paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Advanced Paintball Electronics Rampage Board / Advanced Paintball Electronics Rampage Board / Advanced Paintball Electronics Rampage Board / Advanced Paintball Electronics Rampage Board

Advanced Paintball Electronics Rampage Board Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Advanced Paintball Electronics

Buy Advanced Paintball Electronics Rampage Board

Paintball A-5 Accessories

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Advanced Paintball Electronics Rampage Board
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 17
Average Rating: 9.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $50

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The NEWEST and HOTTEST upgrade for your Tippmann A5 and Pro E!


>> DIRECT CIRCUIT BOARD REPLACEMENT FOR THE EXISTING E-GRIPô
>> FEATURES A STATE-OF-THE-ART RISC MICROCONTROLER
>> WEATHER RESISTANT CONFORMAL COATING
>> EXTENDED BATTERY LIFE
>> PUSH BUTTON MODE SELECTION TO CHANGE FIRING MODE
>> VISUAL LED MODE INDICATOR
>> ADJUSTABLE RATE OF FIRE 15BPS TO 25BPS
>> ADJUSTABLE SOLENOID DWELL
>> ADJUSTABLE DEBOUNCE (2 MODES)
>> ADJUSTABLE RAMPAGE AND TURBO + MODES
>> 7 FIRING MODES
>> SEMI AUTOMATIC
>> TURBO +
>> FULL AUTOMATIC
>> 3 ROUND BURST
>> RESPONSE
>> RAMPAGE
>> X-MODE
Product Availability 
The Advanced Paintball Electronics Rampage Board is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
intelligent1 Monday, January 16th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock Tippmann A-5 E-grip board
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 (Flatline, Starfire bolt, Ergo reg, Co2, E-grip/w rampage board, Qev.)
Strengths: Seven modes of operation , 2 reprogramable , 25 balls per second,1 button setup with led.
Weaknesses: You need a qev for the cyclone if you want to get over 17bps.
Review: I bought the 50 dollar board which you have to take off the stock solenoid and solder it on the Rampage board. Overall everything went fine and I couldn't wait to get my A-5 on the field. As soon as I got on it, the rampage worked great. I haven't had any problems and support is great. I didn't want to spend a lot of money so I got the 50 dollar board. There is the 80 dollar board and comes with everything. All you do is swap out everything inside the e-grip. The only major problem was getting the trigger to actually fire. I had to bend the metal trigger switch to get it to fire. I looked at the stock e-grip board and it was bent also. I tried it and it worked. I would give it a 10 but the trigger switch was hassle to fix, but I finally got it after about 4 tries.
Conclusion: If you want to spend alot of money on paint get this. It is amaising. I got it for the firing modes. 1 button setup is way better then having to pull out a philips screwdriver.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, January 19th, 2006 at 10:36 pm PST
I found this review  
14 Comments - Add Comment

mjr_paranoid Wednesday, May 23rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Tippmann Egrip Board (not WAS)
Other Electro markers.
Marker Setup: A-5 with: J&J 12" with Apex Tip
E-Trigger
Rampage Board
X-7 hopper
Ag Mag kit , modded
Remote line
Trinity Stock
Palmers QEV
Vortex ratchet
Dbl blade trigger with custom spring job and set screws.

Strengths: Power effecient
EZ to use
Reliable
Weaknesses: No quick set modes.
Review: I had an original tippmann egrip for quite awhile and enjoyed it thoroughly. However I had a desire to kick the performance of the marker up a notch.
A desire, not a real need.
Well this board filled that desire very well.

The board itself is a snap to install. Be careful that you remove the shipping tape holding the powershot solenoid closed.
I had to play around with the micro switch to get just the trip point I wanted.
Be careful bending it. I say this specifically for all you fiddlers who need to touch everything. DO NOT bend it unless you have to. Try it stock first and if there is an issue, then bend it. It is a troubleshooting step, not an installation step ;).

I hear it is water resistant.
Not going to test that, but it is nice to know.
Just to be careful I wrap the entire grip area in hockey tape.

I did not notice a huge diffrence between this and the old board in terms of feel.
It does certainly give a higher cap to my fire rate. It says 25 is the max, but I was mixing up chopped paint in my cyclone blender at 22.

Let me just say that 15 BPS is really sufficient. 20 BPS is really only good for intmidation, and it empties your hopper way too fast.

