paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Kingman Spyder MR2 / Kingman Spyder MR2 / Kingman Spyder MR2 / Kingman Spyder MR2

Kingman Spyder MR2 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Kingman

Buy Kingman Spyder MR2

Paintball Low-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Kingman Spyder MR2
[ View Photos (68) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 149
Average Rating: 8.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $250

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The first military style, electronic paintball marker released by Kingman.

Features removable stock, scope mount and double trigger.

Built to withstand the toughest scenario play.

Comes with anti chop bolt, a rechargeable 9.6v battery and a range of firing modes.
Product Availability 
The Kingman Spyder MR2 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (15):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
saf001 Monday, March 13th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months13 of 24 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Original Kingman Spyder, Spyder E99, and now a Spyder MR2
Marker Setup: Spyder MR2, Tasco RedDot sight, Q-Loader hopper system
Recommended
Upgrades:
Tasco RedDot sight...just remove the M-16 style sight rail
Strengths: Fast shooting, very durable, Spyder internals
Weaknesses: Chops paint with force-feed hopper, can't use any Spyder barell.
Review: I can't use any of my other barells because of the shroud that Kingman put around the barell threads, but found that the performance of the stock barell is just fine. The marker is dead-on accurate at 35 feet.

The marker is heavy, but I like heavy guns.

I find the flimsy rubber grips horrendous. I would have preferred the hard plastic grips that the E99 has on it. These grips actually flex as you hold the marker. It feels like I'm going to break them just holding it.

I like the option to use the stock, but found that I don't use it at all. You can't aim down the marker with the stock properly shouldered...your mask hits the top cross beam of the stock. I would have preferred it not to have this cross beam or at least have it moved.

The fore grip handle is slightly angled forward at the bottom and is a little wide. It kind of made things harder for me when I mounted my Q-Loader onto it. I had to fashion a custom piece of metal strapping to go around the handle. To me, the handle is too big and unnecessarily angled. Guess they wanted that sleek design.

The double trigger is nice, but is a long pull. There is a set screw to allow tension to be put on the trigger, thereby making the pull shorter. HOWEVER...Kingman decided that the Receiver should have a hole drilled into it right where the trigger set screw will hit. So instead of the set screw pressing against the receiver and pushing the trigger back, it recesses into this hole. Completely and utterly mind-baffling. I had to put several strips of electrical tape over this hole so the set screw now has something to hit, and now the trigger sits further back.

Now for the two most important elements of the gun that causes it to fail right out of the box. First is the flimsy rubber nubbin ball detent. Kingman tech support actually told me that I should not be able to push a ball forward past this detent with another ball in the feed neck. They couldn't be more wrong. It is actually quite easy. So I fashioned one myself that works superbly.

The second thing is the ACS bolt. I have a Q-Loader hopper, if you don't know what this is, it is a spring loaded tube that can dump all 100 rounds in around 3 seconds. It constantly puts pressure on the paint so there is always a ball ready to go into the breach. Because my modified detent will not allow the balls to go forward easily (obviously it allows the ball to travel past it when the bolt goes forward), the maker now double feeds when the bolt cycles. It does this because the ACS bolt actually allows the first ball into the breach to follow it back as it is recocked (the Q-Loader is pushing paint constantly) and a second ball follows the first into the breach. I know this, because after jury rigging the bolt so the ACS spring is disabled, I have not chopped or double-fed a ball yet. Kingman's response to this when I asked if they could send me a non-ACS bolt for the MR2 being that it actually is hindering the use of a force-feed hopper is "We do not offer a non-ACS bolt for the MR2"

The advertised "up to 25 balls per second" is in single fire mode only. The full auto and burst fire mode only deliver 13 balls per second. I have tested it and know this for a fact. I've posted the methods and results of the test on the Spyder.TV forums. You can only get up to 25 balls per second if you can walk the trigger fast enough in single fire mode. The problem is, that would require a fast hopper, most likely a force feed system...which out-of-the-box will cause the marker to double feed and chop.
Conclusion: I've always liked Spyders. I have only used Spyders. I am however disappointed in the R & D for this new marker. The hole where the set screw goes? What's with that? It completely negates the set screw's purpose. If you've got a standard agitated hopper, you will probably really enjoy this marker. If you've got something that can seriously dump paint, then you might want to rethink your purchase. The 25 bps is misleading, and the factory defaults will only lead to double feeding with a real work-horse hopper.

