paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Kingman Spyder MR1 / Kingman Spyder MR1 / Kingman Spyder MR1 / Kingman Spyder MR1

Kingman Spyder MR1 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Kingman

Buy Kingman Spyder MR1

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Kingman Spyder MR1
[ View Photos (93) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 261
Average Rating: 8.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $90

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The MR1 will take a beating and keep on firing! The slide out pull pin, field strippable bolt, and full-length stock (optional) make the MR1 an easily operated and highly accurate scenario marker with military resilience and stability. This semi-auto marker won't rust even when you're trekking through the wettest terrain, and you?ll never need to worry about batteries because there aren?t any electronic parts!
Product Availability 
The Kingman Spyder MR1 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (27):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  Last
        Next Page
Gmaddux3132 Friday, January 29th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98, GT 2000
Marker Setup: MR1, 14 inch progressive barrel, Kingman Spyder Rocking Trigger Frame and Fasta Hopper - 18v LCD
Recommended
Upgrades:
Kingman Spyder Rocking Trigger Frame! I would get a 16 inch barrel and you'll need a nice fast hopper
Strengths: Durable, easy to maintain, light weight, accurate, overall a great gun
Weaknesses: Can not seem to find a anti-chop bolt that fits with this gun.
Review: Light, simple to use and very easy to clean this gun. This gun is a very basic model and can endure pretty much anything you want to throw at it! I have played in rain, I have fallen and smashed the gun on the ground and nothing seems to faze it. The body is about the same size as a GT2000 but lighter, nice off set feeding system I recommend upgrading the plastic feed to a metal one right off the bat but other than that I love the gun
Conclusion: I own a Bushmaster B2K, Impulse, tippman 98 custom and this MR1 and I prefer the MR1 over all of them! Nice and basic gun that will handle pretty much anyone if you have the right upgrades. Some say it is loud but if you shooting in the woods at someone else I think the sound of the gun should be the least of your worries.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Wolf1066 Monday, November 2nd, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Rental Tippmann 98s - they varied in condition.
Marker Setup: Spyder MR1
Trinity MR series clamping feed neck
Cut down stock
Reshaped trigger and rear trigger stop
HPA
14" J&J ceramic barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Trinity MR series clamping feed neck first and foremost. Everything else is optional/personal preference.
Strengths: Solid
Easy to strip and reassemble
Value for money
Weaknesses: Nothing that cannot be readily fixed
Review: After reading the reviews here, I decided to get a Spyder MR1 as I determined that its strengths suited my style of play and its reported “weaknesses” were either irrelevant or easily fixed. The only thing I could see being a major issue was the notoriously flimsy feed neck, which would have to be replaced at the earliest opportunity.

I got a second hand MR1 by online auction and the seller, for a few more dollars, included a basic gravity-fed loader, 12oz CO2 tank and a Trinity clamping feed neck. Before it even arrived, I won another auction for a remote to use as an expansion chamber. This gave me marker, tank, loader, upgraded feed neck and remote for less than the cost of a brand new “naked” MR1.

The marker duly arrived and I was not in the least disappointed. It was certainly solidly constructed – I’ve owned shotguns that don’t feel as solid – and it was fairly weighty but not excessive, IMO. Using a remote would drop the weight significantly. Oh, lucky me, I just happen to have one...

The Trinity feed neck was very solid and firmly locked the loader in perfect alignment with the body of the marker. I’d heartily recommend this upgrade over any number of spare plastic elbows.

A look down the business end with the barrel removed gave a clear view of the end of the bolt and the groove to accommodate the ball detent. It was evident that turning the bolt upside down would turn the bolt into a ruthlessly efficient detent-shearing guillotine – no wonder mechanically-inept people have complained about the detent being chopped off. I cocked the marker and felt the detent – it seemed in good condition.

I field-stripped and reassembled it and it is as easy as others have attested – and I made sure I put the bolt in the right way up! With a bit of practice, stripping, cleaning and reassembling the marker would not take long at all.

Many people have complained about the trigger, claiming it’s too hard and has an excessively long draw – and I’ve got to wonder: “Compared with what? An e-trigger?”

I found the trigger pull fairly light compared with real, bullet-firin’, firearms and the draw length was not excessive – it had no slack travel at all, just a short pull against moderate resistance before a sudden break. The after-travel was not far either but could be a little shorter – a stop would fix that and is easy enough to install.

