paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Kingman Spyder MR1 / Kingman Spyder MR1 / Kingman Spyder MR1 / Kingman Spyder MR1

Kingman Spyder MR1 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Kingman

Buy Kingman Spyder MR1

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Kingman Spyder MR1
[ View Photos (93) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 261
Average Rating: 8.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $90

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The MR1 will take a beating and keep on firing! The slide out pull pin, field strippable bolt, and full-length stock (optional) make the MR1 an easily operated and highly accurate scenario marker with military resilience and stability. This semi-auto marker won't rust even when you're trekking through the wettest terrain, and you?ll never need to worry about batteries because there aren?t any electronic parts!
Product Availability 
The Kingman Spyder MR1 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (27):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  Last
        Next Page
tkteddie Thursday, June 25th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
TIPMANN 98, SPYDER VICTOR, SPYDER TL-X, TIPMANN A5,TAC 5 RECON,
Marker Setup: SPYDER MR1, WITH SIGH RAIL, ALSO LASER SIGHT!
Recommended
Upgrades:
ELBOW FEED BREAKS EASILY, AND THE BARREL NOT THAT ACCURATE!
Strengths: Really though, and looks really cool. works in all weather and all terrain..
Weaknesses: Marker is kind of heavy, and the cocking bolt replace it!
Review: This marker is really though and accurate. if you need a really good woodsball marker then you know what marker to get with a lot of upgrades and the new anti chop technology this marker is really great and does your needs!! specially if you want a woodsball marker then you know that this is gonna be the one you want. When ever me and my friend go paintballing i always win because i have the good marker the spyder mr1! with eyes and ACT. ANTI CHOP TECHNOLOGY!!!
Conclusion: So know you know if you want a really good and reliable paintball maker then you know what to get the spyder mr1! with the anti chop technology it beats the cra* out of the tippman 98! so you know which marker to get!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

loldongs Sunday, March 29th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
WarSensor WSF
Marker Setup: WarSensor WSP Zeus G1+ with BT Universal Holster

Spyder MR-1 with Spyder Sniper Barrel 16" & Remote kit

BT Delta Elite with Remote kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Elbow
Remote feed
Strengths: Cleaning
Cheap
Accurate
Somewhat Customizable
Weaknesses: Limited Potential
Review: I got this marker as part of r the military kit in fact I'd say only get the marker buy a separate mask for the opening but let's see how I have done with this marker this far.

When I first Played with the Stock barrel which is accurate enough at 20 ft especially with the 45' hopper angle. I then borrowed a JJ ceramic 12" barrel which really showed a differnce when it was not present so I bought my own Spyder Sniper Barrel 16". It was a lot more accurate than the stock barrel.

I noticed that with the stock I struggle to lean in without it I can't aim so I went to check stocks online and saw a lot of people didn't buy aftermarket stocks but sawed off the top bar on theirs' this was really useful and worked.

Next I just printed and cut camo Stencils and sprayed my marker camo
http://www.pbreview.com/productpics/?product=4229&photo=
20591
Conclusion: for my first in-game marker this was really great I managed to learn everything I needed on it and I still use it as a sniper today. Now you noticed I said limited potential to a entry marker if you see what is available for the custom 98 and compare it to the MR-1 the custom 89 has a wider range of accessories but that is no real downfall to the beginner.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, April 1st, 2009 at 1:59 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Robbieisbobert Friday, June 8th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
VL Triad
Tippmann 98
Spyder Compact
Marker Setup: Spyder MR1
14" Proto 1-Piece
Revvy
Recommended
Upgrades:
Different stock
Aftermarket barrel
Strengths: Tough
Looks nice
Pretty inexpensive
Good gun to start out with
Weaknesses: Barrel?
Fittings on the gun come loose
Screws came loose on the trigger frame
Review: I like this gun very much although it could use some improvements. When I brought the marker home from the store I aired it up and found that there was a tiny bit of air escaping from the fitting attached to the ASA. This was easily fixed with some teflon tape. I then loaded a hopper with paint and shot the marker. I found that the barrel has pretty good accuracy, but accuracy could be further refined with an aftermarket barrel. A few days later I took it to a local paintball field, and to my dismay, the screws that attached the trigger frame to the body came loose, but this was easily fixed with loctite. The MR1 is an easy marker to strip, so its good for beginners. Contrary to what some people believe, this marker WILL NOT chop ball detents UNLESS the bolt is installed upside down after stripping it.
Conclusion: Although there are some flaws to the MR1, it is still an inexpensive, good gun. I'll give it a 9 out of 10.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, June 9th, 2007 at 8:28 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

