paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98

Tippmann Custom 98 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Custom 98

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Custom 98
[ View Photos (286) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 3018
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $169

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The main feature is the ease of customizing the marker. The 98 custom combines all the great features of the model 98 with the ability to accept drop in kits for the Response Trigger, Electric kit, Flatline Barrel System, Double Trigger and Low Pressure kit. All of these kits can be installed with same tools that you use to disassemble the marker. We are sure the 98 custom is the most customizable marker you can buy.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Custom 98 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (302):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  Last
        Next Page
mattamus084 Thursday, August 7th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
spyder xtra
Marker Setup: tippmann custom 98, dye boomstick
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel, i went to a field last week and the balls curved about 30% of the time
Strengths: durable, great gun for lazy people
comfortable
cheap, i got myne for 111$
Weaknesses: co2 hog, a 12 oz co2 tank gets about 500 shots
nothing else really
Review: I have a paintball course in my backyard my brother and i made it. We have people over sometimes even though its small we still play in it. u get sprayed by paint a lot more because the bunkers arn't well made and my bro spyder xtra is so greasy and slick by the end that he needs gloves to hold on to it. the tippmann dos'nt get greasy, i like that, that's 1 of the reasons i bought 1. i just got a boomstick, I haven't tried it yet, i got it for free so i got it. the tippmann needs a new barrel the barrel is 8.5 in. in case you haven't noticed yet THAT'S SMALL. so go out and get a barrel for your tippmann.
Conclusion: in all this gun is great i would get it if your a starter player or a newbie (like me). or if your really tight on money (like me), or if your only a kid and cant take a big responsibility on a paintball gun (like me) get this gun. thank you and tip your waiters.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

tippysniper416 Tuesday, June 17th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: tippmann 98 custom with reactive trigger, low pressure system, carbine stock, dye boomstick barrel, 12v revolution hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
-reactive trigger
-low pressure system
-better barrel
-electric hopper for any gun
Strengths: -VERY sturdy and strong
-lots of metal parts
-not a bad price
-very good looking
Weaknesses: -stock barrel is ehhh (but name a gun with a good stock barrel)
Review: THIS GUN IS HOT!!!!!!!!!!!
THE IS THE BEST GUN TO TAKE ON THE FIELD!!!!!!
tippmann also has a very good warranty, not that i can use it- i bought the gun from a friend
Also just from a few upgrades you can turn this gun into a m16, or a cool looking sniper rifle!!!
its kind of bad that you cant field strip the gun
and its very hard to take apart and put together again

oh yeah, and **most important** ITDOES NOT AT ALL CHOP BALLS AT ALL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Conclusion: This is the best gun ever
on average this gun is $179 which is better than buying $500 autocockers or $1000 angels, and the upgades are unlimited!! this gun has it all!!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

craZeEguy96 Friday, April 6th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
1 year4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
throwing paint with my hand
Marker Setup: PMR V35 halo b 72/3000 pmi compressed air tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
upgrades:a pmr with a dye boomstick
Strengths: Better than a brass eagle
Weaknesses: The gun
Review: This thing is the noobiest gun next to the ion you can get. Its heavy an air hog hard-to-work-on and its not worth the retail price. I would just say this: Save a couple more dollars and buy an a-5.-If a woodsball gun was your choice.
Conclusion: Great gun!
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
9 Comments - Add Comment

griff_447 Wednesday, June 7th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: Viewloader Orion
-custom laser/flashlight mount
-VL200 hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel.
New trigger.
New bolt.
Strengths: Customizable and thats it.
Weaknesses: Breaks ball
long
heavy(not too much of a big deal)
Review: Alright, all you kids that are out there reading all of these reviews and going "WOW! I want a Tippmann." They aren't anything close to what they are cracked up to be. They are overpriced, chop, and just plain sell outs. They dont even shoot that fast. if you read all of the reviews on them everyone gives them a good review but tells you you're going to have to pay extra money to make it actually good. And to upgrade these things costs a freaking fortune! The stupid gun doesnt even shoot that fast.
What all you kiddys should be doing is be looking at a different gun! Because these things are just a freaking rip off at almost $300 without any upgrades.
I suggest instead a Spyder or PMI or anything but this. you can buy a Spyder MR1 for half the price, and comes with the upgrades. So you dont need to go off and buy em. The MR2 comes with anit-chop bolt, drop forward, double ball detent, 12" barrel and a freaking stock. And for only $170! It also looks way freaking cooler that a tippmann.
Conclusion: I wouldn't tell anyone to buy this thing. It just isnt worth it when you can buy another gun for half the price, twice the stuff already on it, way faster firing speed and the exact same accuracy. The price of the upgrades for tippmann guns are insane
Just buy a Spyder, even though there for speed ball, they work just as well for woodsball if not better. So i hope you people actually listen and dont give into false goodness of the tippmann.
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, June 7th, 2006 at 9:55 pm PST
I found this review  
18 Comments - Add Comment

