paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Kingman Spyder MR2 / Kingman Spyder MR2 / Kingman Spyder MR2 / Kingman Spyder MR2

Kingman Spyder MR2 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Kingman

Buy Kingman Spyder MR2

Paintball Low-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Kingman Spyder MR2
[ View Photos (68) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 149
Average Rating: 8.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $250

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The first military style, electronic paintball marker released by Kingman.

Features removable stock, scope mount and double trigger.

Built to withstand the toughest scenario play.

Comes with anti chop bolt, a rechargeable 9.6v battery and a range of firing modes.
Product Availability 
The Kingman Spyder MR2 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (15):  First  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  14  |  15
        Next Page
paintballer61 Saturday, March 15th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
vIEWLOADER TRITON 2
Tippman 98 custom
Marker Setup: Spyder mr2
Evolution 3 hopper
20 oz pure energy co2 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Better barrel
Fast hopper
Strengths: Easy to use
Pretty accurate for stock barrel
co2 or hpa
Fast
Weaknesses: Needs better barrel
Sometimes it doesn't recock itself.
Review: This is the greatest gun i have ever used. As soon as i got it i tried it out , and it was great. I got it shot through a chronograph the second day i got it and shot 18 bps easy.
When you first get it, it has a tendency to shoot very fast. The barrel isn't bad for a stock barrel. You have to get a fast hopper or it will chop. The one time mine chopped it chopped every shot after it chopped the first time. I would reccomend an evolution 3 it will keep up with this gun, and it is $50 cheapers than the others. I wouldn't say it is better than a higher end gun but if you are looking for great gun that won't break you get this gun.
Conclusion: This is a great gun get it if you are a beginner or a novice. The bare minimum you will need is a faster hopper. Very accurate with stock barrel but would be better with a better barrel. You won't be let down.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DeanCorleone Monday, February 4th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: MR2 - J&J Barrel, EyeForce Hopper.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel / Compressed air / Hopper
Strengths: Reliable
Decent looking
Fast
Affordable
Weaknesses: Heavy
Loud
Could use a barrel (6" group at 50FT)
Review: All in all in my opinion the MR2 (without the eye) will hang with other markers such as the Ion and slightly more priced ones. I didn't have much problems keeping people pinned down while flanking them. Its a loud gun, and they will know you are coming. The feel of the gun is decent, even though it is heavy - it will slow you down abit.

Trigger - Needs alot of travel stock to engage, and requires some adjustment. I was lazy and stuck some tape at the top of the trigger infront of it to shortern the distance required for a fire.

Grips - Plastic, no rubber really, some what annoying after hours of playing without gloves.

Stock Barrel - LOUD, not to accurate over 45 / 50 ft'

J&J Ceramic barrel - quiets it up, adds distance (4" group at 50ft)

The Stock - Hacked it off on day 2. Not every Milsim gun needs to stay a Milsim gun. Its heavy but will hang on the speed ball field better without it. Gun would not recock all the way without the stock plug in every 200-500 shots I would have to recock it atleast one. Stock had a O-ring on the end of, think this might have had something to do with it.

Taking it apart - Very easy, simple gun setup, not alot of parts that will go flowing, careful of the cocking handle, small springs will leap out if not taken apart correctly.

Feel - Decent, good to get used to, not a problem to switch hands/sides of firing. Weight is the only issue with this gun, and thats why you pay more money for better markers, atleast compaired to this one.

Rate of fire - It can make it rain, I've not chopped many balls, alot of them break in the barrel more or less (Polar Ice Green/Gray paintballs. Don't likem anymore stick with Ramps in the winter with this gun.)

Feed neck - Alot of people don't like the gun because of the feed neck, but if you are firing from a left handed position the hopper is more concealed then normal, less sticks out, and vise versae for the other side, abit mroe sticks out. So it can go either way. Get your left hand game strong and try to stay with it if possible.


Conclusion: All in all its a very decent marker with the right upgrades. Don't think you are not going to need a hopper. A barrel is almost optional the stock one is not to bad. You are seeing decent prices on these guns because they are more heavy. Thats all. Played with an Epiphany today and, wow... it was alot easier to run down field with.

The current prices I see on these range from 150 - 190 (its 2/3/08)

Not a bad buy, good gun for someone like myself getting back into the paintball game. It did wonderful on the speedball field, TAKE THE STOCK OFF. Its a Milsim that will turn speed ball in afew seconds I hope this is why the gun did not cock (removed the stock - but replaced the plug now at which has a o-ring on it.)

9 - NEEDS a hopper, 20bps+. Barrel optional. Not a good flanker gun, loud stock barrel.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, February 9th, 2008 at 6:17 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

keithcleghorn Sunday, February 3rd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder EM-1
Marker Setup: smart parts 16 inch linear barrel
Veiw loader /w x-board
32 degrees remote coil
Recommended
Upgrades:
longer barrel
fast hopper 20bps + (Halo B)
Strengths: Fast, durable, air efficient, and affordable
Weaknesses: The grips suck
Review: Well, up untill about last week i was a die hard tippmann fan. A buddy of mine just recently bought a spyder mr-1 and i was intruiged by how air efficient, quite, accurate, and durrable it was compared to my a-5.
Anyway, i knew i had to have one, so i went online later that night and saw the mr-2, and i bought it. This is one of the best markers i have ever bought...

