paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Kingman Spyder MR2 / Kingman Spyder MR2 / Kingman Spyder MR2 / Kingman Spyder MR2

Kingman Spyder MR2 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Kingman

Buy Kingman Spyder MR2

Paintball Low-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Kingman Spyder MR2
[ View Photos (68) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 149
Average Rating: 8.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $250

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The first military style, electronic paintball marker released by Kingman.

Features removable stock, scope mount and double trigger.

Built to withstand the toughest scenario play.

Comes with anti chop bolt, a rechargeable 9.6v battery and a range of firing modes.
Product Availability 
The Kingman Spyder MR2 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (15):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
Chulito1992 Saturday, August 11th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Victor,Spyder mr1,Tippmann a5,spyder sonix and spyder Xtra
Marker Setup: Spyder Mr2 with trinity spring kit and Turbo valve,coming soon: bt apex barrel and eggy 3
Recommended
Upgrades:
trinity spring kit and Turbo valve,Electronic hoppers ones that can feed 20 bps or more,red dot scope ,barrel but not neccesary .
Strengths: The acs bolt,black matte for stealth,its a powerful a fast shooting gun.
Weaknesses: You have to keep it lubricated for best acs performance,loud and needs electronic hopper.
Review: Well the "stock mr2" is crap,because when i first got it and started playing it chopped a lot of paintball and all of the other paintballs got wet with the paintball fill and couldnt use them so after every game i had to clean the barrel and the hopper but once i had some modification done to it , i played a game and it didnt break any balls, and that was with the gravity fed hopper.It needs good paintballs and a 20 bps or more electronic hopper.Another thing the ball detent is a crappy one it broke when i cleaned the gun. For optimance performance keep lubricating the bolt after you are done playing. ill asure once lubricated the acs bolt works! This gun at a distance of 90-120 feet its very acurrate(with stock barrel) but i figure it will be more acurrate with an apex or an j&j performance barrel. Also recommend to put eyes on the mr2 im putting them in the future but think about it the acs bolt with eyes, no balls will break.
Conclusion: This gun is a good gun for begginers and veterans. ohh and when you get the gun make sure the ball detent is black if not change because the orange one is crap,also i recommend the eggy 3,halo and fasta hoppers for this gun.(Remember this is my opinion,so please do not leave any bad comments ,if you have another opinion fine its your opinion) Anyway i give it a nine because nothings perfect)
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PBfreakme Thursday, June 15th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Rodeo, Spyder Pilot ACS, Spyder compact, and lots of others
Marker Setup: Currently I use a Smartparts ION with aftermarket Bolt, Dropforward, and aftermarket Circuit board.
Strengths: Heavy duty, No external moving parts.
Weaknesses: Side feed problem, Ball detents no good.
Review: It's funny because I was sitting right where you were when I was thinking about buying the MR2, but I think you should hear some things first that you won't find elsewhere.
I purchased the Marker from an online site. Got it in 4 days (not bad). I opened it up and was very impressed with it's looks. I must say it really does look cool. So I put the buttstock in (you have to use an allen screw which in turn scrapes the buttstock) and I found out quickly that,though functional, it was not comfortable and I could not see myself using it on the field. Thats ok because it is not necessary to use the marker. I took it to the field that weekend using the halo B hopper, CO2 and Compressed air. I used Heat and Diablo paint. Well things were good for about 8 shots, then a ball broke. I cleaned it out and fired about 20 more rounds, all on semi, and broke another. I cleaned it out and thought I would test the hopper out and turned it to full auto. That was good for about 2 seconds and paint started shooting out everywhere. At that point I knew there was a problem. So I went home and did a thorough cleaning and inspected all aspects of the marker. Everything checked ok, so I went online and checked some blogs and found out that the ball detents were faulty. That would explain the barrel breaks. So I called kingman (several times) and was assured that I had the right ones. So I looked to aftermarket. Let me first say that this gun was not designed to be upgraded. The aftermarket barrels I had would not fit into the shroud and if you took the shroud off you had to take grip off too and now it does'nt look to "cool". You can't upgrade the Bolt because the MR2 uses a 2nd generation bolt that nobody makes an aftermarket for yet. So you can't really upgrade it without sacrificing looks. So I wanted to return the marker. MAKE SURE YOU KNOW YOUR STORES POLICY BEFORE BUYING THIS GUN. I had more problems then I can list with returning this marker and had no help from kingman either. Please think ahead before buying this marker. Maybe my particular marker was defective but doubt it after looking further into it.
Conclusion: Overall I do NOT recommend this product for anyone who wants to upgrade or aspires to be pro. I do however believe this marker is okay for REC BALL ONLY. Use high quality paint and a high speed hopper. If you have any problems contact kingman tech support. It is important for you to also choose a store with a decent reputation so they can help you with any problems you have.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, June 15th, 2006 at 5:41 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

