paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Kingman Spyder MR2 / Kingman Spyder MR2 / Kingman Spyder MR2 / Kingman Spyder MR2

Kingman Spyder MR2 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Kingman

Buy Kingman Spyder MR2

Paintball Low-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Kingman Spyder MR2
[ View Photos (68) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 149
Average Rating: 8.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $250

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The first military style, electronic paintball marker released by Kingman.

Features removable stock, scope mount and double trigger.

Built to withstand the toughest scenario play.

Comes with anti chop bolt, a rechargeable 9.6v battery and a range of firing modes.
Product Availability 
The Kingman Spyder MR2 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (15):  First  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  Last
        Next Page
JLohner Thursday, November 23rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
vm-68 exc
Automag
Brass eagle Stingray
Surge 2
Marker Setup: Agitating hopper
Phreak Barrel
Hunting scope
Recommended
Upgrades:
Electronic hopper is a MUST
A decent barrel
Strengths: Decent looks
Weaknesses: Hokey plastic stock, chops balls, very finicky
Review: Have used this gun for about a year. Less durable than my old VM68.
You CAN use any barrel that is designed for spiders if you remove the
shroud (just untighten 2 screws). I use the phreak barrel setup and
it made a HUGE difference in accuracy. Had major problems with
the bolt jamming and had to walk off the field to repair during
several games. Will chop balls, when it does do a very good
cleaning or else you will have problems. An electronic hopper is
a MUST... don't use unless you have one. The jumper in the handle
that allows you to change from full/semi has shaken loose three time
and I have lost it out in the field. Luckily I have replacements from old
computer motherboards.

Conclusion: Honestly, If I could go back, I would buy a MR1 and save alot of money
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

alex govo Monday, July 24th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder victor 2
Marker Setup: MR2, halo B loader, and Hotshot red dot sight
Recommended
Upgrades:
Halo B loader!!!!
Strengths: Very Durable, Affordable, Versitile, Efficient. Side Feed, and the ACS
Weaknesses: Requires expensive hopper to shoot the 25 ball a second limit
Review: The Mr2 is fun to use. i love this marker. it is my first e marker. When i first got it i shot 500 rounds threw it. my cuzz told me about it, i shot his and instently i loved it. i mainly use the full auto, but the 3 shot birst is awsom!!! when u shoot it its kind of like a shot gun, great for close range. i have been practicing with the semi auto and can get it going fast
Conclusion: i think if u want a fast and strong gun that does not cost too much $$. GET THE MR2
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, July 24th, 2006 at 11:23 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Angel7723 Thursday, June 15th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
I have only used this and the Imagine as a low end electronical marker.
Marker Setup: Ion
Blue Body kit
Blue Ion Q lock
Stiffi barrel
Halo B w/ Rip drive Blue (had an Empire reloader not the reloader B)
Blue CP reg
Recommended
Upgrades:
Not much but a scope if you play woods ball
Strengths: Almost everything
Weaknesses: Nothing much
Review: This is a good gun when I tested it at a store with my friend when he was getting his MR1 I tested the MR2 and the MR1 and the Tippman 98 Custum even though I used it when I rented. This is a very good gun all you need to do is modify the trigg. and you will do good with the gun. You should anly use the stock if you play woods ball if you play speed ball don't use the stock it really gets in the way. My other friend told me that and when I tested it in action but my other friend bought the MR1 and this other guy bought the MR2 and I tried it in action and I tested it in the store.
Conclusion: Good
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Adius08 Saturday, May 13th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippman 98
Marker Setup: MR2
-adco red dot sight
-halo b
Recommended
Upgrades:
-halo b or velocity 2
-sight
Strengths: -Fast!
-Trigger response
-Style and feel
Weaknesses: - U NEED A GOOD HOPPER!!! ... otherwise gun will chop on auto
Review: The MR2 is a cheap gun that shoots very fast. It has three firing mode; semi automatic(, burst and automatic.
I've read that some people seem to find the construction of the gun to be difficult to figure out, if you can not understand how to strip down this gun... you are an idiot. Just follow the manual!
This is a perfect gun for begginers or intermidiate players. It has a great trigger response. The gun is somewhat heavy, but you will get use to it. Think of it as a good work out for you arm ;)
Conclusion: It's a great gun. Buy it. Even if you dont add any upgrades to it, then just set it on semi-automatic and burst. Also, if you like military type guns, then this gun would be great for you.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

