paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Kingman Spyder MR2 / Kingman Spyder MR2 / Kingman Spyder MR2 / Kingman Spyder MR2

Kingman Spyder MR2 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Kingman

Buy Kingman Spyder MR2

Paintball Low-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Kingman Spyder MR2
[ View Photos (68) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 149
Average Rating: 8.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $250

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The first military style, electronic paintball marker released by Kingman.

Features removable stock, scope mount and double trigger.

Built to withstand the toughest scenario play.

Comes with anti chop bolt, a rechargeable 9.6v battery and a range of firing modes.
Product Availability 
The Kingman Spyder MR2 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (15):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  Last
        Next Page
etrain Thursday, March 27th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Bt-4 combat , Tippmann 98 custom , Tippmann a-5
Marker Setup: Bone stock MR2
Viewloader Revultion hopper with XBoard
PMI 68ci 4500psi Carbon Fibre wrapped HPA tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nitro tank - to take some weight off
barrel - apex is good
new stock if using a scope or any other sights
Fast hopper
Strengths: Fast, durrible, perfect out of box
Weaknesses: The guns pretty heavy and loud but i like loud :)
Review: This is a very very great gun. Its perfect for new players as well as experianced players. you could do alot with this gun. i like it because once i pull it out i look vert intimadating. its very fast up to 25bps if u can get it that fast. just need a fast hopper. ive heard lots of cases of chopping and such and i havent had any i think only 3 have broken and that was because the balls were old. To be honest i think the cheap balls are the way to go i only sue those and i havent had any problems. Gun is quite heavy so try to get a sling.
Conclusion: I tihnk this is a very good gun for a very great price it has some flaws but what gun doesnt i would deffintly recommand picking up one of these bad boys
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ShadowSpyder Wednesday, March 19th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: New MR2 with eye. Everything else standard.
Recommended
Upgrades:
none
Strengths: Well made (mostly metal) not like many other markers which are made of plastic.
Weaknesses: Trigger frame and side panels expose electronics.
Review: Overall the gun is well made and functions really well, hasn't chopped a ball yet. Before purchasing this gun I read many reviews and looked through numerous forums. When I pulled it out of the box I was very impressed by the quality, and it wasn't nearly as heavy as everyone claimed (Its actually lighter than most guns of the same price). But something I notice right away was the grip. The plastic grip panels dont seal up really well to the trigger frame. When the battery is installed the panels bulge out even more. This can't be good for the trigger's electronic board. This is very disappointing, I thought I was getting a very durable and tough gun. It looks like you could sneeze and the electronics could short circuit.
Conclusion: I'm currently thinking of ways to solve this problem. A wrap around grip would probably help a little, but not enough. There will still be many ways for paint or water or moisture to get inside the grip. I have yet to find anyone that mentions having this type of problem. I think this is an obvious and potentially serious problem. I've never let snow nor rain nor water crossings, stop me from playing paintball. But this marker is definitely going to limit me to dry weather [unacceptable] until I can solve the problem.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

btbtravis Sunday, December 30th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
My Friend's Spyder Pilot ACS
Marker Setup: Spyder MR2
Evolution 3 hopper
20in Smart Parts Tactical Barrel
Tasco Red Dot scope
I use crap paint balls like monsters
Recommended
Upgrades:
Better hopper
Strengths: Fast, Good Price, Looks, less chopping balls, and All around performance
Weaknesses: Without electric hopper it will chop a lot of balls
Heavy
Review: First of all this is a great gun and I love it. When I bought it I was on a budget so I through the price was good. The first day I used it I chopped about 10 balls, very big pain. I figered that it was do to the cold. So I went on a warmer day and had same problem. I bought my Evolution 3 hopper which can keep up with gun way better and had no problems.
Conclusion: Over all I would buy this gun again right now
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Kurze Wednesday, May 16th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder MR1, A5, and some oldschool shotgun thing about twelve years ago.
The MR1 impressed me so much I was gonna get one, then I saw the MR2...
A5 is a great gun, but a bit pricey over here in NZ once you get all the cool bits.
Marker Setup: MR2 straight from the box, remote line and co2. standard gravity hopper.
20/06/07 Have upgraded to Spyder Fasta hopper (30bps) 16" J&J barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Definately a faster hopper. NZ Gun laws prohibit automatic weapons so initially the MR2 comes with only semi. easily fixed. Maybe a better barrel, standard one ai'nt too bad though. Cut through the stock with a hacksaw to remove the top bar to aid sighting, or get another one.
Strengths: ACS, High BPS, solid, looks cool, comes w stock
Weaknesses: REALLY LOUD!! Flimsy hand grips on trigger.
Review: OK, so I'm a newbie, fair enough. Having played only limited amounts before going out and buying this gun, a lot had to do with affordability. I got mine in a bundle deal with a mask, hopper, pods,12oz co2 bottle, remoteline, pod harness and a big box of paint balls. All for less than the cost of a standard A5 setup, mask, co2 bottle plus hopper.
Also had played with the MR1 and was fairly impressed with it.

