paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Kingman Spyder MR1 / Kingman Spyder MR1 / Kingman Spyder MR1 / Kingman Spyder MR1

Kingman Spyder MR1 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Kingman

Buy Kingman Spyder MR1

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Kingman Spyder MR1
[ View Photos (93) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 261
Average Rating: 8.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $90

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The MR1 will take a beating and keep on firing! The slide out pull pin, field strippable bolt, and full-length stock (optional) make the MR1 an easily operated and highly accurate scenario marker with military resilience and stability. This semi-auto marker won't rust even when you're trekking through the wettest terrain, and you?ll never need to worry about batteries because there aren?t any electronic parts!
Product Availability 
The Kingman Spyder MR1 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (27):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
deano 177 Monday, February 4th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
VS3
Tippmann Pro Lite
Marker Setup: VS3 with vs2 trigger
Empire Vents Avatar with dark thermals
Halo Frontman
88 and 68/4500 Pure Energy with DYE covers
Invert 3+2 Loaders
Invert Digi Woodland Outfit
Spyder MR 1 with rear cocking mod
14" j&j barrel
Spyder E-trigger
Palmer's Stablizer
Pure Energy 16oz tank
Pure Energy 20oz tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Regulator
Feedneck
Strengths: Toughness
Pocket friendly
Easy to maintain
Weaknesses: Limited scope attatchment for milsim
Stock may need to be modified
Stock chrono >300+
Review: This was my first marker since my hiatus. It was a good entry(re-entry?) level marker and is easy to take care of. This marker is pretty simple to work on. I have had a few problems:

1. Bad cup seal in first marker. Exchanged it the same day and have not had any issues since

2. Chronographing. This thing was shooting super hot right out of the box. 340+ was the minimum I could get it down to with out clipping and finally replacing the spring.

I had pretty good experiance with the elbow that came with the marker. It lasted for a while. Maybe 2 months? You can get by with a gravity hopper on this marker but upgrade to some sort of power hopper soon. The first thing that I did was to put the j&j on it. That helped with the loudness of the marker.

Total addons: $254
j&j - $40
Palmers reg - $75
etrigger - $40
marker - $99


Conclusion: A good entry level marker to see if you will like paintball. This marker can become a great backup with a little money.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

jon eats alot Friday, April 6th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: my gun is completly stock and works great
Recommended
Upgrades:
sight
Strengths: -Durible
-Looks sweet
-Pretty good accuracy

-Feels cool in your hands
Weaknesses: - Little bit louder then most
- Not to many upgrades
Review: I think this gun is a great gun for people who just want a have a good time paintballing but don't want to spend a whole lot of money. it is a great gun because when you want a big tactical milsin gun you have it and when you want a quick light speed ball gun you have it. this gun is very versitile and can be used for almost every postion on your team
Conclusion: This gun is amazing and i recommend it becaues it is very versitile and does not cost very much.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SyDeR_MaN Monday, July 10th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Pilot.
Tippmann 98.
Marker Setup: Spyder MR-1.
Gravity fed hopper.
20 oz CO2.
Anti-Siphon Smart Valve.
Smart Parts Progressive Barrel.
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel.
Anti-Siphon Smart Valve (for co2 users).
Strengths: Looks.
Weight.
Accuracy.
Weaknesses: None yet.
Review: Mm. Where to start.

I bought this gun for like $100 and i thought it was going to be a peice of crap (because of the price). I was dead wrong. This thing is pretty darn accurate right out of the box. I found a bag of 500 brass eagles in the back of my closet and i put them through the gun in about 2 min. I have not had a single break yet! People say its loud but I like the intimidation factor against my new to the sport friends. Some people say that its to heavy, well start working out. Build some muscle. The thing doesn't look like any military rifle ive ever seen, but it still looks cool. Sorta like a weird M-4.
Conclusion: GET IT. Its 100 dollars of fun right outa the box. You will not be let down.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

QuiGonKen Thursday, March 30th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
my old ZXS 400
Tippy 98
Marker Setup: MR1
14' Progressive
VL Revy
48/3000
podpack
Recommended
Upgrades:
maybe new barrel, 12v Hopper,
Strengths: good Scen/milsim/woodsball
really good price
easy to clean/strip on and off field
Weaknesses: Difficult to find parts for upgrading
7/8inch rail
heard of detent problems- easily replaced..
Review: Ok well ive bought my MR1 and i love it, i had the option of the Tippmann or the MR1, i was on a budget and i lean more towards rec/milsim/woods - type paintball: so i was faced with the Highly upgradeable Tippman 98 or the MR1: but the parts for a Tippy was nearly $200 (CDN) to get a good stock and maybe barrel to make it look like i wanted. so i said well the MR1 looks pretty good straight out of the box and i got it instead.