RobReid1976 Wednesday, December 19th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman X7,98
Ion, Mongoose 2,
Marker Setup: See Signature Below
P.S. I'm using a Halo LCD,TSA Frontman Hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
14" or 16" Barrel (thats goes for any gun)
GRIPS
Bob Long Intimidator Detent (dont think about shooting without this upgrade)
Low Blow Bolt ( Perhaps the Acs bolt needs broken in and it would be ok, I didnt bother)
A fast hopper. You WILL NOT get by with something cheap. It needs to be fast

Strengths: Price Point (look for a refurbished one at Actionvillage)
Electronic 2 finger trigger
Great look!
Weaknesses: The DETENT!!. easy fix
THe plastic grips are pathetic. easy fix
Review: I own two of these markers. Both purchased at the same time and upgraded each stage at the same time. This is an honest review intended to inform,not to flame. Kingman, you might want to read this one.

BE PREPARED TO SPEND MONEY UPGRADING!!!! By the time you have fully tricked out this marker and get it shooting accurately and consistently with minimal (still not zero) breaks and recocking issues you will have spent the same, if not more than what you can buy a basic Tippman X7 online today.Just look at my signature, the dollar amount shown does not include shipping costs from each place, and believe me I shopped carefully for the best deals. Im not saying that the gun is not worth the time and effort to upgrade, but if you are on a budget, or not driven enough to patiently work out the kinks, you will not be happy. This marker IS NOT maintenance free!

Out of the box the gun is a real head turner! Beautiful lines and she looks like she means buisness.

The first event (which they were purchased for) was Skirmish, Battle for Berlin October 2007. The guns were still in their original setup including the original barrel and using TSA frontman hoppers. At the chrono station they were firing hot (310fps!) Maximun at that event is 280fps. I could not turn them down enough and had to report to the gun smiths for help. They mentioned that the springs were hard, and needed to be cut down. This brought them down to just below 280fps. For the first 2 hours we encountered mimimum resistance, so the guns were shot lightly maybe 200 rounds each with controlled shots, no issues. During the heat of battle the guns started breaking paint, recocking was frequent, and finally the guns were rendered useless breaking evey 5th ball! We spent the rest of the day tweaking the guns to get them back to reliable.Unfortunately,our attempts were fruitless. A Nightmare considering I just plunked down alot of money for these guns not to mention the entry fees for the senario @ 60 each and paint..120 a case! Its hard to leave the senario with paint left over, but it just wasnt worth the aggrivation. Instead we rented tippman 98 rentals for the rest of the day. Thats a lot of pride to swallow when you are using rental rocks with brand new rigs sitting in the truck festering with paint breaks.

Since October I have operated the guns twice a week with different paint and adjusting them carefully to maximize their reliability. With each upgrade they seem to be getting better. The first replacement was the detent. This cut the ball breaks down quite a bit. The ACS bolt has a very tough spring. At first it was not operating correctly and still managed to cut balls. I replaced the bolt with a low blow with o rings. This stopped the blow back up into the hopper I was getting and reduced the chops. It improved the accuracy as well. The low blow puts a back spin on the balls. Ive tried several different brands of paint. Even though I have not found a percet fit yet, I can tell you this maker is reluctant to use cheap paint! It certainly has champange taste when it comes to paint.(by the way Diablo heat and Bullets with this marker is a bad day waiting to happen). One exception to this rule is RECON bought from Walmart. The 2000 rounds Ive shot through held up quite well@ 40 a case they arent too bad! The stock isnt practical to use at all. Sure, it makes the marker look cool, but if I cant get close to the marker with a goggle on, what good is it? My advise (which Ive done with ease) is to cut the top arm completely off leaving the butt and lower arm. Sand it down to loose the sharp edges. Trust me its worth it for the functional standpoint and when its all said and done, the stock looks even better!!!