Marker- The marker is extremly durable, i only found one part on the marker made of plastic and that was still tough as steel. the marker is also really fast, and the "acs" works well as long as you are using a electronic hopper. you may also want to buy new grips, the stock grips dont fully cover the electronics, wires stick out, and if any paint were to get in there you could have a problem

Barrel- it's a 12in. stock barrel, it's pretty accurate but i bought a 16in. barrel when i bought the marker. i reccomend you buy atleast a 14in barrel for this marker.

Conclusion: If you are looking for a affordable electronic woodsball marker, this is your ticket.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

JamesM Thursday, January 31st, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98 Custom
Marker Setup: Spyder MR2 - Fasta 18v LED Hopper - Raised Sight Rail - Red Dot Sight
Recommended
Upgrades:
Fasta 18v Hopper and Remote Coil
Strengths: Rate of Fire; Durability
Weaknesses: Weight;
Review: The MR-2 is a good purchase for cost vs quality. Buy a Hopper that can keep up with the MR-2 rate of fire. Chopping and jamming resulting in recocking will occur if using a hopper that cannot sustain the rate of fire. Weight is an issue when in game play you will be a little slower as this marker is a little heavier. I would recommend that you purchase a remote coil to minimise weight.
Overall a good marker.
Conclusion: The Rate of fire is excellent and in MIL-SIM paintball games the MR2 looks the part
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

henoil Friday, August 24th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
JT tac-5 recon
Marker Setup: kingman spyder mr2 with a 16'' smart parts barrel, halo b hopper, kingman remote coil
Recommended
Upgrades:
A hopper 20bps+( halo works awsome with it)
longer barrel.( not necessary however)
remote coil to help lose the weight.
feed neck.
Strengths: Wicked fast.(with proper hopper)
Awsome look.
3 modes, semi, burst & fully auto
Weaknesses: Extremly heavy.
Will chop paint without a proper hopper capable of 20+bps.
Review: the mr2 has a matte black finish, it is long with rails on top of the gun for scopes, handles etc. good for right and left handed players. Has a cheap plastic grip with a double finger trigger for added speed, with a drop forward for an added sweet look
Conclusion: The mr2 is a great gun for any woodsball player and wicked fast as well as FUN! .however there are 2 major flaws, the gun is bull heavy and without a 20+bps it will chop paint. I would rate this gun a 8 minus the 2 flaws.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

madmoje9986 Sunday, August 12th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom-worse
Spyder Pilot-close
Spyder sonix-worse that Tippmann
Marker Setup: MR2 with zap hopper and soon to have M-16 barrel kit, ak-47 mag,remote and more.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Fast hopper but you don't have to have unless you shoot fast like me but if you snipe you will be fine.
Strengths: Fast, heavy duty, cool looking,accurate
Weaknesses: Heavy and loud if you don't like it.
Review: Overall just get a new barrel and a fast hopper and you can out shoot all tippmanns and alot of other guns for woodsball/speedball.It really is not that heavy if you are strong I played for a couple hours with it and with the stock it is fine.It is loud and sounds like an air horn.
Conclusion: This is my third gun and my favorite and it is a little more expensive that a 98 custom but outshoots an X7,a-5 mabye even and ion.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

darth massacre Tuesday, August 7th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom, A5, Pro Carbine, Pro Lite
Marker Setup: MR2, Alamo City 2 O-ringed bolt, 32degrees spring kit, J&J 1 piece Ceramic Barrel 14" - too much other useless cosmetic crap to list
Recommended
Upgrades:
Sturdier elbow, Timmy detents, "2 O-ring" Alamo City bolt (not the low blow) are key upgrades. A spring kit is also recommended. Other cosmetic upgrades based on your personal taste and budget.
Strengths: Tough, Rugged, Complete package at a low price.
Weaknesses: Loud, needs certain key upgrades before seamless operation.
Review: Initially wanted an MR1 because of my aversion to electronic guns - no power = dead in the water. But I went with it and found it to my liking.

This product is not perfect out of the box. For the price point it comes with, no one should expect it to work like a charm - it will work out of the box, but it won't be perfect until the key upgrades and fine tuning are done. Once you get it the way you like, the MR2 is almost too much fun to shoot. The MR2 chops - even with the ACS - but I really am skeptical when someone tells me their guns never chop. If properly configured, the MR2 will shoot nicely. From my personal experience with the MR2, using HPA instead of CO2 will help with consistency too.

For what you're paying, the MR2 has got almost everything in the box. Good looks, e trigger, stock and a 20mm weapon rail. Although useless for attaching gunsights until additional offset or riser rails are installed - or if the user decides to use it without the stock - the weapon rail opens up all sorts of upgrade possibilities later on.

Slapping on a good, force fed hopper will bring out the full potential of the e- trigger. That however won't come cheap either.

