paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98

Tippmann Custom 98 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Custom 98

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Custom 98
[ View Photos (286) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 3018
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $169

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The main feature is the ease of customizing the marker. The 98 custom combines all the great features of the model 98 with the ability to accept drop in kits for the Response Trigger, Electric kit, Flatline Barrel System, Double Trigger and Low Pressure kit. All of these kits can be installed with same tools that you use to disassemble the marker. We are sure the 98 custom is the most customizable marker you can buy.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Custom 98 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (302):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
mazzlex Wednesday, February 23rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year5 of 31 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Imagine, Diablo Mongoose, Tippmann A-5, Diablo Wrath, Smart Parts Ion
Marker Setup: 2003 Tippmann 98 Custom
14" 2-piece barrel
Nitro Tank
Double Trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
Everything Possibe
Strengths: Durability (wow, I've ran this thing over with a car)
Cheap
Weaknesses: No quality
Inaccurate (even with new $85 barrel)
WAY too popular
ALL STOCK PARTS SUCK
Review: Alright, when I was just getting into the sport about 8 months ago, I got a 98 Custom because I was told that it was the best begginer marker available. NOT TRUE AT ALL!! The first time I gased this thing up (with my 2-piece Xcel, because don't even bother with the stock one) it chopped like heck not even shooting that fast and it made me look like a complete idiot the first time I took it out to the field. Trust me, if you have the money to buy this, I STRONGLY incourage you to buy a Spyder, Piranha, Diablo (they're pretty much all the same) instead. You will be much happier with your purchase.

If you are willing to save up a bit more (or already have the $$$) I definately reccomend the brand new Diablo Wrath marker. This thing is just magic. It shoots 20 bps, it's totally beautiful and it has great eyes. It's just as good as any marker double it's price. The new Ion by Smart Parts is not close behind, but I would still reccomend the Wrath.
Conclusion: Don't waste your money. There are WAY better guns than this at its price and even better at just a few bucks more.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
23 Comments - Add Comment

tacballer Wednesday, May 19th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
4 years4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Marker Setup: 16in Smart Parts Linear barrel
Flatline barrel
Gravity feed hopper
72ci Pure Energy compressed air tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel at a minimum
Cyclone Feed
Strengths: Powerful
Durable
Never jams
Simple tear down
Weaknesses: Heavy
Slow rate of fire
Accuracy (might just be mine)
Loud
Review: Now this was my first gun and it was definitely second hand. Mine is one of the older style so some of the issues I'm having with it may just be because it's old. This has become the gun I lone out or use as a backup if my Vibe goes down.

The good
My T98C has a hard time getting down to 300fps. it usually like to hover at 310-315 for most of the day and then dip to about 290 by the last few games. But trust me, people don't really like to be on the receiving end of a Tippmann. They tend to know that its a good powerful gun and the they will know when they get hit.

This is a great gun for beginners who have little or no experience with paintball and don't really have much finesse. The T98C will take just about anything you can dish out and keep working even under less than preferred conditions.

I've only gotten this thing to jam once and that was because a paintball broke in the barrel and part of the shell jammed up the bolt. Short of this incident I have yet to find any other way to make this thing quit

This is a pretty easy tear down for cleaning just unscrew all screws and pull apart the halves making sure that the spring doesn't go flying. clean whatever needs to be cleaned then simply put it back together in the reverse order that you took it apart.

The bad

Now this gun is a lil' on the heavy side and for those of us who like lightweight guns this may not be our first choice.

For the rate of fire it could better but for a mechanical gun its doin' pretty good. If you out shoot a gravity feed system on this gun it will chew up paint like it wasn't even there so I'd suggest investing in a Cyclone feed like the A-5 or a low end electric hopper because lets face it even the low grade ones can out feed the rate of fire.

Mine has an accuracy problem I don't know if anyone else has this problem though. Mine likes to pull to the right and it varies between shots. With the old Flatline I have (like 1st gen i think) it is even less accurate and so I don't even bother using it.

Finally this gun is LOUD. if you plan on trying to be sneaky and get behind the other team and start picking them off this is not the gun. They will hear you as soon as you fire the first shot and probably even be able to point you out if you are concealed. The Linear barrel I have for it does quiet the shot but only slightly.