With all of the modifications and time spent tweaking and solution gathering on the web (full time job for the first two weeks..thanks to the forums life was alot easier) I have to say that this marker has grown on me. Even with the plague of issues, every time I pick one of them up I grin! Afterall they are the perfect marriage of price point,ability (as advertised anyway) and look I wanted in a marker...Its just when I shoot paint through them I get buyers remorse just a little. The look of the marker is awesome even without bells and whistles. with the addition of the red dot sight and the side mount, its just an impressive looking beast! I get compliments everytime I go out with them..but its quite embarrasing when later in the day you are on he sidelines maintenancing the gun....times 2! My 13 year old uses the second gun. BOTH markers breakdown roughly the same time and way each time. Starts with a barrel brake or two, then recocking issues, then full on chopping with paint blowing back up into the hopper, and then finally quitting for the day to tear down the markers and rebuild them (P.S. HEY KINGMAN! you need to use harder screws! these are too easy to strip)
Overall I give Kingman and the MR2 an E for effort. Maybe the problems Im having were sloved with the MR3 and the eyes. Even with the upgrading, Im still out of pocket less than if I were to have gone the basic X7 route.The question is, would I have been happier? If I could rewind time, knowing what I know now, I would have purchased 2 A5's and bought nice barrel kits...but Im not giving up! Ive been through too much with these markers to just call it quits!

I'll visit this posting in the spring after the guns have weathered. I really want to be able to edit this post with great news that the guns need maturing and then they are worth their growing pains! Until then I can only give them a 5 for a wait and see in the spring.
Conclusion: too many upgrades nesassary to bring the guns reliability up.
If you are new to the sport or limited on budget, get a Tippman A5 response trigger or an E trigger with a good barrel kit upgrade, and take a pass on this marker.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

HavaBrew22 Wednesday, June 14th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A-5, Smart Parts Ion
Marker Setup: Spyder MR2
J&J 14" Ceramic Barrel
Halo B with Rip Drive and Victory Board
Crossfire HPA 68/4500
Shocktech Spyder Striker Spring
Timmy Intimidator Rubber Ball Detent MEDIUM
Dye Sticky Grips
Atomic Elbow, it is indestructible
Recommended
Upgrades:
Must have a Halo B / Empire B / Eggie for full marker potential!
Strengths: Fast and Rugged, great for any scenario (Speedball or outdoor) and looks great.
Weaknesses: Stock hopper/loader sucks, and its alittle heavier than most markers.
Review: Great marker, great price. Very accurate, balanced perfectly. Looks good with or without the stock on. I am constantly getting compliments from the guys with the high end markers. For the price it can't be beat. Will require a loader/hopper upgrade but is well worth it. No matter if you are a woodsman or a tourney player this is a great marker.
Conclusion: 10 out of 10 - Can't be beat for its technology, reliablility, accuracy and ruggedness
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, July 25th, 2006 at 10:59 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Mr.Jigglybeans Tuesday, January 18th, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Spyder MR2 w/MR3 Assault Body
Tadao Circuit Board w/ Ramping
Warsensor Elite Tac Vest
Ricochet Hopper
Lapco 14" Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Lapco 14" Barrel
Spyder Fasta 18v Hopper
any hopper 20+bps
Folding Stock
Remote coil w/Lapco Slide check-this gun is already heavy enough. You dont need a tank on it too!
WRAP AROUND GRIP! Stock grip sucks! its very rough and doesnt seal well around the electronics inside.
Strengths: Built like a tank
Looks
Anti Chop Bolt
Fast ROF
Decent variety of upgrades available.
Weaknesses: Expensive hopper required!
Review: Im not going to complain about the fact that there are limited barrels out there for this gun because of the shroud the barrel goes in. There are plenty to chose from if you actually try looking. Not to mention, you shouldnt even question not getting a Lapco, and they fit on it. If you dont go Lapco, get a J&J Ceramic 14'' because theyre awesome and fit as well.

This gun is tough, and i mean very tough. Very rugged and built solid as can be. It looks sweet and can look even better with the right mods.

The only down side is that with the hoppers ROF maxing at 25bps, youre going to need an expensive hopper to keep up. If youre shooting fast with a hopper that cant keep up and a ball is halfway in the breech when you fire, the anti chop bolt CAN cause the gun to de-cock which WILL screw you over if youre in a firefight. Usually the antichop bolt will force the ball into the breech without firing it, then next trigger pull itll fire. Or it will push it out back into the feed neck.

