paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Kingman Spyder MR1 / Kingman Spyder MR1 / Kingman Spyder MR1 / Kingman Spyder MR1

Kingman Spyder MR1 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Kingman

Buy Kingman Spyder MR1

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Kingman Spyder MR1
[ View Photos (93) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 261
Average Rating: 8.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $90

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The MR1 will take a beating and keep on firing! The slide out pull pin, field strippable bolt, and full-length stock (optional) make the MR1 an easily operated and highly accurate scenario marker with military resilience and stability. This semi-auto marker won't rust even when you're trekking through the wettest terrain, and you?ll never need to worry about batteries because there aren?t any electronic parts!
Product Availability 
The Kingman Spyder MR1 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (27):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
Joesapi Saturday, September 9th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98 Custom
Spyder Victor 2
PMI Pirhanna
ZAP ZXS-400
Marker Setup: Spyder MR-1
Smart-parts 16" Linear Barrel
Tasco 30mm Red Dot Sight
32 Degrees Remote
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel
Sight
Remote Line and HPA
Strengths: Very Reliable
Rarely Chops Paint
Very Accurate
Field Strips in literally seconds.
Weaknesses: Read Review
Review: Overall i am Very Happy With this Marker.

Barrel: The Stock Barrel on this Marker is actually really good. Accuracy for a stock barrel surprised me. The only reason I would recommend a new barrel is the stock one has a rather intimidating report which is good when laying suppressive fire, but not good for the sniper situation. I upgraded the barrel with a Smart-parts Linear 16" Barrel and let me tell you This thing shoots darts! From 50-80 feet I can lay the ball within 3 inches of my red dot about 80% of the time (Taking into account paintball ballistics)

Sights: One very bad point for this gun is the lack of a usable sight rail, it is either too short or the top cocking bolt will hit whatever you mount to it. (sometimes with very very bad results). I ended up mounting my sight on the barrel itself, offset on a 45 degree angle. This setup solves two problems. Getting the sight on the gun in the first place, and moving the sight off to the side so your mask doesn't hit the stock while your trying to aim.

Reliability: I know the tippman fans are going to hate me for this part of the review, but I do have to say that over a weekend on the field (I play about 8 consecutive hours a weekend) The amount that tippman owners have to fiddle, fix, and adjust their guns surprises me. I rarely have to do anything to my marker except add more paint and air. I firmly believe that maintenance is key to performance, so make sure your gun is completely stripped, cleaned, inspected, and lubricated after every session on the field.

Conclusion: Overall I rate this marker a 9, it looses 1 point due to the issues with the stock and and sighting rail. Other than that I would rather own this marker than any other on the market. You don't need to spend an incredible amount of money to have an accurate and reliable maker, Get the MR-1, take care of it and you'll never look back.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

MKalman Tuesday, July 6th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Azodin Kaos
Marker Setup: MR1 w/ Stiffi, Iron sight, Car stock, and Threadsaver
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Stock
Strengths: Accurate
Durable
Intimidating
Weaknesses: Loud
Stock Barrel is "meh"
Tank is hard to thread on the ASA
Review: This marker is a great woodsball marker and on some occasions can be used in small speedball fields but is no recommended because of the weight and feel of the gun. When you get the gun, the first thing needed to upgrade is the barrel, because of the inaccuracy of the barrel. Get a sight for this gun, ONLY if you get a new stock, because the stock that came with the gun does not allow space for looking down a sight.
Conclusion: This gun is definitely a must-have for beginners and intermediate players looking for a great woodsball marker.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sparkzz Wednesday, July 8th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98 custom
Marker Setup: Spyder MR1
Detachable stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
-Elbow
-Stock
Strengths: VERY TANK!
reliable
very good accuaracy
Weaknesses: Pretty loud
CRAP elbow
Not very upgradable
Review: I have not even owned this gun a week now and i LOVE it. I reccomend it over a tippman anyday. Tippman is all i used for 5 years now im all for the spyder! It is cheaper and so much better in MANY ways! The accuarcy is amazing. It is VERY WELL built. Strong as a steel block and just plain feels good while holding it. NOW THATS A TRU PAINTBALL GUN!
Conclusion: If you are looking for a solid, reliable and accurate marker without breaking your bank, look no further. This marker has everything you need, with easy maintenance and plenty of options. This bad boy can easily keep up with the Tippman's and is a viable alternative if you are looking for a tough woodsball marker. Just make sure to UPGRADE THAT ELBOW.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

GoWH3fan Monday, March 19th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Xtra 2006 and imagine
Marker Setup: Spyder xtra 2006, 32 degrees spring set, 16" cp barrel and reg, empire reloader b, and sypder rocking triger.

Back Up and woodsball:
MR1 stock ( getting spring and maybe a rifled barrel)
Recommended
Upgrades:
well the only necessary thing is a spring kit and maybe a barrel. a cheap electric hopper might be helpful but not necessary.
Strengths: Comes with a stock
accurate
looks cool
easy to take apart and clean
price
durability
Weaknesses: Stock spring
inconsistant (+/- 20)
Review: Pros:

I got this gun as a back up for my other gun and i dont have many complaints about it.
This is basically a spyders version of a tippman but the insides are the same as all spyders. First thing i noticed about the gun is how some inexperinced players were tariffied of it becuse the way it looks. The stock for the gun is very helpful in carrying the weight of the gun and aiming. The price was nice too instead of pay 130 dollars on a tippman i paid 100 dollars.