Another note. Make sure you check your sear for wear during tear down. The sear is what locks the bolt back after you fire. My brother had an issue with the sear rounding off and subsequently the gun when fire would not stop firing because the bolt wouldn't catch and would start chopping every paintball fed to it. If this happens to your gun to stop the bolt you have to physically stop it and try to lock it back or detach the source of air. He had two sears go bad on him and luckily both times he replaced the sear it was free from Tippmann. Customer service is pretty awesome and should send you another one.
Conclusion: This gun will go to hell and back with you and still operate well. Not the best for experienced players but most definitely great for beginners looking for they're first gun.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pbking44 Friday, January 22nd, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
1 year4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A5 - The Tippmann A5 is very similar to the 98 custom, but has the cyclone feeder thus it can shoot faster. The internals of both guns are very similar. In my opinion a stock A5 is a little better than the 98 custom, only because of the cyclone feeder.
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom A.C.T. - Response Trigger, Cyclone Feeder, X-7 hopper, J&J 20 inch ceramic barrel, Apex Tip
Recommended
Upgrades:
The stock gun is alright for begginers, but in my opinion the most important upgrade is the response trigger because it gives you so much more fire power.
Strengths: Many upgrade options. Very reliable. Cheap.
Weaknesses: None
Review: The 98 custom is a very reliable and good marker. There are many upgrades you can add on to it. For only about $140 you get a very good marker. Its also very easy to maintain its good working condition. I consider more of a woodsball marker than speedball, but if you get some fire power upgrades it does great in speedball.
Conclusion: I would for sure buy this gun if you haven't already. It's a great product and Tippmann did a great job on it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Paintthrower100 Monday, June 23rd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
nothing i have used compares to the 98.
Marker Setup: cp 14" barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
NEEDS A NEW BARREL..... the only reason that that barrel is on there is so they can say it comes with one. you WILL NOT be able to shoot very acurate with the stock barrel!
Strengths: Very upgradable, nice foregrip. ACT (anti chop technology) works great!
Weaknesses: Bad barrel. just about it....
Review: Overall nice gun, very accurate (if new barrel is purchased) THIS is one tough gun... you could drop it and throw it and put it under water and it would still shoot!!! good looks, again very good gun! Easy to clean just press front sight in and hopper elbow comes off!
Conclusion: I say "Get IT" not to expensive compaired to others... In words of others, "you get what you pay for" so make the right choice!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Naxon Tuesday, May 15th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Xtra
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
J&J 14'' Ceramic Barrel
Double trigger kit
HPA - 3000 PSI
Recommended
Upgrades:
Anything else than the stock barrel is neccesary!
A doubletrigger or a responce trigger is never wrong to increase the BPS.
And since the marker is quite long... buy a drop forward!
Strengths: - Durability
- ACT System
- Lots of upgrades
- Reasonable prize
Weaknesses: - Hard to Field Strap
Review: The good parts:

Durability
Throw it on a rock, smash it to a tree, jump on it, whatever you do with it, the marker stays steady as a rock. Of course you will not avoid the scratches on it, but 98 C stays indact almost no matter what happens to it.

ACT System
Especially if you have upgraded you trigger and not the magazine, ACT is wonderful to have. Instead of having balls choped by the bolt when you are fireing the marker let's the ball fall down by letting the back bolt fire through but the front bolt stay in position.

Lots of upgrades
Not only has Tippmann themselves a lot of upgrades, so does many other manufacturers. Tippmann has the threads to make the marker fit with most barrels.
A plus is that 98 C bigger brothers (A-5) "Cyclone Feed" can be bought and attatched to the 98 C, making it almost as good as the A-5.

Reasonable Prize
I bought mine including a HPA system for 200$. It delivers a whole lot of quality for that prize.

