paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Kingman Spyder MR2 / Kingman Spyder MR2 / Kingman Spyder MR2 / Kingman Spyder MR2

Kingman Spyder MR2 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Kingman

Buy Kingman Spyder MR2

Paintball Low-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Kingman Spyder MR2
[ View Photos (68) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 149
Average Rating: 8.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $250

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The first military style, electronic paintball marker released by Kingman.

Features removable stock, scope mount and double trigger.

Built to withstand the toughest scenario play.

Comes with anti chop bolt, a rechargeable 9.6v battery and a range of firing modes.
Product Availability 
The Kingman Spyder MR2 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (15):  First  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  Last
        Next Page
alex343 Tuesday, July 25th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
viewloader orion, the mr2 is WAY better then the viewloader
Marker Setup: stock for now, extreme rage "overdrive" 11 bps, gonna buy a better hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
FASTER LOADER/HOPPER

red dot sight, scope, maybe a flashlight for fun

better elbow

remote air system
Strengths: fast
accurate
no moving parts on outside
acs is VERY GOOD
removable stock
Weaknesses: A little heavy, comes with cheap elbow but w/e
Review: this gun is amazing! the first time i used it in the backyard with my overdrive hopper on 3 round burst it chopped, but it didn't jam! IT EXPELLED THE BROKEN SHELL! i didn't have to clean it out! with my other gun i would have had to take the gas off and take it apart, but with this one you have to dry fire one or two shots! it was amazing...i shot at the tree on semi auto,15 yards away with the spring loosened all the way and it RIPPED OFF BARK! i think ill have to use the gun more to get the spring looser, but for the first several games you might have some trouble getting past the chronograph. and what more? you can tighten the spring another inch or so. o.O but the only flaw is that you cant adjust the burst or auto rates of fire. if you are going to use this gun, you HAVE TO HAVE a fast hopper. the manual even says to get a hopper that can go faster than 13 bps!

the way the electronics work on this gun is nice, the switch on the back of the grip has SEMI, BURST, and AUTO. on semi, you pull the trigger and it releases one round. on semi, it will only fire for however long you hold it down, enabling you to fire 1, 2, and 3 round bursts. on full auto you can also shoot 1, 2, 3, 4, etc round bursts.

it also has a field strip pin so you don't have to have a tool on you at the game to take it apart, but to adjust the spring and take the stock off you need one of the allen wrenches.

its nice because it comes with the three sizes of allen wrenches that you need, 2 or 3 o-rings, and two extra screws.

the manual is very helpful and tells you everything you need to know.

the rail on the mr2 is nice and can hold a sight or scope.

***UPDATE*** i found out how to make the trigger pull shorter, take the smallest wrench and look above the trigger. tighten it to where you feel its best. it takes some calibration work but when you get it right the normal 1 1/2 millimeter pull is reduced to a 1/4 millimeter pull! now the 25 bps will be easier to achieve.

***update*** i went to a field and rented a 3000 hpa tank and shot 10 bps on semi and the gun uncocked itself! its annoying when youre firing fast and have to recock. its also more accurate with hpa
Conclusion: this gun is almost perfect. ill give it a ten for ripping bark off the ugly tree in my backyard =D
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, July 31st, 2006 at 12:24 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dave33 Tuesday, July 25th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Viewloader orion,Tippman A-5,Spyder e-99
Marker Setup: Spyder Mr2, 14 inch Trinity barrel, red dot, empire diamond shell black special edition,
Recommended
Upgrades:
should should play with nitro for this marker. You need an electronic loader and a new barrel
Strengths: Light,accurate,silent,3 mode shot(semi,burst,auto)never chopped a ball,very performing.
Weaknesses: There is not really a weakness but you need a loader to feed 25 bps.
Review: this product is astonishing. After playing with a viewloader and a a-5, this gun rocks. I played for about 6 month with an A-5 and i tried the mr2 and the mr2 is so much more exiting to play with. the stock barrel rocks and is accurate for a stock barrel. the gun is very silent. The mr2 weights like a feather beside the a-5. What is great about the mr2 is that you can play recball(it looks like a milsim) and you can play speedball(25 bps).
Conclusion: This product is so good nd looks like the best gun out in low end. Buy it cause you wont be deceive. This gun rocks. KINGMAN rules.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