So, the gun. It looks mean without any xtras, scared the crap out of my mates when we next played. Its not bad as far as accuracy goes either, we were hitting a beer bottle at 30ft on semi, and burst. Full auto, well, supressing fire really. Sounds wicked in a big shoot out, sadly not so good if you trying to be all stealthy like.

Now, the weight. C'mon, it does'nt really weigh that much, comparable to my mates A5 with a flatline barrel and stock, but less than than another mates VIPER. Its a MILSIM! Real guns are heavy, quit whining that your skinny girl arms hurt. To be fair, it may too heavy for speed ball, but still, harden up.

Now I have the full range of firing modes, I will need to shell out for a decent E hopper. I used a mates "egg" and we emptied it REAL fast on full auto, did have a few dry fires though, hopper could'nt keep up I guess. But on semi, my gravity hopper was fine, again, did a couple of dry fires but no chopping. The only paint in my gun came from a jammy shot that hit the end of my barrel, a few shots cleaned that out though.

Have been designated the group "Heavy Gunner" due to the amount of paint I chewed through, almost twice as much as everybody else, except the guys with A5's.

Conclusion: I love my new toy, it rocks!! Its good and solid and holds up well considering a 6ft, 90kg kluts is barging through the undergrowth with it. As a newbie I am really stoked with it, and as far as value for money goes its pretty good. Have a few purchases planned, sight and ceramic barrel. Definately a much faster hopper. :) BANG BANG BANG

20/6/07 Have added a spyder fasta hopper (30bps) and a j&j 16 inch barrel and chopped the stock. Works brilliantly! Still bloody loud though. Go through WAAAAAAAY more paint now....... still no chopping. :) GET THIS GUN!!!
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, December 16th, 2007 at 9:47 am PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

eddiev2241 Wednesday, March 28th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Flash (not horrible)
Rental Pirhanas (not great)
Marker Setup: Spyder MR2
J&J Ceramic - 16"
Eggy 3
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel
Fast Hopper
Strengths: Military Look
Fast
ACS Bolt worked great
Weaknesses: Heavy
Shroud means few barrel choices
Fast gun=more $ on paint
Review: I love this gun. I have had nothing but good times with it. When I first got it, I had an old Revy. I was afraid I was going to chop a lot based on some reviews and the forums. However, the ACS bolt worked great. I did have to re-cock the gun often when I would out-shoot the hopper, but I would rather do that than have to clean out the inside of the gun. Now that I have an Eggy, it fires faster than I could ever want (cost me a lot more in paint these days).
This gun is perfect for woodsball/scenario. Has a great military look. It has also been durable. I have been diving around with it and no problems. Some people complain about the weight of the gun, but I actually like to feel like I am holding a weapon (I do have to admit though after a 7 hour scenario, my arms were pretty spent).
My main complaint is that you are limited on the barrels that can be used with the MR2 because of the shroud. I would think they could make the shroud opening a little larger to accomidate more barrel choices without giving up too much of the look.
Conclusion: I love this gun and recommend it to people who play woodsball or scenarios. Even though it fires incredibly fast, I think the weight would keep it from being a good speedball gun.
Giving it a 9 because of the barrel restrictions.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