I like the modes, but to be honest I leave it in Semi most of the time. Rampage mode is cool, and it is nice that it has all those different tourny modes. I don't anticipate using my A-5 in any tourneys, but its nice to know I can easily.

Programming it is comparable to any other marker of this generation. No dipswitches, No dials(my old egrip had those, uck), just a multi colored LED and an programming button.

What I would have liked to see is
A. A shot counter inside the grip
B. Quick settings mode selector like they have for thier Invert Mini Rampage board

The board powers on when you press the trigger and lasts for several paintballin days with no problems.
Conclusion: Great board. I have heard horror stories on the WAS board, and am certainly glad I stayed away from that one.

I would not hesitate to reccomend it as an upgrade and you can even get a whole grip frame with the Rampage board installed on some internet sites for the same price as a WAS.

You will burn more paint with this. It is inescapable. But sometimes that is really really fun :) .
It could use some minor refinement, since nothing is perfect, but you will find nothing better in the egrip board department for the A-5.

You will really need to up your cyclone some to take full advantage of this upgrade.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, May 23rd, 2007 at 3:03 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Pez X Monday, February 13th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann stock board for a5
angels ir3, a4 fly, force 4 fly, g7, g7 fly
Marker Setup: Force 4 Fly - 70 CU in 4500 fiber tank, dye ultralite barrels, Halo B with RIP and INTELLIFEED
Tippman A5 Stealth with Flatline, E-grip with APE rampage board
Strengths: Low Cost Multi Mode Hi-rate of fire Board
Weaknesses: No eyes
Review: I have a Tippman A5 for when I play in the woods, and I only had the respose trigger that it came with on there. I was disappointed in my rates of fire i could I achieve since I normally use an angel. My teamates have been trying to talk me into a E-GRIP for the A5, But at 13 bps, with not that many options I wasn't excited. That was UNTIL the APE Rampage board came out. I fired my teamates and had to buy it. I asked my parents for an E-GRIP for christmas and I got one, The board was like $50 from www.goapeonline.com. It has 7 modes of fire Including RAMPING! LOL This thing is great, my favorite mode is response where it fires on pull and also upon release, If you can pull 8 times a sec (most anyone can) your shooting 16 bps, with no bouncing. Oh yeah btw this thing has full adjustability for debounce and Max Rate of Fire can be set (mine is on 16 bps, but you can set it up to 25 bps INSANE). My friend has a WAS board for his A5 and has all types of problems, runaway triggers, quickly dishargin batteries, you name it, he used my board and just bought one. I almost forgot to mention this board uses a recesse push putton for programming, NO SCREWDRIVERS YEA!
Conclusion: This is a great board for how cheap it is, for less than a cost of a case of paint Buy it, check their website with a video of these guys shooting it. I love this board it is SO MUCH FUN. It doesn't have eyes, but I never chopped yet, and for the price I am giving it a 10!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, February 13th, 2006 at 5:21 am PST
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

paint369 Monday, December 4th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Equalizer board
WAS
Marker Setup: a5a2, egrip w/ APE board, JCS double trig, 12'' AA, 68/45 crossfire
Strengths: Look at body. Theres too many to list with the 15 word max
Weaknesses: Look below
Review: PROS
-NASTY SPEED
-L.E.D. push button
-7 modes
-programable
-waterproof (thats what i hear not about to find out)
-more battery efficant
-easy installation.
-CHEAP campared to other boards

CONS
-programing was a weeee bit confusing with the instruction given (maybe im just dumb)
-not the boards fault but a QEV or vertex is need to speed up the cyclone
-so none really