daly Sunday, April 8th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Sypder Victor
Spyder Xtra
Spyder Sonix
98c
Marker Setup: MR1 with 14" J&J ceramic barrel running on CO2
Recommended
Upgrades:
New bolt at alamocitypaintball.com
Better feedneck (I use and old Spyder non-adjustable one)
Strengths: Stealth
Accurate
Intimidating
Weaknesses: Loud as F**k before new barrel now vey quiet
the d@mn cocking bolt
Review: SHOOTING-
better as any stock 98c
as good and any 98c with upgrades
as good as any upgraded Spyder

LOOKS-
anti-scratch finish (you can rub away most scratches)
scares the s**t out of noobs and some better players

ASSEMBLY AND DISASSEMBLY-
the cocking bolt connects the bolt and the striker, so you have to line them up perfectly, so it takes like forever to put back together

OTHER-
the cocking bolt gets in the way of the sights, so you cant really use the sights, but you get used to it
with the stock on, and a mask on, your eye is like 3 inches above the barrel, so its hard to aim anf your neck is at a 90 degree angle (that hurts)



Conclusion: Amazing compared 98's and other Spyders ad other guns in its price range
The cocking bolt and the loudness are the only bad things
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, April 29th, 2007 at 11:17 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

funkypaintball Monday, February 12th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Custom 98 Spyder Imagine Zap Amp Brass Eagle Raider(Don't ask)
Marker Setup: Stock Setup
Recommended
Upgrades:
Probably a better barrel feedneck stock one is cheap, better stock, the one it comes with isn't good for sighting, its mainly for snapshooting or accurate pointing, raised right rail incase you want to use a sigh/scope because rail is pretty small, good common sense (explained in the review)
Strengths: Upgradable, inexpensive, awesome performance, pretty light, dosen't chop unless your whipping out paint
Weaknesses: Cocking bolt is in the way, cheap feedneck, take extra care when reinserting bolt
Review: Ok right off the bat, if you read my last review, sorry. It sucked. I'm gonna make it better now (hopefully). ok i'll break it down into strenghts and weaknessess and upgrades.

-Recommended Upgrades

Well for this you would probably want a new barrel because the stock barrel as good as it looks isn't that accurate but its way better than any stock barrel ive seen before. A better feedneck would defenitaley be needed because the stock one is really cheap and jiggles pretty bad. For those of you that don't know where to get one or one isn't available, i recommend using a flat head screwdriver to tighten it really really tight but not too tight or u might break it. Another thing you should want to look into is getting a new stock or making an endcap out of the stock buttstock by chopping off the stock except for the part that goes in the gun. Me, personally would want to get a new stock looks pretty good and gives more accuracy to your shots. Also a raised sight will do wonders because you will be able to aim better with your mask on and you won;t have to crouch your head all the way down. Oh and yeah a good common sense when your reinserting your bolt into the gun so you don't put the bolt upside down and shear the detent off (which of course happened to me) make sure you put it back on the side where the groove is.