I'm still using mine being that I made all the necessary adjustments to get it to work with my hopper system.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

AtreyuS.O.A.D Thursday, January 18th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Mechanical Markers:
Spyder Rodeo, PMI Pirhanna, Kingman MR1, Tippman 98 Custom

Electronic Markers:
Smart Parts Ion

All decent guns, but only the Ion can be equally compared with the MR2
Marker Setup: KIngman MR2, Halo TSA Backman (smoke), J&J Ceramic 14" barrel, 20 Oz. Co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
Definetly a fast hoppper like an Egg II or III, or a Halo B. And the 14" J&J barrel is one of the best for the gun, and at a reasonable price.
Strengths: Sturdy
Fast
Reliable
Easy operatation/clean
Inexpensive
Can be compared with much higher priced markers
Weaknesses: Stock ball detent
Stock Barrel
Slightly heavy (but I prefer it that way)
Review: I just bought this on my 18 birthday, and i love it. It was only $229.00 on ebay, and it came as a package with a 20 Oz. Co2, Squegee, MR2 marker, Halo Backman LED (smoke), oil, and 4 pods with a pack for them. And plus, the guy who sold them got the whole package to me in just two days, and I ordered it on a Sunday when UPS wasn't even working.

But anyway the gun is amazing. I can get about 14 to 15 bps out of it, only because I have a Halo Backman, which can only feed 15 bps max. So because of this I have chopped a few balls, but it was not because of the gun malfunctioning. Some of the strengths were that it has the capability to achieve 25 bps, which is crazy fast. And I love it so far because it is entirely made of metal (aluminum), and though some people thinks that its heavy, it's not bad at all. If you think about it, the lightest guns on the market may only be a few Oz. lighter, or a pound at the most. That doesn't really make a difference. I'd rather have a sturdy gun, that doesn't feel like it's about to break in half. And the gun also was very easy to use because of the switch on the back of the handle. Unlike some other electronic guns that I have used, there are no dipswitches inside the handle, and you don't have to figure out what color light means what, or how many flashes means something. Kingman did a very good job with it and laid it out as easy as possible.

But there were also a few things that I didn't care for. Like the stock ball detent, because I think that is why I chopped a few balls. The stock barrel was also disapointing because it worked decently until I broke a ball; because then the paint balls were flying out of the barrel every which way. But then I fixed it by simply removing the barrel and squegeeing it clean.

I also wanted to point out that the stock trigger is pretty good aswell. I was incredibly pleased with it, and it was easy enough to walk the trigger right out of the box. And I like the fact that Spyder included the Stock with the gun, for those of us who prefer to play woodsball. I really would have been mad if they made you purchase the Stock separately.

Overall I am very pleased with the gun, and the only drawbacks were minor; plus they were expected. For instance, the stock barrel on any gun is only OK at best. But basically I am very happy with my purchase and I would reccomend the MR2 to any player from begginner to amateur to even professional. Because even though the gun may not compete with Timmy's and Bob Long's, it is still a capable weapon. And soon enough there should be plenty of upgrades to further your skill. Buy this gun! I promise that you won't be dissapointed.
Conclusion: The gun speaks for itself. If your interested in a Mil-Sim marker, it's one of the best out there. And if you really don't like it, Kingman has a one year warranty to go with it. So don't worry.

I am giving the Kingman Spyder MR2 a rating of 9 out of 10 because of a few minor flaws, and because nothing is perfect. There is always room for improvement.
Hope to see some of you out on the Paintball Fields someday, good luck. Your going to need it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Coinz Monday, May 22nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Some other spyders I tried out.
Marker Setup: Spyder MR2, VL Revy (soon to be HaloB w/z-board and ripdrive).
Recommended
Upgrades:
Stiffer ball detents
Fast hopper capable of 20+ bps
Stronger elbow
Maby a new barrel.
Strengths: Built like a tank
Shoots very fast
Stock barrle isnt bad
fairly accurate
Looks awsome
Weaknesses: On the heavier side
weak ball detent.
Needs fast hopper
A pain to disasembe.
Review: Im fairly new to paintball, so take all this with a grain of salt.

This gun is a very decent gun once you get all the kinks out of it. Many people have had problems with the ball detent being to weak and this double feeding. I didn't have this problem because the first time I played with it I was using a revy, and thus couldn't shoot fast. I will be selling my revy to a friend and purchasing a HaloB to enable this guns full abilities in terms of speed.

