paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Kingman Spyder MR2 / Kingman Spyder MR2 / Kingman Spyder MR2 / Kingman Spyder MR2

Kingman Spyder MR2 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Kingman

Buy Kingman Spyder MR2

Paintball Low-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Kingman Spyder MR2
[ View Photos (68) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 149
Average Rating: 8.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $250

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The first military style, electronic paintball marker released by Kingman.

Features removable stock, scope mount and double trigger.

Built to withstand the toughest scenario play.

Comes with anti chop bolt, a rechargeable 9.6v battery and a range of firing modes.
Product Availability 
The Kingman Spyder MR2 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (15):  First  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  14  |  15
        Next Page
ryehn Thursday, August 28th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 (rental)
Marker Setup: Everything's Stock/factory
Recommended
Upgrades:
New sights and/or stock.
Faster hopper (not absolutely necessary, EYEs do a good job)
Strengths: Multiple fire mode
Good fire rate (no chops yet!)
Great looks
Great price
Weaknesses: Stock makes it impossible to look down sights
May be heavy for younger players
Review: Pros:
After reading a few reviews online, i was worried about the hopper (gravity fed) not being able to keep up, causing paintballs to chop in the gun. However this was not the case when i took the gun for a test today. I went through 500 paintballs without a single break, often in full auto mode. The EYE technology is flawless, preventing the gun from firing before the paintball is fully loaded in the gun. Although the gun would pause for a split second if the hopper fell behind, i was still able to keep up a great rate of fire. It would pause maybe one shot in every 7-10 shots, for about the duration it would take to squeeze off a single shot.

Cons:
Although i am happy with the barrel, the barrel shroud may prevent the more hardcore fans from installing other types of barrels.
The only true complaint that i have of this gun is the poor design of the stock/sights. It is impossible to look down the sights while wearing goggles because of the top section of the stock. Although i think the look of the gun isn't complete without the stock, right now i cope by bracing myself against the CO2 tank.
Conclusion: I haven't taken the gun to the field to try yet, but so far, it's a great gun to shoot around the backyard with. Having only a minimum wage, part time job, i was greatly relieved that i would not have to spend an entire paycheck to purchase an expensive Halo B hopper. The MR2 is the perfect gun for the beginner, it is affordable, reliable, great fun, and hasn't caused me any trouble yet. Still, I'd bet it would be able to hold its own against higher class markers. I give it a 9 out of 10 only because of the flawed design of the stock/sights.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bigK Wednesday, July 23rd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippman 98, and some old pumping ones.. lolz
Marker Setup: mr2/eyes, trinity clamping feed neck for eyes, MR twist 16" barrel, and a wrap around grip... everything else stock, i'm still currently using a reg hopper, still in process of upgrading...
Recommended
Upgrades:
the feedneck, the barrel, get the wrap around grip, a faster hopper for full auto mode, and a remote to tank to keep weight off.
Strengths: Accurate, love the 3 modes of semi, burst, and full auto.
Weaknesses: I'll explain in the review.
Review: This gun comes outta the box.. like every review says.. it looks great.. makes you drool.. yes it's alil heavy and loud when you handle and shoot with the gun.. but real guns are heavy and loud... lolz..

*weaknesses... i would say.. the original handle/grip sucks... like every other review says.. it exposes the circuit board and battery in the handle... this could be fixed by buying the rubber wrap-around grip to replace the orignal handle. (i guess it's a gimic for spyder to make more money by selling parts/accessories to make it better)

soo don't get it wet.. if you still have the original handles

**I also replaced the feedneck... the original plastic elbow adapter feels like it can snap off if i bang into a tree while i'm in play, but after i installed the new feedneck/elbow with clamp.. i kinda over tighten a screw and wore out the tread or "teeth" (i dunno the term for it) and that screw wont stay in anymore.. but the two other screws is holding it pretty tight.. soo i'm pretty statisfied and relieved
I wished spyder warned us about over-tightening screws.. (all they say in the manual is tighten screws because they might get loose during play from vibrations).. soo i tighten them as much as i can... big mistake i guess..

the gun is to be full maintenanced, after each day of playing.. we should lubicate the bolt instructed in the manual...

generally just keep it in top shape... try treating it as a baby when you are not playing and treat it like a monster when you are playing.. lolzz

I know alot of ppl say.. buy a better hopper or a E-hopper to force feed...