-Strengths

It is very upgradable with many spyder barrels out there that have really good performance. It is also very inexpensive which makes it good for beginners or people short on cash looking to buy a quality marker for less. You don't realy need to upgrade it out of the box because it comes with above decent accuracy but i havent really tested its distance yet im sure it will get worse with range as most barrels do. It's paintjob is pretty cool taking it out from my gear bag makes me remember those christmas eve nights when i was younger. As far as weight goes it isnt that heavy but it isnt evenly distributed when you have a stock on, it makes it lean heavily to the back like there is no tomorrow!

-Weaknesses
This is where it might get mildly harsh, but interesting! One thign that really angered me out of the box was the way the cocking knob gets in the way of your standard sights on the gun, and those sights are really good if the nob wasnt there, i tested the sights with out the knob on it (No i did not fire it) and it looked pretty accurate and easy to use. One thing that just get me upset is that cheap feedneck. The first time i used this gun the stupid neck kept on moving i felt liek just throwing it away how much it sucked. I would recomend getting a ccm feedneck for the MR1 (this feedneck is also compatible with the MR2) Which allows u to use a trinity short feedneck which are really good and sturdy with no tools required! One thing that cause me days of heartache and headaches and countless hours of examination of the inside out and otuside of the marker is the reinsertion of the bolt back to the body. The reason why is becasue if you put it upside down your going to chop the detent and its going to double, triple, quadriple, darn it did a 7 shot feed when i test fired it. After hours of research i found a review here on paintball review that talked about the problems i was having with my gun so then i took it to my local paintball store told them that the detent got chopped off, and bam! In three minutes flat i got out of there with the fixing fee of $1.37. Talk about being inexpensive! I currently tested it today playing with some friends it worked awsome never double fed or anything fed any more but it chopped one ball which was like after shooting almost 567 shots which was dream to just clean.
Conclusion: Well i really like this gun, its pretty good for your moeny, and won't have you spending all your money on repairs and fixings. Yeah the only thing i really hate about this gun is the cheap feedneck. While the gun could use a different design due to the bolt and small rail, it is still really good and works like a dream for me(like a nightmare for the team i'm against). I rated this product an 8 because of it's issue due to the cocking knob being on top the short rail, and the fact that you might overlook your bolt installation and chop your detent off and you'll have yourself an MRshotgun. All and all, I'll be keeping this gun for some time. Im gonna upgrade soon and pimp this gun out!
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, April 3rd, 2007 at 7:48 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

FireRoastedFire Thursday, October 28th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom,
Marker Setup: Kingman Spyder MR1
Terminator 16" Sniper Barrel
20oz. Pure Energy CO2
View Loader 200 round gravity hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
Whatever fits. Stock barrel is decent, but can definitly use upgrading.
Stock (if your not a fan of Skeletal stocks)
I hear a Stiffi barrel makes this thing deady
Strengths: Durable
Accurate
Good-looking
Portable
Fast
Loud
Weaknesses: A bit heavy with 20oz
Top-side bolt annoying
Loud
Review: Let me explain loud being good and bad:

GOOD: When playing back, it draws attention from your fronts, making their job easier.
BAD: In woodsball, I "snipe". With my barrel, it's quieter, but this thing with stock barrel woke up my neighbors.

As for everything else, never have I turned so many heads when I walked onto a field as with this thing. I find this as my soul-gun. It's entry level like me, it's versitile based on what kit you buy for it, and it's fun to shoot.

The stock on this gun is wonderful. They say stocks on PB guns are useless, but in PB you don't use it to reduce recoil, its used to stabilize your marker, which this does well.

The grips are fantastic-ky. You won't lose your grip unless you drop it on purpose. as far as chops/breaks, one out of ~2500 rounds. I lose more paintballs while loading this thing than it breaks. No gun is perfect, and this is no exception, but it is a great gun.

I already have some amazing accuracy stories with this gun, so I have to give it points on accuracy. Fire rate is great, even if semi-auto. Went through 250 rounds 5 minutes into a game without chopping a ball. Yes, even while in cover, I shot 1.2 balls per second.