nightshadepaint Friday, July 21st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
piranha R6, viewloader evolution 2 hopper, brass eagle stingray
Marker Setup: stock spyder mr2, currently borrowing friends egg hopper,
Recommended
Upgrades:
i would get a q-loader system, remote coil, thats bout it
Strengths: acs, fast ROF, looks awsome, accurate for an electronic gun.long battery lenght
Weaknesses: You to break in bolt, You need a good loader to use fully auto
Review: This is the best thing i have ever used. since i have got it my paintball play has inproved much. i love this gun and i would recommend it to anyone who loves the sport of paintball esspecially bushball or scenario. the one thing i dont really enjoy about this product is that kingman has no support for this gun online. They dont say how to take the bolt assembly out of the gun because i would like to know if i did if the snap t would fall out
Conclusion: This gun is killer fast and it works .
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

new_Faction64 Sunday, July 9th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder TL-R
Marker Setup: MR2
J&J Ceramic 12" Barrel (NO LONGER IN USE, DEFECTIVE)
20oz CO2
Ricochet Apache
Recommended
Upgrades:
-Fast hopper
Strengths: -See Below
Weaknesses: -See Below
Review: Overall excellent gun. It easily beats out any gun in it's price range because of it's features, looks, and tough design. A-5's got NOTHING on this! It comes w/ an e-trigger, so you don't need to pay $100 more for one, unlike the A-5.


Strengths:
-Great looks, fun to shoot
-Stock e-trigger, and FAST
-Accurate out of the box
-VERY fast, 13BPS in full auto, 25BPS (max) in semi
-very light trigger, easily adjustable, easy to walk!
-VERY long battery life.
-ACS bolt, delrin, very light bolt! ACS works.
-Stock comes w/ gun, very strong and nice stock.
-Sight rails
-easy maintinence, as in don't need to oil bolt!!
-Easy firemode switching
-Many removable parts if you want less weight, like the side panels, the foregrip, and the shroud.
-THIS GUN ROCKS, so fun to play with.

Weaknesses:
-Heavier, I gotta admit, it's a heavier marker, BUT once I buy a remote, and use my stock more often, I expect the weight to be easier b/c of the stock.
-Exposed area behind bolt (ONLY WHEN STOCK NOT ON)
-First few times I put the stock on, peices of paint or coating came off of it, and went into the marker, that was annoying
-Stock spring was too tight, velocity came out to be too high, but I got a differnet spring for cheap
Conclusion: I honestly love this marker. I had problems at first, but later discovered it's because I had a defective J&J Ceramic barrel on it, that made PBs catch on the back end of the barrel and burst. Now I have 0 problems. This gun rocks, read the strengths in my review.

Great marker, I'd encourage others to seriously compare it to the A-5, it's got the goods.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

guitar_kid99 Friday, June 16th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
bt-4 combat
98 custom
Marker Setup: MR2, Eggy, jt usa elite mask, 4+1 harness, indian trails pods, smart parts progressive barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
a new barrel
remote line (get one that works
fast hopper of 15+ bps
better elbow
Strengths: Durable.
Sweet look.
The stock can be taken off for speed ball.
Stocked sight rail.
Weaknesses: Weight.
Detents can be wrong at times.
Barrel shroud.(can be taken of though)
Review: Great gun all around. The stock is detachable for speed ball. It is durable for woodsball and scenario games. The weight is a pain. I recommend a remote line that works. An after market barrel is nice too. Trigger has a sensitivity adjuster. But one bad thing is that kingman doesnt send an allen wrench big enough to fit the screw for the stock. So be prepared to buy some allen wrenches too. And many people will say this gun chops even with the anti chop bolt, but out of 6000 balls I have chopped only one and that is because my hopper wasnt on. Other people have complained about there barrel not fitting right though the shroud and how they wasted there money. The shroud CAN be UNSCREWED form the body and this DOES NOT void the warranty.
Conclusion: Great product for its price and durability is great. This is a great starting gun
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, September 17th, 2006 at 7:37 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

breakxeggs Wednesday, May 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
VL Maxis R/G, Tippmann 98 Custom, Smart Parts Ion
Marker Setup: Standard with a Tasco Red Dot Scope

I plan on getting HPA and a Halo B
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel; Hopper wouldn't hurt so your not shaking your gun; HPA Tank
Strengths: Looks, powers through a chopped ball, pretty darn accurate with the stock barrel
Weaknesses: bolts on the rail/handle strip WAY to easily, hard to disassemble
Review: I ordered this gun from Action Village for $190 something brand new acouple of days ago. I got it today pulled it out of the box and started to fiddle around with it to see whats what with it. I found that it was heavier then most guns but I do like a heavier gun (the MR 1 is MUCH heavier). Went out bought a red dot sight for it only to discover later that it doesn't fit on the handle so I left it off for the fives games we played.