Cons:

This is a very inconsistant gun although i expected it form a maker that has no requlator so this was not a big deal to me. The biggest problem with the gun was the spring i could not get it below even 300 psi (feild required 280 fps) had to do modification to get it low enough but then it was too low 190-210 fps would suggust geting a new spring kit which you can get for like 5-10 bucks.
Conclusion: I perfer this over tippmanns myself mostly because i dont like there desgin. So, If you are like me and used to using spyders and there construction and want a gun for woodsball then get this maker although you must get a spring kit.

stock spring brought this reveiw down to a 9
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, March 22nd, 2007 at 1:27 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

DokWatson Friday, November 10th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Blade02's
Good beginning marker
Marker Setup: Spyder MR1
200round gravity hopper
9oz tank
Smart Parts 16 inch linear rifled barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Better barrel
Big c02 tank
Strengths: Seems unbreakable
Easy to field strip and clean
Reliable in all weather conditions
Weaknesses: Trigger travel
Stock barrel


Review: I bought this as my first decent paintball marker. I play woods-ball with a few ROTC friends here in Alaska, and its held up in the worst conditions you could play in. The stock barrels size seemed gigantic, I couldn't find paint big enough to fit it. I bought a new Smart Parts barrel to put on it, and the bore size is actually noticeable when you look through them. The trigger has a very long travel, so popping off shots rapid fire style, isn't actually all that rapid. The finish on the metal is very good, after all the trouble my marker has been through it still works and looks as good as new. Ive heard of people shearing their detents off, I don't understand how they did this, because the bolt has a large groove that allows it to pass harmlessly past the detent, maybe they 'dry fired' without any Co2 or paint with the bolt in upside down, who knows. If you take care of this marker, im pretty sure it will last close to forever.
Conclusion: Great gun for a starter, wont break on you any time soon, doesn't cost a whole lot.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TheLeafTalker Thursday, June 15th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom. This gun weighs twice as less, little more comfortable then the tippmann.
Marker Setup: Spyder MR1 Stock

Back up:
Tippmann
Response Trigger
14" EXcel Barrel
CP Flame Drop Forward
Recommended
Upgrades:
None really, depends on what your likes or dislikes are. I am probably going to get a new barrel, a Low Pressure Chamber, a Delrin Bolt, and an Electronic Trigger Frame.
Strengths: Light
Small
Skinny
Low Kick
Built pretty tough, as tough as the Tippmann.
Weaknesses: Lack of regulator
No LPC
Review: I will EDIT this when I test it further. I only had like 7 2yr old Evil Paintballs to shoot out of it with a 9once CO2 tank so yea bare with me.


Well I've been waiting for this gun for like 2 weeks after paying for it and getting my local pb shop to order it. Somthing about the order never being processed. But, they were nice enough to knock down$10 off of it for the wait ;). The gun cost me a total of $110 without the rebate they gave me.

I got it opened it up and smelled the sweet smell of satisfaction :P

It's comfortable, light, skinny, all around SEXY! I had bought a bolt for it before the gun called a ShockTech Superfly Top Cocking Bolt. Seeing this gun is a top cocking it SHOULD have fit but it did'nt, but the shop told me they will help me find one that fits and they'll refund the one I had already bought.

When I shot it with a gravity fed hopper, seven 2yr old Evil paintballs, and a 9once CO2 at my dumspter at about 50 60 feet I was actually impressed at the low amount of kick.. Almost none as a matter of fact. The shot groupings were about one to one1/2 apart from each shot which I also thought was pretty nice.

Some people said that the bolt chopped off there Ball Detent. Well they must have put the bolt in wrong some how cause the stock bolt has a groove that allows the detent to escape when the bolt reaches it so it does'nt shear it off.

The stock I LOVE. weighs like 5 onces (BTW I am a big kid so umm what is light to me might be heavy to you) and is very easily taken off and on by removing a set screw.

The grip is comfy for my medium sized hands. The trigger is alittle far from the "Release Point" as I call it. But there are ways for you to move it back some. But the trigger has very little side to side play and is not hard at all to pull back very easy.

The dovetail..... I don't see why they say it is short. It goes down the spine of the gun so unless you don't have a sight that can clear the bolt then I would see why you call it short but to me it is perfect.

The paintjob is also good. But, I'm finding it hard to find parts that match the Dust Black paint. (I am OCD, I can't stand things not matching nor can I stand them dirty or staying the same for a long time)

Again when I put this gun through it's paces and some more paint through it I will update the review. I PROMISE! lol
____________________________________________________________
________

*UPDATE*
I got a 1000R bag of paint today and went home ASAP to see what it could do and to add to this review.