The bad part:

Hard to field strap
It might just be me, but I feel that there are 2-3 parts who directly falls out of place when you field strap. If you want to change/check something, you will have to fix 'em all.
Conclusion: A really good beginners marker who, since it can be upgraded a whole lot, also fits more advanced players.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bunkerboydrew Wednesday, February 9th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
2 years4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
zap 500
piranha R6 E and non E
A-5
Marker Setup: 04 vert(prostock) cocker E2
sto kaner barrel kit
70ci crossfire
Empire reloader b
Super fly bolt
Pursuit custom shop quicker ram with QEV's and micro rock lpr
CP shorty
Dye attack pack
Lock lid pods
Profiler

Shocker black 05
Stiffi 14 in .689
NDZ stinger bolt
NDZ roller blade trigger
Q-lock
CIP unimount

senario gun
A-5
RT
flatline
full stock (so it looks like and MP5 or SP89)
remote
6+1 black
CP pods
98 with revy as my back up
Recommended
Upgrades:
It's a 98 custom so you can do whatever you want! There are endless choices
but the basics you know -like a new barrel and a motorized hopper- a revy is fine. Stay with co2 because tippmanns work better on co2.
Strengths: Read review
Weaknesses: Read review

Review: Pros
Extremely durable- these thing will take on any thing such as rain, mud, paint, concrete (a fall of about 4 feet). Why do you think most fields rent these out?! You would have to put it on the ground and stomp and beat on it with a brick, I would say don't try this, however.

Cheap- these things can be picked up new for like $130 and I have seen used ones sell for about $70. There is nothing wrong with buying a used one of these because you can't hurt them.

Easy cleaning- easy dis-assembly and very simple mechanics. That also means easy to have work done on it, even thought you're probably not going to have any problems. Not a lot of places for paint to go. You just oil it and wipe the paint off and that's all you really need to do. Take it apart only if it really needs it.

Accuracy- for a beginner gun it has superior accuracy even with the stock barrel

ROF- for a beginner non-electric gun this baby can spit them out with its light 3 pound trigger pull.

Up-grades- this thing has so many different ups. With this everybody can find something- woods ball, speed ball, tournament, etc.

Cons
None really unless you expect it to act like a $1000 dollar gun out of the box!
Conclusion: These things have the best value of any other gun on the market with great accuracy, durability, easy maintenance, ROF and style all for one low price. No other marker can compete for the money versus what you get. Definately a 10/10. Any new player or some one who wants a gun that won't quit until they quit should get this ultra upgradable gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, October 13th, 2005 at 7:52 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ItalianStall1on Tuesday, February 8th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann a-5 w/ smarts parts progressive barrel.
Marker Setup: 2005 tippmann custom 98 w/ rocket cock, upgraded velocity adjust for peak performance, a warped sportz lucky 15 barrel (15", best barrel out right now for the money) and a 3000 psi nitro tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Definitely get a new barrel, I recommend the flatline or any thing made by progressive, empire, or warped sportz. since the 98 custom doesn't come w/ an all-weather bolt, get a rocket cock. if you're going to really stick with your 98 (meaning you're not going to go buy a new gun) buy all of what i listed above. i would also try to get a nitro tank because you can still use it no matter what gun you end up with later down the road.
Strengths: Looks great, very dependable, can be upgraded easily, durable.
Weaknesses: Its a bit heavy and inaccurate (only b/c of the stock barrel).
Review: From the moment I got my gun for Christmas I was very excited about it. I couldn't wait to try it out. It seemed like it was awesome all around when I was just messing around w/ it outdoors, shooting at trees and what not. It wasn't until I went to play some woods ball w/ some buddies that I realized how much the accuracy sucked. I went out that night and bought a warped sportz lucky 15 barrel and went back the next day with the same people. It was amazing what just that barrel did for me. I was able to long ball people and still have the benefits of a great front man barrel. Everyone we played against had rented the paintball coarse's 98 customs which were years old and they really worked good for being as old as they were. It was at that moment that I realized lucky I was to have bought a 98 custom. If you want to spend a little more money then go for the A-5, its made by tippmann and its just as good as the 98 custom. Its a little heavy but hey, if you ever drop your 98 custom it will be just fine, you could slam it on the ground and it would be just as reliable. I dare you to slam your spyder or any other brand of gun on the ground and let me know how that works out for you. The army at one point was using the A-5's to train w/, I don't know if they still do or not but that's made by tippmann. It's an all around awesome gun. And last, they have the most convenient customer service and support. I don't even know why tippmann offer a warranty on their guns because they almost never malfunction, just ask around and find out for yourself. Why buy any other gun or brand.
Conclusion: If I haven't said enough already, this is the best gun money can buy. With all the money you save buying a custom 98 you can easily buy a top of the line barrel for it and still have the total cost less than any other gun. O and did I mention that it will be a lot better than any gun after you buy that barrel, it just makes the most sense to buy; best bang for your buck
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

gudrichman Tuesday, January 25th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann Pro-Lite (at rentals)