thoffman49 Thursday, February 10th, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 custom
Tippmann A5
Marker Setup: Rap4's M4/M16-
Butt-stock
Carry handle and scope mount
Tasco red dot
M16 assault rifled barrel
Apex barrel tip
Getting Bob Long Detents
Had Co2 hose line, broken
Viewloader electronic hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
a new hopper that is electronic
a new barrel, J&J is good, I use to use one, I would recommend a 14 or 16in.
a new stock or cutting the top off the stock one is needed to see down the sights
a co2 hose line helps to take some off the weight off the gun


Strengths: Looks great, 3 modes of firing
Weaknesses: Heavy, once the Co2 and hopper is added
chops a lotta paint
Review: Ok here we go-

I started this gun with a 14in J&J, worked great. Once I got the money, I bought the new Rap4 barrel and butt stock. Over this past summer I played quite a bit of woodsball. This gun is great at woodsball gun and can compete with 98c and A5.

This past Christmas I bought the carry handle/ scope mount and APEX. The gun with all these upgrades has good distance and accuracy. However the gun stills chops a lot of paint. Every third or fourth ball chops, so I'm getting some new detents. I really can't complain tho about the chopping, it never really bothered me in the summer. However living in the north makes the cold hard on the gun. When my gun wasn't chopping it was as good as any gun out in the cold, bad. However once i started to chop, it chopped a lot, The barrel would clog up and the paint would freeze very quickly. Heard the detents can help this problem so i'll give them a shot.

Conclusion: Overall this gun is good for people wanting to get into paintball, or want a good woodsball gun that is still cheap. This gun isn't perfect, but with a little time and money you can turn this stock gun into a pretty mean killer in the woods or in the field.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kpellon Thursday, August 23rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Kingman Spyder Xtra, Tippman Custom 98 & A5
Marker Setup: Kingman Spyder MR2, Halo B, Smartparts 16" Freak Barrel, Allen Paintball Products Atomic Elbow.
Recommended
Upgrades:
J&J Ceramic Barrel or Smartparts Freak (MR2 compatible) Barrel.
Ball detent from a Bob Long timmy
Atomic Elbow from Allen Paintball Products
An electronic
Strengths: Durable
Semi to Full Auto at a great price
Great right out of the box

Weaknesses: Heavy
Too bulky for speedball
Review: Pros:

Bang for the buck! I found mine at $169 and it rivals much more expensive markers.

This is primarily a scenario or woodsball marker and can withstand incredible abuse requiring minimal maintenance.

Ready to use right out of the box.

Very accurate & incredibly easy to change modes: off, semi, 3 burst & full auto (no complicated trigger settings but does not have ramping)

However it is heavy. A sling doesn't help much as it becomes too cumbersome to change firing sides with the stock, but after some sore arms you get used to it.

Side loading keeps line of sight clear.

Cons:

If you use an electronic loader than a stiffer Ball detent from a Bob Long timmy is a must so as to avoid double feeds ($3) This is well covered in most forums.

As with many electronic loaders their weight in rough scenario play can easily crack most elbows so an Atomic Elbow from Allen Paintball Products is essential.

The rechargeable battery makes the hand grips not adhere to the handle as closely which can make cleaning post game a bit of a task.

Conclusion: bang for the buck!

rarely have I seen a marker which is so easy to use right out of the box needing minimal maintenance or upgrades, offering such speed 20 to 25bps at such a low cost.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

James_MR2 Sunday, December 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98
Spyder Rodeo
Marker Setup: Spyder MR2
Viewloader VLocity
20oz CO2
Nikko Sterling 3-9 x 42 parallax adjustable scope
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Remote Line
Strengths: Accurate
Powerfull
Good Looking
Weaknesses: Very Heavy
Loud
Review: Although heavy, the MR2 is a greatly versatile recreational marker. It stands out from the crowd with it's great looks and nice sound.