I did have a few problems with this gun on the field though. The gun jammed on me a few times, and I had to recock it several times (probably due to the slow revy). The biggest problem I had was an O-ring on the valve freezing. I had to take the gun apart and a few of the guys there were surprised at how much of a pain in the ass it is to take apart. This think has so many pieces to it its incredibly annoying. Though once you get used to tearing it down and building it back up it isn't as bad. Other than the average breaking in problems I had no other issues. THe Barrel on the gun is pretty decent, but I would recommend buying a J&J Ceramic barrel. Many people also complain about the shroud keeping the gun from using many different barrel types. All I have to say is take the shroud off. You don't need it on. It just makes the gun look cooler.


Edit: I recently found out that the earlier mr2s came with a weak orange ball detent, but later versions come with a black one. The back one is strong enough. CHeck your detent, if its orange replace it emmediatly.
Conclusion: A great gun once you get it up and running. Once you have a fast hopper, and a better ball detent installed this gun is well worth more than the 250 bucks it costs. Truly the toughest spider yet. Great for both speedball and woodsball. Initially I would have given this gun a 7, but after I broke it in I think for the price its worth a 10. But I have to deduct a point for the initial problems it comes with. So 9/10.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, June 7th, 2006 at 2:04 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jthththfhf Wednesday, March 28th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months8 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
mr1 mr3
Marker Setup: mr2 fasta 18v and remote with 20 oz and 4+1 pack
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel, fast hopper
Strengths: Fast and acs works good
Good barrel for stock
Nice trigger
Nice look
Weaknesses: When it chops you have to take your bolt out and clean it.
Review: ive used this gun about 3 times since i have recieved it and through all the times i have played i have not had a bad day paintballing. I use c02 and at high rates of fire and my gun doesnt freeze up. When i take this to the field were i play it everyone is intimidated by the mr2s looks.
Conclusion: Buy this product you cant go wrong.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

sageashton Tuesday, October 24th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Pilot
Tippman 98 Custom
VL Triton 2
Marker Setup: MR2
Halo B
J&J 14" Ceramic Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Fast Hopper
Strengths: High ROF
All Metal Construction
Durable
Stock included
Weaknesses: Heavy
Needs break in
Shroud
Feed neck is cheap
Review: After having read all the reviews twice over I decided I would throw in my two cents. I am writing this as an MR2 owner trying to give others a realistic idea of the pros and cons of this marker.

First this is a heavy marker because it is all metal (except for a hard plastic that makes up the forward grip). Thus to like this gun you are going to have to be willing to carry a heavy gun. I like heavy guns so it is fine with me plus I like the durability factor associated with a metal body.

Next you MUST have a high end hopper. Keep that in mind with the price tag. You have to buy the gun and then you have to buy the hopper. I use a Halo B, but tried first with a gravity feed. Gravity feeds will chop paint, ACS or not.

The trigger wobbles from side to side a little but it is not that bad. Adjust the trigger in tight if you like. The trigger is really adjustable which I like.

I hate the square grip of Spyders. Maybe if your 6'4" and have hands like Shaq they would be comfortable, but being under 6' I find them too square and not comfortable. But this goes for all Spyders.

This gun is side fed to the right, which makes it a little hard to site from the right hand side of the gun. Not horrible, just know that the feed is the right which means if you are going to shoot on the left hand side of a bunker it will be a little more difficult.

The stock top bar should be sunken down a bit as you cannot site down the barrel with a mask on (or you have to get a sight that is a little bit high on the gun.

There is no plug made for the back where the stock goes and this opens the bolt up to dirt and paint if you take the stock off. I handled this with some black mesh webbing placing it under the two side covers and clamping it down. This works just fine.

With my gun I chopped the first case of paint I ran through it. I took it back to the shop after several cleanings and had them put a stiff ACS spring in. This worked just great. No longer chopping paint.

The ball detent on mine is the correct one (black) but still allows an occaisional double feed. Get a timmy in there and you won't have this problem, or just a harder spyder detent.

If you use c02 expect wild variances in velocity +/- 50 fps per shot.

Now that I have laid these factors on the table let me tell you the truth about a couple of things.

