paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Kingman Spyder MR2 / Kingman Spyder MR2 / Kingman Spyder MR2 / Kingman Spyder MR2

Kingman Spyder MR2 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Kingman

Buy Kingman Spyder MR2

Paintball Low-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Kingman Spyder MR2
[ View Photos (68) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 149
Average Rating: 8.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $250

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The first military style, electronic paintball marker released by Kingman.

Features removable stock, scope mount and double trigger.

Built to withstand the toughest scenario play.

Comes with anti chop bolt, a rechargeable 9.6v battery and a range of firing modes.
Product Availability 
The Kingman Spyder MR2 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (15):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
B_Manz Saturday, December 29th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Pilot ACS
Tippman 98 Custom
Marker Setup: Spyder MR2
J&J 16" Ceramic
ViewLoader Evolution 2
20 oz. CO2
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel
Faster Hopper Than Gravity Feed
Good Paint
Strengths: Fast (25 bps), looks cool, sight rail
Weaknesses: Barrel, chops with a slow hopper,some barrels don't fit because of the shroud.
Review: This gun is AWSOME. It's incredibly fast w/ up to 25 bps, and the only problems that I have had is that the stock barrel is very inaccurate, and that if you shoot too fast with a gravity hopper, it will chop. Yesterday i was playing with friends in my woods and i fired maybe almost a full hopper off before i could hit a stationary person. The next game, i switched to my stock Pilot barrel, and that was way better. But since i also just bought the J&J Ceramic, i tried that out and it made my day. at the end of the day, i had the least paint on me of about 6 people, and i think some of my friends were jealous...

Maybe a little heavy if YOU ARE A PANSY. Seriously, it doesn't weigh more than 11 lbs loaded w/ a tank and hopper w/ paint.

Also while playing, my trigger frame became loose, but no biggie. simple fix, and i didn't even have to come inside to fix it. 2 minutes max.

PAINT:
DON'T USE RPS STINGER SERIES BECAUSE THEY BROKE FOR ME ABOUT EVERY 4th SHOT, AND I HAD TO LEAVE THE GAME.

HOPPER:
GRAVITY HOPPERS ARE USELESS FOR THIS GUN!!! I RECOMMEND THE VL FORCE W/ EYES OR AN EGG 2 or 3.

BARREL:
J&J CERAMIC 14"-16" IS PERFECT. (20" IS WAY TOO LONG)
SMART PARTS PROGRESSIVE DOES NOT FIT UNLESS YOU TAKE OFF THE SHROUD.
A FEW OTHER BARRELS FIT BUT THE J&J IS THE BEST OF THEM.

VELOCITY:
COULDN'T REALLY GET IT BELOW 300 FPS, SO I HAD TO CLIP THE INTERNAL SPRING A LITTLE, AND NOW MINIMUM IS AROUND 280 FPS.

CLEANING/MAINTENANCE:
TELLS YOU WHAT TO DO FOR OILING IN THE MANUAL, BUT IF YOU GET A BALL BROKEN IN/ON THE BOLT, PULL THE BOLT OUT THE BACK (A LITTLE WORK) AND CLEAN IT OFF AND OIL THE PARTS THAT CAME OUT.

STOCK:
I MODIFIED MINE SO THAT I COULD AIM WHILE WEARING A MASK (JUST CUT OFF THE TOP BAR OF IT)

Just a little info for everyone, i highly recommend this gun.

Edit 1/6/08:

I use this gun in my woods w/ my J&J 16" and my Egg 2, and it still chops quite a bit, so i might buy the Z-board upgrade so it can keep up. probably another factor is that I'm using cheap paint (ZAP DBX Practice paint) but if i get some better paint, it might be alright. Another problem could be that the ACS bolt isn't broken in yet (from what i read in another review) but maybe later it won't chop so much.