*** i personally think.. if you are playing in fields that only allow semi-auto only... then you dont really need a better hopper... a reg. $5.99 hopper is enough... to feed it 1 bps (paintball per second)...
Conclusion: I think this gun is good, not great, and it will get the job done... maintenance is a must... try not to get it wet... i would recommend it to beginners and i dunno about experts, because.. experts will definately say.. this gun is too heavy for speedball...

any other questions.. i'll glad to answer the best i can... if you think i said something wrong.. correct me... no one is always right...
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Celltic Shooter Wednesday, July 16th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
98 Custom with e-grip
Marker Setup: I have the one with EYEs:-) Empire Reloader pure energy remote
Recommended
Upgrades:
a wrap around grip
fast hopper
and a trinity T-lock feed neck (I hate elbows)
Strengths: Its fast
Accurate
Balanced
Looks great
Eyes work awsome
Price
Weaknesses: A little heavy
The grip bulges exposing the electronics when battery is in
Little loud
Review: This gun is great it has a really nice feel to it and it shoots accurate and FAST and the two way ajustable trigger is nice. The weaknesses it does have are minor so far a new barrel would help the loudness problem it is also little heavy but with a remote which i am not fond of using it cuts some pounds off the gun and since I use CO2 instead of compressed air I thought the remote would keep the cold tank away from the circut bord so it doesn't crack it. Also when you put the battery in the grip frame the grip bulges and exsposes the guts to all sorts of stuff but I have had no problems so fare.
Conclusion: Over all this gun is a great buy for anyone who plays, beginners or more Experienced players.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, July 16th, 2008 at 12:18 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

pntballer2527 Wednesday, June 18th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder pilot '08, pirahna r6, tippmann 98 custom
Marker Setup: clamp feed neck,kingman 18v fasta loader, and the rest is stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
new ball detent and electric hopper
Strengths: 25 bps firing rate
Pretty accurate
Firing modes semi, burst, and full auto
Weaknesses: Paintballs tend to break in barrel
Bad ball detent
Needs fast hopper
Needs new feedneck
Review: This gun is pretty decent. I got it for a good price at sports authority. I got a very fast hopper from www.zephyrpaintball.com. The hopper is a 18v kingman fasta loader which costed about $101 with tax and shipping and handeling. The hopper goes about 30 bps. The only thing you really need to upgrade on this gun is the ball detent, the barrel, the hopper, and the feedneck. I suggest you get a clamping feed neck for the gun. This gun is pretty accurate. I know that it is accurate because in my backyard i shot a small target and i hit it from a pretty far distance. The only downsides about this gun is that the balls tend to break in the barrel and you need a fast hopper to keep up with the speed of the gun. Overall i am happy with it. I reccomend it.
Conclusion: I reccomend this product for beginners and experienced players. The gun has a good firing rate and it has a good feel to it. That is why i recommend this gun.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Duckslayer Friday, June 13th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
A old pmi autococker doesnt compare
Marker Setup: Spyder MR2 w/EYES
Apex barrel
hpa 3000/48cu.in.
halo B
Recommended
Upgrades:
Apex and a good e-hopper
Strengths: Well built hard to break, and eyes.
Weaknesses: A little heavy
Grip bulges
Not waterproof
Check the screw above trigger falls out easily
Review: Overall its a good gun if ur just starting just DONT GET WATER ON IT! Does anyone know what paintballs are best because ive read most that are too brittle break. Great gun overall very impressive. Just went and played for several hours worked fine. Would like to know which dye sticky grip to put on and how much modding that will require.
Conclusion: Very good gun reliable doesn't chop shoots well. I would recommend this to anyone.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, November 9th, 2008 at 2:00 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

massacre100 Monday, June 9th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
most spyder, especially the mr3
Marker Setup: ion xe
viewloader eyeforce
warrior clamping feedneck
Recommended
Upgrades:
Better feedneck
Better stock (if you want)
auto-loader (low to medium grade don't buy a reloader or halo b get an eyeforce or vlocity Jr.)
Strengths: Firepower
Milsim
Pictanny rail
Long battery life
Weaknesses: Wieght
Stock
Feedneck
Review: the spyder mr2 is a good gun but for woods and recball only. bring that to an speedball field and i'll ramp up and down your ass.

pretty accurate with the stock barrel, it should've had ramping but you don't really need it for recball(if your wondering "what about speedball" please read the top)
it's heavybut thats what a sling is for has ok grips can't really get a good feel at all with them though honestly either save your money and get a mr1 with upgrades or put a little more money in it for the worth and get the mr3. since the mr3 came out it's like the middles child in the family. if your not stuck to the mr series then get an ion, want a milsim or have a beef with smart parts? get an X-7 or an A-5, want something better then a tippmann?

SKIP THIS PART IF YOU AREN"T PICKY
grow up and just go screw yourslef with a brass eagle i hope your local proshop lets you buy a raider and then buy a bunch of upgrades for it to learn that there are no upgrades for it.

