paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Kingman Spyder MR1 / Kingman Spyder MR1 / Kingman Spyder MR1 / Kingman Spyder MR1

Kingman Spyder MR1 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Kingman

Buy Kingman Spyder MR1

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Kingman Spyder MR1
[ View Photos (93) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 261
Average Rating: 8.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $90

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The MR1 will take a beating and keep on firing! The slide out pull pin, field strippable bolt, and full-length stock (optional) make the MR1 an easily operated and highly accurate scenario marker with military resilience and stability. This semi-auto marker won't rust even when you're trekking through the wettest terrain, and you?ll never need to worry about batteries because there aren?t any electronic parts!
Product Availability 
The Kingman Spyder MR1 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (27):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Tippy King Tuesday, April 17th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder extra :MR1 looks cooler but extra is more accurate.
Marker Setup: MR1
Freak barrel
CAR Stock
Remote line
Recommended
Upgrades:
Apex barrel. Freak barrel.A remote system
Strengths: This gun is very tough. trigger is very sensitive
Weaknesses: The barrel is not very accurate (but hardly any stock barrels are).
Gun sometimes Jams.
Review: I sold my MR1 for a Tippmann A5 because I needed a little better gun.I am not even going to compare this to my A5 because of the price difference.This gun is pretty cool looking but looks arent everything. And It jammed up on me a couple of times when I was hit In the cocking chamber, but no biggy It was very easy to fix . It is very light weight and great for beginners.It is also very easy to clean and take apart.
Conclusion: Get this gun if you like spyders and play woods ball, but you may want a better barrel.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, May 10th, 2007 at 11:56 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

el_whale Saturday, March 31st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
2 years8 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Speedball: Semi auto pirahna gti w/new expansion chamber,drop forward. a 20 ounce co2 8.5" barrel.
Woodsball:MR1 all stock and a veiwloader quantum hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
most likely a longer barrel smart parts linear mabey

sight and bi-podif you are a sniper
Strengths: Accurate, durable, looks good! Black matte finish (no reflection)
easy maintenance
Weaknesses: HEAVY rails are way to short to mount anything
Review: I got this gun as my first woods ball gun and loved it and i still do. One thing that was funky with it was when i got it out of the box i took it out to shoot it first thing. and balls just started rolling out the barrel so i took it apart and found that the ball detent was missing! Hmmm ya, strait out of the box! Luckily it comes with a tool/replacement kit. It contians allen wrenchs, and spare parts. Any how i fixed that and it shoots perfectly now. As i mentioned above i have not purchased any after-market parts due to financial problems. But i am soon to get a 21" sniper barrel and a bi-pod. The stockbarrel is moderately accurate. The ruggedness of this gun is amazing! The first time i went with it i tripped and sort of drop/throwed it on the ground and not a scratch on the thing.

And when kingman says any conditions they mean it!! I went balling in the snow with it and go it all over it along with some water but still perfect functionality. The trigger is kinda hard to walk on but no big deal for a sniper. The rails suck as i said they are to small to mount anything directly on but a raised sight rail would work well i think. perfect for mil-sim and woods ball, but in speed ball w/out the stock its open ended not really a plus. I compared this to my friend's A-5 and thought it performed alot better plus its not as expensive (compare 140$ to 250$) o and did i mention he had a flat line barrel on his A-5! But then i never really liked tippys so i might be kinda bias there?

Runs great on a 20 ounce and a vl Quantum (20$) cheap. Im hopping to buy a MR2 or 3 just because of the high performance of this marker.

one more thing the elbow to the hopper is cheap plastic
Conclusion: If you are a begin-er or intermediate player that doesn't want to spend a fortune on a woods-ball gun this is for you. In my opinion this gun is under priced at 130$-140$
GET IT! Nine because of the hard trigger the weight and the @#$%y rails.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Matias Saturday, April 7th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
Tipmenn 98 custom
Marker Setup: Spyder MR1
12oz co2 tank
sometimes stock if needed
cheap loader
12'' mussel berral
Recommended
Upgrades:
Rased sight or scope
differant berral and stock
Strengths: light
acurate
STRONG!
FAST!
Weaknesses: None sofar......
Review: This is a great marker. It's fast, strong, light and accurate. You could throw it in a mud puddle and it ill keep shooting.If you are a beginner or a experienced player it's the gun for you! If you want the gun but still want an eclectic marker slap a e-trigger on it and a e-loader. Its extremely customize able. BUY THIS MARKER!
Conclusion: This is a great marker if you are a beginner or a experienced player. HAVE FUN
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