Overall a great Milsim gun with not too many upgrades (yet) but, i recommend this to anybody who plays woods ball, or maybe even speed ball if you want. 9 out of 10 only because of chopping.
Conclusion: I would recommend this gun for rec ballers and woods ballers, but if you play speedball, maybe not the best choice, but still a competitor. basically, get a new barrel and hopper, and don't use cheap paint, and this gun will perform like a mother.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, January 6th, 2008 at 5:43 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

milsimextremist Saturday, April 14th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder MR1
Spyder Electra
Marker Setup: Tippmann X7
Flatline barrel
Red Dot laser sight
Recommended
Upgrades:
HALO B HOPPER
Scope
Strengths: Accuracy
Weight
E-grip
Cocking Mechanism
Weaknesses: Chops alot without electronic hopper
Feedneck

Review: I play alot of woodsball, and for that i need a nice, rugged marker, something that can take the dirt and mud i trudge through. And the MR2 delivered just that. Before i had this gun i had the MR1, which was an okay gun, but i needed the full auto to keep up with the demands from my fellow teammates. I saw the MR2 on badlands, and i had to get it. 3 weeks later i got a ring at my door and there was the guy with my box, i ripped it from him and took it out. At first glance its an amzing gun, then before i evn shot it i took it apart., evreything looks fine to me, i lik there new bolt for it the ACS bolt, i put evreything bak together and slapped on my 20 ounce CO2 tank and a regular, yes i know, regular hopper. It says up to twenty five balls per second on the package so i turned it on and let her rip. I loved the way it shot, it was very accurate, i flicked it from semi to 3 round burst, and then to full auto, but thats when my problems began. DO NOT, I REPEAT DO NOT GET THIS GUN WITHOUT AN ELECTRONIC HOPPER, the regular hopper cant meet the 25 balls per second demand or even the semi auto somtimes to,obviously becuase regular hoppers arent that great anymore, afterwards i had problems with the semi and three round burst with that to ,plus the feedneck wasnt on perfectly, it was on an angle,

So i fixed the feeneck and got me a halo b drive hopper, and evrythins bin peachy evr since. This gun is very light and when my friends tried it out, they were jealous cause after the game all of there heavy guns were hurtin there arms, sept me. i like there M16 style cocker, its enclosed so no dirt can get in, and its on top of the gun,so u pull it with two fingers and wolla.
Conclusion: Thats my review, I'd recommend to get this gun, if u can afford the Halo B hopper, but if u can't id recommend the MR1, there both from spyder so ur gettin your moneys worth. Overall nice gun , just watchout with the off feedneck, i rate this gun 8 out of 10, cause of the expensive hopper You have to buy with it and the offside feedneck.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kdtomczak Monday, March 5th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Electra, Tippman A5,
Marker Setup: Spyder Mr2
Kingman FASTA 18v LCD
16" J&J Ceramic Barrel
Coiled Remote
Scope
Recommended
Upgrades:
FAST HOPPER should be the first thing you get for this marker
Longer barrel
Remote
Strong Detents
Strengths: SUPER sturdy (read below)
very accurate out of the box
fast ROF
Good looks
Weaknesses: Sort of heavy, but not really
Weak stock detents
Review: First off, I'm going to start with a stupid story on how the mr2 is extremely sturdy. One day I was helping my friend back out of his new driveway. I put my paintball bag down, with my gun on top. I told him to stop going backwards and come up a little. Well..he went too fast up and ran right over my paintball bag. The paintballs busted, the hopper was smashed but the gun..on top, did'nt have a scratch on it.
Also the ROF is great, and i love woods ball so this is almost the perfect gun for that.
You definitely want to get a stronger detent and a FAST hopper. When I first got this gun, I put a case through it and I chopped about 10 balls on auto and 5 on semi.
I would'nt recommend this gun for speed ball. It is pretty heavy for speed ball, but it can still be used. If you have any arm strenght, you should be fine
Conclusion: I choose 9 for this gun because of it's great accuracy out of the box, the ROF and looks. The 1 off was the detent.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