I have my gun tuned down to only 15bps with a Tadao Ramping Board and im still looking to spend $70 just to get a hopper to keep up with that.

But all in all this is a cool gun and if you take the time to learn how it works and make sure you ahve the right hopper and possibly a few other parts added on, itll keep up with and Tippmann.

I play on a team with guys that only use Tippmann based guns. 98 Customs A5's X7's and I still take them out.
Conclusion: If you can get a good deal on one do for it. As far as I know they dont sell new anymore because the MR4 just came out. But this is a cool gun and I get a lot of compliments on mine. Its kinda cool rocking a gun that not many people have, only because everyone and their mothers own a Tippmann.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintballer1182 Wednesday, November 3rd, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
BT4 combat- rental
Marker Setup: spyder mr2
empire reloader b
custom duct tape grip
Recommended
Upgrades:
remote line or this gun is heavier than an elephant.
Barrel. and a quiet one. its a pretty loud gun.
electric hopper
metal feedneck or you will be buying a new plastic one every game.
Strengths: Firing modes, price, durability, looks
Weaknesses: Stock barrel is CRAP (imo)
need to buy a feedneck
The shoulder stock
Review: This gun is my first gun, and its pretty darn good!! I took it out for the first time last weekend after buying it used. It performed great. My only complaint about this gun is that you need an after market barrel to make it shoot farther. The stock barrel is pretty crappy... In my opinion. You will definitely want an electric hopper. Overall, great gun! Will update review when I play with my new 16 inch barrel on Dec. 4, 2010.
Conclusion: I would recommend it to a friend. 9/10 because stock barrel isn't very good.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, November 4th, 2010 at 11:34 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ryancichocki Friday, June 25th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
I used to use a spyder sonix as a beginer and boutht the sonix as a replacement for both speedball and woodsball.
Marker Setup: I have an evloulution 2 with a 20oz tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
red dot sight
Strengths: Rate of fire and looks
Weaknesses: It jams a lot if you dont properly clean and oil. You shouldnt use CO2
Review: I bought it off ebay for a good price and loved it. I used it on three seperate ocassions but on the fourth it jammed regularly. After I cleaned and oiled it it worked fine. The fivth time I used it though either the battery or charger failed so I have to use nine volt batteries and it works fine again. I would like to get a red dot sight for it and if you decied to do it to then make sure it mounts on a 3/4 dove tail mount or you will not be able to use the sight with your mask on.
Conclusion: I would buy it again but next time I would buy it new and make sure to maintain it after every use.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

reaptheharvest Tuesday, December 8th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Pilot ACS - This gun was more of a speed ball type, however it had just as many features as the MR2 (ie. burst fire, full auto, semi). Barrel upgrade was a must.
Tippmann A5 - From only using it a couple times, I love the A5, especially for the versatile mods. With a Flat Line Barrel you'll be laughing.
Marker Setup: Spyder MR2 with Eyes
-------------
Trinity Angled Clamping Feedneck
Spyder Wrap Around Grips
Viewloader Electric Hopper (Soon to be QLoader)
Pure Energy 48/3000 HPA
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel,Feed Neck, Grips,Electric Hopper/QLoader ,HPA Tank, Stock
Strengths: Tough as Bricks
Very Well Balanced
Affordable
Easy to Clean
Side Feed
ACS/Eyes
Weaknesses: See Review
Review: I absolutely love this marker! I had a great first year with my MR2, ready to add some more upgrades to the gun.

Of course like most markers, the MR2 was shooting hot right out of the box. I played with it completely stock for about 3 times before I started looking into upgrades.

A must have for any marker I think would be a High Pressure Air Tank , you will have consistent shots fired off every time. A fast hopper and a new barrel would be the top other upgrades I would recommend for anyone looking to purchase the MR2.

Weaknesses
Without the right type of hopper, balls will get destroyed.

Tournament jumper on board may become loose which will inhibit your burst, and full auto.(This is a quick fix)

Stock restricts you from looking down the sights of the marker. ( Either buy a different one or hack off the cross piece on the stock.)
Conclusion: Great MilSim Marker for the price, the look of the marker will make your opponents fear you.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (15):  First  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media