lucifer_sam Saturday, February 10th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Everything under the sun.
Shockers, Impulses, Ions, Nerves, Cockers, Dyes, etc etc etc
...though never an Ego or an Angel
Marker Setup: Spyder MR2
Reloader B
Palmer's Stabilizer
NDZ Bottomline ASA w/ on/off
Trinity AK-47 Expansion Chamber
Timmy detents
Recommended
Upgrades:
J & J Ceramic barrel
Regulator - Bob Long Torpedo or PPS Stabilizer
New valve spring or clipped stock valve spring
Timmy detents
New bolt - Alamo City top-cocking or simply add o-rings to the stock bolt.
Strengths: Fast board.
Very aesthetically pleasing.
Side-feed for true military look.
Weaknesses: Operating pressure flawed.
Slow cycle.
ACS bolt ineffective.
Review: Kingman tried to come out with a nice looking military set of markers, but this marker takes the cake as the worst of the bunch. In theory, it is wonderful. Stock board is capable of 25 BPS, side-feed gives it the tactical look, and with a bunch of other military features, the gun itself looks damn pretty. But alas, Kingman FAILED.

The board is nice. Not only that, but it's nigh impossible to damage it. Very nice milling, very durable, and a great look to it. The awesome extras remain awesome, but it's quite obvious this gun was never meant for serious play.

The stock barrel is not too bad, pretty accurate, but extremely loud. There are about five ports at the very end of the barrel to allow air to escape more easily, but unfortunately, it still sounds like an exploding firecracker. Not only that, but the way that the military shroud was milled renders it impossible to use a different barrel system on it (save for the J & J ceramic). And it's unremovable. The shroud houses and protects the valve, and holds the foregrip in place.

The body itself has few flaws. The anodizing on the gun is beautiful; haven't scratched it yet. The screws don't have comparable anodizing, but the effect that the worn away screws have on the military look is tremendous, giving it an aura of genuine vintageness. It is, however, imperceptibly heavy. The double-stacked tube in itself weighs over 2 lbs, making the gun itself nearly four.

I do like the offset feedneck for true rifle-like vision, but the crossbar stock interferes with the rail accomplishing its intended job. Even so, it still fits the standard 3/8" dovetail mount, so you can scope away without having to buy expensive adapters. The detents are kinda weak, but no more so than other Spyder detents.

Now, the operating system itself is the real problem. A high-tensile valve spring prevents the gun from attaining a manageable pressure. The stock pressure is around 850 psi, and without a regulator, this can spike as high as 1000 psi or more. Not only that, but the foregrip housing interferes installing a regulator via bottomline, so you're stuck buying an expensive inline one.

DO NOT LET THE ADVERTISING FOOL YOU. This incredible operating pressure renders the delrin ACS bolt completely ineffective, even after you break it in. It will chop balls no matter what loader you have, no matter how well you time your shots, and regardless of how durable paint you are using. I recommend an Alamo City replacement bolt ($18), or get a machinist to lathe o-rings onto the stock one.

Although the board is nice, it can't save the gun from anything, and despite Kingman's best efforts to introduce an affordable electroblowback military marker, this gun doesn't deserve credit given.
Conclusion: Do not buy this product. Save your money and buy an Ion or a Custom 98. The Spyder MR2 was a gargantuan flawed mechanical design by Kingman, and I would like to see them take some corporate responsibility and try to correct the chopping problem.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ace34 Monday, January 8th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Marker Setup: Spyder MR2
eVlution auto feeder
Recommended
Upgrades:
Auto feeder
Strengths: Accurate
Weaknesses: Heavy also sometimes to big
Review: First day I got this gun I brought it out back and shot off about 10-20 balls at bucket on semi-auto around 100ft away, the gun shot pretty accurately there. Then I tryed full-auto with an eVlution loader and it seemed to work fine there too. However when first using the gun to play (woodsball) the gun w/ the stock and a CORE deadsight and ofcourse the eletric loader, I could not move around conviently. I found myslef getting hit over and over without getting a *single hit on my opponent. The next day we went back out except only this time I used the gun without the stock, a plastic loader, and no CORE deadsight or even the sight rail for that matter. I destroyed my opponent. I was able to move much more conviently and *alot faster. Very, good woodsballs gun but im sure this gun would make a decent speedball gun.
Conclusion: Overall this gun worked very well, and satsified my needs. It was everything I was looking for. Once again *great woodsball gun.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