Conclusion: For a beginner, I love this thing. I have compared it to a Tippmann 98 Custom and would take an MR-series over a Tippman any day. May not have been in the past, but now it's very upgradable.

All in all, great for speedball, woodsball, and scenario. Enjoy.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Hawkeye20 Friday, September 24th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 custom with all standard accessories, Spyder Sonix Pro
Marker Setup: Spyder MR1 with:
--Standard MR1 Stock
--Remote Coil
--20 oz Co2 Tank
--14 inch JJ performance barrel
--Tactical Sling 1-point sling (mounted to the stock where it attaches to the gun)
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel (test it out first to make sure you really want one... Mine came with the original and the 14 inch). A spare elbow tube.
Strengths: Awesome looks. Solid build. Not too heavy. Realistic milsim paintball gun.
Weaknesses: Nothing so far, and I've had it for six months.
Review: I got this marker off of craigslist, took it home and put everything together. Woohoo! My first paintball gun was ready to play! Two weeks later I took it out and it performed OUTSTANDING. So much better than the greasy little air hogs people have come to know as "98 customs" that I was forced to rent in the past. Great accuracy, and not a single chop for the 4+ hours I was playing! And it didn't use much air either. The guy that was refilling the tanks told me I still had 18 out of 20 ounces left in my tank. But, I didn't shoot too much. 600-800 rounds maximum (which is good for me... the last time I played I shot my first hopper completely through in the first two-on-two game!). A couple weeks later I took it out again and played some more. FLAWLESSLY. I borrowed a kid's A-5 (first time shooting one) just to try it out and sprayed the wall with paint. Then, I walked away, discusted at the poor accuracy compared to my MR1. Booyah.
Conclusion: All in all, this is, without doubt, THE BEST paintball marker I have ever shot (compared to: Tippmann A-5, Tippmann 98 custom, JT Stealth, Spyder Sonix Pro, unknown pump gun, and Spyder Extra). Accuracy: 9/10 (nobody's perfect). Chop ratio: 0/5000+ shots. Realisticness: 10/10. Total score: 10 out of friggin' 10!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Gabadoo Tuesday, June 1st, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98 Custom.
Marker Setup: Spider MR1 Standard.
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel, modify the stock, remote line.
Strengths: Accurate, Durable, Decent rate of fire.
Weaknesses: Heavy, Loud (I guess), Stock.
Review: Very good gun, has a decent rate of fire for a mechanical marker. Extremely durable as well. I tripped and dropped it in a creek, pulled it out let it dry for 5 minutes and it fired again no problems. Little lubrication and bingo bango bongo still works fine weeks later.

Accuracy is really good too, once I could accommodate for the stock I was able to tag people from a fair distance. Doesn't seem to drop as bad as some others I've used.

For a mechanical gun The rate of fire is very good! Never actually kept track of how fast I was shooting but it was certainly fast enough! Not e-Trigger fast but still very good.

Only problems I can see is that #1 this gun is no featherweight, if you actually play with the tank attached to the gun it becomes rather cumbersome.

#2 is the stock, I love the idea of a stock attached to my gun. It improves accuracy tenfold by adding stability. Problem with this one is that when you're wearing a mask it actually becomes impossible to sight down the gun. So there goes the accuracy factor.