I must admit there is quite a bit of side-play on the trigger but, again, that’s easy enough to fix with a couple of thin washers or metal shims.

I’m not joking when I say I have used real firearms with worse triggers – miles of slack play followed by a long heavy pull and an awful break.

The only thing I would change about the trigger – and this is purely “personal preference” – is to cut off the lower part of the trigger to make it more like a rifle trigger. As I said: personal preference – I prefer to use only the index finger on the trigger and the long trigger interferes with my ability to wrap my middle finger around the grip.

The stock: As others have said: cut the top bar off. Using the unmodified stock, I couldn’t sight the marker without a mask on, let alone with. It was fine after I cut the top bar off – around half an hour’s work by the time I smoothed it up with a file to get rid of rough edges and make it look like it was designed that way.

Using the marker:
First time I took it out (stock barrel) I had absolutely no chops and it performed faultlessly. I'm not a pray-'n'-spray shooter, I prefer to stalk, shoot a few times and relocate. I have no need for ultra-fast rates of fire so the MR1 fires fast enough to suit my needs.
I had a lot of barrel breaks but the PMI Premium paint I’d bought was heavily dimpled and many of the balls did not look spherical – even to something as imprecise as a human eye.
I later set up a target and fired off a number of balls of Elixir without a single break. So let’s just put the barrel breaks down to a bad batch of paint. The Elixir is not a good match for the stock bore (too small, rolls out unimpeded) so its accuracy wasn’t very consistent – three off the target entirely and the rest in a 30cm (1 foot) group at approx 15 metres. The PMI premium is a closer match for the stock bore but the only ones I have are dimpled and/or not spherical.

UPDATE: Took it back out on the field using the Elixir paint and loosed off well over a hundred rounds with no barrel-breaks or chops at all. The accuracy was very consistent even using CO2 and paint that's a bit small for the bore. It was a faster paced game and I had to lay down cover fire and suppressive fire a couple of times - it fired fast enough for the task at hand.

UPDATE 2: Finally made up a rear stop for the trigger - basically a short length of metal down inside the trigger spring to prevent the spring from being compressed all the way. I cut the head off a four-inch nail then cut off a short length of the shaft to make the stop. I didn't measure - just patiently filed it down until the trigger would travel back far enough to release the bolt and a little further. It wound up about 2/3 the length of the uncompressed trigger spring.

While I had the trigger out, I cut off the bottom of the trigger to make it a single finger trigger then smoothed it with the file - as mentioned above, this is a purely "personal preference" sort of mod.

Sadly I did not have a thin-enough washer to fix up the side play.of the trigger so left that for another time.

Once the marker was reassembled with the rear stop in place, I tried a quick rapid fire - the shorter travel made for some really quick shooting comparable with letting rip as fast as possible (forget accuracy) with a .22 semi-automatic rifle.
Conclusion: Ultimately, it’s all about what you want in a marker – which is dependent on how you play. The MR1 suits me fine in a fairly unmodified state, others may want faster rates of fire that warrant e-triggers and electric loaders.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, November 21st, 2009 at 2:11 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TheWikidFool Thursday, July 23rd, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98 Custom
Marker Setup: Nothing new, but I'm getting my 20" barrel shipped right now, when I get a chance to test it, I'll post an update/
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel, Turn the power up (mine came out of the box at 100 fps), maybe a new stock, and you will almost certinaly want a better sight.
Strengths: Looks good, acuracte, feels good, stock out of the box, never chops, Original look.
Weaknesses: Distance, Power, Screw come undone to easily.
Review: I love this gun. I have been using around twice a month and normally put about a thousand rounds throught it every day I play and I have never had one break even though I use the cheapest paint available. It has a stock right out of the box which I think is awesome, because I haven't seen any other guns there aren't some sort of special package. It's one of the cheapest non-off brand guns on the market.
The Spyder MR1 is widely known as the Tippman 98 Customs biggest competetor. Well, I've used both and I can tell you that the MR1 is not on the same level as the Tippman 98 Custom, it is on a much higher level. The Tippman has a very crappy barrel out of the box, no stock, and is used by EVERYONE... Not to mention it just doesn't shoot as well. The only place the 98 Custom beats the MR1 is distance.
Conclusion: The MR1 is a great woodsball or speedball gun. It looks awesome, shoots awesome and cleans easily. But I do have to take a point off for distance and the screws coming undone to easily. But still gets a really good review from me.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