For those who didn't read the top good for you.
Conclusion: I rate this marker a 7.5 but i'll be nice and give it an 8 :p
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Monday, June 9th, 2008 at 1:23 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

JeEzY Monday, June 2nd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 custom
Marker Setup: Spyder MR2, J & J 16'' barrel, adco hot shot red dot sight, Trinity expansion chamber
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel, feedneck
Strengths: Speed, good looking, three firing modes to choose from
Weaknesses: Cant fit many barrels in its body style
Review: This gun is great for anyone that plays wreckball. It is easy to take care of and is fun to use. you can empty a hopper as quick as you can pull the trigger. I think this is also the best looking gun i have seen since i started playing paintball. People say this gun is heavy but i dont notice it at all when i play on the field.
Conclusion: Anyone who just wants to have some fun playing paintball I recommend this gun to.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

brongarago Sunday, April 27th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder victor 2, more durable but not as accurate
Marker Setup: VL hopper 18 BPS
Recommended
Upgrades:
Hopper
Strengths: Accurate.
Easy to change mode.
Durrable.
Weaknesses: The stock.
Hard to find a barrel.
Review: The main thing I noticed about the gun is the fact that you can't get a different barrel.The easy solution to htis problem is the take the barrel shroud. The next thing I don't like is the stock. there is no cap you can put in place of it. The last bad thing is the board broke. a little red conector came off so i could only go single. it is an easy fix if you have the part.

The gun is very accurate. It can take a lot of abuse. Very simple to take apart. great price, I got mine on sale for $100.great looks. The offset hopper makes it really easy to aim. great for woodsball and speedball
Conclusion: A nice gun. Can use a little tweaking. Gett if it is on sale.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

RotZorn Sunday, April 27th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
MR1, E-MR1
Marker Setup: BSA red dot, "MR2 stock mod", "16 Areo Twist barrel, 32 degrees spring, Fasta 9v.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, rail handle with side mountsand a fast hopper.
Strengths: Price, comes with Egrip, good looking marker if you are into scenario/ milsims.
Weaknesses: It is a bit heavy, cheesy grips, hard to aim with mask hitting the stock
Review: I've had my MR2 for a few months now and have been through about 6 cases of paint and overall I'm very pleased. It chops very little and usually "jams" before it will chop- but it's alot easier to just recock the T knob, than to acually break a ball and have the clean everything. With the stock barrel accuracy was decent and and the gun overall was good with no mods.

The factory butt stock looks cool and feels comfortable to hold but all that chages once you have your mask on. there are a couple of ways to fix this- The MR2 stock mod- in which you remove the entire top portion of the stock, so you can lean your head behind the sights better with out your mask hitting it. Or you can buy a red dot and a side mount as not to have to lean your head as much. That's really my only complaint. Oh, and the stock plastic grips are kinda cheesy, but at least that's an easy fix.

The egrip is great in my opinion, it does not have any ramping or adjustability, but unlike other egrips I have seen, there is no LCD (or dot matrix) with a menu to go through to make on the fly changes, none of that "hold this button for five seconds then press and release the other buttton" nonsesne. It simply has a switch with an LED indicator to let you know what mode of fire you're in. Green= Semi, Yellow= 3 rd burst, Red= Full auto. Simple but effective.
Conclusion: I love my MR2. It shoots great and is extremely dependable. I would recommend it to anyone who is into milsims or scenario play, because it feels really good to put to your shoulder and fire like a true rifle. It is heavy, but so are real guns, so to me it adds to the realism. I would definately recommend a barrrel though, the stock barrel seems above average, but let's face it- it's a stock barrel. The grips are the absolute worst part of the gun's fit and finish but everything else is great quality. Check one out, you'll like it!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Syrax Sunday, April 20th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Recommended
Upgrades:
A red laser dot, but if you do this remove the stock.
An electric hopper to maximize bps.
Strengths: Decent accuracy
Nice rate of fire
Weaknesses: No durability at all
Review: The Spyder mr2 is a thoroughly an enjoyable gun. It is lean, has very nice accuracy, it also has a BPS that i would not have expected on a gun in its price range.
However a downside is that its not very durable, i being the clutz that i am fell and broke it. The barrel snapped clean in half. This is a problem because i cant find another spyder mr2 barrel singularly, they all come with the gun. Another downfall is, that it has a barrel shroud. This makes it very hard to customize it with other barrels.
Conclusion: In short a very sleak, sexy gun. Very enjoyable. But i would recomend it for new players.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (15):  First  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  14  |  15
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media