The MR2 is also tough. Not in the sense that you can use it as a club. My MR2 took sand in the breach and still continued to shoot. However having said that, keeping the MR2 clean after every outing at the field is good practice. Having worked on a paintball field and maintained a variety of tippmann guns over the ages, I feel spyders are simply easier to fieldstrip for maintenence over Tippmanns.

Aftermarket upgrades to make the MR2 look more milsim are already out there, one just have to look hard. Its not the only gun on market that can look good - definitely an alternative for milsim players who are not looking at/could not afford an SP-8, X7 or the A5.
Conclusion: I would not recommend this - or any other paintball guns - to anyone who doesn't work to find out how to maintain their own guns. I would not rate this product above or below its competitors. Its a good product, just like its direct competitors. The important thing is for would be owners to find out all they can about different products before sinking in your money - because its YOUR money and all the pro shops out there want a piece of it.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

majorissuez99 Sunday, July 29th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Xtra, Friends Tippmann A5
Marker Setup: Spyder MR-2 w. Remote Coil
VL Evolution III
BT Apex
Recommended
Upgrades:
Apex barrel or J&J ceramics
Definatly need a good hopper like the Egg III or Halo B or Empire B
Strengths: Design,Rate of Fire,Affordability,ACS
Weaknesses: Barrel Shroud wont fit certain barrels, A little Heavy with tank, Screws come loose easy.
Review: I purchased the MR-2 online for $215CAD new. After using the Spyder Xtra for a couple years this was my first E-marker. Out of the box i needed to compress the ACS bolt spring many times to break in the spring to prevent chops but after that the ACS bolt does its job well. Its efficient on CO2 so thats a big plus and it worked well with this crappy $40 paint i was using.

You Definatly need an electronic hopper for this baby cuz even in slow semi shootin with a gravity fed hopper i was always having to shake more balls into the elbow. I recommend either the VL Evo III, Halo B, or Empire B. The newer MR-2's have the better ball detents then the old ones so i have no problems there.
I recommend a Remote coil because once you stick the tank on it its a little heavy...i like heavy but the tank makes it a little too heavy.
ive had the gun a couple weeks and had no problems with it so far. One thing i diddnt like though is that there seemed to be black paintchips all over the bolt when i first used it a while probably from inside but thats no biggie diddnt affect the performance. I Love the look of this gun its very intimidating to people and also a very original looking design. Site mounts are a nice bonus and i like the cocking mechanism too.
Ive only chopped 1 ball so far and that was attempting to use full auto with a gravity fed hopper
Conclusion: I am Very happy with this gun and id recommend this to any woodsballer lookin for a nice military style gun. Its cheap, works great, and gets the job done.
I think alot of the problems such as ball detents have been fixed in newer models of the MR-2. BUY one, you wont be dissapointed!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

zionnerd Sunday, May 27th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder SE
Marker Setup: Spyder MR2
TSA backman
brass eagle reddot scope
draxxus 20oz with a SP on/off
PMI Razzr Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
take off the from shroud and u can use any barrel u want
a different barrel (depending on your preferances)
im gonna get a virtue board this year
Strengths: It shoots super fast.
Its dark for rec-ball
CHEAP
Weaknesses: Front shroud limits barrels.
Need expensive hopper .
Review: I bought this gun as a birthday present for myself last year on 8/18.
My entire pack was $300 (gun, hopper [crap one at that], and a tank).
I brought it and filled the hopper and gassed it all up.
Went out back and shot at a board in the yard to shoot at a target at like 50'.
Excellent shots flew through the air and hit the board a few times in the same place (5 shot hit same place and 2 shot an inch appart)
My hopper cauzed a few dry fires on 3 shot burst and auto cuz it sux.
Just get a good hopper for it and you won't have the same problems (or just stick to semi-auto)
Then later i changed the barrel and got even better accuracy, but my detent wore out after my first bag and i got a few double feeds.
My first game w/ it.
Played a game with my friend and let him use my Spyder SE. I landed a perfect shot on his right butt cheek while he was distracted and made him cry, which is funny because he's way bigger than me.
Conclusion: Overall, this is a good, cheap gun, with nice stock performance and even better with a few upgrades. i love this gun but hate my hopper choice.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, May 27th, 2007 at 7:07 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

eurbul Monday, May 21st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Pilot ACS
Marker Setup: JJ Ceramic 14 Inch barrel
empire reloader B
HPA - PMI tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
see setup
Strengths: - overall very solid
- Reliable after upgrades
Weaknesses: Heavy
Availability of upgrades
Review: Have shot over 6000 paintballs with the MR2 - choped only one ball. Used JT tacticall paintballs- wich are mid tier (not premium).
So for me it has been a very reliable marker - especially since I have only cleaned/oiled the marker once.
Do recomend A JJ performance Ceramic barrel - makes the marker a lot more consistent - which improves your accuracy.
Kind of surprised at the problems mentioned in some other reviews - esspecially chopping.


Conclusion: As a newbie to the paintball sport I am very happy with this gun - vertainly wood recomend it for woodsball which is what I play. .
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (15):  First  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  14  |  15
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media