paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Kingman Spyder MR1 / Kingman Spyder MR1 / Kingman Spyder MR1 / Kingman Spyder MR1

Kingman Spyder MR1 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Kingman

Buy Kingman Spyder MR1

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Kingman Spyder MR1
[ View Photos (93) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 261
Average Rating: 8.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $90

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The MR1 will take a beating and keep on firing! The slide out pull pin, field strippable bolt, and full-length stock (optional) make the MR1 an easily operated and highly accurate scenario marker with military resilience and stability. This semi-auto marker won't rust even when you're trekking through the wettest terrain, and you?ll never need to worry about batteries because there aren?t any electronic parts!
Product Availability 
The Kingman Spyder MR1 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (27):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
hippieman08 Wednesday, March 29th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month18 of 22 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Viewloader Orion, Brass Eagle Maruader, Spyder Xtra
Marker Setup: Stock Spyder MR, VL 200 count hopper, 20 Oz CO2
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Strengths: Good Range And Accuracy
Weaknesses: Loud (If ur worried about that stuff), and has a weird defect
Review: Ok, I would like to start out saying that this gun is a good gun and is definatley worth the price, it is very solidly built and while I would not try it I'm sure u could bang it on a rock good and hard and only scratch it pretty bad, now about that weird defect - - - I read that I'm am not the only one with this problem, the internal ball stop (or ball detent for whoever calls it that) is made of rubber and is severed off by the bolt on the first couple of shots, but I can tell u how to fix it - - all u have to do is, take off the side mounted ball feed, DO NOT STRIP THE BOLTS, then u'll be real messed up, remove the little yellow piece that is what is left of the ball stop, then get a little clicker pen that doesn't work anymore or that u dont care about and take the pen spring out - get some wire clippers and cut the spring about 2 and 1/2 to 3 spirals up, then unbend the spring a little bit but not all the way, Ur gonna need a coiled part left, then insert then unbent part into the hole where the rubber thing was, u'll have to mess with it to get it right but u should be able to figure out how to get it to hold the ball, that is the only problem with this gun, and while annoying, not hard to fix and the gun works no problem now.
Conclusion: If u want a cool tactical looking woodsball semi-auto gun, this is the one for u, if u want fully auto, go with the MR 2, these are just awesome looking well preforming guns, minus the one little flaw they have, also great bigginers gun if they have a little extra cash to throw around
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, March 29th, 2006 at 7:58 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

pntbllslayer89 Saturday, April 14th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months17 of 19 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ariakon Sim-4 ( havent owned but have compared)
Marker Setup: Spyder MR1, J&J Ceramic Barrel, Viewloader Evlution II with Y-Board. for refrences i also use a 12 and 20 oz. CO2 tanks.
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel. preferably a J&J Ceramic or other high end if u got the money.
Strengths: -Can take a beating.
-Accurate as heck.
-Looks Awesome.
-DOESN'T CHOP PAINT
-Cheap.
Weaknesses: The stock barrel is a little loud, its a pain in the butt to strip.
Review: When I first saw this gun I saw the price and thought "oh great another cheap Spyder on the market." Well a few weeks later a friend of mine bought one. With the butt stock on (comes with the gun) it looked pretty sharp. When we went out and played I was amazed that the gun was shooting darts!!! The only problem i saw was that it was a little loud. After playing and seeing its performance, i asked my friend to let me take it home and do some tests on it. I went home and ran the cheap Scorch paint through it and it was still shooting relativly straight. I put the J&J on it though and WHAM. I was shootin cheap paint straight as an arow. AMAZING. Needless to say i bought it off my friend for a reasonable price. He went out and even bought another!