Weight - If you don't like take some of it off. The side panels are held on by a single screw on either side, remove them and the side panels. They are there to 'look cool' but don't affect anything. The sight rail comes off with two screws and again is not needed unless you are going to use a sight. Remove the front plastic grip and one screw and the shroud comes off. Now you are holding a much lighter gun! And it does not affect the shooting or anything. One of the big positives of this gun is that it is metal. But if you buy it and find out that the weight is too much strip it down a little bit. It's not a big deal.

Field stripping this is quick once you know what you need to take off and what you don't. Basicly, take the stock off, take the sight rail off, take the cocking mechanism off and remove the pin and you have open access to the bolt etc.

I have noticed alot of complaints regarding the shroud and getting barrels to fit. Taking the shroud off MAY help but there is still only a little clearance between the top tube and the bottom tube. Take it to the shop when you are looking for barrels and just make sure it fits the barrel before you buy.

I love the ROF on this gun. I just set on full auto and pull single shots when I want or hold it down when I need to lay down a ton. You can go through a ton of paint real quick. This is awesome for suppression fire.

The accuracy on this gun is decent, but it isn't an angel or ego. I am working on seeing if converting to HPA will help with fps spikes and accuracy. Maybe a c02 reg would also help this. I'll update as I find out.

Also this is a newer gun so finding upgrades is not the easiest thing in the world.
Conclusion: All in all after you break the gun in (and if needed put in a stiffer ACS spring) it's awesome. Again it is not an ego, but it is good. You can lay down paint, pick 'em off, woodsball, speed ball etc. I would recommend this gun, but realize that once you buy it the spending isn't over. You still need the hopper, probably a pressure reg and a decent barrel.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

RektumRipper Sunday, July 15th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
E-MR1
Bt-4 combat with E-grip
Marker Setup: MR2 with stock accessories
Recommended
Upgrades:
high feed rate hopper
barrel (16 inch or longer)
Strengths: Fairly accurate
Lightweight
Versitile
Really really fast
Weaknesses: loud
Difficult to aim
Needs expencive hopper
Reqires new spring kit
Review: OK, so im going to seperate this reveiw into three different catagories: why to buy, why not to buy, and when bought what next.

WHY TO BUY: well, there are probably many reasons to buy an mr2, but im only going to list one main idea. Its the perfect multi senario game marker. the mr2 is great for just about ant type of game weither you are inside, in the forest, or even in sub-zero climates (compressed air rather than co2 is recommended for cold weather). even though the mr2 is designed for mil-sim games and senario-type games, when the stock is removed it can double as a speedball marker. now, if full auto isn't allowed, then the double finger trigger is quite usefull. personnally i can manage about 16 bps MAX on semi but some people might even be able to exceed the fire rate of full auto (which is 25 bps) but i doubt it. the mr2 is also quite accurate when the target is at less than 150 feet away. personnaly in semi auto, I can shoot a target about the size of a quarter 50 feet away in about 2 shots, but others may be able to shoot better than I can. not only is it accurate, but it only weighs about 6 LBS when the hopper and co2 (10 or 12 Oz) is attached. New, the price range is about $240-$300 CAN, so if its an all pourpose marker your looking for, then this is probably the best.

WHY NOT TO BUY: there are not too many downsides to this gun and I will be breif, and to the point. because the gun shoots so damn fast, you need a really good hopper such as a Halo B or better, which can and will end up costing you a lot of cash. second, its really loud (compared to other general paintball markers). which means that when you are playing in doors or even out doors, this will give away your position and end up getting you eleminated quickly. to slightly suppress the weapon, add a long barrel to the marker, it will also increace the accuracy (which you dont need). and last it is diffucult to aim with the mr2, so adding a red dot like the newly found ones in Badlands ( made especily for spyders) will hopefully increase the likelyness of hitting some one from a far distance. with these problems, it may end up costing more than you bargened for.

WHEN BOUGHT WHAT NEXT: im going to be honest, out of the box the mr2 is mal supported. I my self mainly play indoor and when i first purchased it i dicided to take it for a spin. so i payed to get in, yada yada yada, i started playing with it and for a weapon straight out of the box it wasen't bad. then after about 6 rounds of games like speedball, CTF, attack and defend, i dicided to see just how fast my gun was shooting because i realized i started to outplay alot of the people there, and even I know Im not good enough to out play people with ions. so i checked and the speed was 338 FPS (just so you know the maxumum at that particular place is 230 FPS. so I removerd the stock and loosened the spring as much as it could go and still i got an astonishing 294 FPS. so basicly what i hadent realized is that you need a whole differnent freaking spring kit. not only is that bad but the stock barell (suprisingly) broke when I hit a stone wall. so I would suggest getting a new barrel right away so that you arent forced into getting a new one like I was. and rember like I said before... get a damn good hopper.