I origonally had problems with the marker when I first bought it. I tok it back to the store and discovered that the hopper I had was not fast enough to release the full potential of the marker. I upgraded to a VL VLocity hopper and had very little problems with it. It performed well and broke very little paint with the new hopper.

The MR2 uses a normal amount of CO2, but it uses all of the power from the 9V battery after one whole days paintballing. This is not a problem as the marker comes with a rechargable battery and charger included in the very reasonable price.
Conclusion: I would reccomend the MR2 because it is good value for money, accurate and versatile, although a remote line and expensive hopper is essential.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Monkey Militia Wednesday, November 15th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Some crappy field gun, MR1
Marker Setup: "out of the box" stock setup, gravity fed hopper.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Force fed hopper! (VLocity for the win)
Better Barrel (J&J Ceramic)
HP/Air (for consistency & capacity)
Maybe a different stock
Spring Kit
Different Grips
Alamo City low blow + Striker
Strengths: Fast Firing, Solid, Stylish, Flexible, Accurate stock barrel.
Weaknesses: Needs to be understood! See conclusion
Review: Ok, out of the box this gun isn't that great... I took it out to our local fields, expecting a noob-blastathon with my new imposing "death" machine - everyone was fearful...

Woe was me! This thing chops balls like an angry ex wife. Chopped 3 balls out of about 140 (from a pod fill). About 30 mins of time wasted in screwing & cleaning...

After some research I've found the following:

- MUST have a very good hopper, preferably force fed.

- New striker bolt spring is hard: this pushes the bolt & ball speed way up and causes chops & barrel breaks. Was getting wild velocity and nothing under 310 fps. Leave the gun cocked for a 24 hours and chopping should decrease, if not, leave cocked for longer until spring softens (definitely buy a spring kit!).

- You need to keep the velocity under 280-290fps for the Anti-Chop bolt to work.

After my C02 had run down a little, I could empty a hopper rapidly - without any chops. So with fresh unregulated C02, you should probably use a soft bolt spring, and about 2-3 hoppers later, switch to a hard spring.

Contrary to what some people say, you DON'T need to take off the T cocking handle or sight rail to take the bolt out, just the stock. The bolt dosen't just fall out - you need to jiggle it a bit.

Barrel compatability is a bit of a b!tch, but the J&J Ceramic (not S2 or Full Tilt) and BT APEX fit perfect.

The stock grip panels are flimsy, and I fully expect them to break at the screw holes after more screwing. Investigate options!
Conclusion: Even with the negatives in mind, I still give this gun an 8. It would've got a 9 if it wasn't so unreliable out of the box. If you dont intend on playing Paintball heaps (thus not investing a lot of time + money), then don't buy this gun.

But if you're looking for an instrument to refine and understand, don't hesitate to get this gun. It looks awesome, fires really fast, and can be incredibly effective with the right add-ons. Just be prepared to spend time & money to make it that way.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, November 15th, 2006 at 8:54 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

nax_a_mack Wednesday, September 13th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman Custom Pro
Marker Setup: '06 MR2 w. VL eVLution 2
Recommended
Upgrades:
Need a hopper capable of 15 bps+
Strengths: Really Durability, Size, Affordability, and it just looks sweet.
Weaknesses: Weak feedneck, need to buy fast hopper
Review: This marker is the first one i have purchased, and i was totally satisfied. With a fast hopper, it is just wicked. The one thing though is that i needed to buy an expensive hopper, but the guns features totally made up for it.

It simply blows away all my friend's guns by far.
Conclusion: Works like a charm, good for your money's worth, great gun for everyone
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

G.H.O.S.T Tuesday, June 27th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
MR1
Marker Setup: PRIMARY: Spyder MR2, Armotech tactical sling, new feeder neck, Extreme Rage 180 rnd. hopper, 48 ci 3000 psi air tank

SECONDARY: Warsenor WSP paintpistol, Armotech tactical holster
Recommended
Upgrades:
New feeder neck, the stock one is to big and the hopper will sit way to high on the gun,
remote coil if u r using HPA cuz' the tank will be longer than the stock, fast loader to keep up w/ the speeds of shooting
Strengths: See review
Weaknesses: See review
Review:
STREGTHS:
great air efficiancy
cool looks
really fast
stock barrel is good enough
ACS bolt (delrin)