roomis1 Thursday, June 25th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98c
Marker Setup: Kingman Spyder Mr1
Dye Sticky Grips
Clear O-Rings
J&J 16" Ceramic Barrel
Stock 12" barrel
Vlocity E hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Triggers it's plasic kind of
Strengths: Durable
Strong
Fast
Weaknesses: Elbow Feedneck
If you adjust your velocity it turns the bottom pin
Review: I bought this gun off of Ebay brand new and I loved it right away. This gun shoots really accurately right out of the box. The only bad thing is it's kind of loud. So if you want a better sound to this gun, don't use CO2 or the stock barrel. Use Air and a 16" J&J ceramic barrel. I can barely hear it when I shoot it by my self.

It's very durable. I fell on it because I was running a way in a speed ball Tourny with my friends. And this was my back up. I screwed up my Ion Xe and had to forfeit that round. I went to grab my MR1 and dropped it in the mud. I sqweeged it out and it works better than it did out of the box. I used it for a while. Now I sold my Xe to buy an A5 so i can have two woodsball guns.
Conclusion: This gun is still a great gun even though its 2009. Its very durable and can take any hit. BUY IT!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

im am piranha Sunday, April 19th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
tippman 98 custom
tippman A5
spyder MR2
Bt4 Banshee
Marker Setup: stock spyder EMR1
14 inch smart parts linear barrel
gravity feed hopper
9 oz CO2
VERY sensitive trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
Get a force feed hopper, I haven't gotten one yet but once I do I am hoping to walk it and use auto more than I do
better barrel-The stock barrel is very noisy, and not the best in the line of accuracy compared to my upgrade one
Strengths: accurate
reliable
Adjustable trigger
inexpensive
Weaknesses: break occasional balls
feed neck breaks
no EYES
LOUD
CO2 PIG!
Review: Let me put this out there before I jump into my big speech: this gun is made for bushball/woodsball/scenario. Unless you get a force feed hopper, this gun cannot keep up with the BPS without breaking balls in speedball. Ok, so yesterday I took this gun to the first really big game of the year that I have been in, and it performed better than some of the higher end guns there. For 120 dollars, I'd buy it any day.

D-Day game- During this game, there was lots of paint bing fired to keep the "Germans" bunkered so we could move up the field. I don't think I have ever gotten a paintball gun up to that high of a rate of fire and still be shooting at my target before. This thing, with an upgraded barrel, was working as good as the BTs and Tippmanns with flatlines. As this game was only 45 minutes long, the people on both teams were firing lots of paint to keep either the allies at bay, or the germans bunkered. So as I am behind a wallI am in a fire fight when all of a sudden I hear BBBBBUUUUUUUUUURRRRRAAPP. I ran out of CO2 after about 400 shots. Yeah, pig right?

Conclusion: So, as I learned, this gun is accurate at long range, even with pretty crappy wal-mart paint.
I would recommend it to any person who likes to play woods ball scenario ball. Just upgrade it a bit, and it could make a great sniper or grunt gun for anybody other than speedballers. Enjoy, i hope it was helpful, just dont go above about 8 BPS and you should be good...unless you have a force feed, than go higher that 8.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