Another friend of mine bought an Ariakon Sim-4. If you're into woodsball, you know that those are top quality woodsball guns. After playing a few games in the snow i noticed that my friends gun had NO problems playing in this extreme weather. Well, Just a few days ago I played some games in 30 degree weather and my gun had no problems. (note: my friend with the sim payed $350. I payed $80 for mine.) Also, a lot of other guys at the field who had A-5's were complaining about their guns choppin paint and screwin up. not me.
Conclusion: For the money, this is the best gun you can buy for woodsball. I have shot the all amazing Sim-4's and there isnt much difference accuarcy wise. I recommend it to anyone in the woodsball field either begginner or expert. Go buy one now and see for yourself.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Eclipse17 Friday, June 23rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
VL Orion, Spyder MR2
Marker Setup: Spyder MR1, 16'' Tiller barrel, 14 oz co2 tank, Viewloader 12volt Revy
Recommended
Upgrades:
It depends what you are going to be using it for. If you are sniping I would go with a new, quieter barrel (I found that a progressive does a fair amount of silencing, although it might not help much as it is an open bolt-blowback gun), if you are a close combat kinda guy I would go for an Electric hopper, Derlin Bolt, and remote.
Strengths: Fairly cheap
Accurate
Shoots fairly fast
Good out of the box
Weaknesses: Topcocking bolt gets in way of dovetail
Pretty loud
Stock is kinda cheap, but works
Review: Well, where to start. This is indeed Spyder's new Military Sim MR1 marker. If you are from Canada I would strongly suggest buying it from badlandspaintball.com, it is the cheapest price you will get for us canucks.

After my gun arrived I was really hyped up so I threw on a VL 200 Hopper. I quickly went through about 130 rounds pretty quickly. I spent the first 50 or so shots on testing the accuracy and what was left I just shot as quickly as I could. I had no breaks during this time and I was using Draxxus Dusk paint from Walmart. ( This weekend I am going to buy a bunch of different paint's to find what works best on the marker). The stock barrel is fairly accurate, although I haven't really used very many rounds because I quickly threw on my 16'' Tiller I bought off ebay. It worked very well on my VL Orion so I decided to use it first. It was very accurate and I was able to successfully hit a 1 Litre carton of milk from about 50 feet away 10 times in a row before missing a shot.

After about 2 weeks of no paintballing I got really bored so I grabbed a few friends and went out to my local course. The gun proved very accurate and completely out shot my friends' Orion's and Piranha's. It was about even shooting with a tippman A5(yes, amazing) both speed and accuracy wise. Here are some stats for ya-

Accuracy- As I explained before I was able to hit a 1 L milk carton quite consitantly from 50+ feet away. I was also able to get 4 headshots from various ranges, one of which was at least 100 + feet.

Speed- Well this gun is about average speed when you get an electric hopper. I jammed my friend's Halo Frontman LCD on and was easily shooting a 10 BPS for a while until I started breaking balls. If you are getting an electric hopper be sure to get a bolt that is Anti-Chop because you will be going through a lot of sitting on the sides cleaning out your gun.

Field Stripping- This one kinda caught me. If you are going to be playing with the stock that comes with the gun on you are definately going to be bringing your allen wrench along in case you have to field strip. I've found (please correct me if there is another way to do this) that in order to remove the bolt you have to unscrew the stock and take it completely off, which makes for a longer, more difficult field strip. I must be doing something wrong because this does not seem like something Spyder would do.

Toughness- Well most of this gun is pretty tough. The only problems I've had is the grips on the trigger wearing down quite easily, and my stock snapping in two pieces during a slide into a bunker. I might've went down a little hard but this is no reason for the stock to break. When I took the stock out I thought this was bound to happen as it is mostly hard plastic.

Upgradeability- Well I think this is a word. One of the MAJOR advantages the MR1 has over it's close cousin the MR2 is it's ability to take all Spyder thread barrels. The MR2 has some wierd barrel system setup that might make it hard to find some good barrels to go on, and while the MR2 comes with an electric system, the MR1 can very easily be fitted with most (probably any) Spyder grips. If you really feel the need I think you could buy a used or refurbished Imagine and just take the electric trigger system off there and mount it on this gun.
The dove tail that comes with this gun is crappp, plain and simple. There is just simply not enough room to mount anything worth it. However, thank God for JCS paintball products. They have come up with a fairly impressive amount of upgrades avalible for the gun including lowered stocks *I forgot to mention this. The stock that comes with the gun is horrible for mask clearence, so if it really matters to you, you can buy one of the JCS stocks which gives great clearence*, bi-pods, and....Off-set rails! You can easily purchase the products from a variety online stores, however Special Ops dosen't carry any of the MR1 upgrades :(
http://www.bp-usa.com/Spyder.htm

