find all the nooks and crannys to get the gun to work at its best.
The Tippman 98 is designed like a real gun. Unlike guns such as the Spyder Xtra which obviously looks like some kind of toy gun the Tippman looks real, so don't go and scare the neighbors with it! This design is also good due to it gives the shooter a nice easy feel to the gun and its handling.
The downside to the real gun looking design of the 98 Custom is the length of the overall gun, from the front handle to the trigger the gun is accurately quite long compared to your average paintball gun. This makes it hard to switch your grip on the gun with the CO2 attached. This is probably why the manufactures decided to make the barrel abnormally small.
The Custom 98's barrel is one of the guns key weaknesses, and what separates it from the higher, more professional market of paintball. The barrel is only 8 1/2 inches long so balls will curve. This becomes a problem as the paint does not end up ball on ball. This makes the Tippman very difficult to snipe down opponents. So a good technique is to shoot in quick bursts instead of going for finesse with a one shot kill.
To minimize paintball curve I highly recommend Dusk, by Diablo paintballs, they seem to fit the stock barrel the best. PMI's fit well too. Do not use Big Ball paintballs, or store brand. You will find that the gun is to rough on the paint and you gun performance will be lower. However if you have plenty of spending cash, no paintballs can match marballizers.
However the Tippman needs some getting used to and before you know it you will be able to anticipate the curve and aim accordingly. The gun isn't completely random. But there will always be a little more curve than ideal. So I would recommend getting a new barrel. (I would choose a 14 inch CP personally, Average price $50 at local stores)
The weight of a Tippman is a little on the heavy side. However it wont effect your game to much. It will take a little getting used to. All loaded up and ready to go it will weigh about 8 pounds give or take.
A good strategy for the Tippman is to shoot in bursts. This way when one of the balls curves off and misses you wont of given you position away with out having three or four other balls hurling at your opponent giving you better odds. This is not a finesse gun, you will have to shoot more paintballs than other competing guns, like the Spyder Xtra, but a few more paintballs I would gladly pay for a good win over you rival neighbors.
Also the gun comes with a stock one finger trigger, this makes it harder to completely unload, but helps novices learn when to shoot. They do make double triggers for the 98 custom, but it is not a must.
Conclusion: I never knew how good this gun is until I was introduced to the BE raptor from one of my friends. I quickly learned how well my gun was put together, the nice fit and accuracy (overall).
I would not recommend this gun to pro players looking for an upgrade from something like a cocker, and I would also not recommend this gun to people who have never shot a gun before, go in you backyard and shoot a few with your friends BE gun, get good with you accuracy and then buy the Tippman 98.
You will appreciate the guns feel, durability and accuracy much more than if it is what you start out with.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, April 15th, 2004 at 4:03 pm PST
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

Psyco Wednesday, April 23rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year5 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 rentals
Piranha STS G3
CORE Sharc
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom (Black)
Drop forward
Double Trigger
14" JJ Cermanic Barrel
Expansion Chamber (As soon as I get my next pay check)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Drop forward
new barrel
Expansion Chamber
Strengths: Really Tough
Accurate ( w/ new barrel )
You can make it any thing you want.
Weaknesses: Heavy
Long
Hard to field strip
Stock barrel sucks!
Ugly
Gas hog
Review: I LOVE MY TIPPMANN!!!!! Most of my friends have tippmanns and they are all different. You can customize it so YOU get the best results out of it. And for another it is tough! I have dropped it and accidentally threw it at some one and last big game I played I jumped in a stream with it AND IT STILL WORKS!! I never clean it. The only problem I had was I lost a screw that holds the grip on. But those screws are cheap, so who cares.
Conclusion: Tis is one of the best most relible markers you can buy.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

ecbbomber31 Wednesday, April 9th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
all sorts of spyders..... most cannot outpserform a tippy.
Marker Setup: tippmann J&J full tilt ceramic 14"
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel.... i would get rear cocking.... but thats just me
Strengths: good trigger pull/ good on co2/ durable and reliable
Weaknesses: a little long/ a little heavy/bad stock barrel
Review: for years i was buying new spyders and also throwing old ones away. why??? because all spyders do is break.... so i had to settle down and buy an awesome reliable/ durable gun. This gun can outperform any non electro spyder anyday. They are the best guns on the market. anyone who uses this gun should know they have a good gun. and plus i am planning to keeep this thing for a long time.
Conclusion: good solid reliable gun, better than spyders, and i would reccomend this gu to absolutley anyone
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