Although the MR1 is difficult to make it LOOK more like a milsim it is a pretty good gun, i used it a couple of times, once in a game and there were no problems ...

[edit]
been using this gun for a while, very good so far, only real pains/probs ive had were the detents but once i got the black detents i havent had a seared problem since....
Conclusion: the only problem i see with this gun is that it is difficult to find parts to up it, and even though ive heard problems with the Detent it could easily be replaced, and if you go to the spyder.tv site and go to the forums and talk to a rep there and they will allow you to get a free detent from kingman- also different companies detents, ive heard, could also fit it. so ill give it a 9 outta 10.. only because of the lack of parts to upgrade...so yea....
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, August 8th, 2006 at 5:27 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Invertible Tuesday, September 28th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
1 year5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 custom
Marker Setup: Spyder Mr1, Reds Pepperstickz Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel
Strengths: Mil-Sim, light, Coolish looking, good on Co2, Accurate to an extent, rarely chops
Weaknesses: stock barrel sucks, LOUD, worthless aim over 50-100 ft EDIT: Breaks easily in game
Review: I got this gun as my first owned gun, after borrowing and renting guns, and it is an okay marker. Its really good for its price. The accuracy with the stock barrel is awful, so get a new barrel with some good paint. This gun is LOUD. So loud, that once I was in a game, walked up next to a teammate shooting over a hill, shot, and I actually startled him, he looked over to my gun after jumping a little bit. Pretty good on Co2 consumption, a full tank can last me a day with this gun, (But I don't shoot much, which is why I LOVE pumps.)

EDIT: Well, after less than a year, the gun has broken. All of the bolts came undone in game, falling onto the ground, never to be found again. After that game, I was unscrewing the CO2 tank, when the gun when crazy full auto, unloading 20 or so sounds into my barrel sock. Considering this mechanical marker went full auto, I would say that is bad. The trigger frame came undone twice in one day, which is what caused the full auto shooting.
Conclusion: Great starter gun. Buy a new barrel and maybe a new hopper and you can get a half-decent gun for about $130.

EDIT: Good if, and ONLY IF, you need a gun that can shoot. and that is it.
Rating:
4 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, February 13th, 2011 at 11:39 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

divebomber93 Sunday, May 6th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None. I have used MR1 and electros.
Marker Setup: VS2 w/ Eggy 3 hopper. 20oz CO2 tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
HPA
Fast Hopper
Barrel(Always needed)
Strengths: Shoots far.
Pretty accurate.
Very reliable.
Great for woodsball.
Customizable.
Ceap.
Weaknesses: Cheap trigger.
Cheap feedneck.
Chops some.(Not too bad)
Review: I got this online w/ other stuff for 160.I had pretty good experiences with it with one or two bad moments. The chops were with month old beyond crappy paint. When I did chop one or two shots cleared the paint from the barrel. I have played speedball with the MR1. Don't ever try it. I got shot so many times with Angels and DM6s. Guys felt bad for me they let me use their guns. I used an Angel and a DM6. I ruled the field with those guns. If you use it to play speedball, FLANK!!! You can't walk with it.

My ranking system:

1=Better off using a slingshot(Have done)
2,3= BAD. Not worth the time to think about it.
4,5=Don't get. Better guns out there.
6,7=Average.
8=A gun I would get. Worth it.
9=GREAT gun. Get it now! I will bet $1000 you will be satisfied.
10=Angels and Valkyries guide your paintballs to your target while strippers dance around you.(I wish)
Conclusion: I would get it. I learned paintball with it and had a lot of fun with it. Plus its poorness in speedball got me to use fun guns.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

brandena29 Wednesday, December 15th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
1 year4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom
Spyder Xtra
Marker Setup: Proto Primo Hopper
Clamping Feedneck
Adjustable Stock
Remote w/QD & Cover
Ninja 62ci 3000psi HPA Tank w/Magna Cap
2+1 Paintball Harness
Tippmann Gun Sling
Spyder MR1 Terminus Bolt
Recommended
Upgrades:
Clamping Feedneck
HPA N2 Source
Adjustable Stock
Strengths: Strong
Durable
Reliable
Easy Disassembly
Water-Proof (Rain, no Fear!)
BLACK
Weaknesses: Heavy (Weaklings!)
Bolt didn't re-cock (only once)
Review: Pros:

I have had this gun for one year now, and it has never let me down! In all my months of paintballing, this is the one gun rely on. This is the kind of gun you don't need to worry abut breaking, rusting, cracking, ect... because it won't.
The best part, is that it's all black, and I can disassemble this entire gun in under a minute, clean it out with a squeegee, and put it back together, no problem!
Accuracy: Very Accurate, however the barrel must be somewhat clean, or it will swerve. Also, CO2 will ruin whatever shred of accuracy you will hope for, no matter what the gun or barrel. Upgrade to HPA Consistency=Accuracy
Noise: Loud, but I've heard louder. Any aftermarket barrel will quiet this thing.
Mods: This gun can be modded very well, however only with mr-series specific things.
Chops: Only chopped once, but I shoot 11bps max, anyways.
Did I mention It's BLACK?!

Cons:

Get a new bolt, a Spyder MR1 Terminus ACP bolt will do.
Conclusion: I love it, you will, too. Virtually Indestructible and Filed-Strippable. Don't worry about rain, sleet, snow hail, rocks, breaking it... because it won't.
Like with every gun in the world, it will be improved with a new bolt and N2 HPA system.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Coldbourne Friday, May 23rd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98C
Tippman A-5
BT-4
Smart Parts SP1
US Army Alpha Black
Marker Setup: ::Spyder MR1::
20" Smart Parts Tactical Barrel
Viewloader Revolution FORCE EYE Hopper
CORE Aluminum Feedneck
Spyder Tactical Rail
Piranha Spring Kit
DYE Sticky3 Grips

Recommended
Upgrades:
-Elbow
-Stock
-Barrel, but not a must
Strengths: -Tough as Nails
-Solid shooter right out of the box
-Will shoot ANY paint
Weaknesses: -It is pretty loud
-Not as upgradable as the Tippmans
-Crappy elbow
Review: I am a Woodsballer, and if your reading this review chances are that you are too. That being said, I don't expect a mechanical marker to handle like a Eclipse or a Proto.
These guns favor durability over finese and simplicity over insanely complex systems.
They are going to be dropped, kicked around, banged into tree's and sometimes plunged into snow or puddles. Taking a licking and keeping on ticking, hopefully shooting straight afterwards
Thus being the criteria, the MR1 deilvers and then some. Right out of the box, you can feel the durability. Some have called in heavy, but I found it to be comparable to a A-5. It is heavy duty, well made and screams "durable" as soon as you heft it. Add a CO2 tank and the whole setup is well balanced and manuverable. I dont bother with the stock, though it seems to be tough, it gets in the way IMHO.
I initially played a couple of games with the gun totally stock, right out of the box, shooting some cheapy JT paint. Holy crap does this thing shoot straight. Just dead on with the stock sypder barrel, which is ported and seems to be excellent quality. I played a couple of woodsball scenario's and even a few rounds of speed ball with excellent results. Once I sight in on a target, this gun is gonna deilver paint consistently every time, right on the mark. Add a upgraded barrel (my 20" tactical for instance) and things get stupid. Your range increases noticably, accuracy get's even more dead on and the opposing team starts yelling "s**t!!" and diving behind cover when you take aim.

Enough with story time, here's the skinny:

DURABILITY:
This gun is a tank. You can kick it across the room, hammer a nail with it and then shoot your friend in the facemask right afterwards. Also, I play in Alaska and it rains. Alot. This gun does not rust, nor does it mind to get wet. BUT, you will need to upgrade to an aluminum feedneck vice the plastic elbow. That or change out the elbow every time it breaks. The elbow is the only weak point on the gun and it is a major one.

ACCURACY:
I have never shot a gun so accurate right out of the box. Several guys mentioned how straight I was shooting the first day I brough it out and it quickly gained respect in a few short games. Add a J&J or SmartParts Barrel and you may just reek havok. Add a BT Apex for all the Flatline fun of a A-5.

STYLE:
The gun looks good, real good. Most importantly, it looks different from all the Tippmans your going to be playing with. I love Tippmans, they are solid markers, but when 75% of the people you are playing with have 98C's and the other 24% have A-5's, you just kind of want another flavor of marker.