redsky Monday, March 13th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Electra
Spyder Imagine
Marker Setup: Spyder MR2 with Halo B and 4500 psi air system
Recommended
Upgrades:
Metal feedneck elbow, remote and a new barrel
Strengths: Durable, Looks and shoots great out of the box
Weaknesses: Elbow is plastic and gun needs good paint
Review: I wanted a gun that was fun and fast for woods play. This gun is it. Having used a spyder electra I knew that a faster hopper was going to be needed by this gun so I tried to anticipate and plan for any possible problems. What I discovered was on my first game and first attempted shot my gun starting chopping paint I broke down the gun and discovered that the left over paint I had used before on my electra was jamming in the feed of the MR2. I measure the feed diameter and discovered the paintball was too large. I changed to smaller diameter paint and the problem went away. I shot 2500 rounds with no further problems. The gun is a little on the heavy side but a remote should solve that.
Conclusion: I would recommend this gun to anyone since I have not run into the issues others have noted. This gun is easy to clean and is built solid. You get excellent performance at a reasonable price.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, March 23rd, 2006 at 7:57 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Buddinator Sunday, November 5th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
slower markers.....JT Excellerator, Spyder Imagine
Marker Setup: MR2 with the stronger detent. Vlocity loader. Otherwise stock cuz this marker is amazing right out of the box.
Recommended
Upgrades:
MUST have a fast loader. I have the Vlocity and it keeps up no problem.
Strengths: Awesome out of the box with a fast loader. Barrel is pretty good for stock
Weaknesses: None for the most part.
Review: Way awesome marker. Chopped like crazy out of the box cuz it needed a faster hopper. It came with the "new and improved" detent so that wasn't an issue for me. It claims to fire up to 25 bps but I can't come close to doing that so I thought I'd just try my slower Viewloader which loads up to 13 bps. No good. Still chopped like crazy.

Threw on the VL Vlocity and set the force feed at 2. Not as much chopping. 5 wasn't quite good enough either. 6 did the trick. Never misses a shot. Never chops. And never has to be recocked. The three round burst hits their target 60 feet away within a few inches of each other. The full auto just keeps shooting ropes till the loaders empty.

Looks great and hits hard. Actually have some trouble dialing the pressure down to the 280 fps that is allowed around here. Can't really go lower than 300. I'll have to cut the spring a bit if I get caught. LOL

I know there are more expensive markers than this one, but you wouldn't be getting much more for all that extra money. Take the stock off and it's great for speedball. If you're into everything else there's a rail to attach sites to.

Couldn't buy a better marker for the money. But don't even bother taking a single shot until you have a fast loader if you don't want to be cleaning paint out of the marker and the loader.
Conclusion: But it if it's in your price range and you don't want to have to upgrade EVERYthing. I'd give it a 13 if I could.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tom j burke Friday, May 22nd, 2009
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
2 years5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder pilot , spyder mr 1 - these guns are blowbacks like the mr 2 , this means you will see alot of ball breaks or chopping.
Marker Setup: Invert mini
viewloader vlocity
68 4500 carbon fiber
Recommended
Upgrades:
Force feed hopper
high pressure air tank
new barrel or barrel set
Strengths: Very stong gun
price
full auto
Weaknesses: Blow back type gun ( more ball breaks )
heavy
very loud
bulky in size
Review: right out of the box i noticed it was heavy. i took this gun to my nearest field and began shooting with it, right away i realized that this gun was loud, really loud. second with a normal hopper (not force feed) the balls do not make it to the chamber fast enough, this is one reason the gun will chop paint or miss fire, the third thing i noticed was the amount of frost that was building up on my barrel and the amount of snow cominig out of my barrel, this of course is becuase of the c02, this gun has preasure spikes all the time with c02, it will shoot 300 then 255 then 265, it is impossible to crono this gun on c02. the chance of balls chopping is also increased with c02. another thing i noticed was the accuracy (or lack of) with the stock barrel, a new barrel is highly recomended.