uriel53 Monday, July 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder Xtra and tippman 98
Marker Setup: mr1 gravity fed hopper 20oz CO2 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
a better barrel
maybe a scope if your into that kind of thing
a new elbow
Strengths: Accurate
well made
looks good
cheap($100!)
Weaknesses: Short weaver rail
cheap elbow
cocking bolt blocks sight
stock impares aiming
Review: This gun is a steal for $100 dollars. It's accurate, is intimidating, and fun to play with. I have a friend who has a Tippman 98 and the mr1 stands toe to toe with it in almost every way. The 98 is a little more accurate but for the price difference it evens out. Having previously used spyders in the past convinced me to buy this gun. I play woodsball and a blue and chrome Xtra isn't exactly low profile. This gun really improved my game and my friends all keep asking me how much it was, not believing that it was only $100. While all guns have their pros and cons the mr1's strengths far out weigh the weaknesses.
STRENGTHS
Accuracy- This thing amazed me out of the box. After I got it I hooked up my CO2 and went in my back yard. At 60 ft I was hitting a tree 4 inches wide 4 out of every 5 shots. The ones that missed proceeded to hit the fence 20 ft behind it within a 2 ft area. Not bad for a stock barrel
Well Made- This thing is tough. Some spyders feel a little shaky, almost petite when you shoot them. Not the mr1. I feel like if I ever got pissed at someone I could crack them over the head with this thing and shoot them with it directly afterwards. This aspect makes it perfect of woodsball because you dont have to worry about sticks and rocks messing your gun up
WEAKNESSES
Sights- The front sight is blocked by the cocking bolt. This isn't that huge of a problem but the stock prevents you from lining the sights up while wearing a mask. A raised sight would fix the issue or even a scope if you could find one that fits the ridiculously small weaver rail. By not being able to line up the sights makes it difficult to judge vertically where the paint will land. You can tell by lining up the barrel which direction it will go, but you might hit high of low.
Elbow- All this is is a case of a corporation findings ways to cut down on cost. The cheap plastic elbow that Kingman gives you will break after short usage so just head to your local paintball store and pick up a better elbow. Simple solution for a simple problem.
Conclusion: The spyder mr1 suprised me when I bought it and I am glad for doing so. If you are into woodsball and want a milsim marker for a low cost the mr1 is the way to go. I wish it had more upgrades but maybe they will be released in time. A very strong 9(cuz nothing's perfect)
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, July 18th, 2006 at 7:16 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

ScottW070 Saturday, June 26th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
1 year6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98 custom (Sucks compared to MR1 Sniper)
Marker Setup: MR1
16" Sniper Barrel
ACS Bolt
Sight Rail
Red Dot Scope
Pure Energy HPA tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Sight Rail
Scope
Bolt
HPA tank
Strengths: Durable
Strong
Accurate
Good Looking
Weaknesses: Inaccurate it you don't upgrade the barrel and bolt
Review: I bought the MR1 sniper kit. I spent $250 on the gun itself and have since spent another $250 upgrading it. Don't get me wrong it's a great gun but the upgrades are sweet!
I play alot of MilSim and Woodsball and I always play as a sniper (as opposed to a gunner or infantry etc.). People on the other teams always hate me. I wear a full flecktarn camouflage uniform and I sneak up to their base and start picking off their defensive positions from a distance. This gun is the best sniper gun I have ever used.
It's accurate durable good looking and compared to other sniper guns is relatively light weight.
Conclusion: I think the MR1 Sniper kit is awesome. I can't vouch for the MR1 military kit for the simple reason I haven't used it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

gtkid2002 Tuesday, April 28th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
2 years6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
PMI R6, Tippmann 98 Custom, Spyder Extra, Thundercat, 1999 Angel *unsure of model*, PMI Black Maxx, Veiwloader Triad, Mostly lower end markers
Marker Setup: Kingman Spyder MR1 - PMI Razzor barrel, 30'' Cable Squeege, PMI gravity feed hopper, 47Cu 3kPSI HPA Air tank (Pure Energy), V-Force Anti-Fog Goggles, Cheap one peice foggy elbow that's been painted partially, old Military Bipod
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, Electric hopper, Air tank, maybe a bipod for you snipers, possibly an E-trigger for back players
Strengths: Accurate, Intimidating, Quick shooting, easy to clean, durable, Not very shiny, Included stock
Weaknesses: Heavy , loud, stock gets annoying/in the way sometimes, Stock feels a little cheap
Review: Got this gun off of actionvillage new when they first came out. Thought they were awesome. I've been playing woodsball for a few years, and I loved this gun for it. It scares the crap out of my friends when they're downrange and i'm shooting out them. They say it sounds like a cannon.