Marker Setup: Chrome .45 Grip Panels
32 Degrees 16 inch Ceramic Barrel
3000psi 20 oz tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Halo B Feeding system
Flatline Barrel (or just something better than the stock one)
Response Trigger system
Strengths: Reliable
Durable
Comfortable
Accurate (with better barrel)
Upgradeable as hell
Low Price
Weaknesses: Sights need to be adjusted
The Stock barrel sucks
Review: Well, since this is my first paintball gun (thats actually mine), I can't compare it much to other guns for now, since the only other gun besides this one that I've tried so far is the Tippmann Pro-Lite at the rentals, which I thought wasn't very good.

Looks: First of all, the gun looks pretty cool straight out of the box, but it's even better with the Chrome .45 Grip panels I put on it. It actually sort of looks like an MP40 at first sight.

Feel: Big plus for this marker! The correctly placed front grip makes this a very comfortable gun, and the additional butt plate for the C02 tank not only improves comfort, but also improves aim as well since this feature decreases recoil considerably at high firing rates (15+ bps) and increases stability.

Accuracy: With the stock barrel, it sucks, with a better barrel, it's probably much better, since I haven't bought one yet. But the comfortable feel and butt plate make up for this weakness. Oh, and the sights REALLY need adjustment, which is actually the first thing you should do, THEN buy a new barrel.

*update*--I have recieved my new barrel, I've tested the gun and it's about thrice as accurate as it was before, therefore proving the fact that the stock barrel needs to be replaced.

Firing rate: Pretty decent in my opinion (10-15 bps, with velocity adjusted) for a low end gun, I recommend buying a Halo B Feeding system and a response trigger system, or if you're REALLY hardcore buy the T98 E-bolt electric system for $400.

Upgrades: The T98C's REAL strong point, you can pimp this baby out in so many different ways and with so many different accessories, and so easily. I mean, it's SO easy to mod this marker! All you need are the five allen screws that come with the gun, the instruction manual and a tiny bit of patience...that's it.

C02 usage: Depends on what velocity you have adjusted your marker to, if you have on 190 fps the gas usage will be fairly low, but if you're firing the gun at 300 fps...that's a whole different story, the paintball will literally explode in the chamber the second you pull the trigger, unless you have pricy Sniper paintballs. I suggest you adjust your gun to 260 fps and chronograph it, just to make sure.

*update*--Get a 20 oz tank like I did w/ buttplate so you'll have twice the firepower and about 800 rounds before the Co2 runs out.

Cleaning: You'll rarely have to clean this gun.

Conclusion: In my opinion, it's an excellent gun for anybody, ranging from pros to n00bs (like me, lol), it's reliable, durable, comfortable, upgradeable as hell, and not too pricey either. Only inaccurate sights and a crappy barrel bring the score down.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, January 28th, 2005 at 10:42 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Hardtarget89 Thursday, June 10th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Friend has an A-5 -It's alright alright
Marker Setup: 98 custom
14' teardrop barrel
20oz CO2 tanks
Recommended
Upgrades:
I got a better barrel
Strengths: Durability
Range
Velocity
Color - looks
customization
Performance
Weaknesses: Everyone has them, hopper
Review: This gun is the best gun that you can possibly get under...probably $250. It is that good! Other guns will break and are junk (spyder). This gun can slam against trees and be pummeled with paintballs and not be affected. If me saying this means nothing to you, ask every paintball field why they rent out Tippmanns. They are the most reliable, are at a cheap price, and preforme great. I've had a 98 Custom my whole playing career and it has not preformed poorly once. The gun is very reliable and efficient. I play wood-ball with my friends and this gun wrecks the competition, even against a fenix and electra. It is a little loud, but with a new barrel it'll shut up.