d1rk41 Sunday, December 31st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann 98
Marker Setup: Electronic loader
Recommended
Upgrades:
Electronic loader
Strengths: Acs, nice stock, very fast, very nice looking, double trigger, durable
Weaknesses: On the heavier side, cant tell when gun is charging
Review: The gun is very nice, but is a little bit heavy. i have only owned this gun for about two weeks so i dont know how much it chops but it has an acs, it has not chopped yet but ive only tried it on semi auto. you can not tell when the gun is charging because the light does not come on. but when the battery is low it will blink rapidly letting you know the battery is low.
Conclusion: Great gun for an affordable price if you are intrested in this gun i would recommend buying it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

brandonjvance Saturday, December 30th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
98 custom , A-5
Marker Setup: Spyder MR2
VLocity loader
21" true flight barrel
Red Head red dot sight
WGP 50ci 3000 psi HPA tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Hopper
Strengths: Speed
Looks
Weaknesses: Weight
Needs the wider site rail to be higher cant see through sight with mask
Review: Personally i love this gun, its sturdy and i like the weight it makes you feel like you have a gun. Shoots fast if you have a hopper that can feed it ive used a VLocity loader and qloader and both worked great i lost the Qloader because loading it got old and i throw alot of paint. Barrel works decent but theres alot better only problem is because the threads are recessed into the reciever you can only install barrels with a stock or smaller back size unless you grind them down like i did. one downer is cand see through scopes that use the wider set of sight rails for two reasons there to low and the stock sits to high wich cause one problem your mask gets squished on and yo eye hurts , im either goina cut some stock off or make a raised set of wide rails that are angled foward a bit.
Conclusion: Highly recomend it. Great gun good speed awesome looks great reliability lots of upgrades coming out now (check out trinity they got mr2 and 3 specific parts out now) I love my gun theres little downsides but the ups out weigh them
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sonnislav Friday, May 26th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
SP-8 better shooting; smoother and a lot less kick but taking apart the whole gun to lube the bolt is a hassle for the SP-8 whereas lubing the Spyder MR2 is easier...
Marker Setup: DM3, LED Matrix, 2k2 Autococker mech, STO autococker e-blade, E-mag, Rainmaker, Warsensor Wg-47, Ion, SP-8
Recommended
Upgrades:
Low Pressure to reduce the very noticeable kick if you can but I don't know if all the LP mods out for Spyders apply to the MR2 because of the way the body is set-up
Strengths: Simple design equals simple maintenance and troubleshooting. Looks durable. Competitive pricing; changing modes is convenient
Weaknesses: Heavy with a big recoil... shroud may prevent the usage of certain barrels
Review: I convinced my friend to get the MR2 over the A5 that he wanted because it was cheaper than an A5 with an egrip. We went to play and I got to shoot the MR2 for several games. It is a decent gun with a lot of recoil. I usually shoot a Matrix or the SP-8 or the Rainmaker or the Emag or the Cyborg and all these guns have less recoil than the MR2. It is the most significant point that I noticed about the gun after using it. Some people who are used to the Spyders and Tippmanns that are unmodded don't complain as much as I do. The stock barrel is decent but as usual I recommend an aftermarket barrel. Becareful though because we tried using a '04 Freak kit and it wouldn't fit past the foregrip/shroud because the diameter of the barrel was too big. I was using my HALO but when my friend was using it he was complaining about recocking and jams; he has a Java 12v loader which I guess is too slow for this gun. In conclusion my friend has commented he wished he bought the A5 and may end up still getting the A5... he said I need to buy this off of him so he can get the A5... I might if he reduces the price by $75! :D
Conclusion: Decent gun that is comparable to the Tippmann A5 or 98 Pro. No 'must-get' advantage where I would whole heartedly recommend this gun over the others. My preference is still the SP-8 but you are not at a disadvantage going with this gun instead.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Friday, May 26th, 2006 at 11:47 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (15):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media