Now, I haven't had any problems with gas leaks or anything, but occasionally it will hiss a little when pressurizing. This is normal for me. I've recently played a few games with an Air tank, and I was amazed. I get consistiant shots up untill the tank goes empty, then you just have to account for ball drop.

Accuracy - A lot of people complain about this thing being innaccurate. It should be common knowledge that if you use higher end paint, i'm talking Marbalizers here, that it will shoot well. I had been using WalFart's Big Ball paint for a while, but decided to try something a bit better. I was amazed. All I had to account for, wind and all, was ball drop. When used with air, this thing amazes. I have influenced quite a few people with the durablity/accuracy of this gun. Even my buddy with an Angel. However, the stock hopper setup will not feed as fast as this gun will shoot, and as soon as you chop a ball, you're losing major accuracy with a stock barrel. But when you're using air, you dont have to worry about the C02 freezing the balls, then shattering them when they fire before they exit the barrel. Air goes highly reccomended by me.

Noise - This gun is loud. Indimidating, but loud either way. If you're using Air, you don't have to worry about that giveaway C02 cloud, so then you're just left with the noise. If you are a quiet person in the woods, you'll do just fine with this gun.

Weight - Yeah, no way around it, this gun weighs a LOT. My full setup, which includes an old military bipod and an 47cu steel air tank, weighs around 10lbs. Now, there is a bonus to this. Once you can haul this gun around for hours on end, then hey, guess what! You can move a lot faster with any other gun. So it's a 50/50 deal.

Durability - I have dropped this gun a few times, but I generally take good care of it. It's held up just fine, but the stock does feel rather cheap, and the grip has been peeling away a little. I attacked it with sandpaper, and fixed that however.

Visibility - This gun is rather hard to see in the woods. It has an anodized matte black surface, which makes it diffuse the sunlight, instead of those shiny as hell guns. Much easier for sniping, and sneaking up on people when it's sunny.

The sight rail is rather useless, at least I've never found a use for it. But then again, if you honestly think you need a friggin scope on your gun, you're in the wrong sport. They're useless in paintball.

Carry a good squeegee, some pods, and a nice fog-proof mask, and you'll be fine with this gun.
Conclusion: This is an awesome beginner's gun, and possibly a mid-level player's gun of choice. You can upgrade it with an E-trigger, and an ACS bolt, but if you're a good shot, you don't need these unless you're using crappy paint, and in that case, you shouldn't be playing anyways. It's an all around good gun, but it is a little loud, and it does weight a bit, but that can't be helped sometimes.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Rom75 Thursday, May 8th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
98 custom
VS1
Marker Setup: Gravity
Halo
Strengths: Ready to use as is


Weaknesses: Bad placment for cocking lever!
Review: I bought a MR1 the other day because I heard it was a good starters marker. Bottom line it is!!! Better than the 98 custom in accuracy, cleaning, looks, and all around performance. I had to buy a low velocity spring at my local store though because the MR1 comes with a med velocity spring. This is a problem because most fields will not let you play unless you can set the fps to 300 or lower. It performed very well on my first two visits to the course. Shoots very straight and far. Has a slight natural curve to the left which I liked with the stock barrel. I will replace this eventually however. In 7 speedball games played I walked away with about 5 kills. Not bad for a new stock marker! If you are looking to buy a very good marker for playing in the woods or just starting off in speedball, you could do much worse! The MR1 is at its best in the woods though.
Conclusion: Buy this over a 98 custom. It is slightly better in everyway except mounting a scoop or red dot.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tippmannkilla22 Friday, May 11th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann a-5, 98c
tons of spyders, piranahs, View Loaders, and Brass Eagles
Marker Setup: Diablo Wrath
Delrin bolt
30BPS board
Kaner barrel kit
FBM Wave trigger
Egg II/w Z-board
Pure Energy 48/3000