First Game:: Put the battery in and it was charged (rarity from Kingman they don't like packaging charged batteries). Load it up with 200 rounds shoot like 10 balls before we all head out into the field. Once we start the battle not even 3 shots in the battle my third ball breaks and my shots start hooking. I take a hit and walk out only to find that I did break a ball. clean out the barrel and the feed tube on the hopper and left the bolt and chamber full of paint. Go out for the second game and it starts to shoot straight as an arrow. for the rest of the day it didn't broken another ball.

As compared to my friends Ion, it doesn't shoot as fast and cleanly but with a stock barrel on both guns it is much more accurate (although that claim can be disputed). The bolt isn't as good at preventing breaks as the Ion's eye is. But for the money if you want to go out in random fields and woods get the MR2 it is much better suited for the woods and field rather then the fast as hell Ion

For the ppl that are complaining about the ball detent:: You must have a first gen gun or something because they shipped mine with a spare ball detent. So they must know that it is a trouble area with the gun.

Likes: I really enjoy the weight of the gun because it just feels right in my hands. This is the easiest Kingman trigger that is stock on any gun. Its really adjustable and you can get the pull down to about acouple of millimeters. The stock is great for holding the gun against your body. As I said before I love the looks. And the stock barrel is accurate for about 30-50 yds. I happened to pick my brother off from about 30 yds from behind a door while he was behind some bushes with one shot. The trigger is beautifly easy, it reminded me of my friends Ion trigger pull but his is still easier. I think that this is the only stock trigger rame that can be walked.

Dislikes: PLASTIC STOCK, even though it is solid plastic and darn lightweight its not something that I would want to dive to the ground with. The tactical rail/handle is barely screwed on I stripped the back bolt in two minutes of fiddling around with the gun but I found and put in a longer screw. Also the rail/handle doesn't fit standard scopes like that Tasco scope I bought but I found a better place to put it on the gun (forward of the hopper). The entire front of the gun is one solid metal shroud that blocks many many barrels, I haven't tried my 16" Progressive Barrel but I don't think that will fit. As with any Kingman electric gun the Battery SUCKS and is never fully charged, I was lucky enough to play five games. You have to take the Feed Neck off of the gun in order to help push out the bolt when cleaning your gun.

UPDATE:: I played today against 8 kids today and got five of them out. When you pare this gun with a high end hopper like a Viewloader VLocity hopper there is always a ball in the chamber and it will not double feed. It easily out shot all of the competion Tippmans, the Spdyer Pilot, and the Spyder Sonix, and outlasted the Smart Parts Ion. I am still a firm believer that the Ion and Spyder are equals but they are guns that should be used in two totaly different types of play. The MR2 a more tactical form of play and the Ion when you feel like walking the trigger easily, even though the MR2 can be walked (the trigger is just alittle heavier).
Conclusion: All in all its one of the best woods ball/scenario guns around for the price. If you want to shell out the extra 10 bucks for the Smart Parts Ion and play speed ball then do it. But you really love to plan out attacks and use tactics you see in Tom Clancy games get this gun.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, May 27th, 2006 at 12:07 am PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Jodo_Kast Tuesday, May 16th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
I've used a Tippmann Custom, I've also used a coupld diffrent cheap Wal-Mart Spyders.
Marker Setup: The MR-2, 20 OZ C02 tank, cheapy cheap hopper.
Recommended
Upgrades:
It deffintly needs an electronic hopper, perhaps a compressed airtank as well.
Strengths: Sturdy, has a Stock, 12' Barrel, Electronic.
Weaknesses: Loud, and heavy with a 20 OZ C02 tank
Review: I used this just practicing for around 30 mins., and it would jam perhaps evry 15 balls when I was firing it rapidly with my $5 loader. It could be overcome with an electronic loader very easily.