I ordered the board and powershot solonide. As soon as i got it i ripped open the box took it out, unscrewed the egrip frames took out the old board and threw in the APE with a 9volt w/out even looking at the directions. put the grip back together and tryed it out. "WTF" why isn't it working. so i take the grip apart again instead of looking at the instruction i remember that on my old egrip i had to bend the micro switch so the trigger would catch. now i look at the instructions fearing that i didnt already f every thing up already and sure enough a pic and everything telling me to bend it. so now it works. i gas the gun up fill a hopper and take it out back. put on full auto and rip. not bad. defualt setting is 15bps. i take it back in and try to program it to shoot at max bps. after about an 1/2-3/4 of an hour i got it down to a science. gas it up again fill a hopper and take it out back again. WOW now thats fast. ~20 bps, emptyed the hopper in about 8 or 9 seconds. i never knew a tippmann would/could shoot that fast.
Conclusion: Well the other reason why i can see somone not buying this is that they dont like to spend a s*** load of money on paint like i do. Theres nothing not to like about this board all around great performing board so far (nock on wood). There cheap $50 w/out solonide and $70 w/ powershot solonide so go out and get one. actually dont. I like have the fastest gun on the woods ball feild ; -)
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pbking1000 Sunday, March 19th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Standard E-grip
Marker Setup: A-5, ultralite barrel, double trigger, drop forward, R5, Rampage board
Strengths: Push button
LED light
Crazy fast ROF
Waterproof
Stronger solenoid
Weaknesses: Nada
Review: A great product made by advanced paintball electronics. Absolutly perfect. I bought the complete drop in upgrade board with the powershot solenoid and it was very easy to install. I would recomend this product to anyone who has an A-5 with E-grip and is not satisfied. The rampage board is so much better than the stock E-grip. APE has great service to. At first I couldn't get it to work so I e-mailed them expecting a response sometime in the next week. They called me back the day I e-mailed them and fixed it over the phone. It was my stupid fault, i didn't take the tape of the solenoid. The LED lights are helpful, no more guessing which mode is on. They are easy to remember to. The two extra modes it comes with are pretty cool. X-mode fires 3 semi-auto shots then on the forth trigger pull and hold it fires full-auto. Rampage mode fires semi auto until a 5 trigger pull per second rate is reached and maintained. Once it drops below 5 trigger pulls per second it fires semi auto.
Conclusion: This upgrade is worth every penny. This is the best upgrade you will ever buy for your A-5 or Pro-E. BUY ONE RIGHT NOW. It will be an 80 dollars well spent. I'm sorry that I can only rate it a ten because it deserves better.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

A5-guy2006 Monday, July 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock E-Grip
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5, Rampage Board, JCS Duel Trigger, QEV, Flatline (soon an APEX),
Strengths: Waterproof, Easy Switch On, Cheap, Many Modes, Faster ROF
Weaknesses: Not in the stock E-Grip
Review: Well I had my gun for about a year and I wanted a new board just to give me a little better edge over the other A-5 owners at my local fields. I heard about the W.A.S board first from my local shop but wanted to look around for others. Seen the Rampage board and the price difference also assisted me in my decision. Ordered it w/o the solenoid. Got it in and my local shop got it all fixed up for me and ready to go.

Just dry firing it you can tell a major difference from the stock board. First off I didn't have to use the little screw driver, instead I used the fancy golf tee that was included. When through the modes and was amazed at the ones included with it. I shot it a couple of times before making it to my local field. People started asking questions once they seen me pull out the golf tee and starting pushing the little button. They were amazed once I showed them how much easier it was to use, the price, and the different modes.

Plus another side note it doesn't have a mode lock so if you out on the field and you feel like lighting up some people or just changing from semi, to response, or three round, or best auto, and then just switching it back with a handy stick if a ref comes around.

There are two things that I would recommend you get with this or later on.

1. The JCS Duel Trigger-the trigger and board work amazingly together.
2. QEV kit will help move your rate of fire up.
3. If you're wanting to shoot a rediculous amount of paint and just bruise people up the maybe a Q-loader.
Conclusion: If you're looking for an awesome upgrade, thats fairly cheap (compared to other board upgrades for different guns). Or if your just tired of the stupid little turn dials. Or if you want to get an edge over all the other A-5 owners I would recommend this board. Its definitely worth the money and you get better results with your E-Grip.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

XoX1de Friday, October 6th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98C ACT
J&J Ceramics 14"
Walther Toppoint 40mm reddot
Strengths: -A lot of settings
-User programmable
-Enhanced battery life
-Easy mode change
-Warranty?
-Price!
Weaknesses: The defaut ROF is 15BPS which cannot be changed,
Review: The defaut ROF is 15BPS which cannot be changed, because 15BPS for me is tooooo much, 10 or 8 is good for me. I heard they will have some newer board version which you can program the defaut BPS. Battery life is greatly increased, Solenoid DWell setting is a great option to change the power of the push. 3 LED is awesome!
Conclusion: I recommanded it to everyone who have a marker compatible with it, This will fit 2003 or later ACT tippy 98C/, I mean the ProE version board.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

skiedge1 Tuesday, May 2nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock E-grip Board
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 w/ A-5a2 conversion
12" Tru-Flight barrel
E-Grip (with Rampage Board)
QEV


Strengths: Many new options
Higher ROF
LED/trigger programming
Battery life
Weaknesses: Switch was time-consuming to set up
Review: First of all, the new modes such as rampage mode and and X-mode give the E-grip a lot of flexibility that wasn't there with the stock board. It definately makes it more adaptable depending on what type of games you plan on playing.