MR1 stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel
bolt
nitro
Strengths: Reliable
durable
accurate
woods-ball friendly
Weaknesses: Stock makes quick striping imposible
Review: I had decided I needed a gun that worked for woodsball and I didn't want to spend too much money on it. I was considering the tippmann 98 or a-5 but they just seemed overpriced even though they are good. I knew the MR1 was out and that it was only $100 and I knew how simple the spyders were to fix. I filled up my nitro tank and went out to test the marker stock useing Xball Gold(top quality). I used the Evo II hopper, since I didn't have a gravity fed hopper. The paint hit the targets quite consistently and weren't breaking at all in the gun. except after about 400 shots and out of curiosity I tryed to fire anyways and it actually went decently and that would be very useful in a game. ACP just made a bolt for the MR1 which would make it chop even less. This thing could be dropped in a puddle of mud and still fire. Just keep in mind this beast can really take abuse.

p.s. I'm giving it a 9.5 but I'm rounding it off to ten because this marker needs it, because of all the people giving terrible reviews and lowering the score. And it really is one of the best markers in it's class
Conclusion: This is one of the best buget markers out there and I would always stick up for it.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, May 27th, 2007 at 1:28 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Bakedziti Wednesday, December 31st, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Stock Spyder MR1

-20 oz. CO2
-VL Gravity Feed Hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
I plan to do the following first...
- 16" J&J ceramic barrel $30
- Aluminum clamping feedneck $25
- Remote $25-$30

Eventually...
- A force feed loader
- Compressed Air Tank
Strengths: - Durable
- Comes with Lightweight Stock
- Overall Design
- Price $90... can't beat that
Weaknesses: - Plastic Elbow
- Weighs ~4.5 lbs.
- Pull Trigger back about 7/8"
Review: The gun has a solid feel to it and fits comfortably to the hand. The Fore grip is an awsome advantage to have. Unfortunately the bolt is in the way of the sight. The stock barrel is fairly accurate (about a 7 out of 10 for the accuracy) and the stock fits comfortably against the shoulder. If I would have to guesstimate how many BPS it was capable of, I would say easily 7 but might be capable of 10. It is very easy to take apart and clean. Overall the gun has a very natural feel to it and is a great Woodsball/ Tactical gun.

***I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS GUN TO ANY PERSON WANTING TO GET INTO THE PAINTBALL SCENE ON A BUDGET.***
Conclusion: I might be a newb to Paintball, but I would definitley say that it is an awesome gun to start out with, if not the best gun to start out with, and for a reasonalbe price. I am a big fan of Keeping it Simple and I beileve this gun does just that. And if you happen to be one of those guys that likes things complex there are many upgrades for this gun.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dac152 Saturday, May 17th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom
Marker Setup: Spyder MR-1, Viewloader 200 Round Gravity Feed, 32 Degrees Remote LIne, 20oz Pure Energy Co2, Extreme Rage 4+1 Pod Pack, 4 Extreme Rage 140 Round Pods, 16in Smart Part Progressive Barrel, Red Dot Laser Pointer With Pressure Button.
Recommended
Upgrades:
1. Remote Line or Compression Chamber,
2. New Barrel, Stock Is Not Accurate Enough For Me
Strengths: The Mr-1 Is A Friggin Iron Horse. For 100 Dollars @ Wal*Mart. Angled Feedneck.
Weaknesses: Stock Elbow Is Weak And Rotates Occasionally
Stock Barrel Is Fairly Innacurate
Review: I bought this marker about three months ago and tried it out that day on a small woodsball course and I was fairly amazed. I assembled the marker, stuck a five dollar viewloader on it, bought some gameface scorched balls and I was set. I am not the most dextrous person so when the second game began I ran towards the first pallet and busted my sh!^ and banged the gun against a tree. I picked up my marker, wiped off the dirt, put my hopper back on, d@m% elbow, and loaded it back up with paintballs. I was the last man standing, partially because I was in the back, three times and I walked away a winner twice, enough said.
Conclusion: I recommend this gun for any one. The gun is soo friggin tough and a great alternative to a Tippmann 98. It is relatively cheap as far as markers go at $100 and if you want to play speedball you could get away with spending just $50-$75 turing it into a speedy beast. I really like it and it's the most dependible marker I have.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (27):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media