gamarada717 Friday, April 25th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested4 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Marker Setup: AGD RTX Pro
Black ULE
12" Freak
Level 10
Shocktech Long Drop
Shocktech on/off ASA
Intelliframe
DYE Stickies
Recommended
Upgrades:
A new barrel, expansion chamber, and a drop
Strengths: Cheap
Tough
VERY upgradable
Weaknesses: Ugly
Clamshell design makes it hard to clean or take apart
Plastic
Review: For a beginners gun, this things works quite well. Sure, you could get a spyder for alot cheaper, but are they as rugged as this? Also, you have tons of options of what to do with it. This gun is the definition of custom. Too bad about a fourth of the paintball world has these. But hey, it's a great gun. The trigger pull is nice, I say use different springs for a shorter and lighter pull. Bad things are, it's almost impossible to take apart without losing a couple pieces. Sure, I'm a mag user, I dont have to deal with many parts, but it's not just me. Also, it's plastic. I thought the world learned a while back that plastic guns aren't great. But, besides all of those factors, it scores pretty good.
Conclusion: You have a choice. Tippman or Kingman. With the kingman gun, you've got metal, and field strip. Bolts are what, 10 bucks? With the tippman, you've got a gun that will last you, and can be upgraded to be awesome. If you really want a nice gun though....get a mag. (the a-5 isn't much of a difference. It's just a revvy built into a gun) o, the 7 is for the plastic parts...
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
14 Comments - Add Comment

potatocannon4 Monday, March 8th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested4 of 25 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
piranha ext pro 2k3
Marker Setup: vengeance pro 2.0
-cross fire 68/45
Recommended
Upgrades:
None
Strengths: better than not being ble to paintball
kinda comfy to hold
Weaknesses: Very unreliable fireing
jams
chops like yo mama's blender
Not very consistant velocity+-30



Review: I rented at tri city paintball becuase i didnt have any nitro. so it just uncocks and uncocks. my bro is laughing at me seeing me cock the thing every 5 seconds.
At the crono it got +- 30 Thats horrible. This guy came by to the side of the field and i go to shoot and the freaking piece of crap james and i get lit up. I beleive this gun proformed horrably because it was very old but until i use a good one, in my mind this is a horrible gun.
Conclusion: As i said before i belive this gun wasnt good becuase it was very old
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
17 Comments - Add Comment

coolio220 Saturday, October 1st, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
None second gun and my pirahna r6 was better as an o ring cutter butt some pirahnas are ok or good just the r6 is not
Marker Setup: Tippman 98 custom
skeleton stock
magazine
regular 200 round hopper
custom cammoed
and barrel grip
Recommended
Upgrades:
stock( Just for comfort and aim)
The magazine looks cool and makes a good grip but no neccsesary
if you ever make it full auto probaably low profile cyclone feed (an awesome hopper)
ive heard that bt apex barrels are supposed to be really nice and you can set it so it curvers bulltes slightly
Strengths: Accuracy
Strenght
Insane durability
Easily upgradibility
Weaknesses: None
Review: Let me start with the durability of this gun, me,grandpa, and my uncle all have this gun and we play in the rain all the time, with my cousins bt 4 combats (basicly the same gun that shares allot ugrades with this gun and just less popular) But if the gun doss get very wett u r gonna want to dry it off and maybe not play with it pooring like crazy. Second this gun is VERY easily upgraded and can be ugraded alot. You can even get acog scopes and red or green dot sights,full auto, stocks and barrels. this gun can be less or more power with just an allen rench, you just put it in a hole turn it right for less power right for more.
Conclusion: I think any beginners or intermedite woodsballers (playing in the woods) should get this gun because as you begin to love the sport even more you can just spen like 20 bucks every now and then upgrading it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