I decided on this, mainly because of the stock, and I also like how it is a flat black, instead of bright blue, red,etc. The trigger pulls back very nicly, I barly touched it, and it went off, so you should be carefull with it.

It was the envy on the feild when I went and played it, and for a Spyder, that astonishing, to me anyway. I got picked first on the first team, and played heavy gunner with it, I never took it out of semi-auto, and still dominated the feild with it. Evryone wanted to see it, and shoot it, some even wanted to play with it, but I wouldn't let them. It did jam twice in a row when I came under fire and was trying to take out the last man on the feild. I was of corse, on my side, last one standing as well, but I got bunkered in the end when my loader came open and lost al my PB's.

I do recommend it though, and for $200, its a great deal, enspecialy with a stock.
Conclusion: Buy it. For $200, its a good deal
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Rope shooter Saturday, May 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: MR2, and halo b

ion, l6, micro max flow, ap q-lock feed neck, teardrop, and empire b2
Recommended
Upgrades:
remote cord
Strengths: Rof, anti-chop(sometimes), and kind of durable
Weaknesses: VERY HEAVY, plastic feedneck, expensive hopper required, and not very upgradeable
Review: I took my brand spankin new mr2 out to my local feild and two seconds after the round started my "anti-chop bolt" started chopping. Then 3 paintballs were jammed into my firing chamber. But afterwards I unclogged the paintballs and it shot alright. I had to dish out some more cash and buy a halo b
Conclusion: This gun is a fine shooter, but there is just about no upgrades. You need to get used to this gun to have it work well for you, and feel comfortable. So buy this gun if you are willing to get an expensive hopper and not many other ups.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

fartface Wednesday, April 26th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder e99
spyder imagine
Marker Setup: Spyder MR2, 14inch Teardrop, remote line, red dot, Halo B
Recommended
Upgrades:
halo or egg something capable of atleast 17bps
Strengths: Fast as an ion (tried it)
Weaknesses: Chopped a couple times but only at high rates of fire
Review: This gun is amazing good for woodsball and speedball(take stock off for speedball) after touching the trigger on this thing the imagine and e99 are mechs in comparison, used it in speedball and it held up the compitition of ions and high end electros. Since its an offset feed you have an advantage in speedball cause on the left side of bunkers your hopper isnt exposed makeing you a smaller targret, this also makes it possible to have sights which work good in woodsball. Oh and for the barrels people say it wont take fat ended barrels such as the teardrop because of the barrel shroud, this is very wrong all you have to do is take out a screw and take the shroud off and bam it will take any spyder threaded barrel. Oh and by the way this gun freggen rips if you know how to hit the trigger right (try moving your index finger up against the trigger in a up and down motion rubbing the trigger ) if you do it right you will wittness speeds that well exceed the programed speed for full auto!!!
Conclusion: Anyways i recomend putting a new barrel on it and a good hopper such as the Halo B like what i am useing and this is for sure the toughest spyder yet!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

babustos Saturday, March 11th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ion, A-5
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
DOP Blade Trigger
72/3000 PMI

Recommended
Upgrades:
Fast Hopper
HPA
New barrel as for any gun
Strengths: Very fast
Pretty accurate
Looks nice
Made by Kingman so you know its reliable
Weaknesses: Heavy
Expansion chamber a little different
Offset feedneck
Review: I went paintballing and one of my friend's friend had this gun. He let me shoot it and it was really great. This thing is very fast, I can say faster than an Ion. I was able to shoot an Ion more consistantly, but at my highest ROF, the MR2 blew the Ion pretty good. For the MR2, you will need at least an Egg. The MR2 is just a little bit on the heavy side, but its not a big deal. The offset feedneck is sort of annoying, throws the gun a little off balanced, but that is preference. The accuracy isn't the best, but the stock barrel will be alright. The price is a little iffy, about $250, not nonetheless it is still a good gun.
Conclusion: The MR2 is basically an A-5 and an Ion. It is fast and has a little scenario look to it. I would recommend it to anybody who doesn't want to buy an Ion, have good speed, and be a little different. Buy it under those conditions.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (15):  First  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media