fenixman Tuesday, March 8th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Pilot
Marker Setup: Fenix ACS with a Halo hopper, a 14 inch Empire Twister Spyder Barrel, Smart Parts 20oz Tank With Smart Parts On / Off Valve CO2 Tank, and a Kingman Rocking Trigger Frame
Recommended
Upgrades:
better barrel, probably a flatline, response trigger, e-bolt, stock for woodball (your own preference)
Strengths: It was a simple and durable pretty cheap, but not the upgrades they're expensive
Weaknesses: Chopped badly
horrible distance
even worse aim
do not like look
single trigger
Review: I used this gun a few times to see how I liked it, because everyone was talking about it saying how much it rocked, so I thought why not use my freinds, and see how it does. So I go out there, super hyped to try out this awesome gun, and got TOTALLY AND COMPLETELY WASTED. I would shoot, and it would chop. So I take another one, and it chops, and it did that until I was spraying nothing but peices of shell and paint. So I go out and squeegee it, feild strip it and clean out all the paint. so Im ready the next round, and go. I start firing, and what happens? It chops. And what paintballs were coming out I had to lob over to them. So finally I get 5 feet away, and pounce on this guy. I fire and it all curves to the side. I couldnt beleive it. He fires at me using his tippman 98 and totally misses. So I go behind some cover and pop back out, and finally hit him. This gun totally disapointed me. I didnt expect it to be a very good speedball gun. it could have been my gun, but even my opponents with tippys werent doing so hot. I dont like to bash name brands (except brass eagle of course) but this gun didnt work for me.
Conclusion: Despite the fact that this gun totally reeked, I got my fair share of people out for how badly it performed, and so thats why its a 3.
Rating:
3 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, March 9th, 2005 at 10:53 am PST
I found this review  
9 Comments - Add Comment

tippmannkiller Wednesday, December 13th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
6 months5 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tac 5 Recon (best tactical woodsball gun)
Tippmann A5 (better than 98)
Tippmann 98 (about the same)
T16 M4 (do not buy this gun blows)
Marker Setup: Tac 5 Recon with Camo Paint, 9 inch smoth bore barrel with compensator, dual trigger, smoke camo halo 200 rd hopper with extension, 9oz CO2 with camo cover or 20oz if its speed ball, 30mm auto ordinance red dot sight, right hand sniper position elbow, tactical green laser pointer, new stainless steel reciever, 14 inch bipod,
Recommended
Upgrades:
Buy a A5 if ya want to stick with Tippmanns
Buy a Tac 5 Recon if ya dont
Strengths: Durable
Not electronic
Weaknesses: Accuracy sucks after 60ft
Needs lots of upgrades
Chops paint
To many of them
Sucks
Review: To start this gun is so over rated. Every person and their mother has one and chops paint every 50rds. But it is pretty easy to field strip but im in the army so i guess any gun is easy to strip for me. I use this gun as a 3rd backup and fails to compare with my A5 or Tac 5. Its like the AK47 of guns because their is to many of them and they are all unaccurate. Its not like my gun has a fault in it, cuz my freind has the same gun and it has the same problems.
Conclusion: Dont buy it unless $200 in upgrades sounds good to you.....and dont be sending me hate mail Tippmann fans cuz i love my A5 its just they could have done so much better with the 98 Custom:(
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, December 13th, 2006 at 10:14 pm PST
I found this review  
12 Comments - Add Comment

brett_winters Wednesday, July 23rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year5 of 25 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder flash, pirana e force, spyder sonix , electra dx all better
Marker Setup: tippmann 98
14" cp
Recommended
Upgrades:
a new barrel, responce expansion low pressure kit
Strengths: easily upgradable, decent looking ,good trigger pull
Weaknesses: loud, dependability, range, field strip,
Review: this was my first marker when i started out a few years ago. I read the reviews and trusted it would be a good beginner marker. People talk about its dependability and how great it is. I thought that i would rarely do anything on it but oil it. I was wrong This gun is about as dependable as a brass eagle. when i first got it the elbow was rattling and the gun was leaking co2 out of the bolt and the macro line. i sent it back to them and had them fix everything wrong with it. a little later i bought a spyder flash which i had heard great things about. when i got the tippmann back, it became my backup marker. I let my friends borrow it when we went paintballing. After 2 days of letting them borrow it, the gun began to double fire and then not recock itself. Then the gun began to shoot at the most 15 feet. This is pretty sad that it has broken on me 2 times when i havnt even put 2 cases through it I went home and took it apart i checked everything that could be wrong with it. i oiled it and cleaned it just to make sure. when i called tippmann they just told me to send it in. I would do that but it is like 12 dollars each way to mail it. I asked them what could be wrong they just kept telling me they didnt know and just mail it in. when the gun did work it was loud as hell. also it is a pain to oil and take apart. i think it is a bad valve thats causing this. when the gun worked i would give it an 8 but that was rare.
Conclusion: i dont think this is a marker for anyone who wants to spend their time fixing the marker instead of playing. Maybe i just got a defect, but im not sure. I cannot even use this gun as a backup i am giving it a 3 which i think it deserves in my case
Rating:
3 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, March 2nd, 2004 at 1:56 am PST
I found this review  
58 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (302):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media