Edit*
Alright people here's the paint report!
On a scale of 1->10 being judged on accuracy out of stock barrel, low chops and price:

8/10 ---> Draxxus Dusk seemed to work really good with the stock barrel, I was able to put 10 out of 10 rounds onto a milk carton from about 60+ feet away and was able to hit a pop can tied to a tree 12/18 times from outside 130-150 feet. woot lol ->$25.99 for 500 Walmart

1/10 ---> Zap cheap paint majority broke in barrel those which didn't break were very inaccurate. Hit the milk from the same range 2 out of 10 shots. yuk ->$19.99 for 500 Walmart

8.5/10 ---> Bought some RPS Premium from Canadian Tire. This is the best paint to use in this gun both with the stock and upgraded barrels. It also hit 10/10 on the milk but was much more accurate when I threw on a 14'' Progressive barrel and a 16'' Tiller. ->$29.99 at Canadian Tire.

So in the end it really comes down to the money you're gonna spend on the paint. This is a mistake many newcomers make when they come to the sport. Please, i'm begging you. Save up the extra $10 or whatever and buy the more expensive paint. Think about it, if you are taking less shots to hit your target, you will begin to see the effects of buying the more expensive paint and the money you saved!
I

Edit**
I threw on a friends compressed air tank today and it worked awsome. If you are using this gun on c02 you don't know what you're missing. I shot off 100-120 balls without a single chop while using Zap paint, was very amazed. It also seemed to be more quiet.


Edit***
Well, as much as it pains me to say it, I sold off my MR1 today to buy a Spyder Imagine as I am going to be joining a speedball team:(. It was an awsome gun and I intend on buying another one for a backup when/if they go down in price or I get the extra cash$$.
Conclusion: I would say that this is a great starter gun and a great gun for the woodsball player. Spyder knew what they were doing with this gun, and perfected pretty much everything except for the stock and the cheap elbow that comes with the gun.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, August 30th, 2006 at 3:54 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

crazy1992 Tuesday, December 4th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
tipman 98
spyder tlr
spyder one
mr-2
Marker Setup: 16" smart parts barrel
72/3000 pure energy hpa tank
eggy 2 hopper
spyder rocking trigger
home made sling
2-40 scope
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel
e-trigger
e-hopper
hpa tank
differrent stock-the mr2 stock is good
Strengths: Durable-
easy to maintain
loud-let them hear yo comin to own them
Weaknesses: Loud-gives away position(a new barrel fixes that)
heavy but not that heavy
Review: I absolutly love this gun got it refurbished and it worked great cheap and easy to use.
Had one problem with it- the front grip isnt an expanshion chamber and the mr-1 drop forward dosent fit the rocking triggers holes so i had to get a new dropforward for $5 of ebay and problem solved.
this is my main gun and i use it alot and i have had mayby 4 balls break in it and it just kept on goin withought me having to dissasembel it. the one time it did jam i fixet it realy fast- take out the bolt( slides out the back withought removing the strip-pin or disconnecting your air source) wipe it with your shirt, squigi it withought removing your barrel and slide the bolt back in place the correct side down and put the pullpin back in it, cock and SHOOT all takes about 20 sec to do if you know your gun inside and out.

-Update went paintballig a couple of days ago and i choped wit this gun but never jammed had like 3 chops becouse hopper couldent keep up with shooting speed i got an eggy2 so ya i can easaly out shoot it with my rocking trigger
all i did was recock the gun and shot great but i used my stock barrel wich is good but not realy acurate so i swiched barrels and owned from that point on
Conclusion: Overall its a great gun for its price and its a good gun to go for intermidiete tournaments-with the right upgrades- and dont say the rocking trigger upgrade is to expensive its not how ppl say- 170-200 dollars i got mine off ebay brand new for 65 and its works great- about the hopper yes thats expensive i say a fasta or eggy 3 is good for it.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, January 1st, 2008 at 8:32 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