Edit1: alright, so its already been over 4 months science I have bought the mr2. I have 3 up grades, and one essential. the upgrades are:1. 18 inch sniper barrel. 2. grenade launcher (thunder). And 3. the MR series red scope. Here is why these upgrades are usefull. the sniper barrel provides amazing perscion, the G-launcher provides a destructive spray (optional) when im out of ammo, and the red dot supplies an invisible (to the enemy) "red dot" which is helpfull 'cause you r then able to see exactly where you r going to shoot. the essential is (obisily) the spring kit. And that is my update. o ya and one more thing. You ARE NOT required to spen $300 on an amazing to prevent the hopper from not feedin fast enough. Why? because is not the hopper thats causing the lack of speed, its the gun its self. my recomendation is to purchase an anti-chop bolt.
Conclusion: The mr2 is a good all pourpose weapon if you willing to put a little money into it. Screw the bt-4, this is a better starter weapon because if you want speedball, you got it. If you want forest sniper, you got it. If you want full auto for capturing buildings, you got that too. Its a great weapon and id rate it a 10/10 but because of the hopper problem and spriing kit issue, i rate it a 9/10
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, September 25th, 2007 at 5:28 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Trigger XL Saturday, April 28th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98, Tippmann A-5, and Spyder Imagine. All of these markers are pretty good, but I prefer the MR-2 over all of them.
Marker Setup: Spyder MR-2
CCM Feedneck
Trinity AK-47 Expansion Chamber
Apex barrel
Trinity Center On/Off with Rail - Black
Macro Line Air System
Spyder FASTA Hopper - 30 BPS
Red Laser Sight with Pressure switch
Pure Energy 20oz Tank
32 Degrees Coiled Remote
Recommended
Upgrades:
Definitely a fast hopper. I recommend the Spyder FASTA hopper (30 BPS).
CCM Feedneck for Hopper durability and eliminates movement.
Apex Barrel to increase accuracy on your shots.
Trinity Ak-47 Expansion Chamber for better air consistency in cold and hot weather.
Strengths: Very fast
Very durable
Very affordable
ACS bolt
Side feed for better aiming
Weaknesses: Barrel limitations because of shroud.
Requires a fast hopper to keep up with the marker.
Review: The Spyder MR-2 is a wonderful marker. I use mine to play scenario and speedball. At 25 BPS this gun keeps up with all the markers out on the speedball field. Just make sure to adjust your trigger sensitivity (There is a screw in the trigger frame to do this).

I play a lot of scenario games and we allow full auto for this type of play. Everyone knows when its me shooting, but not very many will stay and trade shots with me anymore. This includes a Tippmann A-5 with an e-trigger, Smart parts ION, Tippmann 98 with a response trigger, Spyder Imagine, Spyder Electra, and Spyder Pilot. Many have tried and a lot get burned with this marker. I have even seen opponent's paintballs breaking against one of my many shots before it even gets to me. In the meantime, the other balls are still flying their way.

This gun is really fast and really consistant. With my set up, I have not broken any paintballs in my marker in over 5000 shots. As a stock MR-2 with a Spyder FASTA hopper (30 BPS), I broke 2 paintballs within 2500 shots. Still pretty consistant without my set up. This is really good considering I use Visible Impact and Bonus balls.

Some people have said that there is not many modifications that can be done to the Spyder MR2, but I disagree. I have set up my marker the way I like it and can still put quite a few more accessories on it (check out the pictures). The only problem is finding a good barrel to fit on it. They are out there you just have to look. I highly recommend the Apex barrel.
Conclusion: I recommend this marker to anyone looking to strike fear into their opponent's eyes. You will see them run when they hear you comming. It is very affordable and very durable. Any style of player and exprience level will enjoy this marker.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, April 28th, 2007 at 3:52 am PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

storch Monday, February 19th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
A-5 with Response trigger - more durable
Piranha STS G3 VF - mechanical so cannot compare
Spyder E-99 avant - decent gun with a few minor errors
Marker Setup: piranha sts g3 vf, LAPCO bigshot barrel, 20 oz CO2 tank, evolution 3 with z board, rest of gun is stock