UPGRADABILITY:
This is no Tippman with a million ways to customize, but there are plenty of options out there for you to choose from. The MR1 will take any barrel threaded for spiders, and there are lots of stock's to upgrade to if you need one. You can mount a reddot or scope on top of the optional Tactical rail also.
Conclusion: If you are looking for a solid, reliable and accurate marker without breaking your bank, look no further. This marker has everything you need, with easy maintenance and plenty of options. This bad boy can easily keep up with the Tippman's and is a viable alternative if you are looking for a tough woodsball marker. Just make sure to UPGRADE THAT ELBOW.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, May 23rd, 2008 at 2:18 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

unvolution666 Thursday, August 31st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
tippman A-5
Marker Setup: MR1- right out of box- ricochet AK-47 loader
Recommended
Upgrades:
maybe a new barrel
hopper
Strengths: Durable body
Excellent for woods ball
Accurate
Looks cool
Cheap
Weaknesses: Loud
barrel scratches easy but not enough to harm the overall rating
Review: I've been using this gun right out the box and its works fine. I haven't upgraded the barrel and I hit my targetswith like 3 or 4 shots. I get good range, but its a little loud. A few people have worried about the detent breaking but I haven't had any problems with it. I haven't even chopped a ball the whole time I've owned it. Also the elbow that you get with it is pretty durable if you just take care of it. Wrap it in a towel or something and leave it on your hopper so that you dont have to worry about breaking that side. then just make sure its not being crushed by anything in your bag, or just put it in your bag last. Even my friends think its a good gun and they use tippmans and guns like that
Conclusion: Good overall marker but loud so be prepared to have some trouble hearing for like 20 minutes after use.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

woodsballer101 Wednesday, July 19th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann Model 98 (think vintage on this one!)
Tippmann 98 Custom and Custom Pro
Spyder Victor ll
Marker Setup: Spyder MR1
20 oz Co2
Remote Coil System
VL 200rd. Hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel
20 oz CO2 with on/off valve (good for any marker saves LOTS of CO2 when disconnecting)
Strengths: Strenghts: Very Durable
Nice Feel
ACCURACCY!!!
Double Trigger
Weaknesses: Nothing except being loud but I like em loud remides me of Tippy's
Review: So I went to Dickssportinggoods the other day planning on getting the Tippmann 98 Custom Pro. I get there and they dont have it. My second choice was the MR1. I looked at the 98 Custom which they had but i did not care for it I wanted the Custom Pro for the Double Trigger, Drop Foward and Longer Stock Barrel! Also for Tippmanns great accuracy and durability. I previosly had the Tippman Model 98 for 6 years untill the bolt crapped out and it started double firing and chopping paint bad, so i decided to just invest in a newer gun. When i saw the MR1 i was immediatly drawn to its stylish looks. I like the rugged military stylings. So i went ahead and bought it for $99.99 not bad considering i was going to spend $160 for the Tippmann. Brought it home oiled it up first and dry shot it (reccomend doing this at least once a week, take some gun oil and pour like 5-6 drops into the ASA feed where your co2 screws in then screw in your co2 and fire it with no paint like 5-10 shots, it lubricates all your internals pretty good which will just increase the longjevity of your marker) so anyways i take it out , oil it and then load about half a hopper and just start firing immediatly from 20-30 feet away bang,bang,bang!! same exact spots i was very suprised with the accuraccy then i proceeded to step back to about 70-80 feet shot it and it started curving left, then i realized i hadnt even adjusted the velolity so i screwed it all the way in but then i encountered a problem i could pull the bolt back so i turned down the velocity by one turn worked fine its probably at its max well i then shot sommore off and it was great the stock barrel is very good not at all like i expected again bang bang bang!!! withing inches of each other from 70 to 80 feet! Verry accurate gun right out of the box
Conclusion: I'll have to write another review after i test it out this weekend when im playing woodsball! So Far i would definatly advise any woodsball player of any skill to buy this gun very sturdy and accurate !! even for speedball just take the stock off and it is prime!
only weakness is it is loud but so are tippy's if not louder, but i myself like it louder it is very intimidating to ur opponets. i give it a 9 because i havnt tested it in a game yet and well nothings perfect, very nive gun congrats to Kingman on this one!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (27):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media