M1lkman Friday, January 12th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Xtra
Tippman 98 Custom
Marker Setup: Spyder MR1
20 oz CO2
Halo B
Recommended
Upgrades:
Maybe 16" J&J
Strengths: Very accurate
Great feel
Very durable
Price
Weaknesses: Loud
Review: I bought this gun the day after Christmas. I had planned on getting this gun a while back because I have always been a Spyder fan. This gun was perfect for its class. I couldn't think of a better gun to get I would suggest this over a Tippman any day. After I bought this gun I couldn't wait till I got it out of it cheap Chinese casing. (You know the crappy casing that you have to cut with scissors when you but it because they like sundered it closed and you can't open it no matter how friggin like try to) Well anyway I got home and finally got it opened. After putting the stock on I tightened my Halo B and put in a 20 oz CO2 tank. I started shooting anything I could see my fence, my house, the cat walking around, and of course my neighbor's kid. But I finally I went out playing woods ball with my friend's and they all had there Tippman's and even though they criticized my gun they soon stopped after seeing the performance. The accuracy is great it is mostly within 1 foot if I am shooting with it turned all the way up. But I love this gun mostly the grips they are wonderful.
Conclusion: This gun is great. I think this is the best Low-End Mechanical gun I have ever used. When I used it for woods ball with my friends they all loved it over there Tippman's and now 3 of them also are getting MR1's. I would highly recommend this gun to anyone starting out or wants a good woods ball gun. I have a Smart parts Epiphany and this is no comparison but I love this gun. Great gun for its class best one I have ever seen or used.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

electronmaster Sunday, March 19th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing, last gun was a Talon
Marker Setup: Spyder MR-1
J&J 2 Piece Ceramis 14" Barrel
Upgraded Springs
Viewloader Gravity Feed 200 Round Hopper
Remote Coil
Recommended
Upgrades:
Remote coil is nice
Strengths: Very Reliale, easy to disasemble and reasemble. Looks cool.
Weaknesses: Hard to find parts right now to upgrade without improvising. Loud.
Review: Lets start off by saying I am relatively new to this sport, which made this gun appealing to me. My previous gun was a Talon pump gun, so even this is a big jump up. And I have had it for more than one month, but not quite 3 months, but there is no option for that. I have played 4 seprate days of at least a few hours a game each day with this gun.

I was recommended by my friends to pick out a spyder because they are easy to use and very upgradeable. I went down to my local paintball shop and saw it on the wall. I paid $119 for it, with the stock, so if you paid more and didn't get the stock, you paid too much. My first game I played with it completely stock, except for a medium spring upgrade. It performed very well, or, well enough for me. I thought it was very accurate, so I let my friends shoot it a few times, and they agreed with me on the accuracy. Over a longer distance, the balls seem to curve, but I believe this is just because of wind.

It seems to be very reliable, and low maintenance. I have only chopped one ball, which was earlier today, when I was just seeing how many shots I could get off in a second. Other than that I have been through about 2000 balls, 1300 or so on stock barrel, and 700 or so on upgraded 2 piece J&J performance ceramic barrel I tried today. with the stock barrel, it really is pretty loud. With the upgraded barrel, it quiets down quite a bit.

Upgrading this gun does not look as though it will be as simple as my friends suggested. This is because with this gun, they made a number of changes. It is a top cocker, and the pin that attaches the bolt to the striker is remove-able, none of my friends spyders has a bolt like this. I am having trouble finding a replacement bolt, which I really am in no need for now, but it would be comforting to know they are out there, just in case.

I have another upgrade problem as well. The semi- auto frame that came with it does not have standard mounts for the drop forward that came with it. they are inline, instead of offset, like every other spyder I have seen. So, I am assuming I cannot upgrade the trigger frame unless I change the drop forward, which a new one seems to come with expansion chamber kits anyway, but, the appearance of the gun will be completely different when all this is done.