Statistics of a stock 98 custom:

Weight- 2.9 lbs. (without tank)
Range- 150+ ft.
Hopper- 150 rounds
Caliber- .68
Fireing method- semi-auto
Air types- compressed air, nitrogen, or CO2 cylinder
Cycle Rate- 11 rounds per second
Stock Barrel- 8.5"
Length with stock barrel- 19.63"
Conclusion: I obviously recommend this gun to any type of player, new-advanced. Take a look at its stats and see if you like it. For new people it is great to start and as you get better and gain more money, you can get new, better parts. For an advanced player, you use the right upgrades, and you can be talkin about a very very good gun. If your still iffy about it, try it out at a field by renting it. Even after the field has rented them out to tons of people, it should still preform great. If you are looking for a quality marker, this is the best.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, April 16th, 2005 at 4:09 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Agent_47 Monday, February 23rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
uhhh.... havn't used anything similar to a custom 98, but i'll list what i've used

BE blade
Rebel Xtreme
Marker Setup: Tippmann Custom 98: Lapco sight rail, lapco bigshot, 32* rear velocity adjuster, toxic double trigger

ACI maverick: stock, will get a bottomline, adco sight, and somehow make a vert grip on the pump
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel, most guns need a new barrel
something to make it more gas effiecient
Strengths: See review
Weaknesses: See review
Review: ok, decided to rewrite this review.... so here it is

Strengths:

Durablity: This is as durable as a paintball gun can get. Throw the damn thing off of a cliff, it'll get a scratch. Dunk it in water, it'll get wet. *quote from ebon* shoot it with a 12 gauge shotgun, it'll just laugh *unquote* Throw it into a volcan........... maybe not that, but this thing can take what you dish out.

ROF: most people think that tippmanns are slow, though this is untrue. it has a pretty light trigger, about 3 lbs i think. they all assume they're slow after they go and shoot an e-spyder. with a double trigger, it'll reach decent speed for a mech, probably 8-9 BPS. and nothing that an ebolt or reactive trigger won't help

Upgradability: As long as you have money to upgrade, possibilitys are endless. you can make it look like a m-4 or go to opsgear, and get a sniper kit. or maybe get it ebolted and reach speeds you've never have thought possible from a tippmann. customize it to fit your style of play, or position or whatever

Gas Effieciency: Neutral, more or less. nothing much to say here.

Tinker Friendly: With this gun, i can take the gun apart and have all the parts right in front of me. it makes it easier to locate a problem or to put in a trigger mod or any other upgrades. i like the clamshell design of the 98 since it makes it easy to find any problem, replace the troubled part, and be on your way.

Loudness: personally i like it loud, but thats all preference

Weaknesses: yes, yes its hard to believe that the custom 98 has weaknesses.

Accuracy: When stock, the accuracy is nothing special..... oh who am i kidding, with the stock barrel, accuracy is horrible. nothing that a decent barrel can't fix (bigshot, CP 1, any other mid priced barrel)

Length: With a 14" barrel, and larger tank, this thing is pretty long. but you can always get a shorter barrel, and drop or something.

Loudness: putting it down here, since some people don't like the loud. but its all preference

Price of upgrades: Some of the upgrades available for the c98 are more expensive i.e. ebolt, LPK, etc. the ebolt costs more than the electro frames on spyders, since it turns the custom 98 into a true electro.

Taking the gun apart: let's say you're replacing a part of the 98, and you replace that part. it'll take you a while to get inside the gun, and then, once you put it all back together, you look under that allen wrench... whats that? its the ball detent. now you gotta take the entire thing apart just to put a highly needed piece of orange rubber. i dont know about you, but that pisses me off....... a lot
well..... that's about it.
Conclusion: Definatly a good newb gun. It's about $140 at most places. It could probably get someone up through an intermediate ranking. But not a professional gun. So if you're starting out or just want another gun, get a custom 98.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, September 5th, 2004 at 5:02 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (302):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media