#3 isn't really all that bad but this marker is rather noisy. so if you're setting up any sort of ambush make sure you're set before you squeeze off a round otherwise say goodbye to that whole element of surprise thing.
Conclusion: For the price its really decent. Sure there are better markers out there with higher rates of fire but you have to pay for it. I love this gun and happily use it against people with significantly more expensive woodsball setups.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tyler765 Saturday, April 17th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have used a Tippman 98 as a rental before. In my opinion it doesn't stack up to this. But that's because of the extras. ( stock, sp barrel)
Marker Setup: Spider MR1 With 16" Tactical Smart Parts Barrel and a basic 200 rd grav fed loader. Remote line with 24Oz JT CO2 Tank. BT HRT Vest and tank pouch accessory.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Get a better barrel than the stock. I recommend the 16" tactical from smart parts. I've gotten lots of compliments on my accuracy. Good barrel for the price. Remote line helps take the weight away but isn't necessary. Guns pretty light to begin with.
Strengths: Good stock
reliable
solid
accurate
looks cool
light, if thats what u like
Weaknesses: The stock barrel sucks.
chops balls but not regularly.
limited customizability
screws loosen
Review: Before I begin, i would to say that u should make you u tighten all the screws on this gun REGULARLY. I had a screw fall out at the end of play in my backyard, and lets just say i never seen a CO2 tank emptied so fast before. Lol probably a doofus move on my part, but just something to check regularly.
Okay, i really like this gun, but if you want to be able to customize it, you barely can. you will only be able to fit 1, MAYBE 2 mods on top but thats it.
The gun itself is very reliable, doesn't break paint very often. but breaking paint is pretty common for markers with no special features or electronic loaders.
GET A NEW BARREL! The better accuracy is very nice! Spend whatever money u want just get one!
Its pretty good on air i must say, maybe I'm just conservative. filled the 24 once on a 5 hour day at splatters. played about 10 rounds. est 1000 balls used.
Conclusion: Buy this if it is your first marker. very good starter. But don't expect to make it into a sniper rifle (unless you are a cnc machinist). And get a new barrel!!!!!!!!
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Woodsballer117 Tuesday, April 13th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None. This was my first gun.
Marker Setup: Spyder MR1
VL Revolution
Spyder MR 16" Aero Twist Barrel
48ci/3000psi PMI Pure Energy HPA Tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Metal Clamping Feed Neck
Barrel
VL Revolution(At least)
Strengths: Simple to take apart
Not required to maintain alot
Durability
Weaknesses: Elbow Required
Non-Regulated
Stock
Review: So when I started playing in 2008 I bought this gun at Wal-Mart(yes I know what that says-NOOB!) It was $90 so the price was good for a mechanical gun. It came with a-gun,barrel,barrel sock, elbow, manual. So in the year and a half I've been playing this gun has proven reliable. Its easy to maintain, and you can just put your tank and your hopper on and go play. I love this gun in the woods its really durable. This thing is so reliable I would honestly throw it in water let it sit there and pull it out, and It would still work just fine. Only recomended for woodsball! The trigger is not good to use on a airball course at all. It has a really long trigger pull so its not meant for airball. Now a few things I didn't like about it. he gun is designed to run off of 800psi So that really reduces the amout of shots you will get. The plastic elbow that it comes with will eventually break. So I recommened getting a all metal clamping feed neck. Trinity paintball makes one and so does RAP4. The gun is not regulated so your consistance is all over the place, but thats also on acount of the gun being $90 I mean theres no gun i the sub $100 range that has a regulator so Iwon't hold it against its score, but thats just something that you wish you had after you've been playing for a while. Maintaining this gun is a brezee its so simple I can take the whole bolt assembly out in under 10 seconds that also includes the striker. When you put it back together though if you don't take off the grip frame it can damage the striker O-ring and then you have to replace it. Its a poppet valus gun so you don't have to lube it alot. Now with a hopper for this gun at least have a VL Revolution on it so you don't chop paint. I rarely chopped paint with a VL 200 but with a Revolution you aren't taking to much of a chance of not feeding properly.
Conclusion: I would recommend this gun to any new player whos going into Woodsball cause this is a awsome entry level gun. I hate to say but the Chapter with this gun and may paintballing are over cause I upgraded after having it for so long. I've gone to the SP-1, but I never hated this gun at all I hope anybody who gets it has just as good experiences as I did with mine. Since there was a few minor things with this Gun I'm going to give it a 8 for over all, but a 10 for entry so I'll put it in the middle with a 9 of 10 rating.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, April 13th, 2010 at 8:54 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (27):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media