Those are my only gripes with the gun. When I look at reviews, I usually just want to know the bad stuff, and figure the good out myself. I am happy about not chopping a ball when it counts. I have never needed to rip off the barrel under fire and run a squeege through it, like my friends are always doing.

O yeah, the sight rail sucks. You have about 2 inches of usable rail, but unless a scope or laser is mounted up high, it will do you no good, because the screw to fasten the elbow to the hopper from the gun is clearly in the way, so it wasn't designed well if you are looking for it to be a real senario gun by adding a scope.

In the cold, like today (33 degrees before a reasonable wind that made your fingers turn white) was the first time I got to check the fps. I hear CO2 (remember I'm a noob) does not perform as well in the cold. The first shot was 252, the second 251, and the third, which was the only one this low, was 232. I didn't notice any problems on the feild though.
Conclusion: I would reccomend this one to really anyone who is looking for a great gun that will be dependable for either starters or really anyone. Great gun to learn on. It is damn good looking you know.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

MyPaintInUrFace Monday, April 2nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months10 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
i dont know of a gun this amazing
Marker Setup: mr1, n2 tank, stock, 20 INCH BARREL
Recommended
Upgrades:
U NEED A 20 INCH BARREL its good to have a n2 tank with a remote
Strengths: Accurate,
capable of 360 fps.{amazingly power full} ,
intimadation,
easy to use and many more.
Weaknesses: There are none besides that its semi auto
Review: This gun is worth $699 BUT ITS ONLY $120 this gun is GODLY AND AMAZING I could get the fps. 360 witch is neer the max. This gun is $120 but is better than the$1400 guns, honestly this gun is amazing. Its so accurate that on my first match I got two headshots from extremely far away easily.
Conclusion: BUY THIS GUN OR YOUR A SUCKER because its GODLY BUT AMAZINGLY INEXPENSIVE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! what are u waiting for BUY THIS AMAZING GUN NOW U WONT REGRET IT!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, April 3rd, 2007 at 7:15 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

ghostflanker Sunday, May 14th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years9 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
tipmann 98 custom
Marker Setup: kingman spyder mr1
custom 25 inch barrel
auto-loader
camo trigger and grips
camo ghillie
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel
trigger if your not going to be a sniper
Strengths: Good barrel
Accurate
Very easy to operate
Chops about every 1 out of 500 balls
Weaknesses: Long trigger pull
Loud people hear you all over the field without a custom barrel
Review: Over all this is a very good and reliable gun for the average sniper. It is also very accurate when you don't have any upgrades on it and you really almost never break any balls and when you do it is very easy to clean the barrel. Just be very careful when traveling with it. it looks like a real gun and you might get shot.
Conclusion: I recommend this to any person that wants a good sniping gun. or for anybody that is new to the game and needs a good cheap gun
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, May 14th, 2006 at 7:37 pm PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

DChen Thursday, May 13th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann Pro-Lite (Self Refurbished)
Tippmann 98 rental (Self-Refurbished)
Marker Setup: Kingman Spyder MR1
16" MR1 Sniper Barrel / 6" Recon Barrel with M4 Tip
Proto Primo Loader
RAP4 Clamping FeedNeck
Spyder MR1 Sniper CAR Stock
Remote Air Setup With Spyder 48ci/3000psi
Recommended
Upgrades:
Stock Barrel is Accurate.
-A shorter barrel will still result in roughly the same accuracy within 40 feet with this marker, but there is noticably more spread after that.
-16" barrel made for tighter groupings at 50 feet and up.
-Clamping Feedneck. Stock Feedneck is too high mounted, and broke on my first game.
-Hopper Upgrade. Viewloader works fine, but you can achieve relatively high BPS with the light trigger pull of the MR1. *Theres is more distance to cover then a 98 Custom but the tigger pull is far lighter*
Strengths: Accurate, Durable, Easy to Maintenance.
Weaknesses: High Stock FPS, Top Cocking Open Bolt.
Review: The Spyder MR1 was the first marker i purchased after playing on rental equipment for several games within the same month.