about 1 month later i added a new force feed loader and a new .688 barrel and high preasure air tank, the gun seemed to perform much better than before, the force feed loader keeps balls in the chamber ready to fire ( as long as the loader can load balls faster than the gun can shoot them) so there wasnt as many ball chops or miss fires. As soon as i added the air tank as opposed to the c02 , the gun was easier to crono, there wasnt as much spiking in the preasure, also there was no more snow coming out of my gun and the barrel wasnt getting frosty, i did find that this gun used a huge amount of air. when i put the new barrel on it helped to reduce the amount of niose a little bit, but the gun is still niosy, and my accuracy was highly improved.
Conclusion: Overall, i would only recomend this gun to somebody who wanted to play woodsball or scenario ball over speedball this gun is heavy, and loud and it does break paint even with the acs bolt, i would have to say if you want to consider yourself a serious paintball player do not get this gun, instead save the money and move out of the blowback and low end guns , and get a mid range or better gun.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

thefireinme Wednesday, March 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
SP8, A5
Strengths: Cost, Stock, ACS
Weaknesses: None so far
Review: I own an MR2. First I love the package it came in, very well packed. I enjoyed how the stock is an option, and how it comes with it. The way it functions is pretty neat. Yes it is a spyder, and it acts like a spyder. I have a Ric AK hopper for it, and it works fine.
Conclusion: I'm not sure for the 25 BPS that they claim, but for the cost, I'm very impressed.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Eliborg Saturday, October 11th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
2 years4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98 Custom
Spyder MR1
Marker Setup: MR2 without Eyes
Viewloader Vlocity Hopper
JJ Edge Barrel Kit
68/3000 HPA Tank
Remote Line
BSA Red Dot
Palmer's Male Stabilizer
Custom Grips
No Stock
CCM Feedneck Adaptor
Alamo City Delrin Bolt

Recommended
Upgrades:
Everything in my Marker Setup
You really need a good Force-fed hopper
Paintballs that aren't brittle
High Pressure Air
Weaker mainspring
Strengths: High Rate of Fire
Durable
Weaver Rails
Three Different Firing Modes


Weaknesses: It's a paint blender without the proper set up


Review: I've owned my MR2 for a little over 2 years and have shot tens of thousands of rounds through this marker. It wasn't untill I purchased my Vlocity Loader that I started to have a good experience.

I have installed many upgrades on this marker and am very proud of my current setup. With everything installed and with the right paint, I can usually nail my opponents with one to three shots at 30 yards.

The MR2 does not like brittle paint! It will work fine with co2, but is way more consistant with HPA.



Conclusion: It takes alot of money and upgrades to get this marker to work well. I've heard that the MR2 w/eyes is a much more reliable gun. After going through so many ups and downs with this marker, I can not recommend this gun to any of my friends. For the money that you would have to put into it to make it work well, you could purchase a super reliable Automag or a decent Electro marker with eyes.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Scias Monday, March 10th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Victor, PMI Pirahna
Marker Setup: Spyder MR2 w/ metal clamping feedneck, red dot scope, new detent, 9V Fasta Hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
New detents, metal clamping feedneck
Strengths: Rate of fire
Spyder Ease of Maintenance
Looks
Weight
Weaknesses: Detents
Weight
Not AS easy to break down as other spyders
Battery problems
Review: When a use a specific kind of product for the first time and it treats me well, I usually stay loyal to the brand name. This occured with Kingman's Spyder guns. I owned a Spyder Victor for my first gun. It was great and I never had a major problem, and it was very easy to break down and modify. That same quality I saw in the Victor I still see in the MR2.

I debated between the MR1 and MR2, but the ACS bolt and the forgrip on the MR2 sold me, even though I was leary about having to rely on batteries to be able to shoot my gun.

The first thing that attracted me to the gun were the looks. I play recreational woodsball, and everyone out there owns a Tippman. I wanted something different, but that still had that military style. The MR2 definitely has that.

BODY: The body is mostly metal, which gives it a good sturdy feeling. It also weighs quite a bit compared to other guns. Personally, I like heavy guns. It gives it that realistic feel. I listed that under a weakness as well because some people don't like their guns heavy. It also just looks really cool. I feel like I'm ready for some heavy firefights just holding it in the field, and having something somewhat unique is something I strive for. I like the Tippman A5 look, but I liked the MR2 looks better (except the crappy hard plastic grips on the handle, which you can buy better ones).

BARREL: It's a standard 14" barrel. Looks good with the gun and has pretty good accuracy. Personally, I think the gun actually looks better WITHOUT any barrel, but it's not much use to anyone like that. Might look good with a little CQC barrel.