The accuracy out of the box is awesome. I was 4 times as accurate as my tippy and my tippy even had an aftermarket barrel on it. The shot groupings were atleast an inch, inch1/2 apart from eachother from about 50 to 70 feet away.

I know you can't exactly walk with a mechanical like you can with an electronic but I (Well I think you call it this) fanned the gun stock against my shoulder and just started shooting as fast as I could to unload a full hopper on my dumbster. I was doing a good 5 to 15bps through the whole hopper. I noticed quite a kick to the gun but not much to hurt or throw the gun off the target your aiming at. But after I was done lol the barrel was frosty the 9once CO2 tank was sweating like mad and the dumpster had a nice bright orange circle on it :P about 5 inches straight across was how wide it is. But all in all I think this is the best gun I have owned.
Conclusion: Decently accurate, some kick, easy to hold with the tank and the stock on, and a great woodsball gun. I might even take it to the local speedball field and see how it stands up when I get an electronic frame.

9 out of 10, I wished it came with a Regulator not just a clip casing covering the hose but that's just me :P
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, June 17th, 2006 at 7:56 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ihauszler Monday, June 5th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder TX, Tippman 98 and A-5, Spyder electra.
Marker Setup: MR1 right out of the box + Remote and 20 oz CO2
Recommended
Upgrades:
Remote if you don't like to have the tank on the marker.
New Barrel, the stock one is the best i have seen on stock ( Low Semis) but is not close as good as a 20 - 30 dollars ones
Strengths: Solid has a rock
Easy to clean and disassemble
shoots ok
Loud!!!!!!!
Weaknesses: The stock useless, you cant aim.
The 7/8 rail to short.
Review: If you like to play woodsball or milsim this marker is veary reliable. I will recomend to use it with a remote, since it weight little more than the usual Semi Spyder ( just as much as a Tipmann 98).

The internal Parts are just the same as other Spyders semi. All Black with no shining parts to expose you.

On the other hand spyder din't make a good job on the design of it. 2 big mistakes the useless Stock ( How hard is to test the marker an see the stock won let use the sight) and the Small and Fat 7/8 Sight rail ( Why they dint use a sight rail as the MR2 ? ).

________

Edit

I just made the Mod on the stock, i cut the staight part of it and it works!!!! so no more problems with the stock... and it looks as a modern AK stock... so i change it to a 9 because is a veary easy mod.

Conclusion: Good Price,Good stock barrell,Nice looks, Wothless Stock and sight rail, little heavy and loud ( A guy gun....... sorry marker ).
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, June 12th, 2006 at 7:47 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Woogums Tuesday, April 25th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Piranha R6
Marker Setup: Staock gun
Vforce feild vantage mask i think is field]
catalina C02 soon to be pmi N2
Recommended
Upgrades:
bolt
nitro/Hpa
esp frame
Strengths: Speed, air consistancy, no chop, realiable,somple yet effective, very accurate
Weaknesses: Um kinda hard to conect the bolt to the hammer at first
Review: Okay well i got the gun off ebay! yes. This gun is so realiable , super easy to clean. I was playing speedball and woods with ease this gun isnt what you think of a speedball gun but it is low profile ,medium wieght ,loud (fun cause ppl are like holy shizzit whats that!) fun to play with super gas effficient.
Conclusion: Must buy especially new players who want a cheap really good marker
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Sly23x Friday, April 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Every other spyder
Tippmann 98
Marker Setup: Spyder MR1 stock right out of the box
Power hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
A hopper that will keep paint in the gun 8- 12 BPS
Strengths: The price and Look great for anyone.
Anti-chop
Weaknesses: The grips, They where messed up.
Review: Well if you want to take a marker out of the box and take it on the field, hit what you want not have to do much more than pull the triger, get it cheap. This is the marker you want. You don't need a uped barrel or anything just go out and kick some a** . I got a 16" Thunder Pig barrel for the marker but after one round I went back to the stock barrel.
I will say this is the first Spyder that you can't get upgrade parts for, but you don't need them so it is ok.
If you are the kind of player that likes a flashy marker this is not for you. If you just want a marker you can get the job done with buy a MR1.
Conclusion: If you want a great marker for a great price this is it.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, April 7th, 2006 at 10:46 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Skunkpig1808 Thursday, August 5th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman98 Tippman A-5 Spyder Piolet the tippman A-5 is better but i think the MR1 is better then the 98 and Piolet
Marker Setup: Shorter barral, Halo Hopper, New grip
Recommended
Upgrades:
Shorter barral or the 12" they give u if u play speed ball, Longer barral if u play woodsball
Strengths: Full metal so where i live in Flordia it dosnt rust, long lasting,
Weaknesses: Kinda Heavy
Review: I love this gun i use it in Speedball and Woodsball I think every beginner should get some kind of spyder and i suggest this one, Its is really easy to take apart so u can Oil the O-rings, When i frist got the gun i didnt put the stock on because of speedball so the gun didnt get in my way when i was running to the snake or Bunckers, When i played Woodball i put the stock, so i think this gun is Speed//Wood Ball gun the stock changes it
Conclusion: Awsome love it and long lasting
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (27):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media