Introduction
Out of the box and onto the field, the stock MR1 chrono'ed in at 330 FPS on my HPA.Swapping out the springs to low settings, i was still hitting 305 FPS with the velocity adjuster all the way to the right. Swapping that to a CO2 tank on the remote line, i was flucuating between 295 and 310 FPS. The field i was playing at was leaning towards not allowing me to play, but due to the fact that it was a Semi-Auto, it was finally tagged as a high-end marker and allowed onto the field. The MR1 is Solid, and plays well to those that arent picky about weight or overall size. Aesthetically pleasing to the eye, looks and feels like a real firearm.

Maintenance
Simply and Easy to field strip and clean.
-Pull the top cocking pin out, slide out the bolt, and run a swap through it.
-If you have a stock, use the included hex wrench. Takes less then 30 seconds drop the stock, retain the screw, pull the pin, drop the bolt, and run a swab through it.
Off Field Cleaning
NEVER TAKE OUT THE STRIKER BOLT LOCATED INSIDE THE BOTTOM CHAMBER *Accessible after removing the Velocity Adjuster* WITHOUT FIRST REMOVING THE TRIGGER FRAME
Doing so without first noting the precaution with make you wonder why your gun is suddenly leaking air, when you finally realized the O-Ring on your Striker bolt was sliced in half by the sear after you jammed the striker back into the chamber and pulled the trigger to drop it in place.
Bolt Precautions
Make sure your bolt is going in the right way, with the ball detent notch/trench located on the RIGHT SIDE of your marker. You dont want to slice off your ball detent and then complain about why your Spyder is chopping paint and double feeding.

General Info
-Relatively cheap "Low-End" Marker, $90 MSRP for the marker itself.
-Stock FPS is Extremely High. 330 FPS NOTE. Buy a Spring Kit and prepare to cut springs if your field does not allow you to play at 300 FPS.
-Easy to field strip and maintain
-Solid construction, reliable paint slinging.
-Air Efficiency, on average i was getting 500 shots off a 480 rated tank.
-Air through magazine is well placed for a foregrip. IMO.
-Stock barrel is accurate out of the box, actually no need to upgrade.
-Find a hopper that can feed at least 8~10 bps, the semi-auto on this MR1 is quite consistent in that department, with a lighter tripper pull and double trigger, it is easy to shoot at least 8 bps for brief bursts. Even faster if you can effectively piano key the trigger although that is very exhausting. Why would one attempt to break 11b bps on a semi auto on the stock trigger in the first place.
-Stock feedneck i sout of the question. get a new one.
OPEN BOLT ISSUE
There is no difference in FPS between open bolt and closed bolt. jsut that dust dirt grime and a multitude of junk can get into it throughout the day and you get "hiccups" in your marker, making you believe you just chopped a ball.
Rack the cocker back and keep shooting. clean out your chamber after the game.

The top cocking bolt also ruins any attempts to add accessories onto the top mounting rail, other then the raised weaver.

Aiming down the front sights gives you a natural arc in your shots, works at distances where you can just point and shoot.

Paint/Barrel Match
This is critical for your MR1.
Shot 2 cases of Diablo F13s, 1case Diablo Podium Series, and 500 Evils. not a single break so far.
If your breaking balls with this marker, your obviously shooting faster then what your hopper can supply. its also a BLOWBACK so drill a hole in your stock feedneck ti release the air that goes up the stack and possibly chop balls. You dont have to worry once you switch to a feedneck with holes or slots, the blowback is ported and the balls will not be chopped as long as you dont try to shoot past the hoppers feed rate.

Upgrades
Of all things to upgrade as far as im concerned, everything esle besides Barrel, Hopper, Stock, Feedneck, Xpansion Chamber/Regulator for CO2, Remote Kit, and possibly a scope is just plain cosmetics. You dont need that useless plastic shroud, or the expensive plastic magazine that you couldve played another game or bought another case of paint for, those are just unneccesary for a working, reliable marker.
Conclusion: A Solid recreational marker, that can be upgraded for a hefty price tag.
E-MR1 would be a better starting choice if you wanted the fire rate, but the MR1's completely mechanical operating system is a no brainer for anyone that can follow simple directions and visual cues. Simple, Effective, and Cheap. Reminds me of the Pro-Lite i currently own in terms of accuracy and reliability of shots.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, May 13th, 2010 at 8:50 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