WEAKNESSES:
stock feeder neck
lot of time to take apart to fix (bad for u people who like to play 24/7)
trigger wobbles from side to side
u have to take apart the whole gun and tighten everything because the machines that made this gun put them to loose
not alot of upgrades 4 it (yet)







This is a great gun overall. it has a few weaknesses dragging it down but some more to bring it up. This thing has remarkable air efficiancy (can't say how many shots i got from my tank but i had 2000 psi left and it dropped down to about 500 psi after 2 hours of shooting) plus it shoots around 25 bps if u have a fast hopper. the manual isn't all that descriptive, it just shows u some of the parts and doesn't show were to put them (most don't show). the stock barrel is near perfectly milled and spot-free, and in mine i couldn't notice any machine marks on the inside. this gun is very accurate if ur using some fair paint, (i use the $50 cases) plus it won't chop any paint because of the anti-chop bolt(i stuck my finger in the breech and shot a few times and nothing happened.) The 1 really weird thing about this gun is that my freind bought one after i did and our barrel plugs were completly different(all though it wasn't that bad because the still both work.) This gun is great for woodsball(just don't go near any water-like substance or air-born particles because it will go into your grip frame do to lousy grip frames(get new ones as soon as they come out or when the're available) but this gun isn't all that great for speedball, it's insanly huge and renders as a huge target, but it still works if u get a small hopper and remote coil to reduce size.
Conclusion: This gun is greatfor any woodsball fan (and speedball if u got some extra $$$) that is a low cost marker(i found it for $280 canadian) that still is very high quality and comes with alot of great features and a high ROF. I'm giving this gun an 8 because it's not insanly great and nothing's perfect.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

tendervittles Tuesday, May 30th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Icon E
Tippmann 98
Marker Setup: MR2
Red dot holosight
12v Revolution
Modified stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel
Red dot
new hopper
Strengths: Look, durable, offset feed, fast, bolt, price
Weaknesses: Detent, stock, shroud
Review: When I first saw this gun, I decided I was going to get it. It's a great gun, it comes with a stock, has an offset feed, it is fast, and comes with places to mount scopes. The price is pretty good for what you get. At first this gun chopped like mad, but I found out the problem and now the gun is great. All you need to do to fix this is replace the detent. It costs about $2 (some people call it a ball stopper). It rarely chops, and never double feeds. The stock is useless unless you do what I did and cut out the top bar. You can't use it if you don't. The barrel is pretty accurate, but not that great. I'm gonna get a new one soon. It's a really fast gun. Some say this gun is heavy, but not me. It weighs a little less than 5 pounds. I have used it several times, and it is great. I recommend it to anyone who has the money to buy it.
Conclusion: This gun is amazing, I love it. Get it because it's cheap, fast, and reliable.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

NextoN Sunday, March 5th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman A5..
Marker Setup: 06 Spyder MR2 STOCK
Evo II
Recommended
Upgrades:
Hopper capable of 13bps or faster.
New barrel?
REMOTE(Heavy)
Scope/Lazer
Strengths: 13bps, Accuracy, FAST



Weaknesses: Fast hopper, barrel does not like cold weather
Review: Almost perfect. It's the first military marker from kingman and they have done a good job. It's a solid marker only the grip and the stock is not metal. But it's not cheap plastic tho(tough plastic).. My marker does'nt chop paint with my 9bps hopper. But I use my egg.

The marker is great, it comes with a stock. The elbow is kinda cheap. The ACS is not in aluminum but in plastic I don't think it makes any differences.
When you get the marker change the detent right away the following detent is cheap.
I like the bladetrigger on this marker! I can fire about 15bps MAX, but I have to pull the trigger really fast to do it tho..
What I like most with the marker is that it is really easy to clean. It would take me about 1 minute.
Fast hopper required(not a big deal), barrel is not good in under 8degrees then you just get ballbreak. I have chopped once.
Conclusion: I could recommend this to beginner or pro. It is heavy without the remote but that just tells us it's quality. It has all I could ask for :) I give it 10 out of 10 because it's so great. Kingman does not disappoint me!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, March 26th, 2006 at 1:17 pm PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (15):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media