RATE OF FIRE: It's fast. The three round burst and full auto are a novelty, they're just not practical in a firefight unless you have a very good hopper. Using them is like playing the random ball chop game. Semi auto is nice. The trigger is so light that you can let loose a crazy barrage of paint just flying at the enemy. Maybe it feels so fast because I only have experience with the victor, but still, when I let 10 balls loose, and my opponent only sends 5 at me in the same period, I feel pretty good.

EASE OF MAINTENANCE: While my friends spend forever it seems messing with their tippmans, I pull the pin out of my spyder and everything comes out. That and most everything is held together with a minimal amount of screws.

NOT AS EASY AS OTHER SPYDERS TO BREAK DOWN: The only thing about the MR2 is that, to remove the bolt etc. you have to remove the screw for the cocking lever, which is under the raised sight rail, so you have to remove the raised sight rail. THis does get annoying after a bit.

BALL DETENT: Yes it is true. The detents are very weak little nipple things that double feed like crazy. Getting some Bob Long Intimidator detents will fix the double feeding. Easy fix, $3. They are a very tight fit, I had to trim a little off the edge to get it to fit.

BATTERY PROBLEMS: The battery that came with my MR2 was bad. It held about 200 balls worth of charge and that's it. Took me forever to figure out what the problem was because I didn't expect it to be bad. I hate battery operated things. These batteries are about 15 bucks a piece for the spyder brand ones, which is absurd personally. They're supposed to last 5000 -10000 shots I think I read. So I modded (and at the same time voided my warranty) the gun to use a 9.6V RC Car battery, which holds about 6-7x the charge. Lasted me all day the other day, and it probably would have lasted the entire weekend had I played everyday.

ACS BOLT: It works. Not every time, but nothing's perfect. It's good, but you have to break it in. Just take it out and compress the spring a bunch, otherwise don't expect it to prevent chopping worth a flip.

RECOMMENDED UPGRADES: An all metal, clamping feedneck is expensive, but it's a good investment. Even though it held up, I wouldn't expect the plastic feedneck to keep going for extended periods. Definitely get new detents. An electronic hopper is essential for keeping up with it's true potential. A high end hopper is recommended for use with auto and 3 round burst modes. My 9V fasta keeps up well with my semi auto, and that's all I ask for.
Conclusion: For recreational play, especially woodsball, I highly recommend this very stylish, functional gun. It's heavy, and loud, but it just feels right to me. Will, like any new gun, require a break in period, especially for the ACS bolt.

I give it a 9 because of it's minor flaws and the experience I had with the battery, even though it was an isolated incident. Would have been a 10 otherwise.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SplatZoneBorneo Wednesday, October 3rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
A5
Marker Setup: SP Ion
Epiphany
Electra
MR2
VS1
VS2
VS3
Tippmann 98, A5, eXT, XT, XL
Halo B w Rip Drive w V35
Empire B2
Empire Reloader 2 w sound activated
some Cheap HPA tank 45/3000
Pure Energy co2 20z
New Boss Barrel
M16 Barrel and complete kit (A5)



Recommended
Upgrades:
make it look like Milsim
Strengths: * High rate of fire
* Ergonomic Mil-Sim look & feel
* Versatile performance
Weaknesses: Quite hard to find a barrel to fit. tourney legal or not?
Review: Fast
yes its really fast, i have not yet having the chance to test out the ROF but 25bps seem achieveable

Firing mode
Few firing mode, but it still a good one for it price

Accurate
compare to 98 and better than A5 and SP8 for me

Light
very much than the bulky A5

Comfortable
yes it is, dont judge by it look. feel it

Intergrated Drop Forward
needless to say, look it yourself

Feed Neck
side neck, fit most of my e loader without any problem

No maintenance required
yes not much, one of the most reliable low end e-marker. but when it break inside your marker, it not an easy task to clean it up

No chops
out of 1 case 2000 round pb i tested, no chop at all.
Conclusion: i dont know about you all guys. but i have no regret getting this marker. eventhough it just for my collection (most of the time i used my Smart Parts's marker), but for people out there who op for budget marker nor beginner for woodsball, this is a good one for you.

GET IT.

I would give 10 because of it price < perfomance.
it really suite many paintballers budget
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (15):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media