agurish Monday, October 8th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 - The MR-1 is superior in all respects in it's stock configuration.
98C - pre-ACS - The MR-1 is superior in all respects in it's stock configuration.
98C - Post-ACS - The two are about the same.
A5 - The A5 is superior, but only because of the Cyclone feed system.
Other Spyders (pre-06) - The MR-1 is superior to every previous mechanical Spyder.
Other Spyders (post-o6) - The MR-1 is about the same as the newer line-up, may be a bit easier to upgrade/mil-sim due to the Weaver/Picatinney/1911 rail.
Spyder Clones - (VL/BE/Etc) - The MR-1 is superior in most respects, holding it's own against even electronic markers of the VL and BE vintage.
Marker Setup: Spyder MR-1 - Stock valve, valve pin, springs, cup seal, detent, etc.
20 inch J&J Performance barrel
20 oz CO2
Viewloader Eggy II w/ Y board (stock), w/ 3 paddle propeller mod
Recommended
Upgrades:
As with most markers, get a new barrel. The stock barrel was loud, and inaccurate & had a tendency to chop. The J&J is much quieter, wayyyy more accurate, and rarely chops.
Strengths: Ease of use
Ease of upgrades
Mil-Sim ready out of the box
Weaknesses: Not for everyone
Mechanical, not electronic (get the EMR-1 for that)
Review: Upon winning my MR-1 at EMR Paintball park this past spring (Spring, '07), I have put it through it's paces, and fired roughly 6000 to 8000 rounds of paint through it. Here is my review:

Receiver/Body - The body itself is very durable, mine has a matte-black finish which is very non-reflective. A definite plus. The finish will withstand moderate abuse (I keep mine in the trunk of my car w/o any obvious damage).

Barrel (Stock) - The barrel included is loud, inaccurate, and will chop. The first upgrade I recommend is an aftermarket barrel, preferably from J&J (they are very nice). The stock barrel has porting on the last 1 to 1.5 inches, and makes a very loud report when fired. The accuracy of the stock barrel varies with paint quality, but poor quality paint shoots extremely poorly in the stock barrel.

Trigger Frame - The frame is a double-trigger, and is all metal w/ rubber side panels. The panels have a tendency to react poorly to abrasion, but I haven't seen this in my own experience. The frame does not have the "spyder offset" mounting holes, it has standard inline holes, so upgrades to the drop are a breeze. The drop itself is above par, fitting a 20-oz CO2 canister easily. Most, aside from the largest , HPA tanks should fit as well. Firing rates vary according to player skill. Expect normal STBB (stacked tube blow back) marker firing rates lower than 10 bps.

Fore-Grip - The foregrip is cosmetic, and does nothing other than act as a place to put your hands. Make sure all the screws are tightened, as with anything else that isn't loc-tited down, they will work themselves loose during play. The hose used is a black coated stainless-steel hardline, eliminating any worries about burst pressures.

Feedneck - The feedneck is high-density plastic mounted onto the receiver w/ three metal screws. Under the feedneck is the rubber-nubbin ball detent. The feedneck is angled to the right, and requires the use of an elbow to mount any hoppers used. No hopper is included stock, but either an agitated, or force-fed hopper is highly suggested, in order to avoid chopping, or missed shots due to balls jamming in the hopper.
Conclusion: Overall - The marker assembles, and fires much like previous offerings from Kingman Spyder, which is a definite plus. It is more of an "evolutionary" step as opposed to a "revolutionary" one. Albeit, this step appears to be in the direction of mil-sim and or scenario players, and primarily woodsball players. The marker does not fire fast w/o upgrades, and is definitely a beginner's marker in it's stock configuration. It is a perfect platform for more experienced players, as the inclusion of a weaver rail allows for nearly limitless upgrades. Adding a barrel shroud, and other cosmetic upgrades transforms the look of this marker drastically, and adds much to it's appeal. I give this marker a 10 out of 10.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (27):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media