For me, a key thing was the new ROF capped at 25bps istead of 15. It's great for when you need to get a lot of paint in the air quickly. When I come over the top to bunker someone, I can just tap the trigger and get 10-12 balls in the air right away, which is a huge advantage in those quick moments when I'm bunkering or when I'm ambushed, surprised, etc....

The other thing I really like about it is the way it swithches modes. Instead of using little screwdrivers to fool with those little plastic knobs on the stock board, the Rampage uses a little button where the mode knob used to be to switch between modes, which is much easier to use. Also, an LED in the other hole shows you what mode you are in and helps you in programming...

Which conveniently brings us to the programming modes. I won't touch on each in detail, but I will say that they have been useful. The ability to adjust the solenoid dwell period helps reduce skipping at higher ROFs, and the ability to customize some of the different firing modes is a nice feature. For example, in X-mode, you can choose how many semi-auto shots you want to fire before it switches into full-auto. The default is 3 semi shots then full auto on the forth pull+hold.

The one thing that needed some tweeking to get just right was the switch. It doesn't seem as sensitve as the stock switch, but that may just be the way I set it up. Anyway, it did take some time to get it to a good spot behind the trigger.

One last thing I want to touch on is battery life. WOW...much better than stock board! They really mean it when they say it lasts 3x as long. I mean, there are not words to describe how fast my stock E-grip went through batteries. So far, I still have not seen a single sign of a low battery using my Rampage.
Conclusion: Definately worth the money, I recommend it to players who just want an all-around better experience with their E-grip.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, May 2nd, 2006 at 1:13 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Flatout1st Tuesday, July 4th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
?
Marker Setup: A-5 w e grip and rampage board
J&J
4500 tank
Strengths: Hands down the best service out there. Great fireing modes and easy to install.
Weaknesses: None
Review: First off let me tell you how great this company is to work with. They are the best at customer service. I needed my board in short notice so they sent it out next day air w no charge. Any and all questions i ever had they answered rite a way. Every company out there should take notes on the way they treat their customers. Hands down the best service out there. And they make a great product as well. Great fireing modes and easy to install.

Conclusion: The best board on the market. Un matched performance.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

beaver_fever Monday, November 3rd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Original GTA egrip
GTA response trigger
Marker Setup: A-5 w/ egrip, polished internals, fully upped cyclone feed
Strengths: Weather proof
Numerous firing modes
Fully adjustable settings
auto on\off
Weaknesses: Micro switch leaf is touchy(see review)
Review: This is one of the best upgrades you can get for the a5. It performs leaps and bounds over the gta board and the WAS board. Installation is simple, but the micro switch leaf can be a bit touchy. Installed mine and it worked perfectly right out of the box, but when I removed the grip for general service the trigger would not quit firing. I had to readjust micro switch leaf to fix the problem. Since then I have had no problems what so ever. Like the original gta egrip the rampage is turned on and off automatically, unlike the WAS which you have to turn off at the end of the day. You pull the trigger, it's on, you release the trigger, it's off. Fully adjustable rate of fire from 5-30 bps, fully adjustable ramping rates, and adjustable dwell and debounce(if you really want to fine tune, but works perfectly on factory settings) Mine is the v2 rampage and has 8 different firing modes(semi, burst, reactive, full auto, turbo, rampage, psp3, and nxl) You can adjust every mode to suit the way you play.
Conclusion: If you own the a5 and want unbelievable fire power the Rampage is for you. However, in order to get the most from the board you will have to fully upgrade your cyclone(soft paddles, ratchet mod, piston housing upgrade, and piston rod upgrade). I have my bps set to 22 and have not broken a ball since the install. This thing is AWESOME!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media