XxLKxX Friday, March 20th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
98Custom
Marker Setup: e-trigger, hpa
Recommended
Upgrades:
hpa, e-trigger
Strengths: Durable, Cheep, Easy To Maintain, Looks Good
Weaknesses: Trigger
Review: I have had the MR1 for a year and never had a problem with it. Great gun for the money. The gun is accurate. Awesome for the first time player or for someone who wants a simple and durable gun. The trigger is really bad so i would get a e-trigger for it. Very affordable.
Conclusion: For the money this gun is a great buy! its cheep so everyone can afford to but one. go ahead and buy it. Its so easy to use and maintain. Its a great buy!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintballman446 Thursday, February 19th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Stryker Cybrid (First Gun), Tac-5 Recon
Marker Setup: Spyder MR1 - Stock
Tac-5 as a backup
Recommended
Upgrades:
A new barrel, perhaps a new hopper if you fire quickly
Strengths: Fast Shooter, Doesn't chop balls...1200 rounds, 1 chop, pretty durn good!
Weaknesses: Screws come loose out of the Box;
Review: This gun was bought for 99.00. I did my research, and found that virtually no one had anything significant that bothered them. I snagged this gun for 3 reasons: The look, the reputation, and the name. The gun is very light in your hand, and with a 20 oz CO2 cartridge on, it is well balanced. Velocity was set pretty good right out of the box. I don't use electronic hoppers; I only use gravity feed...I'm not a fast shooter. Playing woodsball with my buddies in sub-freezing temps, this gun held its own against Tippman 98s, other Spyders, and a few Tac-5s. I did not chop one ball until my 3rd hopper, which didn't cause any problems like it can in other guns. It fired smooth and consistent. If i wanted to spout off a few real quick, I could do it without worry or flinch. The only downfall: out of the box, remove the screws holding the stock together, and put some threadlock compound on them. Mine came loose during play, as I have seen others comment. Thread lock fixed this right up. Field stripping was a breeze. Pull out the pin, and you're on your way to a clean gun. The bolt can go in upside down. Just look on the bolt and line up the groove with the ball detent. It can only go in 2 ways. I made a small mark on mine so I can see the correct way without looking too closely.
Conclusion: The gun is tough too. It is easy on CO2, fires great, is pretty quiet, and is dependable. It is well balanced and relatively light for a military style marker. Also very compatible with almost any type of ball. I use Alpha, but all balls have worked fine. If you are willing to spend the hundred or so bucks, this gun is one of your best choices! I don't regret the buy! 8 out of 10. Some upgrades are good if you are picky, and nothing is perfect.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

MR1-113 Monday, February 9th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98 custom
Marker Setup: My MR1
-everything stock right now
-VL quantam loader
-PMI 20 oz. tank
-going to get a on/off valve
Recommended
Upgrades:
stock barrel is good
elbow that comes with is good and sturdy
Strengths: Never chops a ball
i shot 1000 rds with it and it only chopped one
Weaknesses: None whatsoever
Review: this is just a very good beginner gun it is easy to take apart and clean, the quick disconnect pin is just awesome. very good and just looks like an awesome gun because it is.and talk about accuarcy, this thing could hit a soda can 50 yds away!
and power! this thing has so much power i shot a plastic bucket from about 15 yds and it broke the bucket! i wasnt using monster balls either iwas using visible impacts
DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY ON A 98 CUSTOM JUST GET THIS GUN
WAY TO GO SPYDER!
Conclusion: This is the best beginner gun you can get for less than 110$
just look for packages online and your all set
this gun is beastly
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

rossismokesall Sunday, July 20th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Pilot,JT Tac 5. JT Tac 5 sucks comparatively.
Marker Setup: Spyder MR1 with BT Apex AK-47 Barrel, Psychoballistics drop foward, 20/12 oz tanks, viewloader force feeder, custom six posision adjustable stock and back-up 32 whisper barrel.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Works good stock but a good barrel will make it that much better.
Strengths: VERY Reliable
Comfortable
Easy to maintain
Price
Weaknesses: Screws strip easily
Stock not adjustable
Some aftermarket stocks won't fit.
Review: The first thing that attracted me to this gun was it's looks. It is a good looking gun, i've got to say. This gun is just an overall good and solid paintball gun. It is kind of accurate, Very reliable, is comfortable, easy to aim, easy to operate, easy to maintain, and is easy to take apart and put back together. This gun the perfect gun for close to mid range battles in forests or woods ball. It can be dropped in the dirt and can be beaten pretty good without any problems.
Conclusion: This gun if oiled an maintained will last forever. It might not be the most accurate or lightest gun but it is one of the most reliable and all around best guns made for the money.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, December 26th, 2008 at 7:08 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Gargaroth Friday, June 6th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Viewloader lancer= Crap
MR1= Awesome
Marker Setup: Spyder MR1
plain old 200 round hopper
20oz co2 can
elbow feed
Recommended
Upgrades:
Maybe a nice speedloader, but not required
anything to make it more intimidating
Strengths: Accurate, very sleek design,
Weaknesses: It really doesn't have any weaknesses at all. so therefore, there are no weaknesses.
Review: The MR! is an excellent gun to add to your arsenal, it has everything you want in a gun and instead of the balls feeding straight into the top of the gun it is on the side so if you are one of those people that like to "aim" at your targets, then more power to you. I haven't had any problems with this guns so far and i reccomend it to anyone.
Conclusion: This gun is worth you money.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (27):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media