Kingman Spyder MR2, LAPCO bigshot barrel, 20 oz CO2 tank, evolution 3 with z board, Alamo city bolt with 3 o-rings
Recommended
Upgrades:
New car stock but is not needed, stock barrel is very good but I would recommend an upgrade, upgrading to air is always good, new ball detents, new bolt, the ACS works very very well but creates a lot of blow back so get the Alamo city bolt with 3-orings to make blow back null and chopping extremely reduced. A spring set with main springs and valve springs, preferably 3 of each as the spring is very hot out of the box and will need to be broken in.
Strengths: Rate of fire
Durable
Mil-sim look
ACS bolt
Feel
Upgradable
Weaknesses: Ball detents
Blow back
Chops rarely out of the box
Review: When I first purchased this gun I was very dissatisfied as I assumed that the ACS bolt would provide reduced chopping. Well it didn't, it chopped every 1 in 20 balls. But wait there is more, I was using Evil paintballs and the temperature outside was around 40 degrees F, or 3 degrees Celsius. I was told by my local paintball shop that this would work well, well I know it will in good conditions but I was playing in cold weather. So I spent about 3 weeks angry and sad because my MR2 was chopping and not performing well. Then I posted some posts on the kingman forum and reluctantly took the advice that it was my ball detents. It was partly that, but mostly the use of good thin shelled paint under bad conditions. As well I got my gun chronographed and it was shooting extremely hot so I bought a spring set by 32 degrees. So I then used Draxxus Frostbite paint and my gun performed well, actually it performed Awesome! I have not had one break or one chop when using this Frostbite paint. And I could comfortably shoot 13 or 14 balls per second.

All in all this gun is very good, I purchased it for 250 Canadian, and I know for a fact that you could pay a lot more for a similar gun of the same caliber. Although this is a great gun it does have a few flaws. The blow back on it is very very high, which will once again induce chopping. So I would strongly, and highly recommend a new bolt, preferably the alamo city bolt with 3-orings for $18.95. You can purchase it off their website at http://www.alamocitypb.com/ and then under the kingman and MR2 bolts.
Conclusion: This is a great gun that is tough enough for the most harsh paintball environments and will work well in speed ball as a rate of 25 balls per second is achievable on semi-auto, and woods ball as the stock is easily taken off by removal of 1 screw. Overall, this is a great gun with a reasonable amount of upgrades and can be made to look military like without much effort.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, February 19th, 2007 at 11:47 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

theguru1991 Friday, February 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
SP-8
Marker Setup: MR2, ricochet apache LED, Red dot sight
Recommended
Upgrades:
You need to get a very fast hopper like a halo b or empire b because without a fast hopper the gun Chops. The gun needs a new barrel, but it is not completely necesary.
Strengths: Never chops (with a fast hopper), shoots accurately, and is very fast.
Weaknesses: The gun is not compatible with many spyder barrels.
Review: Basically this Gun is great for senario players, and even speedball players. The only thing I should say is that the gun should always be used with the stock because the lack of o rings on the Delrin bolt. The stock has o-rings on it which keep air from escaping out the back ou the gun, making shots more accurate. The gun is a little heavy, but with the stock, you won't mind the weight. The fact that the gun has teh mode switch on the back on the grip makes it easy for senario players.
Conclusion: The MR2 is Cheap, great quality, and is a fun gun for paintball
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Dark_Spartan Thursday, May 11th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
A-5, Ion but heavyer and slower...
Marker Setup: Ion
Halo B
Virue board
Roller trigger
Q-lock
Recommended
Upgrades:
a ricochet AK or better...
Strengths: --Read review--
Weaknesses: --Read review--
Review: PROS
-Shoots fast
-Looks great
-built in stock
-very durable
-Takes HPA and CO2
-Comes with a battery and a charger
CONS
-My ball detent puked out after first game
-Its a little bit heavyer then most
-Can get hard to clean
-elbow isnt that good
-shroud stops barrels from fitting
Conclusion: all in all if u want an electric marker and u dont want the A-5 or 98 get this, u might like it....
Hope this review helps...
But then again the ion is like 50 bucks cheaper and much better... why not just get that? im selling my mr2 dont really like it....
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Friday, May 12th, 2006 at 8:34 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (15):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media