iframedjesus Monday, June 21st, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
WPG Worr Machine (older model) - more accurate but lack of sight and customization options limits the quality of this marker
Marker Setup: just the stock setup, no modifications.
Recommended
Upgrades:
if you plan on hitting anything moving over 25 feet away, you need to invest in a new barrel.
Strengths: Very customizable
Cheap
Hard to screw up
Weaknesses: Stock barrel sucks
Review: It's a cheap gun thats perfect for entry level players, it'll allow you to keep up with other players and won't rack up a huge bill.

In addition to that, if you feel like you need to ramp up the marker's performance, there are so many options you can choose from, and thats what really makes this a great marker.
Conclusion: If you've never played paintball before, or you just want to play recreational games instead of competing in tournaments and stuff, without spending a fortune on a high end gun, then the tippmann 98 custom is perfect for you.

There is a few issues with the marker though:
The stock barrel blows - get a new one.
The internals of the gun have paint from the factory sprayed all over them and that causes friction that can reduce your gun's accuracy. This can easily be fixed by taking apart the gun and polishing it with some steel wool, and then lubing all of the moving parts in the marker.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Slippy Saturday, August 23rd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 years3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
BT-4 only difference is cosmetic, Pro Carbine, same action just less upgrades and better grip. BT-16 Field, better closed action than 98
Marker Setup: 98 custom, specops saw stock, RAP raptor barrel with apex tip, 32 degrees rail with simmons red dot on top
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel for sure, stock barrel will get you by for a few games but inside coating wears quickly

Cyclone feed, or rip drive
Strengths: Durability, accuracy, upgradeable
Weaknesses: A little on the heavy side, that stupid front grip,
Review: Bad news first. Get a better barrel. the stock barrel is accurate for sure but it can wear down really fast. Mine wore down after one day. This thing does get a bit heavy after awhile especially after you attach a stock. My saw stock adds about a pound to the gun. If you get a stock you have to play remote. otherwise your accuracy starts to suffer because its too heavy on the back end. I don't know about most players but me personally I hate that foregrip on this thing. BT had a much better idea with the adjustable one. The only other problem I've had with it is that the top rail is not a picatinny. but they fixed that with the new 98 platinum or whatever that is.

Good news. You can turn this thing into just about anything you want. an m82 or an mp5 anything is possible.
Accuracy is a dominating factor about this gun. The action is very accurate and the trigger is nice and smooth and light. Combine this with a stock and a decent barrel and you will be hitting bullseyes at 75 yds.

Durability, well its a tippmann for starters, this thing will operate with a pound of sand in it. I went to OK D-Day and played every mini and the Big one and never had to clean it and it worked just fine.
Conclusion: If you aint a sissy man that likes to spray and pray 15bps with a 2 lb marker, get this marker. You will have more fun on the field and less time in the maintaining room. Oh and did I mention that tippmann has a lifetime warranty on it!!! I watched a guy smack into a tree and it bent his 98 nearly in half, Tippmann gave him a brand new one
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

incrediblebulk5 Monday, July 28th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
mechanical spyders
Marker Setup: spyder imagine, 48/3000 hpa, eggy 2 hopper, and 14. in. proto barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
flatline barrel, anti-chop, nothing else is necessary
Strengths: -Consistency
-Customizable
-Sturdy construction
-Power
Weaknesses: -Everyone owns this
-Stock barrel not that good
Review: I picked this gun up so i could have a solid back-up gun. Since them i only got two upgrades. The flatline barrel and anti-chop bolt. I have not had any problems with this gun and i played probably 7 times with it or about 42 1 hr. games. It still works like new and is consistent also. This gun really has no performance problems just is very common. It is pretty cheap, a strong build, and is of course customizable.
Conclusion: I recommend this for a woodsballer but only if you buy the flatline. It is a very good gun but it is a very basic gun and for about 50 more u can get an slg which is a better gun but maybe not as reliable. So I would recommend this to a beginner.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (302):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media